Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S30

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S30

The COOLPIX S30 is a camera designed for the family. It’s water and shockproof so no worries. Capture your world with stills and movies.
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 36 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
15
14 out of 36(39%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 46 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S30
Review 1 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

minha ciilpix s30 rosa . minha analise

PostedDecember 11, 2013
lulu
Location Salvador - BA, Brasil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Amooo a coolpixs30 tenho 1 rosa e ameií mesmo sempre uso e me divirto
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

De facil uso e increible resolucion en fotos-videos bajo el agua.

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Pablo3
Location Toronto, Ontario, Canadá
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Me compre la Nikon s30 para probar una camara sumergible, con el paso del tiempo tenia pensado comprarme una mas cara que seria de mejor calidad, pero no esta camara me gusto tanto que prefiero no cambiarla.
Tampoco se crean que es una camara para hacer increibles videos de submarinismo... pero para padres con hij@s... es perfecta.
+5points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera

PostedMay 23, 2013
cpatti55
Location South Jersey, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We bought this camera to take snorkeling with us on a recent trip. The photos on land and of the fish and the reef were great. I would never take my Nikon DSLR on a small boat, so I was quite pleased with the waterproof feature of this camera. It was inexpensive too!
+17points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Special Camera

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Vedauwoo
Location Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera in a pinch after traveling to do an inspection and social function and realizing that I left my main camera at home. I believe the camera works fine - if you read the manual first. Here's some tips:
1. This camera works underwater and in rain. Find another for this price, if you can. I take lots of pictures but there are some places that I would never take my x$1000 DSLR. This jewel goes to the swimming pool where the grandkids are playing.
2. No one beats Nikon in low light situations. The camera will easily adjust to low light. When you press the shutter halfway then the shutter speed and f-stop information will be displayed. Check those numbers. You might be disappointed to get a grainly picture if the shutter is 1/60 or less.
3. The flash is not always automatic when you turn on the vibration reduction; just like the manual says. I leave the VR truned off. When you go to take that indoor picture, the shutter speed and f-stop are displayed and flash ready indicator, a red light comes on. Yes, the computer activiates the flash, not you. So if that red readly light does not come on then re-plan the picture (maybe you are looking into light or something).
4. You get Nikon's NX2 software with this.
5. The zoom looks something like 20- 60mm when comparing with my digital DSLR. The f stop goes from 3.3 to 5.9.
This is a good buy for the price. It fits in my shirt pocket and swimming suit pocket easily. No moving lens to get out of alignment if you bump it. If I leave it somewhere, it falls to the bottom of the ocean, or the dog chews it up, then I am not out a lot.
+31points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

cant go wrong

PostedDecember 9, 2012
pikker
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For an underwater digital camera this is such a bargain. Takes amazing pictures and videos. Has fun features and perfect for all ages and skill levels!
+1point
Review 6 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST $120 I've EVER spent!!!

PostedAugust 2, 2012
picture obsessed
This camera is awesome! I never write reviews but always read them this camera deserves all the props it can get! The picture quality is amazing and all of the extra features like color highlighting and underwater are just unbelievable! Don't hesitate on purchasing this camera. Only draw back is that the battery compartment is a little hard to open but I'd rather that then it open up and let water in.
+12points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente!

PostedMay 10, 2012
Tatiloui
Location Curitiba, PR
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Esta máquina é perfeita para amantes de praias e praticantes de esportes náuticos!
-6points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The "Perfect" all-a-round inexpensive camera

PostedApril 7, 2012
DaveB63
Location Fairfield, OH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have researched cameras for almost a year trying to find a camera for my soon to be 5 year old granddaughter so that she could to take pictures at our upcoming trip to Disneyworld. I could not find a camera that was big enough for her to hold properly, the lens centered so she could hold both sides securely, had a relatively high megapixel capability and also took 720p HD video. This camera met everything that I was looking for and more. It is even waterproof, shockproof and even came in hot pink. The camera takes great pictures, the colors are phenomenal! The one other feature I like that makes it so much more versatile is the separate buttons for picture and video, great idea. My granddaughter also likes the different shutters sounds you can select. Hats off to Nikon, this camera is perfect for kids and people who want to take good pictures and want to keep it simple.
+33points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad camera for the price

PostedApril 16, 2013
Lance
Location Mountain Home, AR, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I do property inspections and take over 500 pictures a day. Eats up a lot of batteries. I have to carry at least 6 extra rechargeable batteries. My Nikon Coolpix S3500 uses one battery to do the same job. Sometimes I have to imprint the date/time on the pictures. Not with this camera. You set the date and time and you can only print the date on the pictures. Hence, the S3500. I now only use this camera for a backup.
-1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedDecember 13, 2012
shenlonco
I got this 2 days ago and Takes pretty good photos and video though it's not the best quality but for what it is it's great.
I mainly got this cam for when i go fishing things get rough when taking fish photos and videos so i am hoping this will be a good cam..
One thing i am worried about is the clear lense cover how strong it is will it crack or scratch easy ..what is it made from?
One bad thing i noticed is when shooting video when you press record the cameras LCD blacks out and then turns on and has a delay and makes you miss the first part of what you are tried recording the video of ... it's not instant recording...
0points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great underwater camera!

PostedJune 4, 2012
snorkel dork
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Was going to Hawaii, husband thought it was silly to buy a camera for a limited use...almost 16GB of pictures later...it was AMAZING! Took great underwater pics, great above water pics! Not great in really low light. Amazing sunset pics! LOVE the add a verbal message feature! (Have you ever been to several similar places and can't remember which was which? Problem solved!) Only issue-be patient. Takes a second to turn on, takes a second to start recording messages, and a second to begin recording, but once you understand that, it is a really good camera. Love that it takes AA batteries-much better than trying to find an electrical plug to charge the battery while on the beach snorkeling, or hiking in the rainforest. Speaking of that-yes, you can take pictures in the rain! One more great feature-the battery compartment has a double close on it, to keep the batteries in place and water tight. Love that is has one button to record and another to take stills. Made a huge difference when snorkeling-very easy to do one then the other.
+5points
Review 12 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfecta para los niños

PostedApril 9, 2012
NikonCol
Location Houston, Texas, EEUU
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
quería una cámara que pudiera darle en las manos a mis hijos y así compartir la fotografía, está es una buena cámara para eso.
-14points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Flemsy battery door.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
YRenaud
Location H1y
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
A good camera for the price, but the battery door is really fragile. We are being very careful each time we open it but I feel like it is one of those "made to be broken" thing.
0points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great, but the flash is rather mischievous

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Simon
Good camera, takes good pictures, great to take around the pool and the beach, has good features, etc. etc.
That's all during the day. Why did I only give this three starts?
THE ONLY DOWNFALL IS THE FLASH.
When I try to take photos during the evening at parties and the like, the flash is temperamental! It doesn't come on very frequently (with 'auto-flash' set to on. The only other option is 'off', there is no 'always flash' option).
Sometimes you can get it to go off after playing around with the settings some more and covering the flash sensor (which produces low quality images anyway) but then even after such drastic measures sometimes it doesn't go off anyway...plus having to mess around in settings all the time is a burden.
+5points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

shockproof--no

PostedOctober 26, 2012
db
Location nj
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
had my nikon s30 for one month--used it (good pix, easy to use, except the battery /memory card cover is clumsey to use) and did not abuse it. shutter stopped working after 1 month--Nice though, Nikon replaced it with a new one.
+3points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

COOLPIX S30 is great but cannot be used to copy magazines or books.

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Rick
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The COOLPIX S30 is a great camera for normal photos.
But it has one serious defect. I take many pictures of books, so that I can read them when I need a reference or data. The problem is that I cannot look at a photo and view all the parts of the photo when I zoom in.
This is a serious defect. Now I am sorry I purchased the S30.
I also have a KODAK camera. It works slower than the S30.
But the KODAK allows me to view photos and zoom in to all areas of the photo.
-14points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rough camera, Good Pics but: FORCE FLASH MISSING

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
docliving
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The camera has very good optics and takes great pictures.
But when light conditions are low, the flash doesn't work.
There should be an option to force the flash on.
Please put an extra option on the flash options: FLASH ON
and not just AUTO & OFF
Upgrade firmware needed
+5points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not happy with camera. cheap made.

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
lulu75
Location Rancho Cordova Ca
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I loved this at first, then after changing the batteries and taking out my card to get my pictures the yellow thing is not closing right, the batteries keep popping back out.. They need to make one like this but better made with chargable battery....
-1point
Review 19 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Okay for kids, and that's about it.

PostedMay 28, 2012
Sub
Location Madison, WI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While shopping for a camera my four year old could use so she wasn't constantly taking my SLR, we came across the typical pink "Hello Kitty" and the like cameras for <$50. I thought I would get her what I figured was a much better camera that would last longer.
I liked the video feature and that it was water drop proof. And that's about all I like about this camera. Outdoor pictures are okay... don't let 10 megapixels fool you. My old Canon G3 at 4MP has better quality images. Indoor pictures are a hit or miss. The flash is unpredictable.
Video quality is not bad, but the problem with it is the constant beeping that's recorded in. I have no idea where it's coming from, but every video has it. And the microphone is awful. You can barely hear anything on videos. Underwater video and pictures are better than I expected.
The menus are rather worthless, most of them being things which you can do in Picasa. The borders etc. are thing nobody ever uses on pictures.
Finally, the camera is too slippery. It is difficult to hold because there is no texturing on any of it except a 1/2 inch diameter in a useless spot.
-8points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S30
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not impressed

PostedMay 19, 2012
martha
Location London, UK
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
usually love nikon cameras
got this one for the underwater feature
the flash is terrible as you cant turn on force flash and it is very unpredictable
+6points
1 2 next>>