Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S01

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX S01

Hold in your hand the smallest COOLPIX camera ever and marvel at its sleek, exquisite design. Then create equally stunning photos with ease, thanks to a versatile 3x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens, a vibrant touchscreen display and built-in intelligence that optimizes the camera for you—proof that big quality can come in a small package.
Average Customer Rating:
3.64 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 25 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
15 out of 25(60%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX S01
Review 1 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Camera

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
SewerRatz
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
For the money this camera preforms really well. It is nice and small which makes carrying it around a breeze. I been using it daily for snapping shots on job sites.
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It has a long lasting memory.

PostedApril 19, 2013
EH
Location WA state.
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Handy, fancey and easy to uses. I love it I recommond to any one. I love it! love love it!.
-4points
Review 3 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy, Fun, Cute to Boot!

PostedApril 2, 2013
SammyKat7
Location Northern California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I wanted this camera in the first place because it was cute. Really cute. The picture on the web does not do it justice. Plus, mine came with a leather case and strap. I got the tomato red one. So, for its looks alone I wanted it. After I got it, I fell in love with its ease of use. You don't even need instructions to get started although it helps for some of the features and I recommend you download the manual; it's easy reading and the instructions are clear. I am not an accomplished photographer but the pictures I've taken so far have been more than satisfactory, in fact, they're really good. And it fits in that little slot inside my purse perfectly. I take it with me every day now and get pictures I never would have gotten before owning it. I love it!
+3points
Review 4 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small yet powerful

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Matt
Location Royal Oak, MI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I wanted a small on-the-go camera that would take decent pictures and the s01 fits the bill!
Easy to use point-and-click, with really great pictures. Are all of them perfect? NO But this is probably the best small camera I have had in terms of consistency. If you read the instructions and know how to use a flash or turn it of when not needed, your pics can be great.
+7points
Review 5 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAMERA!!!!!!

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Nancy53
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Small and loving it !!!! I use it for work and I couldn't be happier. Good pictures. I am really pleased with this purchase.
-26points
Review 6 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Chuck and Kathy
Location Yukon OK
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought for my wife and we both love it, easy to get good photos. It is apparent from many of the reviews that many users fail the first tennant. You need to be 10% smarter than what you are working with. There is nothing wrong with this camera
-12points
Review 7 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GRRRREAT!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
camphobe
Location West Virginia
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Two words: love it! Easy to use and small enough to carry with me.
0points
Review 8 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sturdy and easy to use

PostedDecember 29, 2012
MG&TMom
Location Cumming, GA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Bought three; one each for my 3, 4 and 5 year old girls. Simple enough for them to figure out and use on their own and small enough for them to handle. Fits in pockets easily. My 4 and 3 year olds have dropped theirs a few times and the cameras still function perfectly. Excellent video quality and audio. Fantastic camera for the price.
+5points
Review 9 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for quick travel records

PostedDecember 27, 2012
RecordsPerson
I mostly take pictures to keep records of things (license plates, items in a store I may want to buy, quick snapshots of events for general memories, etc.), so this camera is perfect for my pusposes because it has good enough quality to catch details in nice lighting and the sall size allows it to fit in my pocket well. For those looking for exceptional performance though, this is not a camera for professional photography. This is obvious, but I am just clarifying in case people have too high expectations. The photos may be cloudy sometimes, but that can be expected with any camera; it is no worse than the regular-sized Canon I owned so far as picture quality.
-2points
Review 10 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

tiny and terrific

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Vol fan
Location Memphis, TN, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I must have looked at every point and shoot camera on the market. I have been a devotee of Olympus and still love them. But, I have been desperately seeking an even smaller camera with better image stabilization. For some reason, my pictures are clear, but when I am in the picture it is always blurry. While that is not necessarily a bad thing, there are times I would like to be in a picture. So, the hunt was on. I would go into stores and take a picture while moving the camera - many fit the bill, except they were bigger or the same size as my olympus stylus 840. Then I saw this little gem. It just arrived last night, but so far the image stabilization is quite good!!! And the size is even smaller than I remember. Only negative, that I did not realize until I was playing with it, there is no self timer and no where to screw a tripod. C'est la vie. And, there was a nice temporary price cut on Amazon that sealed the deal.
If you travel a lot and are already weighed down with readers and phones and tablets, this sweet little camera will be a welcome replacement to whatever you are currently using.
-7points
Review 11 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love this tiny camera!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
lovemycamera
Age Under 18
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Just received this camera as a gift and it is so small and fits anywhere! i love it and can't wait to take it with me wherever I go. It also takes great pictures and there is built in memory!
-1point
Review 12 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I have waited so LONG!!!

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Nikon S01
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have been wanting a small compact camera that I could just put in my pocket and go! When I saw this commercial a month ago I fell in love. Just bought this about 10 minutes ago and I couldn't be more pleased already! Thank you NIKON for bringing this to the masses!!!
-11points
Review 13 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Put the cell phone cameras away!!!

PostedNovember 2, 2012
EDZ 85mm
Location West Coast, Southern California
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Smaller than all cell phones I have seen...This Nikon Coolpix S01 is potent point and shoot camera.
The Nikon Coolpix S01 is so small there is no room for a tripod hole for secure mounting. I am sure Nikon will figure out some kind of after market slide-mounting accessory to remedy it? It is kinda hard to use the self-timer feature without a way to mount it.
A touch screen feature is the perfect thing to have because how else would you hold the camera and take pictures. The touch screen is responsive enough, and not too sensitive.
It has video recording too. It works pretty good. Sound pick up was impressive.
The 3x optical zoom is funny to me. I guess it is better than nothing. I did have trouble with auto focus on CLOSE UP shots but when you zoom out (W) the auto focus works better.
And the Flash, Memory Card, and Battery are all built-in. So you don't have to attach anything. Not having all these compartment covers really keeps the camera SMALL yet SOLID feel.
Stabilizers or Steady sensors are small if there is any... so have steady hands ready.
Overall... Buy it if you want to take photos and videos better than a cell phone and don't want to carry you computer tablet with built in camera.
This is my second Nikon and sixth camera I currently use.
-2points
Review 14 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera!

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Ashley L
Location Chula Vista, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera in pink because I wanted something small enough that would fit in my clutch when I go out! I love it! It literally is the size of my credit card!! The size doesn't affect the quality of the camera. It's really simple to use, which I love since I'm not too good with electronics. I would definitely recommend!
+53points
Review 15 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the time it lasted

PostedJune 25, 2013
KiddKodak
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Had it on friday, saturday the memory jammed, got a new one on tuesday. Main reason I didn't ask for my money back is that it seems to be a very handy and full of surprise camera. Not the best in performance but quite decent in all situations.
0points
Review 16 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Evaluation Coolpix S01

PostedNovember 5, 2012
lougarou
Location Milan, Italie
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
C'est un appareil interresant pour les débutants et pour les personnes qui ne veut pas un appareil trop complexe.
Cette appareil est limite au niveau de la performance. Je préfére mon Nikon D800.
-15points
Review 17 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

small size and compact but poor image stability

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Paul
Location Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The size, shape and form is great except image quality. It is lacking because you can't control the image modes, and low light images appear grainy. (it is difficult to keep switching exposure). I wish there was an an image stabilization focus because you have to be very very still with the camera. Also, ISO should be higher to help with low light image stability. I can't tweak these settings mentioned above but I wish I could. Otherwise, it is a good camera (especially the size). For the price of this camera, I wish a Wi-Fi feature would be built in, and/or a way to email or wirelessly send pics to computer or smartphone.
+14points
Review 18 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Don't waste money, this is worst ever Camera I have ever seen??? from NIkon?

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Dave
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very Disappointed with this Coolpix S01, the picture quality is worst (even 6 or 8 MP cell phone camera has better picture quality, did not understand purpose of marketing this product? as most of cell phones comes with 10 to 16 MP Camera, it must have had minimum 14 MP, something really is wrong, as I have few Nikon products, including D7000 with few lenses, bought only because it looks small and beatutiful, no setting, no adjustments, cannot add external memory card for extra storage (THE SALES GIRL AT BEST BUY TOLD ME THAT IT HAS A SLOT FOR ADDITIONAL MICRO SD CARD???? may be Best Buy must educate their sales person about the products they are selling) the same camera should have had supported with WIFI, Bluetooth and other connectivitY. The another WORST thing I found is removing cover for attaching cable, I found it so difficult and irritating, I would not recommend this for the price they are selling at, it is not even worth $75
0points
Review 19 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Marnieann
Location Denver, CO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this camera thinking it would be great for travel...fell apart and the pictures were cloudy...
-2points
Review 20 for COOLPIX S01
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor insight by developers

PostedNovember 8, 2012
dave
Location Peace River Alberta
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Not a bad little camera. I have bought DOZENS of Nikon cameras of all styles .
My reason for a poor review is this:
I am trying to limit what I have to have with me when I travel. I recently got an iPAD. This camera HAS to be connected via USB to charge or transfer photos. When I attached the S01 to the iPAD, I get a message the device requires too much power. That's it! I cannot transfer photos to iPAD. I wrote a letter to tech support and the answer was "it is not designed to connect to a tablet".
To ME; this is a HUGE oversight. You can pack around a nice little camera but you also need a laptop or tower to transfer? In this day and age? Absolutely ridiculous. Could do Bluetooth and I would be happy. Or something with WiFi???
I could always charge the camera via USB plug in, but to require too much power that you cannot transfer photos!! = Oversight by Nikon designers IMO
+24points
1 2 next>>