Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D5200

Nikon Inc. D5200

An HD-SLR designed to awaken your creative passion. Find exciting new perspectives with an ultra-high resolution Vari-angle display that swivels to nearly any position. Capture your vision in lifelike brilliance with an exceptional 24.1 MP DX-format CMOS sensor, then share it instantly with the optional WU-1a Wireless Adapter. Unleash the artist within.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 56 reviews
5 stars
44
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
55 out of 56(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for D5200
Review 1 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginners/ Advanced Beginners Purchase

PostedApril 5, 2014
CaliGuy
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
When I purchased the D5200, I had never owned a DSLR or even a point and shoot, but I had done thorough research and figured out that this was the camera for me. This camera far exceeded my expectations: the 24 MP captures immense detail, the 1080p/60 fps recording is awesome (the fps is high enough to even get a little slow mo action going), the flip out screen is nice for those up high/ down low shots, and the list goes on. I was (and still am) very happy with my purchase, and my photography skills have gotten better as I have kept shooting. It might be time to step it up to the 7000 series and (eventually) to a full frame (D600?) ..
Pros:
24 MP
Flip out screen
1080p/60 fps video (with full shutter/aperture controls)
5 fps
Color choices makes it more fun
Perfect fit in the hand
Easy interfaces/menus
Nice button placements
Nice Image Quality
Cons:
-BUFFER SIZE - only 6-7 RAW photos before the buffer gets filled.. This may not be a problem for everyone, but for people doing action/sports photography, this is kind of a drag
-ISO noise - seems evident at even as low as 800 ISO
-Live View kind of lags a little bit: takes a bit to switch to LV, a while to focus, etc.. but its LV so what can you expect..
-Flash button gets pushed alot accidentally while trying to change ISO, or just when changing grip
-Can't change aperture size while in Live View
In the end, the cons are just small things, and the pros greatly outweigh them. This is still an awesome camera
+10points
Review 2 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level DSLR

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Shubha
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
If you are looking for a decent entry level DSLR, this is it. Very good picture quality, compatible to wide variety of Nikkor lenses to suite your requirement. Camera has just the perfect grip and user friendly inter-phase and so high value for your money. It's better than D5300 and D7100 even, if you consider the specs and the difference in price.
+9points
Review 3 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product For An Amazing Cost

PostedMarch 3, 2014
SVBikeandSki
Location Idaho, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am a beginner action sports photographer. I got this camera as a gift and immediately started shooting. Its fast burst mode and easy settings interface make it a perfect camera. I recommend this camera to anyone getting into photography and is looking to pursue it seriously.
+8points
Review 4 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great DSLR camera - fantastic features for cost.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Professor
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Get to really know the D 5200 as it has lots of fast features to use. Once you are aligned with camera operations, you can get 4 to 5 lenses - with the savings from NOT buying the FX bigger brothers.
Start taking fantastic pictures AFTER you are able to really know your camera.
+6points
Review 5 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Camera incroyable

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Jazzy
Location QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Avant d'acheter la 5200 j'ai regardé les tests et review sur le net et les nombreuses notes positives m'on convaincu. Je l'ai depuis 2 semaines et la qualité des photos et vidéos de cette camera est incroyable. Après m'être familiarisé avec le menu et les fonctions, j'ai pris une centaines de photos et je dois dire que la qualité de construction et la grande maniabilité de la 5200 est vraiment excellente. Légère avec une bonne tenue en main elle se manie avec aisance ce qui n'ai pas toujours le cas des full frame. Je trouve la lentille 18-55mm de très bonne qualité. Je viens de commander le zoom 55-300mm Nikkor VR II pour une utilisation éloigné. Le 5200 est un D7000 avec quelques options en moins et sutout à moindre coût. Je suis un amateur avancé. J'organise un festival de musique et je prendrai entre autre des photos et vidéos de concerts.J'apprécie les options de réglage vidéo du niveau du son (stéréo) et options offerte en mode vidéo 1080p. Cette caméra est tout ce qu'attend le photographe débutant ou avancé. Je compte ajouter un microphone professionel pour une meilleure capture du son. On se familiarise assez rapidement avec les nombreuses fonctions de règlages, automatique et manuel. Je suis hautement satisfait du 5200 c'est une excellente caméra que je recommande. Chapeau Nikon pour ce superbe DSLR !
+7points
Review 6 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ótimos recursos com grande praticidade!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Nicolas
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Camera de altissimo nível de imagem, disparador rápido, além de leve.
+3points
Review 7 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for beginners and experienced hobbyists!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Dynamic_FOOL
Location Mabel Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I recently bought this camera in a Christmas sale and I have been playing around with the settings. I upgraded from a Nikon S8100 point and shoot, and I am having no trouble whatsoever working out how to use it.
Pros:
Many features for money,
Good value,
Able to use Nikkor lenses,
Light and compact,
Easy to use,
Cons,
The stock lense,
Not many, I have not had the camera for long so I have not found many.
+1point
Review 8 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks small and lite but packs a big punch

PostedDecember 25, 2013
deebee
Location Pa.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I started shooting Nikon in 1968 and after Fe2s',FG-20, N8008, N70, F4, and F5 this is serious relief. A bit reluctant to join the digital revolution but glad I did. This camera is great for beginner or pro and the features have all been listed in previous reviews. I have logged, indexed and mounted probably 10000 images with a typewriter and word processor now its recorded for me. I'm not a fan of the menu system myself, but its a small inconveinence. Anyone wanting to transition from film to digital this is a good start. Next stop for me is the FX format.
+12points
Review 9 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Todo que necesitas para enamorar con fotografía

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Balam Photo
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Con su diseño compacto y ligero, la gran gama de objetivos nikkor, hacen de esta máquina una divertida y productiva herramienta, pocas veces dos cosas de juntan así de bien, ya sea para street photo, foto documental en la selva con su ráfaga de fotogramas o un acercamiento silencioso en un concierto sinfónico, la nikon 5200 os dejara encantados, saludos desde México
+3points
Review 10 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muito bom

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
TemujinBR
Location Salvador - BA, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Comprei recentemente a câmera e não tive decepção alguma, qualidades de fotos excelentes mesmo para a lente que vem nela, ótima de utilizar, intuitiva e prática, não é pesada então não cansa de segurar ela e encaixa bem na mão, vale a pena comprar.
+18points
Review 11 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Performance

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Nathaniel
The D5200 has been my Go-To camera for about a little over a month and its holding up extremely well, performance and durability wise. The price might be a little spendy for someone just starting in photography, but it is a wonderful beginner DSLR, I even taught my little sister how to take great photos. The pictures are sharp and crisp when you use the right ISO and f-stop and has a lot of cool feature on it. The 18-55mm Isn't really the best lens for this, even though it comes as a kit, the lens I'd recommend is the 55-300mm if your looking for amazing pictures with quality. Its better than a telescope. Overall, BUY this camera if you have the chance! You wont regret it.
 
My product recommendations
 
+29points
Review 12 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been with Nikon for 30 years

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Roman
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A little history:
My first Nikon was an FA the reason behind it was it had more manual features, and I had greater control over it including depth of field preview . I had this camera for 20 years, never had any problems shooting over 2,000 shots.
Digital cameras stared to make an appearance, I held out, as I had more control over my FA, but film was getting harder to find and especially put to print.
Finally I sold my camera gear and purchased a D3000, great camera, but missed a number of features I used to have on the FA.
This year the D5200 arrived, I read the specs and features of this camera. WOW! I was impressed. The camera had more features and HD movie capability. I love the customizing features in "P" mode.
When I got the camera it was a steep learning curve, I learned to configure my own presets above the "SD" "NL" & "VI" At times for example contrast is a bit harsh so I can dial it down and save this, also in cloudy conditions where I want more contrast I can dial this up and save this under another saved setting. once I have them set, no need to re-configure each time. example I have "SD" "SD_bright" "SD_OC" for OverCast" Other features I used Bracketing, HDR, multiple exposure. but what I love the most is the ability to move the focus point around in the frame quickly, don't need the focus lock. If you are an intermediate photographer and require a camera that is customizable check out this camera. my kit also includes the 18-55 with VR 55 - 300 with VR II and a fixed 50mm 1.8. One thing I would like to see as an added bonus, is have a feature is in the customizable feature is when I change Lenses from wide angle to telephoto I can change setting for ISO, similar to Bracketing but have an option to increase ISO automatically say by 1 to 4 stops Wide angle 100ASA, telephoto 400asa when I change lenses. other than his this is my camera for another 20 years.
+25points
Review 13 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pictures, but I would improve some issues

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Ben2
Location VA Beach, VA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera because the reviews were the best on picture quality, and I was tired of just having pictures and missing that wow... Now I have pictures with wow!!! :)
But the camera could be more smart and intuitive:
1 - While in AUTO mode, for example, when the camera detects that needs flash, it pops-up. That's good, but if you put it down, the camera should be smart enough to "realize" that you don't want flash. But no, it will pop-up the flash until you change to a dedicated AUTO "flash off" Mode (something I never saw in any camera).
2 - The P Mode doesn't allow you to set it to ISO auto! I was used to choose the P mode as my favourite mode as the camera sets everything for me and all options are still available. Not with this P mode.
3 - Went pressing the Movie-Record button the camera does NOTHING, unless you turn before LiveView switch. Why doesn't the camera do that by itself? If you press the movie button is because you want to record a movie! So, why do we need to change a switch before that? Wouldn't be so simple if the camera could do it automatically, like other cameras?
4 - The menus are not so auto-explained. For instance, I would like to have the LCD off all the time except for the 2 seconds to review the pictures right after they are taken. How can you do that?
5 - Is there any way to memorize your settings between shots or between on-offs? When you set to take a picture with HDR, you turn the HDR on, but for the second shot the HDR is already off!!
6 - Didn't find any way to store the pictures by month, not by day.
Do I recommend this camera? DEFINITELY!
A camera is to take pictures, and these ones are awesome!
I would twik it, but I love it's picture. What else could I ask?
I chose the 18-105 lens and the 35mm 1.8 lens! Good choice.
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
Review 14 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional camera, great for pros or intermediate beginners alike

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Nikio
Location Tannersville, PA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this camera two days ago, and I already love it. This is my first DSLR, and I am immensely happy with it. The tilt screen is great for taking photos in Live View, but I personally love it because I can fold it against the camera, and don't need to worry about scratching the screen.
There are a wealth of controls, scene modes, and options to choose from. This makes shooting quick photos easy, and provides enough control for when you want to shoot professionally or just experiment.
When I was researching this camera, I read a lot about how one had to sift through many menus to access important controls. I don't find this a problem at all, because you just need to click one button, the "i" button to be able to view and change the ISO, aperture, shutter speed, white balance, exposure, and many other settings.
For anyone upgrading from a point-and-shoot as I did, the weight of the camera might take a bit of getting used to, but once you do, it has a good, solid feel to it.
Overall, I'm very happy with this camera in the short time I've had it. I imagine my satisfaction will improve once I've mastered it. Additionally, I've included some sample photographs.
+22points
Review 15 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for a fair price

PostedAugust 6, 2013
jTak16
Location Boston, MA, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got the D5200 in June 2013, and already it has proven itself as a quality camera. I think it is definitely a top end entry level camera, and produces very good photos while still being simple enough for a first time user. It seems to be pretty sturdy, and made to last. The kit lens is okay, and works well. All of the Nikon products are very high quality, from the mechanics of the lenses to the electronics of the body. Very happy with my upgrade
+18points
Review 16 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the price.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Nikontraveler
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon D5200 is a lot of camera for the money. My primary camera is the incomparable Nikon D700. I bought the D5200 for a lighter travel camera that has not disappointed me in the least bit. The dynamic range is amazing even though Nikon does not advertise this specification for the D5200. There is one item that is an inconvenience. When setting the camera in the 2 sec self timer mode, the camera resets after every shot back to normal. The solution is to buy the optional ML L3 remote and use the camera in the delay mode with remote. When shooting with the remote the camera does not reset to normal after every shot. This the way to go when shooting the the Bracket mode to manually create HDRs later in post or HDR program mode (JPEG Only). When the D5200 is put in the hands of a seasoned SLR owner, the D5200 can result in some amazing pictures. Note the dynamic range of the image below. Note the clouds and the shadows on the deck of the ship. This is a JPG processed from a RAW image in Aperture.
+4points
Review 17 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chilango, Brooklyn

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Chilango
Location Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I like my 5200 Nikon for the speed 5 frames per second the 39 autofocus points the 24.1 millions of pixels I boughted the WU-1a Wireless mobile Adapter great control remote , the 55-300 lenses now I saving for my flash Nikon great camera like.
-10points
Review 18 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelent image quality on a DX format

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Quiozini
Location São Paulo, Brazil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Before buy my D5200 I've read a lot about which should be the best choice in my case. I'm a newcomer to digital photograph world so I thought: why not get the most advanced DSLR for entry level. So, I did it.
The only one cons is that the d5200 don't have a focus motor on body which makes the lens to work with autofocus be more expensive.
But pros is quality image, it's very quick between one click and another, the interface is very friendly.
And, how I'm just starting on photograph world, the cons isn't a big problem because I'll probably buy few lens on the next two years.
+4points
Review 19 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost Perfect

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Brandi
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The only thing that could make it perfect would be more points in the viewfinder and a slightly faster shutter speed. I use my camera mostly for sports and high-dynamic photos so shutter speed is important, but I would not want to sacrifice the quality of the photo which the more expensive cameras do. The clarity and color depth is amazing.
+6points
Review 20 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great way to get into photography!

PostedJuly 6, 2013
NewPhotographer
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is my first DSLR camera and i love it! It's light, user friendly, and effective.
+4points
1 2 3 next>>