Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D5200

Nikon Inc. D5200

Nikon Digital SLR Camera with 24.1 megapixel DX-format sensor and Full HD 1080p movies. A digital SLR camera with filters, effects and Wi-Fi connectivity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 77 reviews
5 stars
61
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
74 out of 77(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
82 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer Reviews for D5200
Review 1 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product for the price!

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Location New York and Boston
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this camera for sports and travel and I love it. It works great for indoor and outdoor photos and is amazing for travel due to its small size. The battery life is really good and the controls are also pretty easy to get used too.
+7points
Review 2 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best camera I have ever used!

PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Location Florida, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have used plenty of cameras and the D5200 has hit me in the right spot! Boy do I love it!
I use it for ALL my photography.
So glad I came into the Nikon Family!
+5points
Review 3 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent digital camera

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Location Brazil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Excellent digital camera, capable of shooting several issues with the 18-55mm kit lens!
+8points
Review 4 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely in love with my camera

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I bought this camera 5 days ago and I made such a great choice. This is my first DSLR and it is a great beginners camera, so easy to use. The battery life on it is amazing and the pictures come out crystal clear. I have the 18-55mm lens and as much bad reviews I've read about it, I think otherwise. The lens is amazing, and I am so happy with my new toy. The sound it makes when you take a picture sounds so professional and I love that! Will definitely bring it with me every time I go on vacation! Would definitely recommend!
+26points
Review 5 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fun to learn with!

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Location Clayton, MO, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my first DSLR, and I absolutely love it. I got it with the AF-S DX 18-140/3.5-5.6G ED VR lens, which is good for beginners. The camera is sturdy and I love the pictures I've taken so far. The controls are easy, and the camera is simple enough that learning from it is easy. Also, I love the moveable screen!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 6 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera ever!

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Location DeLand, FL, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have had this camera now for 5 days. I got it as an Anniversary/Christmas gift from my husband. I am so happy with it. It takes great pictures, I love being able to capture such great detail in my Nature shots. I love all the different settings, my favorite is the Sports Setting for taking action shots of my dogs. I will say I am not used to only being able to zoom so far with the 18-55mm lens that came with it. (My last camera went to 90mm which isn't that bad but it is amazing how much you miss that last 35mm! LOL) But I hope to get a new 18-200 lens soon so my zooming issues with be gone. Other than that it is a great camera and I am very happy with it. :) I included my most favorite shot so far, a picture of wild Muscadine grapes with spider webs covered in early morning dew. :) The detail in this shot is amazing, something I could never get with my other camera!
+11points
Review 7 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mi primera cámara seria

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Location San Luis Potosí, SLP, México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Es mi primer equipo realmente serio, y ha valido cada centavo. Adquirí un kit con equipo y dos lentes (18-55 y 55-200mm) y los resultado me han convertido en verdadero fan. El equipo tiene excelentes prestaciones y buena relación costo/beneficio. Absolutamente recomendable para iniciarse en la fotografía (fotos de teléfono celular no cuentan...).
+6points
Review 8 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really have enjoyed this camera

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Location San Francisco and Hawaii
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased my D5200 about a year ago, and I have really enjoyed this camera. It stuns me at how good the color and focus quality can be, makes me look good as an amateur photographer I use it for business use in as a realtor, interior and exterior homes shots, and also use it when I travel. I recommend this camera for a beginner to somewhat advanced photographer. For more advanced photographers you will likely want to look at full frame rather than crop frame. This is a great camera for a starter and hard to go wrong at the current price. If you see yourself wanting to expand with more lenses, and you still want to stay in the budget priced DX camera's the D7100 might be a better choice because you can use lens that don't need to have a focus motor, the body has one built in. I purchased a nikon 18-200 DX lens with the kit 18-55 lens, and also a 55-300 DX lens, all good lens, I thought that I would use the 18-200 as my standard lens, however, I added a 16-85DX lens and love that lens for the slightly wider angle for landscape and indoor shots, as well as a good portrait lens. I like the camera and recommend it as good starter camera for someone that is more serious than a point and shoot. I also use an my older D50 and a P510
+11points
Review 9 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente

PostedOctober 31, 2014
Location São Paulo - SP, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Adquiri uma Nikon D5200 e me surpreendi com os resultados.
A qualidade das imagens é inigualável, as cores são muito vivas. Na zona criativa, especificamente o modo manual, o controle de abertura, velocidade e ISO é fácil e acessível. O LCD de ângulo variável permite uma maior acessibilidade para fotos e vídeos em diversos ângulos.
Sou um iniciante na fotografia, mas sei que com estudo, prática, e com esse excelente equipamento eu terei bons resultados.
Estou completamente satisfeito.
+12points
Review 10 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gran Calidad, mucha versatilidad en un tamaño y peso justos ;)

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Location Santiago, Región Metropolitana de Santiago, Chile
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Mi Segunda Reflex, es una cámara que a cumplido con creces lo que esperaba de ella,
ademas la complemente con un lente 50-300 AF-s el que sumado al lente 18-55 que viene con la cámara me da un millón de posibilidades!
Soy Fotógrafo Aficionado y con este equipo he quedado Fascinado....
Recomendable! ;)
+3points
Review 11 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This camera is great !

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
Location WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I really like this camera !
After being frustrated for too long at being unable to get the photo I wanted with lesser cameras,
I finally broke down and purchased a 'good' camera.
This photo was taken with full auto, all I had to do was frame and zoom !
+26points
Review 12 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent DSLR for the money!

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Location Belleville, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my 2nd DSLR camera, my first being an entry level Sony Alpha series. What I love about this camera,is how intuitive the controls /settings are once you get used to the menu layout. I'm now able to shoot in manual mode and change settings with button press or two in a heartbeat! The 18-55mm kit lens that came with it is "so-so", but I've bought several lenses since and have achieved spectacular results!
The lens I tend to use as my "go-to" lens is my Nikkor 18-200mm VRII zoom, but my fave is my 50mm F1.8. Image quality using these lenses have absolutely exceeded my expectations.
Next camera purchase will likely be a Nikkon full frame rig. Thanks Nikon!
+6points
Review 13 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First DSLR!

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is very good. I know people have said the quality of photo is dependent on the glass, but the body offers many features that help you achieve maximum potential out of your glass. The 39 autofocus points are great, the 24MP sensor does a great job capturing detail and getting sharp images. Video quality is good (1080p at 30fps) and the audio quality is decent (I would recommend an external mic if you're serious about audio quality. Installing firmware updates has been easy, and Lightroom 4 and 5 both recognize the RAW files, which I would consider a "must-have" post-processing app. I am happy with my purchase, and even though the D5300 is out and I have heard good things about bumps in image quality (due to the removal of the AA-filter, and the other features such as Wifi and GPS, I think this camera is still great, and that if those features are important to you, then upgrade to the D5300; but if not, you will be satisfied with the image quality and interface of this DSLR.
+17points
Review 14 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente qualidade de imagem e velocidade

PostedJune 27, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Qualidade de imagem da câmera é excepcional, rápida, cheia de recursos que irão surpreender.
+7points
Review 15 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

De lo mejor!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Location Ciudad de México
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
De lo mejor!
Compre esta cámara y compre un lente más potente y en verdad es la mejor inversión que eh hecho! Toma las mejores fotos y es muy versátil!
Yo soy novato en la fotografía, pero creo que para alguien profesional también le sería de lo más útil
La súper recomiendo!
+8points
Review 16 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMay 4, 2014
Location Yorktown, VA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought this camera in November of 2013. This is my first DSLR camera. I had used a Nikon d90 back in 2011,and I fell in love with the brand. I use to use film when I was younger,and wanted to branch out to the digital era. The camera took a bit of getting use to, but it has been the best purchase I have ever made. Since then I have bought several lenses for it, and now own a small photography business. This is a great camera,and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for one.
+46points
Review 17 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"D5200 Built my Foundation as Professional Photographer Wanna be".

PostedApril 27, 2014
Location Abu Dhabi, UAE
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Hi Everyone, I am one of the many happy and satisfied Nikon D5200 owner in the planet. This is my 1st DSLR camera since birth :). When I started using this, I feel like a professional photographer already. This camera has met all my expectations and delivers all the requirements as an entry level 'professional photographer wanna be'. Yes, I have a long way to go in photography, but just in case I wanna upgrade my DSLR I will still keep my D5200 with me, because this camera has “Built my Foundation”.
+19points
Review 18 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginners/ Advanced Beginners Purchase

PostedApril 5, 2014
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
When I purchased the D5200, I had never owned a DSLR or even a point and shoot, but I had done thorough research and figured out that this was the camera for me. This camera far exceeded my expectations: the 24 MP captures immense detail, the 1080p/60 fps recording is awesome (the fps is high enough to even get a little slow mo action going), the flip out screen is nice for those up high/ down low shots, and the list goes on. I was (and still am) very happy with my purchase, and my photography skills have gotten better as I have kept shooting. It might be time to step it up to the 7000 series and (eventually) to a full frame (D600?) ..
Pros:
24 MP
Flip out screen
1080p/60 fps video (with full shutter/aperture controls)
5 fps
Color choices makes it more fun
Perfect fit in the hand
Easy interfaces/menus
Nice button placements
Nice Image Quality
Cons:
-BUFFER SIZE - only 6-7 RAW photos before the buffer gets filled.. This may not be a problem for everyone, but for people doing action/sports photography, this is kind of a drag
-ISO noise - seems evident at even as low as 800 ISO
-Live View kind of lags a little bit: takes a bit to switch to LV, a while to focus, etc.. but its LV so what can you expect..
-Flash button gets pushed alot accidentally while trying to change ISO, or just when changing grip
-Can't change aperture size while in Live View
In the end, the cons are just small things, and the pros greatly outweigh them. This is still an awesome camera
+51points
Review 19 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Entry Level DSLR

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
If you are looking for a decent entry level DSLR, this is it. Very good picture quality, compatible to wide variety of Nikkor lenses to suite your requirement. Camera has just the perfect grip and user friendly inter-phase and so high value for your money. It's better than D5300 and D7100 even, if you consider the specs and the difference in price.
+24points
Review 20 for D5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Product For An Amazing Cost

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Location Idaho, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am a beginner action sports photographer. I got this camera as a gift and immediately started shooting. Its fast burst mode and easy settings interface make it a perfect camera. I recommend this camera to anyone getting into photography and is looking to pursue it seriously.
+21points
1 2 3 4 next>>