Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S100

The COOLPIX S100 Compact Digital Camera is ultra-slim with 16-MP CMOS sensor and a bright 3.5-inch OLED Touch Screen camera display.
Average Customer Rating:
2.111 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S100
Review 1 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Linda e estilosa

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Ana
Location Santa Catarina, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
A S100 é uma câmera linda, moderna e super fina. Cabe perfeitamente no bolso ou na bolsa.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+6points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This is a fun camera!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Ron
Location Sunny CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is so thin, I carry this camera in a generic case in the front pocket of my pants everyday with no problems. The OLED display screen is beautiful and exceptionally clear. The only "con" is that the cropping feature is not as versatile as other Nikon cameras. I bought the red one!
+15points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok camera

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
nikonpro818
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
An ok camera overall. Gets a lot of dings and scratches if droped alot. Sliding piece on front leaves scratches on front of camera. Picture quality is a little too good if shooting people. HD is unflattering to all complections. Makes any blemish or pore ulta visible! If shooting nature or animals or something with a lot of detail other than people it'd be a great camera. Touch screen is pretty decent. At times can be a litte tempremental. Wish you could take pictures in sepia or black and white instead of having to go back after a picture is taken and change it.
-5points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Slick
This camera is horrible. I bought it last christmas in december 2011 and I have already had to send it back three times. I take very good care of my camera, so this is a clear disappointment. I never write reviews, but I just had to on this because it is so bad. The sliding cover scratches the camera and it is not always good in low light. Cannot turn flash always on either. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
-6points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please do not buy this camera.

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Krishna
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Only takes nice pictures if daylight is good otherwise it will give your useless pictures. Lots of nice moments not captured because of this camera. After having this camera ,I stopped thinking to buy again with Nikon.
Please look for some high end cameras if you want to.
Only advantage is SMALL and you can carry it very easily.
+2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My Big Disappointment

PostedSeptember 19, 2012
Very Disappointed Photographer
Location Virginia, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I thought I would try a Nikon..Bad idea. I believe this is the worst camera I have purchased in the last 40 years. I have discarded as many pictures as I have saved. Very poor pictures. Pictures I have taken blur; fill flash is too bright and washes out the pictures; regular flash doesn't lighten the picture enough. This camera dosen't have the capabillites of the competitors brand which I paid an equivalent price. I don't think I would spend my money on a Nikon again.
-11points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not worth my money

PostedJuly 4, 2012
camera curls
Location Jersey
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
i got this for my birthday last year.. and at 1st i loved it. then time went on and the touch screen started acting up. when i would slide the camera open it started leaving marks on my camera.. ... i have had it for a year and 2 months now.. and i have to get a new camera bc its broken
+1point
Review 8 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Won't capture a clear picture

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
LucyG
Location California
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera because I loved the features and the touch screen at the store but more than half of the pictures I've taken so far have been blurry and precious memories lost. I would not recommend this camera to anyone!!!
+4points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedNovember 21, 2011
nick
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
used it once and the back kept finger prints and
hair line scratches. The front got scratched when opening and closing. Had coolpix before and back never got a scratch and the grand kids used it often. Love the touch screen and the
pictures on the S100 were very clear, however not durable and wish it had a better zoom.
+98points