Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S31

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S31

The Nikon COOLPIX S31 is waterproof, shockproof and dustproof; fun for the whole family to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S31
Review 1 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its great!

PostedMay 1, 2014
CoolPixFan
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I've been wanting an underwater camera forever, but everyone kept saying the quality was poor and for the cost it wasn't worth it. The kids received this one for Xmas and its great! We should of purchased one a long time ago! Its light, it takes great photos and we love it.
+10points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

mi sonrisa lo mejor que tengo...y es una camara muy buena..

PostedMarch 24, 2014
mafer***
Location mi cali valle
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
mi sonrisa y mis fotos son lo mejor..que tengo.**me apasiona hacerlo.. y soy fanatica de mis fotos..
-1point
Review 3 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COOLPIX S31

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
bcdodd
Location North Tonawanda, NY, USA
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just my little adventurer. Wherever we go, whatever we see, we may easily share. When someone sees this coolpix, they pick it up to see where it's been.
+5points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly what I needed!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
UpNorth
Location Minneapolis, MN
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I already have a DSLR and my wife and oldest daughter have nice point and shoots, so what I really wanted was an inexpensive but good quality waterproof camera for an upcoming trip to the Florida Keys. I saw this little Nikon advertised and it looked like it would fit the bill perfectly. Now that I've had it for a few days, I have to say that I am really pleased! Picture and Video quality are very nice! Sure it's a basic camera with less optical zoom, fewer megapixels, and 720p video vs. 1080p. But, the photos and video look very good so far, and I've found that 720p video is just fine for most purposes, including clips I want to share with family and friends online. This camera feels very solidly built for the price. It has hardly any manual control settings, but that's actually part of the reason I bought it. I want it simple because I don't want to be fumbling around with settings while I'm snorkeling or playing in the water. I want something quick and easy. I LOVE the two big dedicated buttons on top for pictures and video - so convenient. This is also simple enough that my 7 year old daughter can use it with no trouble at all, and I'm kind of looking forward to "being in" some family pictures and video clips instead of just "taking" them - LOL. If I want the picture or video of a lifetime, I'll get out my DSLR, but for spontaneous fun pictures and video clips on the beach and playing in the water, I think this little camera is going to be perfect. The S31 camera fills a perfect niche for me in that I now have a "waterproof" camera, and it's going to allow for some new fun pictures and videos that I couldn't get before - and, at a really great price! In my experience so far, this camera is truly a bargain, and is perfect for kids to use as well. Can't wait to take it to the Florida Keys and make some new family memories! If you need a quality, yet inexpensive camera for the water, your kids, or just for someone who wants a simple, incredibly easy to use camera and who doesn't care about manual controls, this is a great camera. Based on my experience so far, it's absolutely worth the amazing bargain price and I highly recommend it. Nice job Nikon, in filling a specific niche so well!
+15points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the elderly

PostedMay 19, 2013
Teo
Location Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The auto settings do it all and the different buttons for video or fotographs make it very easy to use.
The only drawback is the battery life I think is lacking. The camera did not last a full days use of picture and video.
+27points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Appareil photo pour toute la famille

PostedMay 15, 2013
Nikon fan
Location Saguenay, Québec
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
J'ai acheté le Nikon S31 il y a quelques jours et j'ai eu de la difficulté à choisir parmi tous les modèles, marques, prix, fonctions...et j'ai choisi celui-ci parce qu'il est a l'épreuve de l'eau, chocs et poussières et aussi on peut faire de la photo créative. Et j'aime le look de l'appareil. Je ne regrette pas mon choix. Les images sont de qualités, l'appareil est facile à utiliser.
-5points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for all ages

PostedMay 15, 2013
Nikonfan
Location Saguenay, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought the Nikon Coolpix S31 a few days ago. I couldn't decide which camera to buy... different styles, functions, prices.... I chose that camera because it is waterproof and you can use your creative side taking photos. I don't regret it. I have just taken a few pictures Inside the house to test it and I don't regret my choice. Great camera! It is for all ages and not just for kids like I read in different reviews. I recommend it for sure.
+17points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Maquina

PostedApril 21, 2013
Douglas
Location Bela Vista, São Paulo, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Excelente maquina, além de garantir qualidade em imagens subaquáticas, também filma em 720p. sensacional. Ja trabalhei com modelos como a D3100 e a D5000... para uma maquina amadora, é realmente boa.
+19points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S31
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good camera; not so good battery life

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Jerry
Location Raleigh, NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera a few weeks before this Christmas and first used it seriously, after a few test shots, at Christmas parties and gatherings over three days, then stored it away not developing or printing the pictures right away. Today, Jan. 4, I pulled it off my desk to take a few shots, and the battery was discharged already. That's awfully short life for a battery that's new and lithium. My old Kodak digital compact camere had rechargeables and went half a year between uses and the battery was still charged. I'm disappointed at the battery life. Did I just get a lemon battery? (The pictures are good quality.)
0points