Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S9500

With a super-telephoto 22x zoom, an 18.1-megapixel low-light CMOS image sensor, built-in Wi-Fi® and GPS all in a slim, stylish design—this compact camera was born to travel. Capture the sights and sounds of your trips, then track and share them easier and faster than ever.
Average Customer Rating:
3.606 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 33 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
4
20 out of 33(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S9500
Review 1 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ótima qualidade e com a vantagem de ser Compacta

PostedApril 11, 2014
Keoma
Location Pindamonhangaba - SP, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Ótima qualidade para paisagens
Ideal para passeio com a família e amigos
Supera todas as expectativas
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Happy!

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Travelingloon
I bought this camera for a trip to Tanzania and the Serengeti without knowing anything about it. I was thrilled with the pictures I captured, often from a moving vehicle. The videos were also wonderful. I will treasure these pictures for a lifetime.
The camera is light, compact, and sooooooo easy to use, even for a novice. The pictures are clear and when enlarged are so clear that eyelashes can be seen on the giraffe and the fur and spots on a cheeta come into view.
Did I say I was Happy?
+4points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camera for the money.....

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Dave11a
Location Raleigh, NC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used Nikon for years like the S2 & D70 with great success. I purchased the S9500 and it is the best small camera I have seen to date. Even though I adjusted the color to be a little more vivid the pictures are outstanding. The scene dial on top makes changes easy and the Wifi is out of this world. To download to my smartphone with no cables is great. I love that you can put the camera anywhere and control it remotely by your smartphone. The 22x zoom lens is excellent. The GPS is a bonus. When you pickup the S9500 you can feel the quality with a metal body. Most small cameras are cheap plastic .The best of all is when I shut off the flash and shot in the evening when the light is low, the pictures are still great. Nikon keep it up, to me you are still truly the best.
+11points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New User!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
ElenaPix
Location Lee's Summit, MO
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had my Coolpix for a couple of days, but I am REALLY impressed!!
Thanks so much!
+4points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear, crisp pictures

PostedNovember 25, 2013
SandstoneJen
Location Amherst, OHio
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Great Zoom. Used it for the first time today. I was told by Dodd Camera that it would be even better than the camera that I was replacing. (I dropped it when the lens was extended.) They were right.
-2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing "walk around" camera

PostedOctober 22, 2013
JuleSolo
Location Keen photographer since the age of 6 -
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm 66, and have been "Nikon" for just over 50 years. My prime camera is a D5100 (shortly to be a D5300 - would buy the D800 but it's too heavy and I don't need 40 x 60 blowups or make pro movies!
The S9500 is an amazing camera. If you take the time (highly recommended) to really read through the complete manual (on the DVD not the "short" user guide) and practice going through the menus, you have a semi-pro camera that will produce very high quality pictures that you can blow up to 11x14 or even 16x20 (if you got lighting, focus, and exposure spot on). My only issue is a ton of noise on video in low light conditions. You can adjust for exposure and color balance in post, but it can't touch video that has been taken with a larger sensor.
Check out and compare the specs to this and most other Coolpix cameras (at any price). You will see that this is virtually the top of the line.
+12points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simplesmente Perfeita

PostedOctober 2, 2013
yeshua2013
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Role Just getting started with photography
Simplesmente perfeita, essa câmera é tudo o que eu preciso, ela tem todos os recursos que eu quero e além de ser compacta.
-5points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exellent Camera!

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
AgaC
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I had few of those Nikon cameras in the past (previous models) and comparing to other cameras on the market - this one takes the best pictures ever! I had to exchange this camera, though, it was freezing every 10-20 pictures and the only way to make it work again was to take the battery out and put it back in. Unfortunately. Hopefully this one will work just fine. I love it! Best compact size camera! And great video quality - just like professional video camera: 1080p, full HD movie. Build GPS, WiFi ans 22 x optical zoom makes it more than just a camera :-D
+16points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome compact camera

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
korab84
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera is easy to use and also has lost of photo modes. The optical zoom is also very nice, 22x.
-16points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality

PostedAugust 16, 2013
jeffypop
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Camera seems easy to use, good zoom capability, megapixels and speed of turning on and shooting photos. Only inconvenience is the pop up flash. Generally I hold the camera with two hands and the left hand fingers rest on top of the flash pop up. Need to be aware of this in taking indoor photos.
+1point
Review 11 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remember to register the camera to enable GPS-Geomapping

PostedJune 18, 2013
Redhead
Location Everett, WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Wonderful camera...I didn't take the time to register my Coolpix S9500 before I snapped 700 photos in 7 countries in Europe. Wasn't I just shocked when I returned home to learn that the geomapping information won't be printed on my photos! Ergo, a memory challenge. The camera is a smaller version of last year's model. It's lighter weight and unnecessary lens cap make it ever so convenient. Great quality photos, too! The "smart portrait" feature is fun. When the subject is smiling with open eyes, the camera can automatically shoot the photo. I tricked a friend and she was in hysterics wondering what was happening when she hadn't touched the shutter-release button. Cheese!
+5points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera would highly recommend.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Sledguy733
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This is a great camera. Compact and shoots pictures and video very clear. Would recommend it to every one. Just check out my video for your self.
+29points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SO happy I bought a second 9500!

PostedApril 29, 2013
Lash
Location Austin, Tx
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
My wife saw how awesome the photos I took of the band Rush in concert with the 550 zoom. The images are simply amazing from such a small camera at such a long way from the stage. The video look excellent as well. WiFi problems....eeehh so what, wireless is a small matter compared to the quality of the images. Would rather have good wireless on my D800E.
0points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Maravilhosa

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
VanessaCalil
Location São Paulo - SP, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Câmera perfeita, fácil manuseio, imagem perfeita, tudo que precisa em uma câmera ela possou, só faltou mesmo a imagem panorâmica.
-2points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

What a great little camera!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Aaron
Location Hudson, NH
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Lot of features. If you can't afford to take along your full size SLR due to space or weight this camera will get the job done. Many features found only on bigger cameras. Great telephoto zoom lens. The zoom range is 22X optically which is much better than other cameras that pretend to have a zoom but it is nothing more than digital cropping.
With a camera this small you don't have to take bad pictures with your cell phone. No reason to leave this one home.
The bad on this is that the flash is pretty weak and pops up where you would naturally hold the camera...but it is still a better flash than what you have with a cell phone camera.
+5points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Just purchased

PostedDecember 17, 2013
frameman
Location Sioux Falls SD
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Don't like the location of the flash. Pictures are clear so far.
+5points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great but dead!

PostedNovember 13, 2013
seagirlc
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Purchased new S9500 before a 3-week overseas trip. Great camera, more megapixels, long zoom, etc. Have used Coolpix before & like the way they work. The new camera worked great for 2 weeks & took wonderful pictures which we downloaded on our laptop as we traveled. Suddenly at the Acropolis in Athens, Greece I took several pictures, then it froze. Lens was zoomed out, view screen on, but nothing would work. Would not turn off, zoom in or out, take any pics. Waited for it to time out & turn itself off but it never did. Finally after an hour or so the view screen went dark but the lens stayed out, for the rest of the trip. Very frustrating! Fortunately we were within 90 days of purchase & able to return for another. Since we like the camera & functions, we bit the bullet & got another, same model. Also learned a lesson - when you travel, take your old camera with you as a backup!
+13points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great pictures, but.....

PostedJune 13, 2013
chinacat
Location Colorado
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I like the camera but not the video function. As the lens moves in and out it makes a terrible buzzing noise. It's not noticeable until you go to watch the video and then... it sounds like a buzz saw. I went to the camera shop & they said it is what it is. I looked online and found LOTS of people have the same issue. Lots of potential solutions, none work. So..great stills but don't get this for the video function.
-10points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very difficult to see subject in bright sunlight

PostedMay 13, 2013
SAB
Location HB, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
So far I really like the camera, however this is my most difficult Coolpix to see your subject in the viewfinder - monitor while in sunshine. My S8200 was my favorite, but the long zoom makes the S9500 better even though it is more difficult to shot pictures outside.
Simply put make the S9500 monitor easier to see in the sun or my like of this camera will fade very rapidly. This was a rather expensive camera to have this big of a flaw!
+23points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S9500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Time between Pics

PostedMarch 24, 2014
CaymanSun
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have just purchased a Coolpix S9500 and I find the time between taking a photo and the time that the camera is ready to take another, seems to be a long one. Can anyone advise on this please. I am currently using Auto mode.
0points
1 2 next>>