Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
2.782 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 78 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
33
37 out of 78(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will NOT be buying refurbished again.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
TreeTreeTree
Location Western PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased the Coolpix S70 as a gift for my wife. On opening the package, I found the camera to be badly smudged with fingerprints. I cleaned the screen, charged the camera, took a few pictures, and set the opening background screen to display a picture of our children when she turned it on. (An inspiration to USE it!)
It was a great present.
My wife was very pleased.
About two months later, I asked again how she liked the camera.
She said it doesn't work.
I was disappointed to hear that she never got it to work without shutting off mid session.
I contacted Nikon with a battery complaint. They said "No Warranty on battery" Having no other way to test it, I purchased two new batteries. These failed in the S70 as well.
Jump ahead 18 months with the purchase of a new AW-100... which uses the same battery. All of the batteries are in good working order. It now seems that the S70 was never cleaned or refurbished before being sent to my home.
0points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

blurry pics, battery dead

PostedMay 27, 2013
upsetnikonuser
Location Battle Creek, MI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had the camera for over a year (only about 2 weeks in my possession including warranty time) and the entire time, it has had blurry pics, and the battery will not charge with the onboard, or outboard battery chargers. A new cable did not fix it, a new battery did not fix it, but I am sure the purchase of a new Sony DSLR will fix the issue. This is the worst point and shoot camera I have ever owned, and I had always been a "Nikon guy'
-2points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
alienhipster
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
i had had this camera so basically been there had that couldnt ask for better
+2points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesomeness in a small camera!

PostedMay 30, 2012
NikonS70isthebest!<3
So far it has been awesome, no minuses (-) found! I love this camera because it is full HD and has a giant screen. The touch works like with the Iphone! Very good for shooting movies, videos and for taking HD pictures! If you're looking for a cool camera, this is the one! I definitely recommend it! Cheers! :-)
+1point
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Logan
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I own this camera and i love it. Very good quality. I would recommend it to everyone.
+1point
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible

PostedApril 18, 2012
Stacymc
Location Long Island, NY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Worst point and shoot camera I ever owned! Had it since december 2010 and didn't last past november 2011. Horrible pictures. most of the time they were blurry no matter what setting I put it in. Camera touch screen went blank and never worked again. Sent it to Nikon for repair and they want $87.00 plus tax and shipping to fix it. So, for almost $110, I can have it fixed. No WAY! For 10 bucks more, I can have a new one with newer technology. DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA!!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+2points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

blurry pictures

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Sue
Location Mass.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera a year ago. I have always owned Nikon cameras and loved them. I was very disapointed in this camera. I get blurry pictures 50% of the time. If you want to capture precious memories do not get this camera.
+10points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing purchase

PostedDecember 5, 2011
NikinS70
Location Lima, Perú
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
In April 2010 I bought an S70 in USA, but in October 2011 stopped working (now I am living in Lima, Peru), from one moment to another sounded strange and appeared the message "Lens Error".
I took it for service and was told that fell through the rotor of the lens, but never dropped or wet. The repair cost me as much as a new camera and it is over warranty.
This purchase has been disappointing to me.
Additionally I always had problems with the pictures at night.
I do not recommend this model
+7points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average quality of pic

PostedOctober 28, 2011
vicage
Location Salem,VA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had one L100. Recently I purchased s70, but the quality of picture taken by L100 is still better than s70 ,though it is just 10 MP.
+1point
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Nikon S80
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera has great picture quality. The price was good and love the size of viewing pictures. This camera comes with great features. I bought it for the protected lens, so sand does not get to it.
Only Con: Not sold on the sliding door. I can see it causing problems.
+3points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love it

PostedOctober 1, 2011
My lovie camera
Location Eastern WA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love this camera, I have it in red. It easy to use and has a nice big screen. Mine isn't working right now though so that has to be on the negative side. I would buy another one though.
+1point
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
docbubba
Location Pennsylvania
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I love this little camera. I got this for X-mas one year ago and never used it because I had two other cameras. Took it on vacation this Sept '11 and I fell in love with it.
+1point
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good buy

PostedJune 26, 2011
Camera
Location la, californa
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this camera as a Christmas present, was super excited till i started using it. Basically the worst camera i have ever had. I bought it when it first came out and it was very pricey. I regret it so much and now don't have a good camera. It takes picture that are pixeley and blurry. I don't suggest any of Nikon's cameras. Many friends have them and none are so good!
+2points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Faulty Cable Problems

PostedJuly 17, 2011
David
Location The Woodlands, TX
Age 45-54
Experience 6-12 months
This seems like a great camera at first, but if you buy it at Best Buy, get the extended warranty. After the camera quit taking a charge, Best Buy (where I bought it) recommended a new battery. The new battery still wouldn't charge. Then I bought a replacement cable at Radio Shack, which solved the problem. With compact cameras like these, neither Best Buy nor Nikon would consider working on this sort of camera, only fully replacement (in warranty). Buy a camera that can be serviced, and with a better zoom lense.
0points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Quality Images

PostedJuly 8, 2011
franD
Location Utah
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a great camera it's light weight and easy to take around, and has really good quality images especially with flowers and nature. It's also fairly good with action shots and sports. I don't have many problems with this camera it's perfect to take anywhere especially vacations. The touch screen makes it even better, by expanding the features on the camera giving you the option to snap a pic with the screen or the button. It also lets you edit photos right on the camera which is a nice feature. A problem I have with it would be the flash, I find my images sometimes turn out really bad with it on.
Overall it's a good camera that takes really good pictures and takes great HD video!
I'm not sure if it was worth the money, but if you are looking into purchasing this product I would go for used or refurbished to make it worth he money.
+1point
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as good as it seems

PostedJune 26, 2011
Not happy
thought this was a great camera until i tried to have the photos printed. The pics come out blurry when developed. They look great while on the camera but as soon as you upload they are blurry. Not happy at all because I have no pictures of my son's prom or graduation! Do not buy this camera or you will lose precious memories!!! I have a Sony Cyber shot that takes great pics and I am so upset that I didn't use it for the prom or graduation, or the many other shots that are lost....shame on Nikon for such an inferior product!
+6points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good buy..

PostedJune 19, 2011
AlaskanBullWorm
Location Ohio
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I received this camera for a Christmas gift in '09. I thought this camera looked really nice and from what it showed took really nice pictures. When I got it I thought it was so great compared to what I had before. Then, I noticed the pictures weren't really that great. 99% of the time every single picture I take is blurry, even in auto mode. I'm the only person in my family that takes pictures at family events and I can't even get good pictures to give to family across the country. No matter what setting it's on, the pictures are just horrible. I will admit, I've gotten some pictures from this camera, but that's really really rare.
-2points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great at times for nature. Bad for everything else

PostedJune 19, 2011
Nikon freak
I got this camera for Christmas 2010, I thought it would be a great camera because I liked a lot of the Nikon cameras. I have taken a bunch of blurry pictures and I went to a concert and brought my camera with, but I should have just left it at home, not a single picture I took looked at all like you could see who was on stage. The best thing about the camera is the nature photos I take, and even when I hold my camera completely still the screen will shake and give a very poor picture quality. If you want to take pictures of people, and not have to retake a photo because it's blurry, this isn't for you.
-1point
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Camera

PostedJune 11, 2011
Nikon - Hema
Location Burbank, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Have bought this about one and half year ago for Sister. After using we realize that this was not the one that thought. All the pictures taken by this Camera so far is blurry. The touch screen technology makes the picture shooting worse and causing blurryness. I have D5000 too which we bought together with 2 nos. of S70. D5000 is great starting DSLR but for point and shoot technology i would recommend not to by any Nikon product. I am not a professional in taking pictures but from experience I have learnt a lot. I also had Sony SR11 and Canon Power shot which i bought in year 2008. Both of these camera give a great result even in shooting vedeo. We stay about 6 month each year to India and finaly got a chance to inform Nikon Support about this issue of S70. Nikon is working on that. Hoping to get the positive result. I hope Nikon comes with conclusion the i or my sister dont know how to take the picture and S70 is not our bad choice. will post the review once the Nikon resolves the issue, but till then I would not recommend S70 or any other Point to Shoot technology to anyone.
0points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJune 2, 2011
icaquito
Location New London, NH
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this camera for my daily use a year ago. After a year I can't manage to take good pictures with it, 90% of the pictures I take are blurry. I had never owned such a bad camera.
0points
1 2 3 4 next>>