Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
3.89 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 162
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 163 reviews
5 stars
79
4 stars
34
3 stars
21
2 stars
11
1 star
18
122 out of 163(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent output and trouble-free

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Myaleaux
Location North Chicago suburb, Ozark AL, NE Broward County, FL
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This camera is one of the most dependable that I've ever owned. Pictures are fantastic for its size and components -well focussed, excellent contrasts even in low light. Motion pictures are unbelievably good for this sized equipment, plus it is small, light and easy to carry everywhere!
+3points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great camera works great despite my abuse of it

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Deb
Location dallas TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I loved my S8000 I am hard on a camera and it still took awesome photos in spite of me. I lost it last week much to my dismay it fell out of my pocket when hiking.
minor issues - I had repeatedly dropped it so the case has a crack on the bottom corner
The on/off button is glitchy as it doesn't want to turn on
The battery only wants to charge externally - this is a new issue fixed with a charger.
I have a large scratch across the front lens but it doesn't show up on the photos.
despite my issues it still took awesome photos and I could zoom in on wild animals and birds and snap a good photo. I would recommend this camera to anyone..
+3points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great inexpensive Camera

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Ed
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Has been a good Camera, Sometimes difficult picking the right setting for low and high light pics
0points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

great pics, lousy camera

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Gayle of Virginia
Location Chesapeake Bay, Virginia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
While it takes good pics, i am sending it in to get it repaired again. The on/off switch doesn't want to work.
-2points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dropped!

PostedNovember 12, 2012
SSRyaNET
Location Ohio, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this camera for more than a year now. It has traveled with me everywhere. Takes amazing pictures no matter what. I had the camera on my lap while driving a minivan. I stood up not remembering that it was there. It fell directly on asphalt, and in my haste I was out of the van before it hit the ground steping directly on the camera. I press the power button to see what damage I had done. All functions work perfectly! Nikon makes quality equipment.
0points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Relatively satisfied but failed shortly after warranty expired

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Geebee
Location Warsaw, Poland
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Have had good experience with this camera and it has been travelling with me across the globe. Always well protected from the elements and in a Lowepro Apex 30 AW bag. The optical part I really liked but I would opt for a more high level P&S camera as a future replacement (something with RAW and more manual options).
Unfortunately, the sensor now produces a white line on all pictures. I didn't drop the camera and it is out of warranty. I'm not sure if having it repaired makes really sense. Although it still might be cheaper than buyin a new one, I still am not convinced that's what I really want. Not thrilled this happened shortly after it went out of warranty thought. Cheap sensors for a relatively expensive P&S camera? A pity. I am used to better quality from Nikon though (D700).
+1point
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5900 Pictures and Videos and Still Going

PostedJuly 23, 2012
National Park Traveler
Location Florida, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Purchased this camera the night before a trip to Zion National Park. The camera takes excellent picture quality with 10 x optical zoom, so close ups at a distance are possible and come out great. The camera is very easy to use and an excellent choice for a new photographer. I started taking pictures in 1985 with my Dad's Nikon EM 35 MM. Took a photography class to learn composition. I saw today after using the camera nearly two years that this camera should use a Class 10 SD card. I have been using a Class 4 SD card, so a better SD card should improve camera performance. I have taken several videos including people talking, telling tales, as well as waterfalls and flowing rivers. The audio quality as well as the picture quality are superb. Zooming during video recording is possible, although you cannot zoom in all the way. The auto-flash can be disabled at the touch of a button without needing to go through the entire menu structure-great feature! 2 second or 10 second delay are also at the touch of a (different) button. Macro (super close up) pictures allow you to capture bees on a flower, etc. DO NOT TRY OFF BRAND BATTERIES! I bought a spare battery at the blue store with a yellow sign, because they do not stock Genuine Nikon batteries. The original off brand worked OK, but replacements have been a wa$te of money. I went to a local photo store to get genuine Nikon EN-EL12. The only issue I had had with this camera is the camera is reluctant to power on sometimes, especially with off brand batteries. They may have caused the "power on" issue I have experienced. The handle strap is durable and my genuine Nikon camera case with magnetic flap still works like new. Bottom line: I found this camera easy to use and with advanced features if desired. Pictures, video, and audio are EXCELLENT for a pocket camera. I carry an extra battery and SD card in a tic tac plastic box so it all fits in a side pant pocket. I just upgraded to a Nikon P510 for an upcoming trip to Hawaii. I will be taking the S8000 because it still takes great pictures and is easy to keep with you.
 
My product recommendations
COOLPIX Black Leather Case
3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
1.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
MH-65 Battery Charger
1.1 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera but bad extended warranty

PostedJuly 22, 2012
sam
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
bought this camera 2 years ago and love it. recently, I dropped it from a height of about 2 ft and it landed on the upper corner near the flash. Now the flash will not pop up and when I pull it up manually, it does not flash. I also purchased an 2 year extended warranty and when I looked at the extended warranty, it does not cover accidents such as this. So what good is the extended warranty. I would recommended this camera or an updated model however, do not waste your money on the extended warranty!!
0points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

was reliable initally but started getting worse

PostedJune 14, 2012
giddy
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I like this camera. my only issue is the flash-bad design-position and recently it takes a long time to turn on/respond -have lost great moment/shot as a result of this delay!!
0points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Barbie
Location Penetanguishene, ON, Canada
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera 2 years ago and have loved it so far. It is easy to use and I am still discovering features on it.
This camera out performs a Canon digital slr, and its compact, no big lenses to carry.
+1point
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Huge design flaw wtih battery

PostedMay 5, 2012
3d
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a good camera and takes great high quality photos, but there is a huge design flaw in that you can not see the battery level until the battery is almost dead. Seems to me that a person heading out for the day who wants to have a small pocket camera with them to take photos of the day, would like to know what the battery level is actually at before leaving the house. I have other Nikon cameras and have had them for years and have been very happy with Nikon, but this is a big design flaw.
+4points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE THIS CAMERA!

PostedApril 28, 2012
jojo
Location Nashville, TN, USA
Age 45-54
I switched from the canon elph to this camera, and i loathe it. Don't buy it if you're looking for a good point and shoot. There's a delay, and candid photo's are quite impossible. I hate this camera...
-1point
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This camera surely couldn't have been tested before marketing!

PostedMarch 1, 2012
court guardian
Location South Carolina
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera wasn't really "inexpensive" for a point and shoot camera. That being said, the camera flash is not in a USER FRIENDLY PLACE------the flash needs to pop up if necessary and that area is where one would HOLD the camera. My camera has now gone in for the 2nd time for the flash correction of not being able to pop up------it was NOT covered by warranty this time. Service was fast however, NIKON needs to recall all these cameras and replace them with a better designed camera.
We have put a felt pad marked with a red X so that we won't hold the camera there------here's hoping that the good pictures will come from this camera in spite of the poor design.
+3points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mixed Feelings!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
denbink
Location Tennessee
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera was not worth the money I spent when it first came out which was around 260.00 bucks, and that was a sale. Reg price was about 285 or so.. It would be better if the cost of the camera was around 140 bucks! Anyway, the camera has a thin frame so if you bump the camera around the flash area, the flash won't pop up. Nikon woluld not warrant this and blamed me for the bumping /flash problem! I had to fix my own flash problems by taking the side casing off and bending the casing back out, using a little plier and little rag so it would not scratch up. No more problems with the popping up of the flash. If the camera was built more sturdy, I would not have had this problem, to begin with ! Sure...an average person may bump or drop a camera and then expecet it to survive a minor impact, for the most part. I never had a lens problem, like I read from other's reviews. It records great movies with GREAT stereo sound and with just a push of a quick record button...that I like. No fussing with the menu to find the movie mode.
I rate this camera a four out of five. Not the best...not the worst. Picture quality is good at times and not so good at times. It depends on the operator, I suppose or not. Need to learn what settings are the best for the situation at hand. If you can find a refurb..then it's worth that cost not full price! Nikon charges way to much for thier point and shoots. I own several Nikon cameras from point and shoots to the D7000 and my fave one is .... the D7000, the cat's meow! I love Nikon's line of DSLR's. I own a D40, D90 and the D7000! All are excellent! Wish I could brag about the point and shoots like I can the DLSR's.
+3points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great zoom, but.....

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Dr
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Has a great zoom for its cost. flash goes out in an unconfortable place. Im having truble with on-off procedure, it stocks and dont open the lenses.
+4points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

i should have not bought this model

PostedAugust 18, 2011
virgil
Location San Francisco, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
digital camera is designed to just point and shoot. I always have bad pictures on this camera compared to my 4-5 yr old canon powershot. The shooting modes are not functioning well. 2 pictures of the same subject seconds apart gave me 2 different bad shots most of the time. I "reset" and still is bad. I am in touch with the co. and no satisfactory resolution
+1point
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not buy this camera, flash always breaks

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Frank
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Would not buy this camera, flash has broken 3 time on me in a year span and now out of warranty and Nikon won’t do anything about it, would not recommend Nikon in general
+1point
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great close-up shots

PostedJuly 13, 2011
georacle
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
User submitted photo
Beside the regular shots, two of the specialty shots being Macro and Panorama I am really impressed with. Close-up shots capture the fine detail of flowers that are amazing. The panorama shots with the software stitching and feature to border and text for the picture make me happy.
+1point
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I liked it but....

PostedMay 25, 2011
Joy
Location Guadalajara, mexico
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Bill i have the exact same problem, and now it got worst, i bought it in may 2010 and like 2 months ago, it started to turn off by it self, but now it even have some problems with the screen, it has some stripes and i dont have idea why and i never smashed it or anything and what makes me more angry is that i had the warranty but not the money to send it from México where i live to Usa and get it fixed, and here they only have a place to fix it in the capital city and that's also way far from me. I'm Glad that i saw this review cuz' i was about to buy a new one because i liked tris camera so much at the beggining that when i saw the outlet sale i got excited, but i think if the company nikon have had the same kind of complains about this product they should correct the problem and work in the quality and also give moré support to the costumers i thought this was a credible brand and also with quality, now i just don't think so
+3points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lens error

PostedMay 23, 2011
Bill
Location Beverly, NJ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Had the camera a couple of months and it started to turn itself off when I would turn it on. I would turn it on and it would turn itself off…over and over again making the camera unusable. Sent back, and it was fixed under the warranty. Not the only one to have this problem…hope it doesn't do it after the warranty expires.
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>