Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S5200

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S5200

Capture and instantly share gorgeous photos and Full HD 1080p videos. A 16-megapixel low-light CMOS sensor, 6x zoom NIKKOR glass lens and built-in Wi-FI® will have you sharing more—and better—photos than ever.
Average Customer Rating:
2.944 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
7
8 out of 18(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S5200
Review 1 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good camera. Easy to learn.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Tracey
Location Plattsburgh NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Camera easy to figure except the Wi-Fi. Still have yet to learn how it works. I do not like CD instructions but, rather, a booklet.
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
bartje
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I think this camera is a great value for the price. It takes great pictures and video, I am happy with this product.
+3points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

¡ Tan pequeño pero a la vez tan grande !

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
LuuciaSm12
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A mi sincreamente me ha gustado un monton porque la cámara es pequeña y parece de las baratas pero no , esta cámara es mejor que muchas grandes , su tamaño no tiene nada que ver con ella . Tiene bastantes Megapíxeles , fotos en 3D , hace una vídeos increíbles . Es un poco cara pero vale la pena enserio .
+2points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purple and powerful!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
DogMom
Location South Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have owned many compact digital cameras (including a Sony, several Casios and a previous Nikon Coolpix), and use them for a combination of still and motion photography that I use professionally for my full-time job and for my part-time passion. I want lots of capabilities, high definition, compact size, long battery life, advanced features -- heck, I want it all. Well, the Nikon Coolpix S5200 is delivering a lot of value for a compact price. A new feature I haven't had the opportunity to enjoy before is the WiFi feature that allows me to upload pictures form the Nikon to my smartphone (or any tablet that has the Wireless Mobility app installed). I am loving this! I upload lots of images from my smartphone to the net from my smartphone, and I have hated having to wait until I get to a computer to get my camera images online. Now, I don't have to wait. I can take those higher quality images with my Nikon (my smartphone is not shabby, photo quality-wise, but the Nikon is outshines by far -- and it should) and share them through the web, through email, thru text messages, just like I do with all other images on my smartphone. This is especially awesome if the image is newsworthy -- you snooze, you lose if you don't get those images out there quickly. I shoot a lot of digital movies, and the image format for the Nikon is MOV. I have always preferred AVI for my digital movie format, but MOV is very fine quality, too. The camera comes with onboard memory of 2MB, but you can add high density memory cards -- I have a 16GB installed, and that size will hold over 3,000 of the highest quality still images, not too shabby! I can hold a lot of digital movies on this card, too. It's nice to have great capacity to store images from all of a day's shooting rather than having to swap out memory cards multiple times during the day. I am very pleased with this camera!
+6points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features in such a small item

PostedOctober 4, 2013
littlered
Location Long Island, New York, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Just so easy to handle and the pictures are so clear can't wait to try all the features.
and the price was right.
+6points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera that works like a larger one!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
HappyGranny
Location Western NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love this one! I'm so glad that I bought this one. It works better than advertised. It is so small, I can sneak up for pictures of my grandkids and my dog before they know it. :)
+18points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed with this little camera!

PostedJune 30, 2013
Anonymous
Location Colorado, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is the first new camera I've bought in 8 years. I bought it because we were about to go on a vacation, I just went to the displays at the local Target and played around, this one caught my eye, honestly, because I loved the purple color of it! The price was great (on sale at the time) and it came in a package with a case and 8 GB memory card! So I automatically saved on accessories for the camera. I just got back from vaca, I am so impressed and happy with the quality of photos! Nothing was blurry and the camera was easy to figure out and navigate!
+9points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Usual Nikon quality, but ...

PostedAugust 9, 2013
CharlieTX
Great camera for the price. Bought it exclusively because it can be controlled from my Android tablet. I have it attached to my spotting scope, and can easily see small details out to 200 yards and save the photos on my tablet (all wireless, of course). Great picture quality, and easy to use ...
except ...
... the "multi-selector" is too small (and I don't have big hands). Nikon should have found another way to implement this function instead of settling for this solution. It works as advertised, but I usually have to make 3 - 4 attempts to get where I want in the Menu. Had this been better, I would have gladly given it 5 stars.
+5points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Common Focus Defect

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Snoopy
Location Love City, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Camera is nice, however, I have an older model Nikon that takes much faster shots and was cheaper in price. And it appears to be a common mechanical focus problem on some of these coolpix models.
Other than the above cons, decent camera.
0points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

lens error, i currently am the owner of a 140 dollar object d art that can not take pictures

PostedDecember 29, 2013
slippy
Location Tucson, AZ, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
after about two and a half months of light use (68 pictures taken) my camera can not auto focus and comes up with a lens error. I enjoyed it while it worked, but it worked for such a short time before it became completely dysfunctional. waiting to hear from service department, but if I have to mail it to another state, I will be out the cost of shipping, both directions, plus loss of use. I'm trying to be optimistic here, but I would suggest you look elsewhere than this camera if you wish to enjoy the simple pleasure of just taking pictures.
0points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nikon should stand up to their name.

PostedOctober 28, 2013
EternalButterfly
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Less than 3 days of use and lens issues already occurred. The camera was well taken care of. And was kept in a camera case at all times when not being used. When it was being used, the wristband was being used as well, it has never been dropped or damaged in any way. Went through the support vwebsite to find options, but those options were of no help.
-4points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shut down and will not power up.

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
TimSmith
Used this once and when I charged the battery, nothing. Dead to the world. Do not buy this camera.
+1point
Review 13 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The delay between pressing button and photo flash

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Arizonaphoto
Location Sierra Vista AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought this camera and I hate it. I wanted to take pictures of dogs, in motion and not just asleep. There is such a long delay between pressing the button and the photo actually being taken that the animal is only partially in the frame. I take dog movement photos at shows and puppies and the dog isn't even in the frame when it's over. I guess if I just wanted to take pictures of mountains it would be fine. And yes I read the book and the timer is off. I'll make a gift out of this camera and keep using my old minolta.
-2points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad camera

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
lens error 2nd time
Location denver
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have had 2 of these go bad
returned the first to the store and the second went bad in 20 days. the store will not return again and I have a paper weight.
Not a scratch on the camera
free to good home
+3points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery/card cover latch

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Events
Location Twin Lakes,Idaho
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I thought I had broken it so went & bought the same camera again so my husband wouldn't find out. :-) Didn't take second one long & the same thing happened!! I do several events in our community & been very disappointed when I can't get it to stay closed. Afraid to purchase another one!
-1point
Review 16 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Returned to seller after 2 days

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Anonymous
Location Staten Island
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Purchased in a Costco in Los Angeles, CA while on vacation (LA) after forgetting my Coolpix S6200 at home.This camera was returned to the seller after 2 days. On the second day the camera lens did not focus and shut down with a screen that said "lens error". Camera just stopped working and we were on our way to Mexico and decided to return it after it stopped working. We decided to buy another camera, same because of the price. While vacationing in Mexico, the second camera also displayed "lens error" a couple of times when we tried to use it. We did some research online, seems to be a common problem with this model. We are returning it to Costco today!!!
+2points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A great camera until...

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Jessica
I received this camera for my birthday. I love the color, it's sleek and handy and easy to use. The problem began while I was taking pictures during my birthday party and the camera just shut off. Just completely shut down!! No warning or anything!! One thing I noticed was that the lens didn't retract when it shut off, which I thought was pretty odd. So I decided to charge the camera (even though I had charged it for 3 hours prior to using it) and even after charging it, the camera wouldn't power on. Finally after repeated attempts to turn it on, it powered on for a few seconds, then powered off. It did a few cycles of that and now when I try to turn the camera off, it gives me a 'lens error'. The lens won't retract, it won't focus - the camera won't even turn on now (just tried to turn it back on in the middle of this review).
+4points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S5200
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lens error?

PostedMay 25, 2013
Andy
Location Easthampton, MA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought Nikon Coolpix S5200 today so I could take pictures of my daughter's graduation. The camera does not focus. Everything is blurry. I keep getting "LENS ERROR" on my display screen. The graduation is in a few hours. I am very disappointed.
+28points