Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D5200

Nikon Inc. D5200

Nikon Digital SLR Camera with 24.1 megapixel DX-format sensor and Full HD 1080p movies. A digital SLR camera with filters, effects and Wi-Fi connectivity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 66 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
64 out of 66(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
75 Questions | 99 Answers
Customer Reviews for D5200
Review 1 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gran Calidad, mucha versatilidad en un tamaño y peso justos ;)

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Harold_AF
Location Santiago, Región Metropolitana de Santiago, Chile
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Mi Segunda Reflex, es una cámara que a cumplido con creces lo que esperaba de ella,
ademas la complemente con un lente 50-300 AF-s el que sumado al lente 18-55 que viene con la cámara me da un millón de posibilidades!
Soy Fotógrafo Aficionado y con este equipo he quedado Fascinado....
Recomendable! ;)
0points
Review 2 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This camera is great !

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
jimali
Location WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I really like this camera !
After being frustrated for too long at being unable to get the photo I wanted with lesser cameras,
I finally broke down and purchased a 'good' camera.
This photo was taken with full auto, all I had to do was frame and zoom !
-1point
Review 3 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent DSLR for the money!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Kanuck
Location Belleville, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my 2nd DSLR camera, my first being an entry level Sony Alpha series. What I love about this camera,is how intuitive the controls /settings are once you get used to the menu layout. I'm now able to shoot in manual mode and change settings with button press or two in a heartbeat! The 18-55mm kit lens that came with it is "so-so", but I've bought several lenses since and have achieved spectacular results!
The lens I tend to use as my "go-to" lens is my Nikkor 18-200mm VRII zoom, but my fave is my 50mm F1.8. Image quality using these lenses have absolutely exceeded my expectations.
Next camera purchase will likely be a Nikkon full frame rig. Thanks Nikon!
+1point
Review 4 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First DSLR!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
NikonSuave
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is very good. I know people have said the quality of photo is dependent on the glass, but the body offers many features that help you achieve maximum potential out of your glass. The 39 autofocus points are great, the 24MP sensor does a great job capturing detail and getting sharp images. Video quality is good (1080p at 30fps) and the audio quality is decent (I would recommend an external mic if you're serious about audio quality. Installing firmware updates has been easy, and Lightroom 4 and 5 both recognize the RAW files, which I would consider a "must-have" post-processing app. I am happy with my purchase, and even though the D5300 is out and I have heard good things about bumps in image quality (due to the removal of the AA-filter, and the other features such as Wifi and GPS, I think this camera is still great, and that if those features are important to you, then upgrade to the D5300; but if not, you will be satisfied with the image quality and interface of this DSLR.
+12points
Review 5 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente qualidade de imagem e velocidade

PostedJune 27, 2014
NikonD5200LOVER
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Qualidade de imagem da câmera é excepcional, rápida, cheia de recursos que irão surpreender.
+1point
Review 6 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

De lo mejor!

PostedMay 21, 2014
JOBETANIB
Location Ciudad de México
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
De lo mejor!
Compre esta cámara y compre un lente más potente y en verdad es la mejor inversión que eh hecho! Toma las mejores fotos y es muy versátil!
Yo soy novato en la fotografía, pero creo que para alguien profesional también le sería de lo más útil
La súper recomiendo!
+7points
Review 7 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Midoriku
Location Yorktown, VA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought this camera in November of 2013. This is my first DSLR camera. I had used a Nikon d90 back in 2011,and I fell in love with the brand. I use to use film when I was younger,and wanted to branch out to the digital era. The camera took a bit of getting use to, but it has been the best purchase I have ever made. Since then I have bought several lenses for it, and now own a small photography business. This is a great camera,and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for one.
+39points
Review 8 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"D5200 Built my Foundation as Professional Photographer Wanna be".

PostedApril 27, 2014
DonAldo
Location Abu Dhabi, UAE
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Hi Everyone, I am one of the many happy and satisfied Nikon D5200 owner in the planet. This is my 1st DSLR camera since birth :). When I started using this, I feel like a professional photographer already. This camera has met all my expectations and delivers all the requirements as an entry level 'professional photographer wanna be'. Yes, I have a long way to go in photography, but just in case I wanna upgrade my DSLR I will still keep my D5200 with me, because this camera has “Built my Foundation”.
+19points
Review 9 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginners/ Advanced Beginners Purchase

PostedApril 5, 2014
CaliGuy
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
When I purchased the D5200, I had never owned a DSLR or even a point and shoot, but I had done thorough research and figured out that this was the camera for me. This camera far exceeded my expectations: the 24 MP captures immense detail, the 1080p/60 fps recording is awesome (the fps is high enough to even get a little slow mo action going), the flip out screen is nice for those up high/ down low shots, and the list goes on. I was (and still am) very happy with my purchase, and my photography skills have gotten better as I have kept shooting. It might be time to step it up to the 7000 series and (eventually) to a full frame (D600?) ..
Pros:
24 MP
Flip out screen
1080p/60 fps video (with full shutter/aperture controls)
5 fps
Color choices makes it more fun
Perfect fit in the hand
Easy interfaces/menus
Nice button placements
Nice Image Quality
Cons:
-BUFFER SIZE - only 6-7 RAW photos before the buffer gets filled.. This may not be a problem for everyone, but for people doing action/sports photography, this is kind of a drag
-ISO noise - seems evident at even as low as 800 ISO
-Live View kind of lags a little bit: takes a bit to switch to LV, a while to focus, etc.. but its LV so what can you expect..
-Flash button gets pushed alot accidentally while trying to change ISO, or just when changing grip
-Can't change aperture size while in Live View
In the end, the cons are just small things, and the pros greatly outweigh them. This is still an awesome camera
+45points
Review 10 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level DSLR

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Shubha
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
If you are looking for a decent entry level DSLR, this is it. Very good picture quality, compatible to wide variety of Nikkor lenses to suite your requirement. Camera has just the perfect grip and user friendly inter-phase and so high value for your money. It's better than D5300 and D7100 even, if you consider the specs and the difference in price.
+22points
Review 11 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product For An Amazing Cost

PostedMarch 3, 2014
SVBikeandSki
Location Idaho, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am a beginner action sports photographer. I got this camera as a gift and immediately started shooting. Its fast burst mode and easy settings interface make it a perfect camera. I recommend this camera to anyone getting into photography and is looking to pursue it seriously.
+17points
Review 12 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great DSLR camera - fantastic features for cost.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Professor
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Get to really know the D 5200 as it has lots of fast features to use. Once you are aligned with camera operations, you can get 4 to 5 lenses - with the savings from NOT buying the FX bigger brothers.
Start taking fantastic pictures AFTER you are able to really know your camera.
+5points
Review 13 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Camera incroyable

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Jazzy
Location QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Avant d'acheter la 5200 j'ai regardé les tests et review sur le net et les nombreuses notes positives m'on convaincu. Je l'ai depuis 2 semaines et la qualité des photos et vidéos de cette camera est incroyable. Après m'être familiarisé avec le menu et les fonctions, j'ai pris une centaines de photos et je dois dire que la qualité de construction et la grande maniabilité de la 5200 est vraiment excellente. Légère avec une bonne tenue en main elle se manie avec aisance ce qui n'ai pas toujours le cas des full frame. Je trouve la lentille 18-55mm de très bonne qualité. Je viens de commander le zoom 55-300mm Nikkor VR II pour une utilisation éloigné. Le 5200 est un D7000 avec quelques options en moins et sutout à moindre coût. Je suis un amateur avancé. J'organise un festival de musique et je prendrai entre autre des photos et vidéos de concerts.J'apprécie les options de réglage vidéo du niveau du son (stéréo) et options offerte en mode vidéo 1080p. Cette caméra est tout ce qu'attend le photographe débutant ou avancé. Je compte ajouter un microphone professionel pour une meilleure capture du son. On se familiarise assez rapidement avec les nombreuses fonctions de règlages, automatique et manuel. Je suis hautement satisfait du 5200 c'est une excellente caméra que je recommande. Chapeau Nikon pour ce superbe DSLR !
+9points
Review 14 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ótimos recursos com grande praticidade!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Nicolas
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Camera de altissimo nível de imagem, disparador rápido, além de leve.
+10points
Review 15 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for beginners and experienced hobbyists!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Dynamic_FOOL
Location Mabel Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I recently bought this camera in a Christmas sale and I have been playing around with the settings. I upgraded from a Nikon S8100 point and shoot, and I am having no trouble whatsoever working out how to use it.
Pros:
Many features for money,
Good value,
Able to use Nikkor lenses,
Light and compact,
Easy to use,
Cons,
The stock lense,
Not many, I have not had the camera for long so I have not found many.
+2points
Review 16 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks small and lite but packs a big punch

PostedDecember 25, 2013
deebee
Location Pa.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I started shooting Nikon in 1968 and after Fe2s',FG-20, N8008, N70, F4, and F5 this is serious relief. A bit reluctant to join the digital revolution but glad I did. This camera is great for beginner or pro and the features have all been listed in previous reviews. I have logged, indexed and mounted probably 10000 images with a typewriter and word processor now its recorded for me. I'm not a fan of the menu system myself, but its a small inconveinence. Anyone wanting to transition from film to digital this is a good start. Next stop for me is the FX format.
+14points
Review 17 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Todo que necesitas para enamorar con fotografía

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Balam Photo
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Con su diseño compacto y ligero, la gran gama de objetivos nikkor, hacen de esta máquina una divertida y productiva herramienta, pocas veces dos cosas de juntan así de bien, ya sea para street photo, foto documental en la selva con su ráfaga de fotogramas o un acercamiento silencioso en un concierto sinfónico, la nikon 5200 os dejara encantados, saludos desde México
+11points
Review 18 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muito bom

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
TemujinBR
Location Salvador - BA, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Comprei recentemente a câmera e não tive decepção alguma, qualidades de fotos excelentes mesmo para a lente que vem nela, ótima de utilizar, intuitiva e prática, não é pesada então não cansa de segurar ela e encaixa bem na mão, vale a pena comprar.
+22points
Review 19 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Performance

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Nathaniel
The D5200 has been my Go-To camera for about a little over a month and its holding up extremely well, performance and durability wise. The price might be a little spendy for someone just starting in photography, but it is a wonderful beginner DSLR, I even taught my little sister how to take great photos. The pictures are sharp and crisp when you use the right ISO and f-stop and has a lot of cool feature on it. The 18-55mm Isn't really the best lens for this, even though it comes as a kit, the lens I'd recommend is the 55-300mm if your looking for amazing pictures with quality. Its better than a telescope. Overall, BUY this camera if you have the chance! You wont regret it.
 
My product recommendations
 
+34points
Review 20 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Been with Nikon for 30 years

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Roman
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A little history:
My first Nikon was an FA the reason behind it was it had more manual features, and I had greater control over it including depth of field preview . I had this camera for 20 years, never had any problems shooting over 2,000 shots.
Digital cameras stared to make an appearance, I held out, as I had more control over my FA, but film was getting harder to find and especially put to print.
Finally I sold my camera gear and purchased a D3000, great camera, but missed a number of features I used to have on the FA.
This year the D5200 arrived, I read the specs and features of this camera. WOW! I was impressed. The camera had more features and HD movie capability. I love the customizing features in "P" mode.
When I got the camera it was a steep learning curve, I learned to configure my own presets above the "SD" "NL" & "VI" At times for example contrast is a bit harsh so I can dial it down and save this, also in cloudy conditions where I want more contrast I can dial this up and save this under another saved setting. once I have them set, no need to re-configure each time. example I have "SD" "SD_bright" "SD_OC" for OverCast" Other features I used Bracketing, HDR, multiple exposure. but what I love the most is the ability to move the focus point around in the frame quickly, don't need the focus lock. If you are an intermediate photographer and require a camera that is customizable check out this camera. my kit also includes the 18-55 with VR 55 - 300 with VR II and a fixed 50mm 1.8. One thing I would like to see as an added bonus, is have a feature is in the customizable feature is when I change Lenses from wide angle to telephoto I can change setting for ISO, similar to Bracketing but have an option to increase ISO automatically say by 1 to 4 stops Wide angle 100ASA, telephoto 400asa when I change lenses. other than his this is my camera for another 20 years.
+28points
1 2 3 4 next>>