Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P500

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P500

Zoom your world with the high-powered, mind-blowing closeness of the new P500. The 36x optical zoom breaks boundaries with incredible power to shoot closer and wider than ever before.
Average Customer Rating:
3.816 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(245 Reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 245 reviews
5 stars
101
4 stars
76
3 stars
18
2 stars
22
1 star
28
188 out of 245(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
226 Questions | 287 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P500
Review 1 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

O melhor primeiro passo pra uma profissional

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
julispalma
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Excelente câmera, de fácil manuseio, sem complicações e de fotos excelentes!
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much to learn

PostedApril 22, 2014
Spanky
Location Chagrin Falls, OH, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the Coolpix P500 in 2011, my first digital camera. I wanted a light weight unit and didn't want extra lenses. This camera has proven to be easy to use with outstanding results. I've purchased a book about it so I am able to take advantage of the many, many features.
I do wish it didn't have a propriety battery but this is my only complaint. Wonder results every time I use it.
+3points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantasic for the everyday user!

PostedJuly 17, 2013
NikonUser
Location Richmond, VA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great camera! Much better than my cheaper point and shoot. The image quailty is great. Love the zoom. I'm learning all of the features, so many, and in turn it is giving me amazing photos to share with friends/family.
The only cons would be is that the menus are old looking, still pretty user friendly and easy to use though.
Also, when I take a video and zoom allllll the way in, it shakes alot.
+15points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
ajaya
Location Dehradun, Uttarakhand, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
it`s best camera in the range, i ve taken pics of moon, panorama..from this cam, and it`s best...
+4points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

takes amazing pictures

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
snow
I have just got this camera and love it. It is so easy to use and the look of it is excellent.
Much better than canon and fuji.
+3points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and easy to use!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Marissa
Location Akron, OH, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have used a few Nikon point-and-shoot cameras before, but I wanted another camera which would have more features but still fit in my budget. Wow, what a camera! The zoom and its quality at the maximum zoom is impressive. It has an excellent Macro mode, which is what I really need for photographing my jewelry and handicrafts. This was also perfect for my trip to Europe.
I haven't used many of the features of this camera yet, but I know I will be further impressed with it. Nikon, thank you SO MUCH for your superb cameras!
+3points
Review 7 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Camera

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
erf2051
Location Boston, MA, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this camera. I used to use point and shoot cameras, but i decided to graduate. A couple of barn friends have the Cannon Rebel T3i and I really wanted something like that, but it was far to expensive, so we went with this. Its great for action shots whether it be jumping, or flat work its great for close ups to! I'm going to another horse show to try it out even more tomorrow, and after that I'm going on a nature hike. It truly is awesome, and these pictures were all taken with it! Love it!
+14points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pictures with ease.

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Sunsetshadow.
Location Brevard, Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I love this camera. I haven't ventured out much past the automatic mode, but it's so easy to use and the pictures are great. I love having the view finder if it's too bright in the sun.
+3points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We LOVE this camera!

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Coolpix P500
Location Rochester, NY
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We use this camera for family get togethers and outdoor events. The zoom is great and it is easy to use. 98% of the pictures come out delightful ... very rarely do we miss a shot. It is a "slow" process from when you press the button to when the picture is taken, but we have adapted and rarely miss that perfect shot from the animals or the small children in the family.
+1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderful

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Francisco - Boston
Location Boston
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
This is a spectacular camera if you know how to use its functions. The panorama mode allows you very beautiful photos.
-1point
Review 11 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features in a Small Body

PostedJune 22, 2012
Timey
Location Portland, OR, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is amazing. Before this I had a Canon and a Kodak, and neither of their features came close to this camera's features. The camera has amazing zoom, but, of course, it is hard to keep it still at 36x zoom (a tripod works fine). The only problem I had was the supplied charger (they might supply a new one now, but not when I got it). You have to keep the battery in the camera to charge it, so it is hard to charge multiple batteries. I would suggest getting the MH-61 charger. The zoom on the camera is amazing. The focus is a bit touchy, but it works. The high-speed video is really great, and the HD video is, well, high-definition.
 
My product recommendations
MH-61 Battery Charger
2.3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
-6points
Review 12 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing! Amazing! Amazing!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Bandshooter801
Location Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
When I decided I was ready to upgrade from a basic point and shoot camera I did a lot of research....I mean A LOT. After comparing and going to multiple stores playing with displays and such, I finally decided the Nikon P500 was the perfect camera for me. I was a little wary though because I was purchasing it to mainly shoot bands and everyone had suggested I go with a DSLR instead. I have shot multiple shows and have been beyond impressed with the final outcome! I have friends who are actual photographers professionally and they have made comments about how well my pictures come out! I like the fact that I am able to customize the options to best suite the scenery, I can snap multiple pictures one after another without having to wait, the tilting screen is a must, being able to switch back and forth between the eyehole and the screen with ease makes things amazing. I recommend this camera for someone who loves to take pictures but isn't looking to spend a lot.
+8points
Review 13 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Only Camera You'll Need

PostedMay 30, 2012
Mavis
Location Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this camera to prepare for a vacation where I knew I would need the zoom and have been practicing with it at home to get used to what it can do. It is amazing for catching pictures of wildlife and scenery. There is so much it can do that I haven't even tried yet and I know I won't be looking for another camera for a very long time. This one does it all. :)
0points
Review 14 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

essa é d+

PostedMay 23, 2012
rmap
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Gostei muito dessa camera, pra ser uma semi. atendeu minhas expectativas
-8points
Review 15 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

La cámara más completa para una persona normal

PostedMay 23, 2012
JulyStark
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelente cámara, un manejo práctico y sencillo además de un zoom de ¡wow!. Todo lo que una persona normal sin conocer mucho de fotografía necesita para tomar fotos increíbles, fácil y con resultados sorprendentes. La cámara en sí te ayuda a elegir la mejor opción para cada toma a realizar.
Es realmente la mejor cámara para viajes y vacaciones que podrás encontrar!
+6points
Review 16 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera & easy battery life fix!

PostedMay 13, 2012
Alex's Mom
Location Cary, NC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a wonderful camera, it is light, offers extensive settings for nearly any situation, the screen is large and pulls out for easy adjustment. It does a wonderful job with close up shots and both indoor and outdoor settings. I often experiment with waterfall photos using different shutter speeds, the results are amazing! When I first bought the camera, the battery life was horrible even on a full charge. However, after searching the Nikon website I found a firmware update. The camera now works perfectly, I'm able to shoot an abundance of photos, review them, edit, etc. with a very long battery life.
+8points
Review 17 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera

PostedMay 5, 2012
Flashster78
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my first camera from Nikon when I was about 10 and I fell in Love with photography and I'm now 15 and I wanted to upgrade my point and shoot camera to an SLR camera but the SLR camera that I was looking at was to much money at the moment so I decided to get this camera till I could afford an SLR and I automatically fell in love with this camera the pictures it takes are amazing I know Nikon cameras are good quality but the photos this camera takes are photos I was expecting in a more expensive camera I am very pleased with this purchase and I will make my next camera purchase from Nikon this camera will definitely satisfy me till then I enjoy taking pictures of my pets,wildlife,nature and anything else I find interesting or that captures my eye and this camera does a very good job of capturing every moment
+12points
Review 18 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it!

PostedApril 21, 2012
Bre
Location Grand Rapids MI
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
i love it! i have no complaints its soo simple to work!
0points
Review 19 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tres bon appareil: qualité, solidité et beauté c'est le Nikon P500

PostedApril 16, 2012
Alex R
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Cet appareil là, le Nikon P500 est un tres bon appareil, c'est sûr que je vais recommander le P500 à mes amis. Bravo Nikon!!! Ne change pas. Mais il faut que Nikon travaille sur la batterie pour qu'elle puisse conserver sa charge mais c'est tres bon appareil. En plus, il y a un bon service à la clientèle à Montréal.
Bravo Nikon pour le P500.
-2points
Review 20 for COOLPIX P500
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon P500

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Kool51
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
This is my wifes camera. She had a 2 year-old Nikon P100, which she dropped & was going to cost alot to get fixed. It was a great camera , however this newer model is alot better. She loves It. Keep up the good work.
0points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>