Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
3.821 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 274
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 274 reviews
5 stars
133
4 stars
64
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 star
45
204 out of 274(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Camera! until battery door broke

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Rodent
Location Ontari
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Love this camera, easy to use and took amazing pictures for a basic point and shoot camera. However the latch the battery door hooks onto broke. I did buy another Coolpix L30 to replace it because I love these cameras the door latch is basically the same design. If problem happens again I guess I look elsewhere.
+1point
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broken battery door...

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
240Mo
Another broken battery door. Many complaints of a similar nature of this site. No response from Nikon. Too bad.
+10points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Took Great Pictures Until Battery Door Broke

PostedAugust 14, 2013
sportsphotogirl
Location KY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I received this camera as a Christmas gift. I thought it was awesome. The pictures looked great. I was mainly using this camera as a back-up camera in my purse so I didn't have to lug around my D-SLR to capture those everyday moments. 3 months after getting it, the battery latch broke on the cheap plastic door. I tried taping it and that worked for a while. Now I am totally frustrated with a $129 camera that no longer works. Nikon should recall these. I went ahead and purchased a Canon PowerShot SX40 HS to replace this piece of junk. Canon stands by their products and are better quality.
+1point
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJune 22, 2013
Trully
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a Nikon Coolpix L22:
How can Nikon use its brand name to sell this piece of junk camera?
The indors picture colors are not real, many takes were blurry, the lense stacks sometimes and now the camera does not power on, I change AA that came with camera to EN-MH2 Ni-MH rechargable bateries and nothing helps, the camera does not turn on.
No body think to know why the camera dos not turn on, when I call Nikon for help I could not talk to a person, I went to the Internet and I learn that the cost for repair may be more of the value of the camera, the Main System Board service would be necessary plus other services.
After reading many of the Reviews complaining about the battery door lock I thing I will not repair this camera, may be I got the lemon of the lemons.
All the good reviews that you got today may be the complainers of tomorrow, it's just matter of time.
This camera was very poorly made, shame on Nikon, I will never buy another product from you.
I have a Sony DSC-90 since 12/2005 and it is far superior in every way.
-3points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good camra Bad design

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Dee
Location Seagoville, TX, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I Got my camra a Nikonpix L22 it take good picture esay to use. The problem is the cheap batterie door broke while in my bag of all places. Now the batteries want stay in, because the door want stay shut. Really a dark cloud over a good product... IT'S A SHAME
+12points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Camera untill Battery cover breaks

PostedNovember 27, 2012
GGtech
Location Sydney NSW, Australia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I miss this Camera , now needs Rubber Band etc to keep batteries in due to very POOR design
I sent it to Nikon for repair ,it returned , still broken
as DAMAGED ......I will try Nikon one more time .........to think a piece of plastic worth under $1
makes this a Bad choice
+8points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good camera; bad battery door

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Sheldon
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I've had this camera for two years and was so disappointed that the battery door broke. One day it just stopped working and my fix right now is a rubber band to hold them in.
+2points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent camera

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
snowman
Location Staunton Va
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera has given me many years of excellent service. Yes I had the problem with the battery cover but that was the fault of kids playing and not watching where they were running and who they were running into. And no it doesn't cost anywhere near the price of the camera to replace it which is what I am going to do. In fact I might just go out and buy another one to use as a backup. I would reccomend the camera to anyone looking for a point and shoot camera because my photos have been praised by and purchased by professional photographers so it is a good camera no matter what some people say.
0points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor design, poor quality photos

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
l22doorlatch
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this knowing the Coolpix brand name had a good reputation, but within a few months the battery latch broke. It is a very small piece of plastic molded to body of camera where the door latches to. However, with the springs for the batteries, it puts a lot of pressure on the door and eventually broke. Very poor design and see that many other people have the same problem and Nikon is not willing to recall these. The can repair but will cost more than the what was paid for camera. I do not recommend this camera to others and will continue with the brand I was originally using.
Otherwise appears to be a good camera although the photo quality is not as good as my previous camera.
+4points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was a nice structure.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
NikonLover
Location Philadelphia, PA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I enjoyed this camera, but then it stopped working. I lost my POP, but by the time I figured this all out, I knew it was no longer covered under warranty. I mean why should I send it in for repairs, when I can buy a new camera. Overall, I enjoy this camera and this brand. I recommend this to all of my family and friends, which I just found out that I have over 1000 family members on my mom side alone... I wonder how many is on my dad side?!
 
My product recommendations
 
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(741)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what they used to be............

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Deacon
Location KY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The tiny plastic latch that holds the cover down broke. I Have had Nikon's camrea's for 40 years. This camera has broken 2 times. I will not buy another Nikon Camera..
0points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well thought out design and much more.features

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Travel Addict
Location Louisiana, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is a great deal. I like the size of it. It is small enough to fit in my pocket and purse. Yet, it takes powerful pictures with 12 M. The large view finder helps me check the qualities of pictures I take. I usually zoom in the pictures in the view finder to make sure that they are crispy sharp. I like the fact that it uses 2 AA batteries. I am tired of cameras that need special types of batteries I can't find. These AA batteries are sold anywhere. That make it very convenient. I have been using this camera for two years daily. That proves it is durable. I have not read its user guide or owner's manual. But it is easy to use. The displays are kind of self-explanatory. If you are a first time user, you don't have to worry. It is a user-friendly product. There is a self-timer feature that gives you 10 seconds to get ready for the shoot. You can set up the auto shoot and nobody is left out of pictures. The resolution and sizes for your pictures can be selected from many options. The wide screen pictures are awesome. It has a lot of computerized features to find faces and get rid of red eyes. It is too sophisticated that I have not mastered all the features that are available. My favorite activities are taking videos with this camera. The audio and video qualities are excellent. You can convert the size of screen easily with any software on your hand. You will be surprised with this small powerful camera. One 8 G memory card hold many pictures and videos. It is easy to stick in and out of the camera. There is no limit in what we can do with it. If you have any questions, write to support. They get touch with you in a day. I am so glad that I have this camera. I can't spend a day without it. I recommend to anyone. I hope that my comment was helpful.
0points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

COOLPIX, a Camera For All

PostedJune 29, 2012
HBC Photographer
Location Franklinton, LA 70438, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a great camera, and is perfect for all events. It is also very easy to use. I highly recommend this product for anyone who does photography on a small scale. It does what it is designed to do, with great quality pictures. Never had a better camera!
+1point
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decent camara..but Battery door is faulty

PostedJune 7, 2012
Nikon buyer
Location Atlanta, GA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I had this camara for less than 3 months and I noticed when trying to put batteries in the door would not close, till finally I noticed the battery door was chiped. Wish I could have gotten longer life from my purchase.
+1point
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Camera, but can break easily.

PostedMay 20, 2012
JB
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got my camera about 17 months ago. I accidentally dropped it for the first time the other day, it looked like it was ok, and then i realized a TINY little plastic white clip holding the battery cover shut snapped off somehow. Without that clip, theres no way to keep the cover shut. The batteries press against it and spring it open. Even Duct Tape wont hold very long with the spring action. Now I have no camera, and while i take the blame for dropping it, no camera should break after one drop, and no camera's batter cover should rely on a very tiny plastic clip that is under pressure any time the cover is closed. As for image quality, it works best with close-up mode, other than that its just ok. And with no view finder it really isnt worth the price.
+2points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice camera, bad battery cover

PostedMay 9, 2012
Unhappy Momma
Location Las Vegas, NV
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Got my camera as a Christmas present in 2010. Didn't have problems with it except having to keep plenty of batteries on hand. During one of my many battery changes I noticed the cover would not close tightly after carefully inspecting the cover I noticed that the tiny plastic latch that holds the cover down was broken. I sent it in to Nikon and with $41. I can have it fixed. What a crock , they make a poor quality plastic clip that will inevitably break and charge you almost as much as the camera is worth to fix it. Unfortunately this has turned me off from Nikon. I will not buy another one and if I every receive another Nikon as a gift I will return it.
+5points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Good

PostedDecember 5, 2011
neednewcamera
Just like for other users, the battery door broke. Now it says that I need new battery, and it won't work. The biggest waste of money.
+1point
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery door broke

PostedDecember 10, 2011
InCertainCompany
Location Omaha
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have had this camera for less than a year. On Thanksgiving, when I wanted to take photos of my family for the holiday, I went to change the batteries to Lithium as I was tired of the short life of standard AA batteries and the battery door wouldn't close. I thought maybe the lithiums stood too tall, so I put the regular AA batteries in and I couldn't get the door to close. The photos are not sharp. The photos I tried to take of my sisters wedding came out poorly and this feature where you press the picture button and it takes 10 photos and saves the sharpest never worked. Incredible disappointment.
+4points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not happy at all...

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Bubblez'Nikon
Location Delaware, Ohio
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this camera for my birthday last year, and within two months, it just, stopped working. my screen will come on, but it REFUSES to display images, i cant even take the pictures and upload them just to see what they came out to look like.
It was a pretty gift for about a week, then i started having issues... the focus isnt all that great, and the quality of the pictures aren't what i was expecting froom Nikon.
+2points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor auto focus

PostedNovember 26, 2011
GrayGhost
Location Thousand Oaks, Ca.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My second Nikon and, probably, my last. I have to press the shutter button over and over and over to get any kind of sharp focus. It "kind-of" works if you focus on something you want sharp, but not necessarily centered, and then move the focal point to the center while keeping the button pressed. It is utterly maddening to grab a great shot only to find that way too many are completely out of focus, especially group photos. There is no manual workaround for this issue.
Another irksome habit is the camera switches to standby mode far too quickly (25 seconds).
Sadly, this camera just isn't worth the aggravations and annoyances.
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 next>>