Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L26

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX L26

Get outstanding image detail with a 16.1 MP sensor. Frame your shot with a 5x optical Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens. Record HD (720p) movies and share the good times on the large 3.0-inch LCD monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 28 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
4
22 out of 28(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX L26
Review 1 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

REPLACED A SONY WITH IT!

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Bob in NH
Location Woodsville, Haverhill, NH, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Love the compact everyday use, take it skiing with me in the jacket pocket and always in the car. Replaced a Sony with this one. Have 3 active Nikons and 2 old units. The best feature on this camera is the use of "AA" batteries, so sick of specialized batteries that cost a bundle. The Nikon batteries however do last longer than the competitors models.
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camera always

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Fernando
Age 45-54
Always had Coolpix L series, great camera and ready to use. Love Nikon quality!!!
0points
Review 3 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT CAMERA!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
charlie
Location Quebec, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I am very please with this purchase, very simple and easy camera to use and great pictures!!!
-1point
Review 4 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera

PostedDecember 30, 2012
mom
I bought this camera for one of my sons...we liked it so much we got another.
It's very easy to use and takes great pictures
+1point
Review 5 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Hube
Location Charlotte, NC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Best all-a-round pocket camera you could ever want. Has 8X10 picture quality. Great for when you are just in the car driving, who never know what you come up to and thats when you always don't have a camera, but this one can be the one you have. I know other photographers that use this model camera as their back-up when due to bad weather or timing this camera saves the day.
+3points
Review 6 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Camera

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Beginer User
Location Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
This camera is very easy to use. All you do is point and shoot
-2points
Review 7 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera

PostedOctober 30, 2012
evgh
Location Sparwood, BC V0B, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We bought this camera when we realized we forgot ours heading out on vacation. We are using mainly for pictures. We got the upgraded memory card and have the setting at 8MB pics. We are very pleased with the performance and quality of pics. Took almost 300 pics with the original battery before they weakened. Nice size to fit in pockets/purse. Tons of settings, most of which I have not even discovered yet. The sale price for this camera was very reasonable for what you get. Don't hesitate to buy this camera, it has served as very well.
+6points
Review 8 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As pocket cameras go this is a winner!

PostedOctober 17, 2012
NiftyPixMan
Location Silicon Valley, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As pocket cameras go this is a winner. Especially because of the AA batteries.
The worst picture is the one you do not take and this little pocket camera makes
it easy to have a camera handy. Some days dragging a larger SLR camera is less
than ideal.
It is smart enough in auto mode with a long list of scene modes for most
common situations.
Sure, in five years there will be cell phones to challenge it but for now the 16 Meg Pixels,
flash, and zoom combined with AA batteries make this a winner.
+5points
Review 9 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High quality pics..Great battery life!

PostedOctober 10, 2012
photogenic1
Location Madison, WI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I previously owned the kodak easy share. I took it in to have service several times, until it finally was not operable. I purchased the nikkon recently and am very satisfied with all the pics taken thus far. I love that it operates on 2 AA batteries so i dont have to worry if i leave my charger at home. AA batteries are inexpensive as well. Battery life is surprisingly long. The video record option is also very nice for those quick little recordable moments. It has several options to adapt to what type of pic you are going for. Auto settings adjust accordingly for easy use. I am so happy with the quality of this camera. Highly satisfied customer!!
+3points
Review 10 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a Great Camera

PostedJune 24, 2012
Nikon_Fan
Location California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great camera. It is a niche product that does what it does very well. My primary reason for adding this camera to the two, more expensive, digital point and shoots that I already had is because it operates on AA batteries. I think the slow picture making time and lack of close-up focus are very worthwhile tradeoffs for the low price and very high quality pictures this camera makes. I have owned an L10 so I am familiar with the concept. A pair of lithium AA batteries will last through all day use on a one week trip. I use NI-MH rechargeable batteries at home. I have a car-lighter adapter for my NI-MH battery recharger.
This camera is ready to go on no notice at all.
+14points
Review 11 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More than I Expected...

PostedJune 22, 2012
hdlss1
Location I have been a photographer (amateur) since I had my first darkroom 50+ years ago.
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had several Digital Cameras over the years, my last one was P@#$roid which was a great disappointment. The photo quality was only so so and the photos were in a proprietary format which my other cameras could not read. Several of the new pics were out of focus and a bit on the shaky side.
When My Nikon arrived I inserted the useless SD Card and was going to reformat it for use in the Nikon, I was quite pleasantly surprised that the L26 could read all the previous photos, the Nikon adjusted the shakes and other poor qualities and the ones that I had recently taken with the P@#$roid.
As a result, the Nikon did much more than I expected it to; and saved the day, by recovering what I had expected to be a complete loss of almost 100 photos.
Thank you Nikon for a well engineered camera, and for the people who built my camera. I wou;ld not hesitate to recommend a Nikon to anyone who might ask.
+12points
Review 12 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera for the price

PostedJune 11, 2012
munchie
Location illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
this is a small camera that takes great pictures. the focus is good, the distance you can get is great. Would recommend .
0points
Review 13 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and compact size

PostedMay 28, 2012
SuziQ
Location Milledgeville, GA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Only had this camera for a few days now but it is so easy to use right out of the box! That is just what I was looking for plus the fact that it uses AA batteries so I don't need to worry about charging battery. Zoom is pretty good for this price range; easy to share pictures which is another feature I was looking for 'cause I'm not a techie whiz!! Hubby has a D80 which he loves but even he likes this little camera! have had several Nikon products and feel you can't beat Nikon quality!
+20points
Review 14 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Ordinary person, not a pro.
Location Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Received the camera as a gift. I LOVE THIS CAMERA! It is so simple to use. It takes awesomes pics.
+3points
Review 15 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little camera!!!

PostedMay 3, 2012
Dani
Location Idaho, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I previously owned a Kodak SLR. This camera kicks butt on that camera. Great low light picture taking which was my biggest negative with my old Kodak.
Very clear pics and very simple and easy to use. Battery life is great so far. Way better than the old one. Had to get special high performance batteries for the SLR and couldn't use the zoom at all. Zapped the batteries (even the high performance ones) if I even so much as touched the zoom feature.
I have been using this one for a week now. I have been using it in all sorts of conditions and lighting. It really is great. I have been using the zoom like crazy and I am still on the batteries that came with the camera which are standard alkaline AA's.
The only thing I would change about this camera is I uploaded some pics, did not delete them from the camera and then tried to upload them again and it said they already were and would not let me upload them a second time.
Overall. This is a fabulous little camera if you are looking for a simple easy to use camera that takes great pics in almost all conditions and lighting.
+13points
Review 16 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera for the price

PostedApril 14, 2012
nikonlove
Location Benson, NC, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Got this camera for my trip to Vegas, I am no pro and the pictures came out so sharp and good. Everyone on the trip had different cameras and all said my pictures put theirs to shame. I loved all the scene selections most of all the fireworks, indoor party, and food ones. I would recommend this camera to anyone looking to spend around a hundred bucks, it takes pics that are similar to my fathers 900 dollar camera. Sorry dad!!
+25points
Review 17 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect color and size!

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Eburner
Location South Carolina
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
So far I am excited to own this product, and am quickly getting used to using and enjoying it. I start here, and then move up!
0points
Review 18 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Memory Card

PostedAugust 4, 2012
The teacher
Location florida
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Be prepared to spend another $20 for a SDHC Memory Card...I would assume that a $100+ product would have one included...............
-3points
Review 19 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1st digital camera i have

PostedMay 6, 2012
sunhi14
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
When i want to buy digital camera,i research or googling about this camera(Nikon l26)
but just a little review i get,so i read thats with carefully,
i m interested coz the price in my country is not to expensive just arround $94,n get 1+1 warrantty.
i dont have knowledge about photography,i dont know the result of Nikon L26 pic/image is good or no.
but in my eyes n my feeling i think the pic is not too bad,n is cool n the result of pic/image became true n nature,on daylight or night,on beach or mountain,and on outdoor or indoor.
so i like this product from Nikon.
thankz for read my little opinion n sorry if i have a bad English
+7points
Review 20 for COOLPIX L26
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice camera for the price.

PostedApril 24, 2013
CoolPix L26
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Very easy to use. Takes crisp, clear pictures outdoors if you give the time to focus. Has trouble indoors under low light conditions. Am trying some of the preset modes; hope they help. One note: The battery compartment latch (flimsy) broke during an out of country trip. Had to use tape to hold it closed or the batteries would fall out. Will try to return it for repairs.
+1point
1 2 next>>