Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S3500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S3500

The Nikon COOLPIX S3500 Digital Camera offers 20.1 megapixels in resolution, a 7x zoom NIKKOR glass lens, HD video and more in a sleek body, available in a variety of colors.
Average Customer Rating:
3.828 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
22 out of 29(76%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 56 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S3500
Review 1 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful camera, replaced Nikon S5200

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Eve1
Location North Western Pennsylvania USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this camera a short time but it took wonderful pictures at a birthday celebration and baby shower, two different occasions. I was told how wonderful the pictures were! I was very happy as I had the Nikon S5200 and it was apparently faulty..love this one!
+1point
Review 2 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive, compact and high quality.

PostedApril 17, 2014
Moon_Breaker
Location Hungary
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
COOLPIX-S3500, very impressive camera.
amazingly detailed, big photos; good quality videos; super small; good pricing; very easy to use even 4 me (never had a camera before).
at night in the complete dark, the photos r not so good, but what did u expect if theres no light at all? lol
so yeah, I'm very impressed with this little device, and I love it.
I recommend it to anyone ,who is not a professional of course. :)
-4points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera I have ever owned

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
NikonCoolpix
Location Georgia, U.S.A.
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love the one click photo feature. It is so easy, and I do not have to tell everyone to wait 5 seconds in the same position until the picture loads onto the camera. It is wonderful!
+9points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Family Camera

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
roxdad
Location Indianapolis, IN, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Definitely one of the best digital cameras we've owned. The battery life is great and it charges quick. Very good picture quality. It's quick and easy to use and packed with useful options. I've owned some terrible cameras so this is refreshing, lol. Thumbs up!
-1point
Review 5 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

HIGH QUALITY PICTURES FOR EMAILING & PRINTING.

PostedDecember 19, 2013
EMPLUSED
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
CONVERTS YOUR PICTURES SO THEY ARE NOT TOO LARGE ON EMAILS. THE QUALITY OF THE PICTURE IS AMAZING. ONLY DOWNFALL IS THE LCD SCREEN IS VERY PIXELATED AFTER YOU TAKE THE PICTURE. IT'S HARD TO SEE IF YOU TOOK A QUALITY PICTURE UNLESS YOU ZOOM IN AFTERWARD. ALSO THE NIKON TRANSFER 2 PROGRAM DOES THE SAME.
NON THE LESS, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CAMERA FOR THE PRICE AND QUALITY OF EMAIL AND PRINTED PICTURES.
+2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have to love it.. its replacing my S3100

PostedNovember 5, 2013
MsBJPeart
Location Charleston, SC, USA
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I worked the S3100 really hard over the past couple of years... some 27,000 + pics and videos.
The S3500 has a lighter case but the same dependability.
Loving the new lens features... looking forward to having a great time with it!!!
+5points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super and Compact Camera

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Panchita5
Location Gurnee, IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I really enjoy the ease of this camera. I purchased one for each of my preschool teachers and they both commented how easy to use they are and how great the pics turn out. My son and my daughter each have one, too. They purchased theirs and got me hooked on ease and portability. Thanks Nikon!
-4points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use and size is great.

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Heyyyyy
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Love it very easy to use. Glad I bought it. Sorry, buts thats all I'm writing.
+2points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Marty
Location Burlington, WI 53105, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I also had a Conan 35mm Eos. This camera is lightweight and you can put it in your pocket. I haven't used the case only for storage. It's great to bring on my walks.
+7points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Brian
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought this camera after five years of not having a point and shoot camera. I liked it because it looked similar to my 2005 Casio EXLIM 4 MP camera. I like how easy it is to use and it is very stable.
+6points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for everyday use

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Halfabuck
Location Maine, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
At the outset this small camera is fantastic! I love taking pictures and grew tired of buying throw away cameras. This camera is everything I wanted as far as point and shoot. It takes fabulous pictures and is simple to use. It does not come with the memory card so be sure to order that as well.
+5points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price, Great Photos, easy to use!

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Frankcwn
Location Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I have had this camera now for a week, and I will say, don't let the size fool you. This little camera is packed with features found in high end cameras. I wanted something small enough to fit in my pocket, yet good enough to take fair to good photos and videos. To my surprise the photos are better then expected and for the price you can't beat the quality.
If you don't want to spend a small fortune on a digital camera, think seriously about owning this one!
+15points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Baby Nikon joins my family

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Peterboroughmodels
Location Peterborough, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Having used the Nikon Coolpix L18 for years I felt lost when I couldn't use it any longer as the battery door latch broke. I wasn't upset as the camera served me very well. I always have a camera with me as I love taking photos for my volunteer work. Or just a photo of interest or safety, like the one uploaded here. A tree branch on a house where no one was home.
My Nikon D60 and D7000 are just too large to walk around with all the time. So I started checking what was available in a pocket size camera. I was amazed at the new features, more pixels and slim body of many of the new cameras. I checked out Canon, Fuji, Panasonic and Sony before I bought the Coolpix S3500.
The slip body fits in pockets, No sharp edges. 20 Mega Pixels and full Hi Def video at a VERY reasonable price, helped me pick it over the cameras I checked out. The only down side for me is the proprietary battery, as I was used to 2 Double AA batteries in my old Nikon Camera.
The Coolpix S3500 has a great zoom and photo quality that surprised me. Trust Nikon to surprise an old guy who's been shooting photos for 40 years!. I'm very pleased with my purchase.
+27points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So small

PostedJune 6, 2013
bozoplay
Location London, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Having bought this camera online, I actually didn't handle it before purchase relying on the good Nikon name and TV advertising to help make my decision along with reading details online. It is so small compared to SLR film cameras that I used in the past. Nevertheless, it is so simple to use with the exception that the controls are quite small for my fat fingers but I am sure I will get used to it. It is a complete package with very useable editing software with the exception that a memory card is an additional purchase so internal memory is quite limited. I am pleased with this purchase just the same.
+18points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Bang in a small package!!

PostedMay 19, 2013
robpronikon
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
simple to use,and so compact..Love that it has 20.1 megapixels of resolution.Photos come out great!!
+18points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

small camera with 20 MP

PostedMay 2, 2013
Nikon Salim
Location Leola, PA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Small is beautiful, awesome camera came with 20 MP.
+11points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact camera should be great for travel

PostedDecember 28, 2013
TommyNikon
Haven't used yet. Purchased for overseas travel in Europe.
-8points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact and easy to use. Takes great pictures!

PostedDecember 28, 2013
badancer
Location Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Size is compact but takes great pictures and very easy to figure out...I live in a very picturesque area and have my camera with me most of the time..this is easy to slip in a pocket
-1point
Review 19 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quality pictures expected

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
VICK
Location outside metropolitan Kansas City MO
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
Just bought it. Expect to get quality pictures. I believe its the best camera for the amount of money I paid.
+6points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S3500
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good point and shoot

PostedAugust 16, 2013
putts
Location Minnesota, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
It's a small camera and that's what my wife wanted. Fits in her purse and is lite weight. No need to run out and buy AA batteries any more. Charge time is pretty fast. Average pictures but this is a lower priced camera. If you need more then spend more. Time will tell if this was a good buy or not. So far we both are very happy with the camera.
+5points
1 2 next>>