Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S8200

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S8200

The fast and responsive Nikon S8200 with 16.1-MP CMOS imaging sensor, crisply renders low light, far off fast action, even panorama photos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 39 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
31 out of 39(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
107 Questions | 119 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S8200
Review 1 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera futures in a small package.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
FotoJAG
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Excellent Zoom Range for taking still photos, and excellent sound and quality for video recording.
+1point
Review 2 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Máquina versátil e com ótima qualidade de imagem (foto e vídeo).

PostedMarch 20, 2013
J Carlos
Location Tucuruí-PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Esta S8200 é, realmente, um diferencial: 16 MP e zoom óptico de 14x!
Além diso, permite fotos em preto e branco que são uma verdadeira arte (poucas máquinas disponibilizam fotos em preto e branco) ... e a filmagem em três diferentes velocidades fazem dela uma máquina que é um referencial no mercado.
+2points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magnífica cámara

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Relámpago
Location MEXICO DF
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Acabo de viajar a China y me ofreció un muy buen servicio el equipo. Muy recomendable por poderosa y compacta.
+2points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this camera!

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Colorado Kid
Location Colorado, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
I purchased this camera because of its 14x optical zoom and 16 mPixels. It replaced my prior digital "point and shoot" that had only 5x optical zoom. I used to shoot with a SLR back in the old film days and got tired of hauling it around when I do outdoor stuff - which is how I mostly use my camera. So have used a series of "point and shoot" cameras, initially film based, then digital. This one is more compact that my former 5x zoom camera and even fits into my jeans pocket when hiking. I took this to Alaska and got some fantastic shots using the zoom. Far better than my former 5x optical zoom. I was worried about getting a camera without a viewfinder, since I needed it often with my former camera because the LCD screen was difficult to see outdoors. Not so with this one. Even in really bright sunlight, I can see the image on the LCD screen. OK, sometimes I sort of have to shield it with my hand if the sun is shining directly on the screen. I like the many different settings - not only the "scene selector" options, but that you can change numerous other settings, such as white balance, metering, area of focus, etc. It does NOT have "shutter priority" or "aperture priority" settings, but there are so many other ways to achieve the same thing, it is not needed and the camera computer probably does a better job anyway!! But the lack of "aperture priorty" does limit a bit the ability to adjust the depth of field in macro shots. But I still got some fantastic macro shots using the camera's macro setting. I have yet to use all the different settings, but have played around with some, such as the "Pet Portrait" which is kind of cool, and "Night Landscape" - great night shots without a tripod!! Overall, I am very pleased with this camera.
+22points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

CoolPix S8200

PostedOctober 9, 2012
RHC
Location Scottsdale, AZ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
After some extensive research I purchased this camera as a back-up to my D80 after I wore out my CoolPix S550. I ordered a red one so it wouldn't get lost in a sea of black in my camera case.
I love this camera! The colors scream and I really like the ability to adjust color vividness/saturation and hue in a sliding scale, instead of just on or off. The fact that it has an HDR setting hidden in the menu was a real surprise. I haven't tried it yet, but I will as soon as an opportunity arises. I also like the different pre-sets that this model has over the S550.
Its ability to focus in low light is super; far and away better than my old S550. I shot all weekend [200+ photos] and the battery still indicates a full charge. The range of the zoom is phenomenal for a pocket camera and the anti-shake works VERY well, even in low light.
The flash popping up under your left index finger is a bit disconcerting, but it's nothing more than retraining your left hand to hold the camera differently in low light; I'm already getting better at it. I wish you could put the flash back down without turning the camera off, but that really isn't a 'put off' for me. I also wish the matrix metering would work in 'scenes' mode, but that's probably asking too much for this type of camera.
I like the fact that the lowest ISO is 100; the S550 was 64 but this is close enough. I shoot more low ISO shots than high because of the finer grain, so that was a serious consideration. The plethora of white balance settings was another major consideration that lifted this camera above the Panasonic model I was also considering at the time of purchase.
+18points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing detail

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Nikon lover
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my first time owning a Nikon and I absoulty love this camara it's got good detail and I recommend it to family and friends
+1point
Review 7 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Resultado de imagens

PostedJune 15, 2012
Anna
Location São Paulo, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
Fotos noturnas excelentes.!! Fotografar animais é mito di´´icil, mas consegui dessa vez!!!!!
-1point
Review 8 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Overall Camera

PostedMay 31, 2012
sharpshooter163
Location Colorado, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this camera looking for a nice compact camera that was a little better than a point and shoot. While it has no manual mode like i would have hoped for it did have a lot of cool features. The camera is lightweight and comfortable to hold. I enjoyed that the "click wheel" could also be spun around, making it easy to go through large amounts of photos and change features easily.
PROS:
-Nice screen resolution and easy to navigate
-High detail in macro mode
-Average zoom
-Lightweight
-Fast start-up
-"Artsy" effects such as color selector(choose one color and have the rest of the picture appear in black & white) and soft during shooting : effects like miniature and fisheye after shooting
-Great camera for the price
CONS:
-No manual mode
-Flash is in an awkward location and can't be put down without being turned off and on again
+35points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pocket Camera

PostedMay 22, 2012
Sailor
Location Rochester, Mich
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Great, user friendly camera. Have to really try hard to get bad results. Best low light and back light performance ever experienced.
Only complaint: LCD screen scratches easily....plan on using a screen protector if you carry camera in your pocket or glove box
+27points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

es una buena compañera de viajes

PostedMay 21, 2012
james
Location Monterrey, NL, México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
yo tengo una desde hace 1 año y de verdad que me he encariñado con ella toma fotos geniales desde cerca hasta largas distancias es comoda compacta y se ajusta a ti es simplemente la camara perfecta para todo aquel que desee tener algo potente y compacto
+7points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera

PostedMay 15, 2012
arcdude
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera mainly for it's low-light ability and it's big zoom lens. I was not disappointed. Compact cameras I have had in the past drove me crazy with redeye issues. With this camera, most of the time you don't even need to use the flash. And when you do, there is a redeye reduction mode that gets rid of the redeye electronically instead of flashing an annoying red light to close the subject's pupils. And even in full flash mode I have not taken a single redeye picture yet. I am amazed by those who complain about where the flash is located and someone even suggested they put the flash on the front of the body. You have to realize that the farther the flash is from the lens, the less likely you are to get redeye pictures. And in this camera, the flash is located about as far from the lens as possible.
+27points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb image quality and impressive video in high HD

PostedApril 17, 2012
Nikon pro user for years
Location Quebec, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Bought this point and shoot camera as a back-up camera on days when I don't carry my DSLR camera and also on vacation. Great images from the start but when my wife got hold of it, she wouldn't let me have it anymore. She's using it to record high definition video of our trips. Great images on the screen. The only drawback is the lack of an external charger to charge the battery when carrying two or more batteries. Charger needed asap Nikon!!! Hear this?
+21points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around camera....EVEN INDOOR SPORTS

PostedApril 8, 2012
Volleyball Mom
Location Tennessee, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I searched high and low before purchasing a new camera. I did not want to spend the money for a huge slr camera, but I wanted to take indoor volleyball pictures of my teenage daughters. I can put this camera on ISO 3200 and get great action shots. This works better than the sports setting on the camera. All the regular photos are just a bonus to this camera. I love it, and do not regreat my purchase one bit. And others are slightly jelous of my pictures, and the fact my camera fits in my pocket!
+16points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product/compact size

PostedApril 7, 2012
Dickiebird
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Purchased my camera on holiday in the Caribbean and am delighted with the ease of use and results of the images.
-3points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENTE CAMARA PEQUEÑA Y VERSATIL

PostedMarch 31, 2012
EL PIOJO
Location MEXICO DF
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
PERFECTA Y COMODA PARA FOTOS DE GRAN CALIDAD , ASI COMO SUS COMPLETAS FUNCIONES QUE HACEN DE UN FOTOGRAFO AMATEUR UN VERDADERO PROFESIONAL.
+4points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mi mejor amiga

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Mapu
Location Manhattan, NY
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Es una cámra ideal para las fiestas porque trabaja bien con poca luz. Y en otras condiciones hace bien lo que otras Nikon hacen
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
Review 17 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 21, 2012
photoshoot
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
since i started photography, i've been using canon.and a friend just came and told me that he had a better camera than mine, at first i was skeptical. he was so persistent that i gave in, i tried it for a week and i cant help notice the big difference. i realized that i've been paying a lot for a canon dslr when i can take the same kind of pictures with nikon s8200. what matters to me, is the clarity of every pictures i take..it felt like taking pictures with my own eyes..
i would definitely recommend this camera
+18points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ABSOLUTELY LOVE MY 8200!!!!

PostedMarch 3, 2012
suenamee
Location Hastings, NE, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My co-worker wasn't too impressed with this camera after she bought it. It's quite sad. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT! The 14x digital zoom has DEFINITELY helped me improve my pictures! My old camera, which was a low-end brand, and only 8 mp and 8x digital zoom didn't do the trick for the photos I wanted. So I KNEW I wanted to use Nikon and go from there. Oh am I glad I did!
I went out to the Platte River yesterday to photograph the Sandhill Cranes. The 14x zoom helped TREMENDOUSLY, as I was able to get some REALLY AWESOME pictures of the cranes. They looked like they were so close to me in the photos!
I have been messing with my features and I LOVE the pet portrait mode! It is MUCH clearer and better than my old camera. Plus, my cats don't get blinded now! I have done the portrait setting which is ABSOLUTELY awesome also!
You will NOT be disappointed like my co-worker if you buy this camera! it's a GREAT one to have and this DEFINITELY will give the DSLR models a run for their $$$. Light, compact and easy to carry around cameras are what I recommend. I also just LOVE how GREAT my photos look!
+16points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Camera -- Better than Comparable Sony Model

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
Singingbaker
Location Wexford, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was looking for a camera that would be small in size so that I could tuck it in my purse and go. I have another Nikon that I just love but the size is larger and would never fit in my purse.
I first purchased a Sony camera from a local store that had the capability to manually select settings; it was a touch more expensive than the Nikon. Other than that the features were almost identical to the Nikon S8200. My first inclination was to go with the Nikon because of past experience with Nikon cameras but I thought I'd give the Sony a try because of the added features.
I played around with the Sony camera trying out the different settings. I was not totally pleased and I had some blurred photos that should not have been blurred. I have been a photography buff for over 30 years so I know what type of photos I should be getting. Since I had 90 days to return the camera without penalty, I was glad that I took my time. About a month and a half into the 90 days, I purchased the Nikon S8200 from the same store so that I could do multiple side-by-side comparisons.
I tried all of the settings on both cameras. I wasn't totally comfortable with not being able to push down the flash on the Nikon as I could on the Sony and have it stay down. My way to work around that is to just push down the flash and hold it with my finger if I don't want to use the flash despite what the camera is telling me. Problem solved. What finally sold me on the Nikon and made me return the Sony camera to the store was when I took photos of some roses in a vase in my kitchen. I took many photos with both cameras and tried every setting on each camera. In every photo I took with the Sony I never was able to capture the true color of the roses. They were either washed out or the color was more vivid than they were in real life. The roses were a pinkish orange. With the Sony they appeared as a vivid orange. When I took the same photos with the Nikon under the same lighting conditions and using all of the settings on the camera just to experiment, the color of the roses in the photos were right on. That sold me on the camera.
I knew in my heart that I should have gone with the Nikon from Day One but I thought I'd try the other one out. Over this past weekend I used the camera extensively for a birthday party and for photos before a school dance with 12 couples as the subjects. The photos came out very nice for both affairs. I know that I will be very pleased with this camera for the long run and I have no intention of returning it to the store where I purchased it. I just purchased another Nikon model camera for my daughter's birthday present as well. I anticipate being a life-long Nikon user.
+36points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S8200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A terrific adjunct to my DSLR

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
CCE
Location Morton Grove, IL
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm a fairly serious photography hobbyist and my primary camera is a Nikon D60. Sometimes, however, it is inconvenient to carry my whole photo kit around, change lenses, etc. That's why I was looking for a compact camera that I could carry around with me all the time.
There are trade-offs in making any camera purchase, but the Coolpix S8200 was perfect for me. My primary interests were in finding a camera that had a great zoom and megapixels at least equivalent to my SLR. At 14x zoom and 16.1 megapixels, the S8200 actually exceeds the specs on my D60. In fact, I was blown away by the zoom which is the equivalent of a 350mm telephoto lens. It isn't quite as small as some other compact cameras, but outperforms most of them and still easily fits into a shirt pocket.
In evaluating this camera against others I was somewhat concerned about the lack of manual options like shutter or aperture priority. The many shooting modes available, however, provide more than enough flexibility for my needs. In fact, the scene menu is just a simplified version of various shutter/aperture options. If I had to make a change, I probably would recommend putting another more commonly used option like Sports mode or Landscape on the selector wheel at the top of the camera instead of Pet Portrait Mode. It's a relatively simply matter to reach them through the menu system (which feels remarkably familiar to my D60), but still Pet Portrait seems relatively obscure for such prominent placement.
I was also somewhat concerned by the many negative comments I'd read about the placement of the pop-up flash, but found them to be unfounded. It's true that once the flash pops up it cannot be retracted again without turning off the unit. The flash is remarkably thin, however, taking up no more than 1/3 the width of the camera. I find that my finger fits behind it just fine when it is engaged and allows for a steady grip. By employing a more "pro-style" grip supporting the camera from the bottom with the index finger and side with the thumb also negates this as an issue, but I understand that many folks aren't comfortable with this. I also assume that by positioning the engaged flash slightly further from the lens offers protection against red-eye, Also, there is a red-eye reduction mode which is very effective in this regard.
While I've never been much for shooting video, the video function on the camera is easy and fun to use and produces great results. I find myself using it more than I thought I would.
The most important factor for me, though, is the quality of my pictures and I'm really happy with the S8200 in this regard. My photos have great color reproduction and are clean and crisp. In fact, I cannot differentiate between the pictures I take on this compact from those I take on my more expensive SLR. I may lose some flexibility in control and editing but am more than satisfied with its small size and ease of use. A beneficial trade-off, indeed.
+47points
1 2 next>>