Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P520

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P520

The 42x COOLPIX P520 takes 18MP stills, Full HD video and has built-in GPS, and Wi-Fi functionality with the optional WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 75 reviews
5 stars
55
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
66 out of 75(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
234 Questions | 263 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P520
Review 1 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bridge camera.

PostedAugust 4, 2014
wheredat
Location Texas, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I originally owned to Nikon film cameras in the early 80's, Took really good photos on horseback in Wyoming, Colorado, and Big Bend NP. Had a lot of compliments on my slides.
Last fall, I decided I wanted to get back into photography as a serious amateur, and bought a Nikon Coolpix L820 which was very good but wanted more manual control on photos. So in Mary 2014 bought a Nikon Coolpix P520 and gave the L820 to my wife. P520 is a GREAT camera, especially for the price. Have had great compliments on my photos. This camera can do so much, it's hard to believe that it is a bridge camera. Last week I bought a second P520 to use as a back up and to have each one programmed for different situations. These cameras will do so much more than my old Nikon film cameras that had about a half dozen lenses. I do wish that Nikon made a filter attachment capability and lens hood for these cameras. Surely there is a way. Otherwise it is a GREAT camera, and why I have ended up with two of that model.
+5points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelentes recursos

PostedJuly 20, 2014
GUSTAVO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
um exelente produto , supriu todas as minhas expetativas, recomendo a todos,
-6points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

camera impecavel

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Jacob
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
adorei, câmera simplesmente atende tudo oque preciso parabéns Nikon
+1point
Review 4 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoom.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Mario Jr.
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
É um tanto quanto clichê dizer que a camera é fantastica ou então que é super boa, mas o que dizer se sim ela é?! Afirmo que superou minhas expectativas.
Destaco que ela é super leve!
+3points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoom fantástico

PostedJune 24, 2014
Doug
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
O zoom é simplesmente fantástico, fora aos modos de cena e estabilizador de imagem.
-6points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Você imagina e ela revela.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Franikon
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Ótima câmera, depois de muita pesquisa, comprei e não me arrependo. Estou adorando, más é verdade que me falta muito para poder usufruir de todos os recursos. Você nem imagina o que essa câmera faz, só tendo uma para comprovar, pois em texto é difícil descrever.
-1point
Review 7 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

muito boa

PostedJune 20, 2014
dida
Location Salto - SP, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
parabens comprei esta camera muito bom esperei muito tempo graça a Deus consegui compra muito boa otima em tudo recomendo e uma otima camera nao tenhor o que fala parabens nikon
-6points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Nikon Camera

PostedJune 4, 2014
nikonbaby
I am totally in love with my camera i take it everywhere
+3points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great point n shoot , I was amazed at its capture of low light situations

PostedMay 25, 2014
Nikondude
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just missing a raw feature, cable release ,, but what point n shoot does ? Great picture colour . , slow to recover from using continuous shots , and wen battery is getting depleted. But great overall,
0points
Review 10 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Equipamento fantastico!

PostedMay 23, 2014
Malvadeza
Location Macaé - RJ, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Excelente maquina. Comprei a minha e em menos de um mes ja fiz em torno de 1000 fotos e posso garantir que nenhuma foto me decepcionou. Mais que recomendado!
-3points
Review 11 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Newbie

PostedMay 5, 2014
jdc11710
Location Bellmore, NY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
The pictures I take and the rave reviews I get I feel a little guilty because it is the camera . I am learning and trying different settings . Absolutely fantastic . I have taken over 4000 pictures since December and I take the camera with me everywhere . Great all around
+9points
Review 12 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE THIS CAMERA!!

PostedApril 22, 2014
NknDrmr1
Location Liberty, SC, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have always wanted a Nikon as far back as I can remember, and I finally got the chance to own one. I figured I would work my way up through the cameras. Starting with the COOLPIX P520, and it was a great decision!! I love this camera, it has amazing features, its very versatile, and the picture quality is great for its model! For a starter camera for me, I couldn't have asked for better! Thanks Nikon!!
+3points
Review 13 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astonishing performance for the money!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Dadsfolk
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've owned this camera two years; I bought the original 16MP version shortly after it came out. Nikon has increased the sensor size and made a few well-thought-out usability mods since then, but it's otherwise pretty much the same camera.
I worked films in the '70s, and did my best at photographing wildlife (mostly birds) with my two-body, interchangeable viewfinder, 6-lens Minolta system. Over the years, I sold my 4x5s and 6x9 systems; and forewent wildlife photography because of the time and expense. I bought my first digital - a 3 MP Olympus - in 2003. It did well for casual photos for the web, and technology advanced, but I wasn't ready to spend $10-20K on a bulky system to get the great bird pictures people were getting. However, in 2012 I did a detailed search and discovered the new ultrazooms. I was excited, and after detailed analysis of reviews, I bought a P520, with its full range of pro/am features - and never looked back. Since I was still living in the city, I was taking a lot of architectural photos. I could stand in the green in front of Memorial Hall at Harvard, and take a closeup of the gargoyles on the tower - so crisp you could examine the solder joints! Standing out in front of Widener Library, I took a picture of a capital on the top of the massive columns - and only when I examined the photo did I discover they'd put bird netting around it, and it showed absolutely crisply; the camera had resolved a .020" detail at a distance of almost 100'. I took a picture of a Tiger Swallowtail butterfly in the forsythia bush at a distance of 7-8'; when I examined the photo, you could see the hairs on the body and the scales on the antenna! From that distance, the camera had resolved detail which, if you had the butterfly in your hand, you'd require a hand lens to see! From my porch, i got great pictures of birds in the garden. I moved into the country a few months ago, and have used it constantly to take excellent pictures of deer, wild turkeys, various birds - even a tiny vole which was darting out of a snowbank to grab seed below my bird feeder. In a shot of a chipmunk, you can actually see my house and the neighboring spruce tree reflected in the chipmunk's eye! Every now and then, the amazement of crisp 16MP hand-held shots at 1000mm strikes me again, and I find myself just staring at the camera or photos and shaking my head!
This camera produces pictures which were absolutely impossible even 10 years ago, and it's a superb travel camera to cover all situations. I can also take it canoeing; it's instantly available, can shoot wildlife at extreme telephoto while hand-held, and if it goes overboard, it won't empty my bank account.
I've had two problems: The first problem is with autofocus at extreme zoom. I've found conditions where it won't focus where I want it, even in multiple tries (if you release and half-press the shutter, it will try a different area combination) or narrow center focus. At that small image size in the viewfinder, electronically controlled manual focus isn't fine enough; a lens ring would work - but that's still much less trouble than I had with focusing long telephoto on my old cameras, and i'm willing to accept that pushing the envelope that much won't be perfect. In fact, i'm amazed at how accurate its focus is for small objects at great distance.
The second problem is that it routinely underexposes shots on cloudy days, and gets the color balance wrong. i fix that in Photoshop, but I'd think it could do better. in better light, the pictures are excellent, so that's just another thing I take in stride; I'm still experimenting with the metering modes to see if I can find a meter/focus combination which will meet my needs better, but each mod has to be used for awhile to determine its strengths and limitations.
I could also wish the shutter delay was less, or that it wouldn't do a full refocus at times, but I consider that just a factor of how little I paid for the camera; for $400 (less in constant dollars than a single 135mm lens in the '70s), I don't expect the performance of the most expensive DSLRs. And it's possible I can work out settings which will ameliorate the situation; I've probably explored only 10% of its functionality.
I've shown the picture results to my family and friends; now a sister, brother and father all have one of their own, as do a couple of techie friends. The camera is not perfect, but it's amazingly smart, and does so well with so many things that I'm willing to accept some limitations; it's still unimaginably better than what we used to have to work with, at an unbelievably bargain price. I'm sure you can get better pictures with a DSLR and assorted expensive lenses, but what this camera can do for the price has, in my mind, revolutionized photography! The only reason I might replace it is the P600, which has half again the zoom! [I'm waiting for more reviews.]
+17points
Review 14 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astonishingly Beautiful Photographs, Quality and Ease of Use

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Njord
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I normally use my trusty Nikon D70 and have owned many fine Nikon film cameras in the past. I bought this camera on the recommendation of a friend to use while my D70 is being cleaned and repaired. This camera is just astonishing, words fail me... ease of use, versatility and outstanding picture quality. My very first pictures were just breathtakingly beautiful...this is now my camera of choice. Wide angle or the fantastic telephoto...just astonishing. Thank you Nikon engineers and anyone connected with the production and manufacture of this high quality camera. However, I must admit that I do covet the Nikon FD...but I am totally satisfied in every way with this camera and without hesitation recommend it to anyone in need of a versatile, easy to use camera. My only wish is for a reasonably priced and ore advanced printer that can take advantage of this remarkable camera and it's potential..
+15points
Review 15 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastica

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Aribond
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Excelente produto, custo beneficio, marca conceituada com tecnologia de ponta.
Estou muito satisfeito com a câmera embora ter apenas 1 mês de uso.
Aprovadíssimo!
-13points
Review 16 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This CoolPix P520 Rocks!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Khafra1
Location Daytona Beach, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this as a gift from my wife, and this CoolPix really performs. I feel that is the bridge between the non-inter-changeable lens and the Inter-changeable Lens Nikons. I really like the 42 to 1 zoom, and how one can get up-close to the action without interfering with it. The only thing one needs to pay attention concerns extreme distance photos; one must keep the camera steady, and a tripod really helps. I own two COOLPIX Digital cameras, a 3200 bought in 2005, and a S8100 in 2011, and this CoolPix builds upon its predecessors; I still use both of them at times (especially, the S8100), and I liked how Nikon allowed me to use this P520 without a large learning curve. Also, I like the fact that it has manual settings besides the automatic one, and allows me to use this camera as a DSLR. I know it will take at least two years to outgrow, and master all the abilities of this P520; this camera will prepare me for my next Nikon-a full-blown DSLR.
+5points
Review 17 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera in a Small Package!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
DuckMan24
Location Greenville, PA 16125, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Bought to use for Wildlife Photography specifically Waterfowl. Was amazed and the zoom qualify and the image quality at full zoom. Would recommend to anyone!
+14points
Review 18 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best camera in less than SLR

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
HK
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The zoom is brilliant. I loved this camera because of its ability to capture the pics in an unprecedented way. The wide variety of options & features available are great. The only drawbacks are RAW feature & Viewfinder. You can undoubtedly go for this camera because of the trust you can have on Nikon. This is the best product you can get below $400.
0points
Review 19 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really versatile high quality little camera

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
RayG
Location Australian that works a lot in Canada and travels the world a lot
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a D800 as well as the P520 (and a few other cameras). The P520 is really useful for me because of the built in GPS and the vari-angle screen. I do a lot of landscape photography all over the world and the GPS is very accurate. Helps at the end of the day to be able to review everything on a map from the day. The vari-angle screen is great for low shots and unusual angles or even just to see it clearly on a sunny day. the zoom lens of course is spectacular and the quality of the image throughout the zoom range is impressive.
+14points
Review 20 for COOLPIX P520
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente câmera

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Túlio
Câmera excelente, com vários recursos de grande utilidade. Destaque para o visor que permite a visualização durante o disparo de fotos do tipo autorretrato e, também, para o recurso que deixa as fotos, em macro e as de ambientes com pouca luz, perfeitas mesmo sem o uso do tripé.
+14points
1 2 3 4 next>>