Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6500

The COOLPIX S6500 features a 12x zoom, HD video, built-in Wi-Fi, and 16MP, all in an utra-slim form.
Average Customer Rating:
3.122 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
7
1 star
10
19 out of 41(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6500
Review 1 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Gift of Anguish

PostedJuly 26, 2014
MichaelEberle
Location Michigan, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Received this camera 1 year 3 months ago as a gift. Used it outside of the house 3x's after researching how to use it because the provided instructions are minimal at best. ("how to use features" may have been written in another language that completes 75% of these instructions) Now all the camera does is "Lens Fail" when turned on. Nikon wants $79 + S&H to fix it? I'm now a proud owner of a $170 "door stop"! Thanks Nikon
.....Now Nikon is asking me MORE information about myself to complete this review, THAN the instructions that came with this product!
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lens Problems & Poor Support

PostedJuly 9, 2014
apra
Location Carmel, CA, USA
Age Over 65
We have owned two of these cameras. They provide everything we look for in a simple point and shoot. However both cameras have developed lens problems. On the first the telescopic function often malfunctions. On the other, the lens aperture does not close completely. On the second, it failed within the warranty period. I mailed to the service center address provided with the warranty. After 3 weeks it was returned by USPS as undeliverable. I called support. She promised to e-mail the correct address. I never received it. I registered at the Nikon site and asked for the correct address. Three days later, I have not received it. I called support again and asked for the address over the phone. I have mailed the camera to the new address at my expense (twice). Let's see what happens now.
+2points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Junk

PostedJune 24, 2014
S6500
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my second Nikon. I am going to wait to complete my review until I see how the service is.
Response from Nikon:By NikonStaffCustomer RelationsJune 25, 2014
If you have not done so already, please contact us at 1-800-645-6687 and we will troubleshoot and take care of your issue
-4points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best little camera ever

PostedJune 22, 2014
NikonGranny
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have taken great pictures in all kinds of conditions - sun - rain - low light, sunset - museum
I like to backpack this is light and small enough to take anywhere
I like this camera so much when I lost the 1st one in a museum, I purchased the same thing....
-1point
Review 5 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera!

PostedJune 14, 2014
SAsleepy
Location San Antonio, TX, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got this camera just before a big vacation. Thanks to its ease of use, I was able to take great pictures starting off. It is the perfect size and the big zoom is my favorite part. Also what you see in the window is what you get, clear picture and all. I did have a little trouble with night pictures, which would not have been a problem if I had had a full manual to explain, as I didn't have time to see CD or check online before leaving and no way to do it there. A written manual would have been quicker and easier on the spot. The only other thing I noticed was the on/off button is so tiny, you must press pretty hard to make it work. Other than that, I love my new camera!
+2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just bought, already broken.

PostedJune 4, 2014
Will
Location Texas
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We just picked up this camera and it broke on the first real attempt to use it. Missed out on graduation photos thanks to the lens getting stuck. It was never dropped or damaged in any way. The camera will be returned today and replaced with a different brand.
If you insist on getting a Nikon product, go through a store with a good return policy. I've read some troubling reviews of customer service and so I won't even be going that route.
+1point
Review 7 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Point and shoot

PostedMay 18, 2014
Satisfied
Location LA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Have had the camera for a little over one year. Used mostly for vacation shots in Oregon last September. Battery life was good and chargeable feature is nice unless you go out with low power. Auto focus works well if you are not trigger happy and wait for the focus to engage. Quality of photos was good to excellent and that is above average for me. Screen size is generous. Reliability has been good. I also have an older Canon Power Shot and the cameras are comparable with the Nikon having more pixels and a better zoom. I recommend the camera for the casual user.
+1point
Review 8 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice camera, simple to use, good for amatuers

PostedMay 14, 2014
Sittle
I bought this camera for my wife. She loves it. Very light, simple to use which is what she wanted. I have a complex camera. it is not simple and heavy.
I see the biggest problem with the camera is the slick finish, which makes it easy to drop if you don't have the strap around the wrist. Need some rough edges somewhere so it is easier to hold on to.
+2points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente cámara con muy buenas funciones extras.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Jonhy Rose
Location México, DF
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelente cámara, buen zoom, buena calidad de vídeo, buenos efectos y muy útil el Wi-Fi
-1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera in a small package

PostedApril 14, 2014
VacationPhil
Location TN
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
easy to use, wonderful pics, clear instructions,light weight
0points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Set Up and start using

PostedApril 13, 2014
gardenlady
Location Wisconsin
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
great picture quality and so easy to download pictures to my computer
0points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

MIS USE OF WIFI TECHNOLOGY

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Cesar
Location Colorado, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
WIFI DOES NOT WORK. will not work.WIFI is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready NOT WIFI. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.
+7points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery life too short, great pics!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
techchslow
Location Iowa, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
the battery life is too short.I charged it all night and then took a 3 min video plus some other pics and the battery still died that same day. the camera shows more battery life but then just shuts down. I got clear pictures of birds in mid flight while on a boat! I was very impressed with that. The camera has a great zoom too. I wish there was a way to charge a battery while using one so I didn't lose out on the second half of the day of pictures from my trip.
+3points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steer clear of this!!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
shellync
Location NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I purchased this camera last spring before a family vacation. Used it a couple days prior to make sure it was ok. Went on vacation & the 4th day in the middle of taking pics the screen went black. The lens would open but the screen stayed black. I did everything the troubleshooting said to do to no avail. Called the company & they had me return it, which I did. I received it back, charged it & the lens totally wouldn't open at all! Called again, to which I was basically told I was stupid as they wouldn't return an item if it didn't work. Sent it back again & received it back in the same condition I sent it. Called again & was told to resend it again (for the THIRD time) which I did, Then I receive an email that it would cost $116 to repair!!! Called letting them know I shouldn't have to pay anything since it only worked a week & was told they would give me a "complimentary repair" Well I have now gotten it back again & when I turn it on the lens does not open & the screen is white!!!! The company has had 3 attempts to repair their product & haven't managed to do so, obviously this is a total LEMON!!! This has been the WORST experience EVER!!! The company has been horrible in their service as well...DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA if you intend to use it!!!!!!
+13points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wi fi function is totally useless

PostedMarch 2, 2014
indiana
Location Indiana, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
wifi does not work. will not work. wifi is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready not wifi. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.
+7points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Requiring Service in Less Than 3 Months

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
ScratchingMyHead
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this to replace my still working Coolpix L5. Less than 3 months later it will not power up despite going to technical help center. I am returning it to place of purchase hoping to exchange it for a new one instead of having to ship it off. This is a shame because I was generally pleased with the photos and video clips I shot up to this point.
+2points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Picture quality good, everything else not so...

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Notahappycamper
The supplied software (for downloading and editing photos taken with the S6500) does not work with Windows 8.1...this in spite of published compatibilities. The WiFi feature is non-operational with Windows 8.1 and the Wireless Utility application is not available for an iPad Air or an iPad mini. In order to charge the battery (life is unknown at this point), the battery must be in the camera and the charger plugged into a 120VAC outlet. Charging via a USB port on a computer takes forever and a day.
All in all, I would not buy another S6500, or another NIkon product for that matter. I'll stick with my Canon products...they work as advertised, are reliable, are flexible and take fantastic pictures.
+7points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A pretty neat little camera

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
hrhsmith1
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought this camera as something to use when I have an itch to take a pic. Bought it. Seems okay.
-2points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Many Great Features!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
NewNikonFan
Location Portland, OR, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love this camera. I used to be a canon person, but after going from a canon point n shoot to a nikon... I am not sure I'd go back! I love how many features come with this camera. There are so many different scenes, like fireworks, snow, low light and so much more. There is even a smile recognition feature. So amazing and I love it.
-2points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

S6500

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
ButchP
Location Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Easy to use and takes great pictures. Wife uses it for all her reality shots and loves it!
-3points
1 2 3 next>>