Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX AW110

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX AW110

The Nikon COOLPIX AW110 is a waterproof, dustproof, freezeproof, shockproof compact digital camera with Full HD video, GPS and Wi-Fi built-in.
Average Customer Rating:
2.792 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(77 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 77 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
33
36 out of 77(47%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX AW110
Review 1 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best underwater camera out there

PostedMay 18, 2014
Dennis
Location Parkland Fl
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought one of these last year at a target store while on vacation in Orlando for discovery cove, for $349.00. It took amazing shots and video at depths greater than 15ft. I was using it underwater for hours with no problems, and no signs of leakage. When I got out of the water, I noticed I must have scratched the orange paint on a rock. The scratch bothered me so much that I exchanged it the next day for a new one. I keep my electronics meticulous. Well took the new one in the pool a week later back home, and after about an hour in the water the screen went black. So I returned that one also, I was so mad at myself for returning the first one that had the little scratch on it, but worked fine. Anyways, Walmart has these on clearance for $229 right now (May 2014), I even asked the manager if she could discount it even more, so she took off another $21. Long story short, so far so good. No problems whatsoever, takes beautiful shots, and no signs of leakage. I guess it's just the luck of the draw with these.
+6points
Review 2 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I highly reccomend this camera!

PostedApril 13, 2014
Jessica Loves Horses
Location British Columbia, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera is great! I got it for Christmas, and have had no troubles with it at all! I've dropped it, it's fallen off my Tripod, and I've dropped it from the height of my horse, totally fine. It also takes really nice pictures. Overall, I am extremely pleased with this camera, and highly reccomend it :)
+1point
Review 3 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use and carry

PostedApril 8, 2014
Geocacher
Location Tampa, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I bought this one as soon as it was available. I have taken it on some cruises, to the beach, on the kayak and on the trail. I have never had to worry about it getting wet, unlike some of my friends. The is best waterproof camera that I have owned. I have owned 2 others.
-3points
Review 4 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the quality and ease of use!!! Perfect camera for beach, snorkeling and everyday!!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
MAC1
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this camera at Costco in St. Louis, Missouri and couldn't believe I was getting 16 mega pixels, full 1080 HD video and a Nikon that was waterproof for the price!!! I had read a few negative reviews but decided to give it a try.
We literally hit the water running with this camera!!! Daily snorkeling in Cozumel, diving up to 20 or more feet for close ups, taking it in the pool and getting funny looks from others thinking we just ruined our camera and much more. I have also used it back in the U. S. for birthday parties, hiking and everyday pictures. I am finding I don't even want to use my Canon or IPhone for pictures anymore!!!
The negative reviews I did read are more like just using common sense when using the camera. Be sure to properly close the battery compartment before getting wet and allow camera to dry and remove sand or debris with the little brush they provide you with before opening. As far as foggy lenses go think of it like your sunglasses. If you have it in air conditioning or cool weather and all of a sudden you try to use it in the sun or warm water it may fog up a little. I only experienced this 1 time and all I had to do was wipe it off.
In my opinion it is a great, compact, easy to use, well priced, quality and underwater capable camera!!! Would I buy it again? Most definitely!!! I hope some of you will find this information useful!!!
+26points
Review 5 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great options

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
billlobo
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I like the GPS and the waterproof feature. Very compact too.
+1point
Review 6 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma das melhores câmeras compactas, estabilização óptica excelente, macro a 1cm real.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Guilherme MOE
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
A qualidade de fotos em macro (1cm) e estabilização óptica são excelentes, digo que são superiores a vários modelos DSLR semi-profissionais. Fotos em piscinas ou em cachoeiras saem perfeitas, nada de travamentos ou problemas, a sincronização WIFI com smartphones é fácil e funciona 100%, basta baixar o software no smartphone. É realmente waterproof com qualidade de imagem, cores perfeitas e fotos nítidas mesmo em movimento e agitação proposital da câmera. O menu de comandos traseiro poderia ser menos truncado. Recomendo, satisfação 100%.
+5points
Review 7 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in class

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Skip
Location Saint Marys City, MD, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I lost my Nikon AW-110 in the woods while hunting in early January 2014. It spent 4 weeks alone, naked and afraid in the rain, snow and single digit temps. I found it, dripping wet in the snow last weekend and feared for it's survival. I hit the power switch and "bing" it turned on. I pressed the shutter switch --"click" --and a picture appeared on the screen. Fantastic!! If you need professional pics--get a pro DSLR. If you need an underwater camera--buy one. if you want a tough camera for the outdoors the that takes great pics and videos then the AW-110 can do it. Tough and reliable it's the best point and click I've ever owned. The best in class
I now have 3 Nikon point and clicks, one Nikon DSLR and one SLR that all work great. I also have 3 "other brand" "digital cameras--all broken. I just ordered a new rifle scope --a Nikon . As an outdoor person I appreciate quality and durability.
+14points
Review 8 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Melhor do que eu imaginava!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Beto Macedo
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Sempre tive vontade de ter uma câmera aquática. Quando vi a AW100 quase comprei e depois saiu a AW110. Pela internet sempre vi alguém reclamando. Fiquei com o pé atrás. Porém como sempre tive máquinas Nikon e nunca tive problemas comprei. Estou arrependido??? Sim, deveria tê-lá comprado antes. Ela é sim à prova d´água. É só seguir o manual direitinho e aproveitar novas perspectivas.
+19points
Review 9 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Até o momento sensacional!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Fernando Seiji
Location Uberaba-MG
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Compacta, agüentou um dia inteiro na piscina do clube, tem ótima qualidade fotográfica e de filmagem. Vários recursos interessantes na própria máquina. Dá pra filmar em câmera lenta e acelerada. Muito fácil de manusear mesmo em baixo da água. Vou testar na praia semana que vem, vamos ver.
+4points
Review 10 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENTE CAMARA FOTOGRAFICA Y ADEMAS ACUATICA

PostedDecember 8, 2013
MVZ VICTOR
ME GUSTA PRIMERO QUE NADA EL DISEÑO CON EL QUE CUENTA Y LOS COLORES EN QUE EXISTE, YO TENGO LA NARANJA.
TAMBIEN LES PUEDO DECIR QUE CUENTA CON MUY BUENAS APLICACIONES EN SUS SISTEMA FUNCIONAL.
EN POCAS PALABRAS ESTA DE POCA MAD.... Y ME ENCANTA PARA TODO MOMENTO Y EN TODA OCACION LA REQUIERES PARA TOMAR LAS FOTOS. SE LAS RECOMIENDO.
-7points
Review 11 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compacta sofisticada e multifuncional

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Vesuvio
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Estava a procura de uma boa câmera subaquática e me surpreendi com a sofisticação e funcionalidades da Coolpix AW110, estou com ela a alguns dias e deste então já usei em rios, piscina, foto noturna... fiz videos e fotos continuas... até o momento não tenho nada a reclamar da qualidade e funcionamento, estou satisfeito com a compra. Tenho uma P520 mas não me sentia muito confortável com seu volume e com os cuidados que se deve ter com este tipo de câmera, tinha vontade de possuir uma compacta de menor volume mais ficava com o pé atrás devido a qualidade de fotos destas câmeras devido as limitações óbvias.
A AW110 pode não ser a melhor câmera subaquática nem tirar as melhores fotos mas com os recursos e funcionalidades que ela tem eu diria que é a câmera perfeita para viagens, aventuras ou no dia a dia.
+10points
Review 12 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy so far...

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Ranger
Location San Juan, Puerto Rico
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Purchased this camera to replace the my older point ant shoot I went snorkeling with in the pocket of my trunks that was not designed to get wet... I have used it once snorkeling as well as indoors and outdoors on cruise ship excursions and like the camera very well (over 4 days). The photos and video look very good and it is easy to use in the water and out. I do not have a laptop to review the photos on a large HD screen but I will be surprised if there are any issues for me as a casual user. I like the GPS option and found the compass function to be a nice touch. The compass is visible in the display when shooting and reviewing making situational awareness much better when traveling in unfamiliar areas.
The one feature the was a bit of a pain (and it may be user error...) is the GPS log function. It seems that every time it logs a position, it takes over the screen and I had to turn the camera off and back on to take a photo. I just now have Internet access am downloading the full manual and will be able to look at that. A quick start manual is all that was included in the box. It also does not have an SD card and my old one was ruined by the swim...
-1point
Review 13 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Easy To Use....Even the added features

PostedNovember 2, 2013
SmoothandEasy
Location Long Beach, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
I'm a Realtor. I bought this camera to take basic photos of my property. This is the first time that I bought a camera with all of the bells and whistles. I did not read the manual before using the camera for the first time. I was able to figure out the point and shoot, change mega pixels of the photos, lighted the photo by adding more light to the photo, was able to use the Wi/Fi. It truly was very simple to use. The only time I had to see the manual was to insert the battery (I knew where the batter was suppose to go, but I didn't know how to open up the compartment), once I looked it up the rest was easy sailing.
+6points
Review 14 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Outdoors
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really enjoy this camera. I am outdoors in all types of weather and needed a camera that wasn't too big and could handle some bumps. I lost my first AW during a training exercise and just picked up another one. I've been very satisfied.
+7points
Review 15 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tough camera for good price

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
NikonWaterproof
Location New Jersey, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I traveled to cancun with my family and my new camera take very good pictures, especially the pictures in the pool and the sea.
I bought this camera for underwater shots and I am very satisfied with the product.
+9points
Review 16 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Studly high quality camera for the $

PostedAugust 23, 2013
shinerunner
Location Walnut Creek, California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just returned from a diving vacation in Salt Cay, Grand Turk and Provo, Turks and Caicos. We brought the AW110 along with a Go Pro Hero 3 bl ed to record our dives and trips. My girlfriend (now fiancée...) also brought her mega Nikon camera with foot long lens and a bunch of other lenses for topography shots. So, the AW110 was a true stud while diving. This little dude blew away my old Sea and Sea 35 mm camera which cost me nearly 4x more! The AW 110 was FAR more reliable and absolutely not finicky like the Go Pro 3. I admit to taking the AW far past its depth limit which it let me know about. The camera shuts down with some odd messages once you start going past 80 feet. The mega cool thing is that it came right back when you returned to 60 feet or less. The camera also take incredible pics above ground which I will submit as soon as American Airlines drops my lost luggage (all USB cables are in that bag). The only issue I had with the AW is that they should have included a red/orange filter for diving past 20 feet. This would eliminate the dominating blue effect that most divers who enjoy underwater photography are all too familiar with. As a test, I pulled my Go Pro orange filter off the video camera and put it over the AW lens. The result - incredible photos!!! The only trouble is I did this just a few times so wished I had such for tall my shots. This is the reason for this review - if you want to use this underwater (Below 15 feet) then you MUST get an orange filter for it or your pics will be too blue. Oh, on the power, the battery seems to last forever. This is one studly little camera that I must strongly recommend to you. Nikon guys - get that filter option for us and we'll really gobble these dudes up. Hope this was helpful..
+8points
Review 17 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

¡ PERFECTA !

PostedJuly 18, 2013
JK
Location Bogotá, Colombia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Funciona muy bien, toma buenas fotos el video en Full HD es de excelente calidad, incluso usándola bajo el agua.
Recomiendo para aprovechar todo su potencial y su calidad de captura, leer las instrucciones.
-19points
Review 18 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Es aguantadora y ofrece lo que dice.

PostedJune 19, 2013
Gerardo
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Muy buena camara en: montaña, cascadas, playa, aguas termales, rios subterraneos, fiestas, con las mascotas, tal vez el tema de que tarda un poco cuando se toman fotos con flash es a veces un poco desesperante, pero bueno la quiero para salir a pasear y no preocuparme de que a la camara le vaya a pasar algo, se complementa con una correa flotadora y es aun mejor.
Lo que no me gusto en definitiva es la correa de cuello, para ser una camara para salir al campo o pasear, como que este tipo de correa no es practico.
La verdad muy buena adquisicion la recomiendo ampliamente.
-5points
Review 19 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hikers Camera

PostedMay 18, 2013
Flyin Armadillo
Location Jack County Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this camera (in orange) since it first came on the market (thanks to my loving wife). I have used this on multiple hiking trips in Big Bend National Park and the Grand Canyon - climbing Mt Saint Helens, etc as well as family vacations to the lake in the boat. I have NOT submerged the camera - but have carried and used it in the rain with no problems whatsoever.
LIKES: 1. Compact & Ease of use single handing camera while hiking. 2. Water resistance while outdoors. 3. Battery life - I purchased 2 extra batteries when I first got the camera since most of my use is FAR from any charger plug-in. I have used this for snapshots here and there over 7 day hiking trips -- I haven't needed the extra batteries YET -- but I have them and make sure they are charged before I take off. I love the battery life. 4. I enjoy that this camera doesn't have a lens that runs in and out every time you turn it on - this saves a lot of battery - and less moving parts to collect dirt / mechanical failure.
This camera takes Great pictures (I always turn the flash off) -- even in low light.
NO it doesn't do EVERYTHING it's not a $7,000 dollar camera for $350.00 -- BUT it takes fantastic pictures in all weather and requires little to no thought to use .. A Hikers best friend : )
I would recommend this camera without hesitation.
+41points
Review 20 for COOLPIX AW110
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera

PostedApril 23, 2013
Margiedvh
Location Ohio, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this camera .I bought a d60 n p510 but this camera takes excellent pictures. I put the camera around my neck and just take pics of park flowers family and different kinds of food This camera does a lot for the price.Especially that I can download what pictures i want from the camera to my galaxy note 2 .I download the program from play store to my galaxy note 2 and my iPad .So when I want to post my pictures to FB or any site just have 1 touch to transfer the pics.I haven't tried the camera in water yet but it's ashame that I use this camera more then my expensive cameras.
+26points
1 2 3 4 next>>