Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P330

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P330

The Nikon COOLPIX P330 digital camera combines a 12.2 megapixel high-performance CMOS sensor, fast f/1.8 lens, Full HD video, RAW shooting and a host of features in a sleek, portable design. Compatible with the WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P330
Review 1 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Performance, Small, Point and Shoot

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
The Nikon P330 point and shoot is my pocket camera of choice due to its combination of size and resolution. When used properly, it will produce DSLR quality results. See the attached portrait taken at a shutter speed of 1/160, an aperture of f/4, and an ISO of 160.
+3points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Pocket Pro

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Adventurer
Location Farmington, NY 14548, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Took this camera on a vacation to Sweden in the extremely cold month of January 2014. Didn't have time to "learn" the camera since I took it new, straight out of the box. Realized what the camera could and couldn't do in the first hours of shooting - it is a point and shoot after all.
After the first day of "testing" I discovered: 1. The correct flash to subject distance for ultimate flash coverage. 2. The extreme value of the Hand Held 3-exposure Night Setting. 3. Focusing with telephoto - going past minimum focus distance. 4. Using the macro setting properly. 5. And if I was lazy, switching it to Auto Scene Mode.
This camera took awesome night shots on our subarctic cruise in extreme weather. I also used the Sports mode extensively for higher shutter speeds and for rapid fire captures. The video feature, perfect.
After 3000 captures, I say: "What a fantastic camera." And: Nikon brand batteries are way cheaper than Canon - I took 3 batteries. Only thing I didn't like was the "Raise the Flash" warning that popped up every time I used the Auto Scene mode - a complete nuisance feature for this camera that cost me some important captures while waiting. By the way... the pics turned out extremely sharp and the colors awesome.
+17points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding features and picture quality

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Snowman
Location Florida
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Looks like Consumer Reports got it right this time. This sub-compact is great for us. Got this for my wife to carry in her purse everywhere she goes. The larger sensor and 1.8 lens will let us shoot indoors without flash. The menu is the best we have seen on a cam this size and believe me, we have tried many. The easy to access mode changes are so convenient. Makes it easy to change shutter speed and f stops with the A and S settings. Just like our DSLR cams.
The video mode works for us and I'm pleased with how well the auto focus keeps up with composition changes.
we are very pleases with this camera.
+15points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The take anywhere camera, guaranteed not to dissappoint

PostedMay 16, 2013
Titanic Images
Location Mississauga Ontario
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As an avid Nikon DSLR photographer, I was looking for a Camera that I could take anywhere without carrying all the bulk, but gives great results and flexability with manual controls and Raw imaging . Look no further ! Go get it. I did and love it to death. This feels good looks good acts good. Nothing bad to say about this purchase. Well worth it over the other point and shoots(pocketable sizes) with the Brand name starting with "C". Just amazing nothing else need be said
+18points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Camera robusta para vários ambientes.

PostedMay 6, 2013
Nikonfriend
Location Porto Alegre - RS, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Uso em situações domésticas, na intempérie e em obras de engenharia. Estou falando da P300 que é um modelo anterior a P330. Esta última oferece alguns recursos a mais. Essa camera nunca apresentou um defeito e em cada situação adversa ela acaba surpreendendo.
Uma única ressalva. O material da tela anterior poderia ser de um material mais resistente. Tenho um iPhone, com a mesma idade da P300 e a tela dele parece nova, quando comparada à da camera.
Em condições de pouco luminosidade ela é uma das melhores.
Na sua categoria é a que mais satisfação proporcionou.
-14points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera with lots of features and adustment possibilities

PostedApril 26, 2013
Gus
Location Bremerton, WA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As soon as I unpacked the P330 I fell in love with it. The camera has that quality touch and feel that you normally get from a SLR camera of good quality.
The addition of the primary functions P,S,A, and M are exactly what was missing on my other Coolpix cameras. These settings can overcome the situations that the Auto function can't.
The picture quality is superb. The lens with an f-stop of 1.8 is super and the range of the lens 24mm to 120mm is perfect for most general photography. All I can say is, that I love this jewel.
+25points
Review 7 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my first digital camera.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Sterling1
Location Louisville, KY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Until now all of my experience has been with 35mm and 6x7 film cameras. I am impressed with this camera's convenience, close-up, and low light capability. Pictures, so far, have dazzled me.
+15points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

cool coolpix

PostedDecember 13, 2014
britking
Location NYC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
love the camera except it's eating up batteries, they don't last longer than three months
0points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GPS Disappointing

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
P330
Location Indiana, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this camera primary for the GPS function packaged in a pocket sized format for travel photos. Unfortunately, the GPS position acquisition time is so long, or not at all (even with valid A-GPS file loaded), that the feature is unusable for normal point and shoot use. I had recently taken the camera on a pleasure trip to Chicago and was unable to obtain a GPS fix in Millennium Park (unobstructed satellite views) even with the camera turned on for over 10 minutes. Out of the 100+ photos taken on the trip (indoors & outdoors), only one photo was geotagged; completely unacceptable. As for the photo capturing abilities, the P330 does a great job in low light and in general walking about snapshots. Auto white balance under fluorescent lighting has a green tint, but is fixable with manual menu adjustments. Overall, a very competent camera packaged in an attractive size. If the GPS worked this camera would get a 4-5 star rating.
+4points
Review 10 for COOLPIX P330
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Slow to lock on focus in anything but good light.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Geo71
Location Massachusetts
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Good IQ , excellent quality build, excellent movie mode .
The two big complaints are:
1.......... slow to focus in typical indoor room lighting in the evening .
2..........slow processing of raw images in camera .
-2points