Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
3.855 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 282 reviews
5 stars
128
4 stars
72
3 stars
26
2 stars
25
1 star
31
213 out of 282(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!! Great for the price

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Photo Phil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
I have had this camera since 2007 and i love it!! Got it for $150 and dropped it on the concrete garage floor and not so much as a dent in it!! My D90 does take better pics but it is an SLR camera, so it makes sense. However the pictures are better than my moms Canon and Dads Samsung!! Which is saying a lot since my moms camera has 14.1 megapixels. This camera simply blows the competition away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never going to get rid of it!!!!!!!!!!
+3points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not what i expected

PostedNovember 29, 2011
well this is one of those get what you pay for
Location va
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
i have had this camera for about a 1.5yrs and its does ok the zoom is awful. and the time it takes to take a picture is rediculous. it auto focuses like 5 times before it takes the picture and the it sits on the same picture for quite some time the video quality is the best either. its just an overall not good camera..
+1point
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT GOOD

PostedJune 24, 2011
mipis
Location Colonial Heigths, VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought the first Nikon COOLPIX S570 and had to return it immediately, because it did not work. I exchanged it and got the same camera, and only lasted 1 year 5 months, even though I do not use it a lot. I do not recommend this camera!
+2points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well when it wants to.

PostedJune 2, 2011
cascoz11
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is a good camera to carry around, but basically refuses to work in low light. And some days it will take fantastic pictures, and others nothing but noise and blur. Macro is amazing though! I always take pictures of peoples eyes, and (if the lighting is good) they turn out amazingly! The picture I posted is an example. My shadow, my bad. Overall, a good first camera or one to just have around.
+4points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedMay 25, 2011
nikon4312
Location Dallas, TX
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my second Coolpix and both had problems within 2 yrs. Been using Nikons since the 70s, so I don't understand the lack of quality these days.
I didn't like the S570 from the beginning because the zoom is too sensitive and by the time I got the right cropping, I would loose the picture. The low battery warning comes on then shuts down fairly quickly.
+5points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 9, 2011
countryfan
Location NJ
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
this is definently a good camera for beginners to use. for the most part the photos are clear. the downside is when trying to use it in a low light situation. the sound capture on the video feature is really good. i took some video with it at a concert last year and could hear the preformers amazingly well when i played it back, wheras my friend who filmed a little w/ her camera (i dont know what she has) and the only sound she picked up was the crowd
+1point
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I do not recommend

PostedApril 19, 2011
wheez
Location Hermitage Pa
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I've had the Coolpix S570 for about a year and a half. I liked it, basically, til a few weeks ago. It never did take low light images well no matter what setting I used, but I just overlooked that since I usually use it outside. Well the last couple weeks it started to freeze up and I had to take the battery out to get it to unfreeze and shut off. Since then it started to freeze more often and now wont do anything, whether I take the battery out or not. The lens wont even go in. Now it is just a piece of junk and any pictures on the internal memory are lost. And of course, no extended warranty. I really thought this camera would last longer than my old Canon, which is clunky, but still working fine. I bought my husband the Nikon Coolpix P90. Sure hope it doesn't do the same thing!!!
0points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Dallas Mike
Location Dallas, Tx
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Bought several for a special class - found them easy to use, made excellent photos and very easy to learn. Great Nikon lens made this little camera a great image maker. Selected the camera by price and Nikon reputation - I felt I got the better part of the deal; very good camera for the money.
0points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awful

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Amber21
Location Laramie, WY
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is a waste of money. I bought mine a little over a year ago and I have had nothing but problems with it. It takes fuzzy pictures, the motion detector never shuts off, and now the battery won't hold a charge. This is the last time I buy a Nikon camera.
-2points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera for Beginners!

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
I <3 Nikon
Location Rootstown, Ohio
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This camera seems to be what you would call a basic digital camera, well it is, But, this camera has many features like continuous shooting mode, tons of scene modes and has a very high ISO up to 3200. I love this camera I have taken anything from macros of flowers to wild animals and all the pictures came out spectacular. I would recommend this product as it can live up to its purpose, and read the user manual, cause I learned new things a year after I got this camera and I was amazed and felt stupid for not reading it... You would be surprised!
+3points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad firmware

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
nikno
Location Fremont, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
S570 has loads of features but they are of no use if camera cannot perform well. Startup is fast.
Picture saving is slow. I used a 16 GB class 10 card and still felt long time lag between two pictures.
Low light photos are too bad and slow .. I have to hold camera 5-6 seconds to shoot a picture and picture comes very blurry.
In my camera I got a basic firmware problem. Two weeks ago first time I shifted the camera to Smart Portrait mode and since then it's un-usable. Camera screen froze. I couldn't turn off. The only way to turn off is remove battery. As soon as I put back battery the lens goes back in and camera goes to turn off mode. Now if I turn it on, It hangs after startup with continuous startup repeated music. To turn off remove battery and put back in.
I bought this camera last year. I don't have a extended warrenty. It's sitting dead in my desk. Overall, I'm unhappy.
+7points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

disapointed

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
ughhhh
Location Boston,MA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have always had another brand of digital cameras, but thought last year when picking out a new camera to try a Nikon. I have always heard they are a great camera and friends that had them were quite happy. This model was a disapointment from the beginning. Was going to return and never got to it. The first issue was the substanital lag time in waiting for the camera to reset after taking a photo, it is long and frustrating when your trying to take pic after pic. Yes, there is a continuous pic button, but that option is not always the best. Overall, this particular model is not worth the money and I would definately NOT recommend this one. I would rather spend a little more for a different model.
+2points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved this camera!

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
De
Location Flushing, NY
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got this camera for Christmas 2009, loved it as soon as i opened it. took beautiful clear pictures, held a charge for a long time, took wonderful videos with good quality and sound. it was perfect for what i needed. its small, and cute and reliable.
just over a year after i got it i dropped it on its lens onto concrete and broke it, completely my fault and im really sad. i have been searching for a camera thats as good but ive had no luck so far. im thinking about getting this camera again, but maybe in a differnt color.
i would really recomend this camera to everyone! i loved it!! i miss it now=/
+1point
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

problems since day one

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Dennis
Location Clearwater, FL 33759
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have had problems since day one with this camera. First the lens protector gets dented, no need to call nikon, fixed myself, now workingh fine...now....i open to taske ou battery to charge and the small "plastic" piece used to hold battery and usb card in place has come right odff when i opened the compartment. Now the camera is not taking quality pictures as it has whe we first bought it through our AMEX Rewards Program. I would like o exchange this for another of for a refund...I wil leave that up to you. I am trying to hold back because we have been waiting to find the right camera for us for vacation pics and did our research and found nikon coolpix to be the one we chose. Please tell us we didn't make the wrong call on this. We have a cruise coming up and need a reliable camera. What can you do to rectify this situation. The little orang clip that holds the battery and usb card is ridiculous in my opinion because it was the 3rd time that i have moved it to access the batery to charge it and it came off in my hands. Since then, the camera has taken out of focus pics consistently. I am mechanicvalky inclined so I can figure out instructions pretty well but to no avail, the instyructions were no use.
I fugure I would use my warranty to replace the camera with another s570 blue camera. Giving the benefit of the doubt that uit was an isolated incident. What do I have to do to get this started si we can have our camera by the time our cruise begins on the 7th of January?? pics seem to be fine, its the dor to the battery compartnment the the little orand clip came flying out and the battery and usb card to follow. Now the door to the compartmenthas a hard time staying open because the black latch that locks it into place doesnt seem to want to stay locked. Again, can I get this swapped before my cruise??? I love the camera otherwise and will chalk it uo to ..."It happenes" But I really need a replacement asap for the cruise is leaving the 7th of january. Please help us rectify this, it cost us a lot in AMEX REWARDS POINTS and depleted our rewards points. Is there anything you can do to help this first time customer??
-1point
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lens problems

PostedDecember 15, 2010
beanie225
Location Indiana
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Camera lens doesn't go in unless you take the battery in and out. It has been doing this for quite sometime. no error message on the screen but it's a pain. You can't turn it on or off until the lens is in. Love the picture quality except the sports mode. No matter what the setting sports pics don't come out good. Sending it in for repair hopefully I get good service.
0points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blurred Pix, No Matter What I Do

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Big G
Location Cleveland, OH
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
No matter what I do, I cannot get a sharp picture. I like the size & convenience, but 'electronic VR,' which is really just a shutter speed-preferred mode, has not been effective. I have used camera on iA and by combinations of various modes but nothing works. I keep trying because I believe that the photographer, rather than equipment, is usually at fault. But I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.
+8points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Alan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I am not an expert photographer but I have had this camera almost a year and am still learning about its abilities. For an amateur, it takes good pictures on "Auto". The more I learn about the camera, the better the pictures get.
+1point
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good Camera

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Chauncey24
Location Grand Rapids, MI
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got this camera for my birthday. Overall it is a pretty good camera. I love using the Macro mode because it takes great really close up pictures. I mostly use this for just everyday pictures. The only problem that I have with this camera is that at first I had no problem uploading my pictures and now that I've had it for about six months for some reason it will not upload my pictures to the computer. I almost positive that it is the USB cord. But other than that it is a great product!
+3points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 16, 2010
baygirl
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I Hate taking pictures but love this cute little compact camera. Unfortunately I lost the instructions that came with it. I'm looking forward to using more of the features.
-1point
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all rounder

PostedOctober 9, 2010
scotty
I have just purchased the nikon coolpix S570 and i am delighted with the camera. The features are brilliant and seems to be even better than my previous S210. All in all a very happy customer.
-1point
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>