Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.057 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 194 reviews
5 stars
107
4 stars
41
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
18
154 out of 194(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good camera.

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Citlaly
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought my Nikon back in November 2010. It was great. My pictures were flawless and I am absolutely in love with my camera. But it has suddenly stopped working. I know its not the battery, so it has to be the camera. And I am really sad!! I can't seem to find another one anywhere. I would definitely recommend this camera. It's so easy to use.
0points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good size, good photos.

PostedNovember 16, 2013
jmilty
Location Northern Colorado, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I really like this camera's size and photo quality. It's so portable I sometimes forget I have it with me (my cell phone's bigger!).
I DO NOT like how unintuitive it is to operate. If I simply want to check on battery status, I have to totally re-familiarize myself with the entire camera. In fact, I just bought an S-3500 to replace it because the 3500 is as simple as I am!
+1point
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

me encanta el touch screen

PostedDecember 22, 2012
vbartra
Location La Molina, Lima, Perú
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Es compacta, ligera, buenas tomas, funciones básicas y sencilas, el touch screen es muy práctico para las tomas y visualización de las mismas, un buen lente para tomas simples o cercanas, con un zoom limitado pero suficiente para este tipo de compactas.
Tiene un pequeño defecto con respecto al "touch", se convierte en un pequeño problema cuando quieres proyectar tus tomas directamente en la TV (con cable audio - vídeo EG- CP14), debido a que la pantalla de la cámara se pone "negra" y tienes que calcular intuitivamente en donde estaría el botón "avanzar" o "retroceder", porque si no lo haces bien, te hace iniciar la proyección desde el principio, por lo que los espectadores se empiezan a incomodar con su respectivo Ooohh!!!! otra vez?, pero eso no lo haces todos los días.
La opción de "grabar vídeo" no tiene "pausa", con lo que tienes que hacer varias tomas de un mismo evento.
Otro defecto que he encontrado, es que siento que la batería me dura muy poco.
ah, en los Nikkon que he tenido, el lente se atasca fácilmente con pequeñas partículas.
0points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Move on

PostedDecember 18, 2011
mad
I expected more from a Nikon. Love the size and the touch screen. No problems in daylight, but I cannot take pictures in dim lighting or at night! So frustrating!
+2points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Camera, few problems

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Katwan123
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I got this camera S4000, for last Christmas. Abolsutely loved it! Great, sharp photos and nice videos. Nice features (ex- sunset, snow, fireworks, ocean, portrait, up-close). Really helped me out with creating music videos, and excellent sports setting. Took many softball in-actions pictures for my team..worked well for that. Takes very nice up-close photos of flowers, nature, etc. Amazing portaits (full body pictures). Although I ran into a few problems. Sometimes I would just be starting a video and the screen would flash up saying "Card could not be read". And then it would stop. Other people have had that problem. Tried many different cards, same problem. Other than that, GREAT camera! I dropped it once and then lens smashed in, inoperative. Getting a new one! Repair is expensive. I recommend for anybody! Thin for vacations and traveling.
+1point
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best compact I ever had!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Kristin
Location Washington, Mo.
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought my first Nikon S4000 in April 2010- I took thousands of clear, sharp, great pictures-then in Oct 2011, it just stopped working. The camera would not turn on. I was assured by Nikon that the life of a $150 camera is about this long, when used alot. I agree, I've had lots of other brands & they only lasted this long. It was still disappointing, but I will buy another! LOVED IT!!!! It never let me down- until Oct. of course.
+5points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good pictures, but camera did not last long.

PostedOctober 12, 2011
hillco
Location Berkeley Springs, WV
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera just before my vacation and 3 weeks into my trip across the United States the camera developed a dark spot on the pictures and the viewing screen therefore I had to borrow a camera for the rest of my trip.
0points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

potentially great p&s flawed by poor usb connector

PostedOctober 4, 2011
rmachin
Location redmond, wa
Took great pictures for a few months, then the onboard usb connector failed and is not covered by Nikon's warranty, so camera is essentially useless. ($85+ repair).
+1point
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

light weight but not worth it

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
caratop
Location Overland Park KS
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got this camera for christmas 2010 and have only enjoyed using it during day. Its blurry at night and in many indoor lighting situations...no good pic of nephews baptism. Pics are slow to show up on screen after taking and now the touch screen doesnt work. Also, cant shoot video, have tried different cards but always reads "cant read card" or something like that. Will look for something else....thought Nikon would be better.
+5points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedAugust 25, 2011
NosoPro
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had the L18 before which was excellent. That camera fell and broke so I went and the store clerk told me that this S4000 was the best one at the right price. So far, I'm truly disappointed.... I want my L18 back.
-1point
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great camera!!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
jp
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this camera takes amazing photos, has good auto focus, and plenty of different features and options a.e. closeup, fireworks, landscape, portrait, ect. you can also edit the picture after you have taken it to change the color, size, crop, contrast, ect.. sometimes it freezes up which would be my only issue. but it's not often. and you just have to restart the camera, which takes 2 seconds. catches great photos in action, not blurry at all.
0points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Great

PostedJuly 29, 2011
vbdenny
Location Virginia Beach VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this S4000 after my Canon SD900 wore out. Couldn't be more disappointed as I use camera mainly for videos. More than half the time it will not take a video and says "card cannot be read" and stops. I tried many different cards and same thing. In addition, the autofocus is very slow to respond and the image stabilization is poor at best. When taking photos, the camera usually takes 2 presses of the button and is often out of focus. Don't buy this unless it is for your kid.
+3points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Disappointing

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Chuck
Experience 3-6 months
I was really excited when I received this camera for Christmas. I came to find out there are a number of issues and have confirmed them here on line.
The camera has trouble with dark (Christmas lights) or nighttime shots. Also, very tricky with making sure you don't get blurry shots. Very sensitive to any movement.
Lastly, the most disappointing is that I can't take a short video with this camera. Have tried two different approved memory sticks (Sandisk 16gig speed setting of 4 and Lexar 8gig speed setting of 6) and still not able to take more than one video.
I love the size but am very disappointed in Nikon. I have an old Kodak that is bulky but takes really good pictures compared to the Nikon.
+6points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJune 20, 2011
Skeep
Location South Carolina
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Fantastic. Limited only by the user. The Camera has incredible capabilities that I have to explore continuously in order to gain a good use of the product.
Comparing it with a waterproof Olympus of the same variety I used to have before it was stolen, the CoolPix 4000 is a Mighty Mouse.
+6points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

liked the touch screen, but about all

PostedMay 26, 2011
monkee72
Location dubuque, ia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
baught this for the holidays (Nov. 10'). poor picture quality.... some turn out very well but using all auto settings still a lot of shaking and distortions. aftere nearly 6 months of use lens error became a problume. at eight months no longer functioning. i did how ever enjoy the touch screen focus salection feature. but hated not knowing where the batterie level was. I'll stick with my pentex and sony.
+3points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Next time around I will choose something else

PostedMay 23, 2011
Olive
Location Snowmass Village, CO
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I recently bought this camera after my other camera was accidently dropped in the water. My older camera was a Kodak and it was easy to use. I decided that I would like to just check out Nikon since I know they are a good brand.
I liked the camera at first but afterwards I realized that the pictures didn't turn out half as good as my Kodak and like a lot of people said, it will not take good night photos. You can't take just quick shots either you have to hold it EXTREMELY still (even more than you should for just a little pocket camera. It's nothing special, it shouldn't need to be on a tripod for every photo), even then its not that great. I was really upset and next time around I will not go with this camera.
I'm not extremely big into photography but I do like taking pictures at events and compared to my Kodak, this one is not that great and I think I will just stick with Kodak.
+5points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality

PostedMay 21, 2011
Hershey178
Location Lutz Fl
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
When i got this camera, i totally fell in love!! The only bad thing is that you cant take good pictures at night. It would always turn out blurry. But during the day time- its perfect!! And the quality is SUPER!!!
+1point
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

:)

PostedMay 20, 2011
Esaa
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera takes good pictures, but it does brake real easily ! :(
+1point
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Expected better from Nikon

PostedMay 15, 2011
EarlR
Location Fredericksburg, VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wasn't expecting DSLR quality from a sub-$200 point and shoot, but I thought with the Nikon name on it this camera would be about as good as you could get in the price range. It is not. This camera is all but useless in anything less than outdoor daytime lighting.
Indoors, regardless of what setting you choose (and I've tried most of them) you are lucky to get 1 out of 3 shots to come out well. The problem appears to be with the lack of image stabilization; unless you are shooting from a tripod you just can't keep the camera still long enough when shooting in low light.
On the plus side, it does take decent shots when there is adequate light, and the touch screen is a neat, fun feature. But I would gladly trade the nifty touch screen for a camera that takes good photos in most conditions. For that reason I would definitely not recommend this camera to anyone.
+5points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I was expecting more from a Nikon...

PostedMay 14, 2011
EarlR
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
This camera is horrible. I realize you can only expect so much from an inexpensive point and shoot, but I thought that with the Nikon name this was probably about as good as you could get in its price range. I was wrong. This camera is all but useless indoors. After trying many different settings, I finally found one that gets about one out of three indoor photos right. The lack of image stabilization really hurts this camera.
Outdoor photos with plenty of light are ok, about what I would expect from a camera at this price level. So if you only plan to take photos outdoors in daylight, this camera will work for you. Otherwise, pass it over (and I assume the same goes for its successor).
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>