Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6300

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S6300

Capture those elusive moments with the Nikon S6300. Its 10x optical zoom lens brings your subjects up close and the 16 MP CMOS sensor enables you to capture great images in low light.
Average Customer Rating:
3.931 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
106 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S6300
Review 1 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IT is Great

PostedMay 23, 2014
lick
Location Sri Lanka
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
fun and good -------------------------------------
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for all my needs!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
LLee
Location Louisiana, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a jewelry designer/metalsmith. This camera works for all my up close photos of jewelry and tutorials that I make. The audio is amazing. I record my guitar player/hubby at his shows and it records audio beautifully. I highly recommend this camera. I have been using it for over two years now. And I have to admit I have dropped it several times and it's still working great. Thank goodness.
+1point
Review 3 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera for a compact

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
coolpixs6300
Location Windsor, CA, USA
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I really like that image quality and the battery life is great took 400 pic at a weeding (moderate zoom light flash, and light video taking) The size is great to take on trips
+1point
Review 4 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My S6300 is AMAZING!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
PrissyRed
Location Mena, AR 71953, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I use this camera at work and for personal pictures. I take photos for several online auction sites and website photos, as well as using it for family pictures and vacations. I absolutely love the S6300. It's been one of the only cameras that I've ever kept around instead of using my phone. I'm by no means a professional photographer or anything like that, but as far as personal use goes this is DEFINITELY a good camera. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an easy to use, good quality camera.
+4points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera!

PostedMay 27, 2013
merlin
Location Orlando, FL, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Love the size, ease of use, and the quality of the pictures!
-6points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I was looking for!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Beyond Thrilled with Camera
Location Ohio
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
1080p, HD, 10 X optical zoom, records video and still pictures both! The quality of both pictures and videos are amazing. This camera does everything I wanted it to do and MORE! I would highly recommend this camera..
+4points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing clarity

PostedDecember 28, 2012
MewithaCamera
The pics come out so clear! So far, I love how easy and convenient this product is :)
+6points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this camera.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
denandev
Location michigan
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
It did a great job with dance recital,low light. Outside xmas lights. and fun features like adding color to black and white,right on the camera.
+16points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
HappyCustomer
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I have used this camera for about two months, and I am about to take it on a wildlife-viewing trip. So far, it has been very good, with no blurring or fuzziness problems. The internal motion sensor is very good. The zoom reaches very far, and even with full optical zoom, I can still zoom in much further on my computer, with perfect clarity. I am a bit worried though about the lens, because if it it fully zoomed out and something bumps against it, it is likely to break since it comes out very far. Other than that, I would recommend this camera to anyone looking for a good quality, compact digital camera.
-17points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera we've had.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Margie
Location Jacksonville, Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this camera as an early Christmas present for my significant other. She fell in love with it immediately. Some of the best pictures ever especially with the 3-D feature. Price was just right and easy to use. I'm no techi but this was so easy to handle. Great product.
-2points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera at a great price

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
oaipoolguy
Location Clover, SC 29710, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I decided on this model after weeks of research, I just wanted a camera that was simple to use for everyday pictures. After a month of using this camera I found that I use it everyday to take pictures of everything from flowers to birds around my yard, I LOVE this camera, very easy to use and I get great pictures from far away. I've been posting daily picture on Facebook and everyone comments how nice the pictures look. Great camera for a price under $200.00
-13points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great camera at a good price.

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Greg of Trumbull
Location Trumbull, CT, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera is the best digital camera I've owned yet. The picture quality always amazes me and the HD video is even more amazing. Colors are bright and in focus. I'm still discovering things that it can do. Low light pictures come out much better than I think they will. The 10 X zoom lens is amazing. It really pulls things up close and personal. I hope it lasts longer than my last camera of 2 years that was a well known brand.
+12points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everyday pocket sized camera

PostedAugust 5, 2012
EL
Location Ontario, Canada
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is the perfect camera to take along everywhere. It is tiny and fits easily in a purse or pocket. The photographs are high quality and I've already had a 2' x 3' print made. It has many scene modes to choose from. The Panoramic is a nice feature that I've had fun with. I also like the Fireworks mode as it keeps the shutter open for about 4 seconds (and maybe one day I'll catch that elusive lightning bolt). It has some other fun features like the colour enhancer. I'm very happy with the HD video mode. It is great for short film clips, like up to a few minutes. But be sure you have a Class 10 SD card for best results!
One thing I was not prepared for was the shorter battery life (compared to my dSLR). The batteries are consumed quickly because of the fully lit beautiful display. Video mode also eats energy. The unit gets warm when it's being used so intensely. Be sure to bring your charger if you're on vacation and this is your primary camera. You'll have to charge the batteries every day or two.
I chose this model for its HD video, high MP photos and small size. Overall a fun, affordable, portable camera that produces high quality photographs and video.
+27points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Camara !!!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Prix
Location Manzanillo, COL, México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Cumple con mis expectativas, super facil de usar para una chica divertida como yo ; )
-30points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

clear pictures

PostedMay 8, 2012
the zurg
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
i love this camera because it takes pictures sooooo clear!!!
+2points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A super little camera!

PostedMay 5, 2012
Mama B
Location Chicago IL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I recently returned the Nikon S300 because we felt it took horrible picutres and was far too slow to actually complete taking a photo. We also felt that the pitures were worse than on our iPhone!
I returned the S300 and instead purchased this camera. My daughter and I went to Chicago today and she took at least 100 random photos and they turned out brilliant! The zoom is fantastic as it the auto shake (keeping the pictures from getting blurry). It is a great size, takes wonderful pictures, and is a perfect camera for a first (daughter is 12) and I'm considering getting myself one to use when I don't feel like getting my big D70 out.
Definately worth the extra $100 than the S300.
+40points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

PostedApril 6, 2012
Danny
Location Southern California
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This camera is very cool i bought this camera because i needed a upgrade bad. I had an old 8MP Canon for a wile and Nikon has always been such an amazing brand and i always liked the stylish design the Coolpixes have. So i went ahead and bought this one and i was amazed of how light weight it was when i first held it so i charged it up and took some shots and some video uploaded it to my computer and the pictures are just phenominal and the film was clear as day i couldnt be any happier with Nikon
 
My product recommendations
COOLPIX Black Leather Case
 
 
 
 
 
+81points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Camera!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Mtngirl
Love the options that let you enhance your pictures without having to be a professional photographer. Pretty user friendly for those of us that haven't read the manual yet...Pictures are crystal clear and love the zoom feature. Bought this for my mother-in-law (in her 80's) and she LOVES it as well. Would definitely recommend this product. Wish it came with a case, though.
+4points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so Good

PostedDecember 16, 2012
my daughters dad
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Well I have had camera for 13 days and I used it 6 or 7 times since I got it, and it is a great little camera the features are great you get more for your money so far the lense problem hasn't happened so I am lucky so far. I would buy another one unless something goes wrong which had been described in existing reviews. I would have given it 5 stars but just started using it and I want to be sure that it continues to give me great quality pictures.
0points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S6300
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great travel camera!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
jim10010
Location New York, NY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I had to purchase a camera in Europe and went with this model as it was an upgrade on an earlier Coolpix I had. This took faster, clearer and sharper pictures in all types of light. The zoom was fantastic. At first the battery seemed to be a problem as it ran out within 1 hour of use, however, once charged the batteries would last me a full day of picture taking (always charged overnight). My only other concern was that once I returned to the US the warranty on this new camera purchased in Switzerland is only good in Europe! Seems odd for such a reputable company. Makes you think twice about where and what type of camera to buy!
+17points
1 2 next>>