Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6500

An excellent 12x optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens, 16-megapixel CMOS image sensor and built-in Wi-Fi® will have you sharing more—and better—photos than ever.
Average Customer Rating:
3.062 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 32 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
8
14 out of 32(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6500
Review 1 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera in a small package

PostedApril 14, 2014
VacationPhil
Location TN
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
easy to use, wonderful pics, clear instructions,light weight
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Set Up and start using

PostedApril 13, 2014
gardenlady
Location Wisconsin
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
great picture quality and so easy to download pictures to my computer
0points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

MIS USE OF WIFI TECHNOLOGY

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Cesar
Location Colorado, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
WIFI DOES NOT WORK. will not work.WIFI is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready NOT WIFI. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.
+4points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Battery life too short, great pics!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
techchslow
Location Iowa, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
the battery life is too short.I charged it all night and then took a 3 min video plus some other pics and the battery still died that same day. the camera shows more battery life but then just shuts down. I got clear pictures of birds in mid flight while on a boat! I was very impressed with that. The camera has a great zoom too. I wish there was a way to charge a battery while using one so I didn't lose out on the second half of the day of pictures from my trip.
+2points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steer clear of this!!!

PostedMarch 9, 2014
shellync
Location NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I purchased this camera last spring before a family vacation. Used it a couple days prior to make sure it was ok. Went on vacation & the 4th day in the middle of taking pics the screen went black. The lens would open but the screen stayed black. I did everything the troubleshooting said to do to no avail. Called the company & they had me return it, which I did. I received it back, charged it & the lens totally wouldn't open at all! Called again, to which I was basically told I was stupid as they wouldn't return an item if it didn't work. Sent it back again & received it back in the same condition I sent it. Called again & was told to resend it again (for the THIRD time) which I did, Then I receive an email that it would cost $116 to repair!!! Called letting them know I shouldn't have to pay anything since it only worked a week & was told they would give me a "complimentary repair" Well I have now gotten it back again & when I turn it on the lens does not open & the screen is white!!!! The company has had 3 attempts to repair their product & haven't managed to do so, obviously this is a total LEMON!!! This has been the WORST experience EVER!!! The company has been horrible in their service as well...DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA if you intend to use it!!!!!!
+4points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wi fi function is totally useless

PostedMarch 2, 2014
indiana
Location Indiana, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
wifi does not work. will not work. wifi is meant to work with any device with wifi period. should be advertised as smart phone ready not wifi. other wise camera is simple to use and takes decent pictures. very unhappy with the wifi function. have spoken with tech support and they seemed to agree that this is a mis use of the wifi terminology. works for what we need and transfer via cable is fine.
+2points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Requiring Service in Less Than 3 Months

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
ScratchingMyHead
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this to replace my still working Coolpix L5. Less than 3 months later it will not power up despite going to technical help center. I am returning it to place of purchase hoping to exchange it for a new one instead of having to ship it off. This is a shame because I was generally pleased with the photos and video clips I shot up to this point.
0points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Picture quality good, everything else not so...

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Notahappycamper
The supplied software (for downloading and editing photos taken with the S6500) does not work with Windows 8.1...this in spite of published compatibilities. The WiFi feature is non-operational with Windows 8.1 and the Wireless Utility application is not available for an iPad Air or an iPad mini. In order to charge the battery (life is unknown at this point), the battery must be in the camera and the charger plugged into a 120VAC outlet. Charging via a USB port on a computer takes forever and a day.
All in all, I would not buy another S6500, or another NIkon product for that matter. I'll stick with my Canon products...they work as advertised, are reliable, are flexible and take fantastic pictures.
+5points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A pretty neat little camera

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
hrhsmith1
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought this camera as something to use when I have an itch to take a pic. Bought it. Seems okay.
-1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So Many Great Features!!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
NewNikonFan
Location Portland, OR, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love this camera. I used to be a canon person, but after going from a canon point n shoot to a nikon... I am not sure I'd go back! I love how many features come with this camera. There are so many different scenes, like fireworks, snow, low light and so much more. There is even a smile recognition feature. So amazing and I love it.
-1point
Review 11 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

S6500

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
ButchP
Location Chattanooga, TN, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Easy to use and takes great pictures. Wife uses it for all her reality shots and loves it!
-2points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Trouble right out of the box

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
sorehead
DVD for View NX2 did not work in my HP machine running Windows 7. Website didn't like my choice of password. This is supposed to be easy!
-1point
Review 13 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Camera OK, but Poor WIFI

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
CasualUser
Location Near Hartford , Ct
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Only owned a few weeks. Purchased this camera to replace my wifes Sony CyberShot DSC-W90. Wanted better low light picture taking and WiFi features. Camera OK, but No WIFI when battery is not fully charged. It will not finish connecting. Charger that came with camera requires battery to be installed in camers for charging. The camera prevents WiFi or taking any pictures while being charged. Plan on getting second battery and separate charger to charge battery outside of camera.
-3points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Mindy
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I really like this camera because you can take video's & trash pics that don't come out like you like. And you can down load the pics on your computer.
0points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Outstanding lens

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Lucano
Location Connecticut
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this is my 4th Nikon Cool-Pix
first one I dropped -the only damage was that the 'door' to card & battery would not latch.
I was told repair was impossible -I used tape.
Then I bought a 2 AA-battery job. I MUCH prefer the battery arrangement on the older one.
Charging was done outside of camera. A second battery was always ready.
I gave the second one to my husband. more...
The third one, almost new, failed. The lens popped out and stayed out. Camera essentially dead.
Inquired about repair @Best Buy and at Staples. Charges would be higher than purchase price.
So, today I bought another.
I find plenty of fault in design re: placement of on/off. Methods of getting to the battery and the photo card.
VERY DIFFICULT !!!!! In that way, design of original was much better.
+1point
Review 16 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Around the camera

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
CoolpixGenius
Location Colombo, Sri Lanka
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Nikon COOLPIX 6500 is a all-round good camera. Great imaging and awesome color quality with SCENE mood. Zooming is amazing. Taking photos from a android or apple device and syncing through the Wi-Fi is a amazing feature. No need to plug the camera or SD card into PC and connect phone data cable and put all the photos to phone. When we connect to camera through the Wi-Fi to our mobile device, it will automatically sync the all photos. Manual White Balancing is a great feature too. I saw some reviews talking about Wi-Fi for the internet. Wi-Fi feature is not for the internet or for updating camera firmware. It is for syncing with mobile devices and taking photos remotely with zooming. If you want to update the firmware you should download the firmware and follow the introduction. Nikon COOLPIX S6500 awesome and amazing camera for the price.
Thank You...!
+6points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not at all pleased, especially for the price

PostedDecember 28, 2013
notworthit
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Received this as a Christmas gift to replace my broken Cannon sureshot. So far, I'm not at all pleased, especially after seeing how much this cost!
Just having taken pictures around the house, backyard and at a venue in the last 2 days, I'm not impressed. Picture quality is not that great [compared to an $80 point and shoot I used to have], takes too long to turn on, too long to actually take a photo, etc.
Also not impressed with the 'WiFi' it is advertised as having. The generic 'mobile utility' that the manual says to download is NOT available on the ipad, despite being told. There is no Nikon mobile utility to download to get the 'WiFi' enabled [I don't have an iPhone]. Seems pointless to label the camera 'WiFi' if there's not much you can do with the wifi.
Of course, then there's the 3 or 4 hours I've been sitting at the computer trying to figure out how to enable the WiFi - can't get that time back. Frustrating to spend that time only to find out that the WiFi is useless.
Going to dig in the trash for the packaging so we can try and return it. I'll stick with my $80 point and shoot Cannon and spend the additional money on something else I need.
0points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for!

PostedDecember 8, 2013
FirstNikon
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is my first Nikon and I am thoroughly impressed. It does everything I want it to do plus more. The pictures look amazing, great in low light, panoramic works nicely, and the effects are fun to use. The navigation is smooth unlike other cameras i've used. Switching from picture to video mode is simple, just press the record button, unlike other camera's that make you search through a menu. The camera is durable too.
+8points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful Product

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Prose
Location New Jersey, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Needing a camera, this was the practical one to own. A beautiful product with additional features and quality zoom for a camera lover and picture fancy person. Being mindful of all the things the camera can do yet a slow in snapping a picture. Finding a glitch in the shutter release button, hence loosing the picture intended in motion. However, I love the capability of the video asset to the camera.. it is a wonderful surprise as to its ability. On closer examining I realize that the shutter release button* is indented to the touch on this camera making the connection apparently delayed to the touch. This is the only fault so far and hopefully it is just this one camera which has it so. This would make a deep annoyance with this picture taker.
-5points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S6500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Takes great pictures and videos

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Vinny
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Takes great pictures and videos but the microphone is too sensitive. You can hear the motor in the lens if you are zooming in and out when taking videos. Also the audio is a little distorted if the sound is too loud when taking videos. I wish that there was an adjustment on the camera for adjusting the sound volume, so it would not sound scratchy.
+6points
1 2 next>>