Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX A

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX A

The Nikon COOLPIX A is a low-light, advanced performance digital camera with full manual controls, Full HD video and an accessory shoe for attaching compatible accessories.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 12(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX A
Review 1 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Collector's item

PostedMay 26, 2014
Nikondoc
Location Saudi arabia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was waiting for a pocket camera with pro performance for a long time. Carrying around D800 with heavy lenses was not very enjoyable during travel and vacations. On display over the shelf Nikon A , looked very similar to P300 and other coolpix cameras. That was the only reason I hesitated for few months before trying it out. Once in hands it feels different and solid. Operation is simple for Nikon users. Yes, eye piece is missing but but overall shooting experience is pleasant and quick. I have assigned one function button to instantly change between photo and movie release options.
Obviously people who will buy this camera are those who only care about quality of images and solidity of build. Believe me the images produced are so good that sometimes I have to check the photo info to see wether it is really taken by Nikon A or a DSLR . This is enough as a quality marker for me to respect this great camera. This is truly a collector item for Nikon lovers......
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
Review 2 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent IQ

PostedMay 23, 2014
streetfusion
Location Burnaby, BC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
I am a recent owner of the Coolpix A having used the Ricoh GR for most of year. I believe the Coolpix A provides better image quality (at least in my experience). On the subject of interface I prefer the simple Nikon approach when compared to the Ricoh GR - there are those who argue that the GR is far more configurable and that is true - but the GR is almost overwhelming. The Ricoh snap focus is an excellent feature and I believe this is an area where Nikon could learn from Ricoh.
Some areas I would like Nikon to address in a firmware update (if possible)..Addressing a few of these issues would make the Coolpix A GR killer
1. Easy availability to lock multi-selected wheel so it can't be accidentally moved while shooting.
2. Exposure Compensation available in Manual Exposure like every other Nikon camera.
3. On the Manual focus scale a depth of field indicator (depending on F Stop)
4. In manual focus mode the user set distance stays as set when the camera power cycles,
5. Ability to turn off image review - I can't understand why this was not included.
6. Flash commander mode - the Coolpix A should have it considering it's cost - even my lowly P7700 has it.
7. Ability to turn off LCD good for shooting with the Nikon optical viewfinder.
i would zero hesitation recommending this camera to anyone who is familiar with the Nikon products and is able to shoot with a single focal length and achieve good results.
+4points
Review 3 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A pocket full of gold

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Tony
Location East Alton, IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Over the last few years I have become a real fan on Nikon's Pro-Level "P" series Coolpix camera's #owning the P7000 & P7100# I was preparing to upgrade again when last spring Nikon introduced the Coolpix A to say the least I was intrigued & set upon my quest to save a "pocket full of gold" to purchase it be cause no... it's not a cheap camera, but lets open the box and see what we are greeted with... A magnificent small, rugged, virtually all metal Nikon camera body that is actually made in Japan. You may ask how small? well its slightly smaller than a iPhone 4 and about double the thickness. That means this thing goes easy in to virtually any pocket #except blue jeans# this is what I always desired from a modern point and shoot, if only it could take great pictures.... Oh boy can it take great pictures, Images are SUPER sharp and crisp edge to edge thanks to the removal of the optical low-pass filter the colors are stunning and low light ISO #up to 1600# is superb. The menu's & controls are pure Nikon & if you love them #like I do# you will feel right at home even coming over from a DSLR. I was a little nervous with the fixed effective 28mm #DX crop# lens coverage but after taking it out and using it for what it is designed for I am now very comfortable with the field of view. You see this is your travel camera, your street scene camera, your it's 95 degrees and I don't want to carry my D800 all day at the state fair camera, yes for portraits you are going to have approach your subject sometimes #although the 16.2 MP sensor gives you plenty to crop# Is the camera perfect? no, my biggest gripe thus far is the pop up flash if you are 6ft away from your subject you might just get her illuminated... The pop up worked fine on the P7000/7100 I think the 18mm lens is too wide for it #thankfully my SB400 works great with it# I've heard complaints the auto-focus is too slow, I'll say it is as fast as my P7100 perhaps for twice the price it could be faster but no complaints from me. Could it use a viewfinder? and a 2.0 lens? sure but the addition of these would require a larger body & what you really are buying with this camera is a small highly evolved point & shoot that fits easily in your pocket while you are out, and delivers quality images with no regrets. Love the camera for what it is and every time you pull it out you will realize you have a pocket full of gold
+11points
Review 4 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed and addicted

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Omer
Location Seattle, WA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been doing photography for over 35 years and that makes puts me in the generation of photographers who do not believe in "spray and hope" strategy. Instead, every shot is planned, contemplated, and deliberate; and Nikon Coolpix A gives me that control.
My primary equipment is comprised of a Nikon D7100, a D600 (soon to be replaced with a D610), an Olympus XZ-1, and now for about three months a Nikon Coolpix A. With the exception of its name I love everything about this camera. It is a simple yet powerful camera that gives tremendous control and when needed full automation. I love its 28mm (35mm equivalent) focal length. It captures almost everything that is within my peripheral focus and its bright f/2.8 aperture allows for great low light photography without raising the ISO. Overall, image quality is exceptional and noise is nonexistent up to ISO 400. The focus system is 95% right-on and locks in quickly; macro focussing is also very fast and accurate.
I recommend this camera to anyone who uses a Nikon DSLR or is considering a Leica X2 or even a Sony RX100. I have tried both and though I absolutely love Leica's menu system, I found that the overall quality and colors of the images are on the par. Leica is perhaps a bit sharper than the Sony and just an iota better than the Nikon. Check out the samples below.
Cheers!
 
My product recommendations
UR-E24/HN-CP18 set (Black)
 
 
 
Optical Viewfinder DF-CP1 (Black)
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+39points
Review 5 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 25, 2013
fezlord
Location Phoenix, Arizona
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My camera was repaired and returned quickly, thank you for the great service. I was very happily surprised!
-2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Coolpix A - The future is here.

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Anonymous
Location Vancouver, B.C.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the best camera that can fit in a shirt pocket. Anything better does not fit. The DX sensor is perfectly matched with the approximately 28 mm 35 mm equivalent lens which is the real gem. It is obvious that Nikon focused on the professional photographer or enthusiast that wants something that is portable, yet still shoots like a DSLR. While not as flexible as Nikon's entry level DSLR, you would be hard pressed to match the image quality.
I am looking forward to the Coolpix B - 50 and Coolpix B - 85 to supplement this Coolpix A - 28. It would be nice to choose the focal length - I would probably buy two or three.
+8points
Review 7 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

a connection to the future

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Macster
Location Texas, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
My Nikon Coolpix A is a very welcome new friend. My Nikon P770 will still will be an old friend. The prime lens and clean exterior of the "A" makes this a great street camera. I used Leica M4s in NYC for two years and in Juarez Mexico for two years. I was a Leica technician in New Jersey and worked on Alfred Eisenstadt's 1,000,001 M3. For 25 years my Hasselblad on the tripod with an extensive home darkroom
produced prints now in two museums. I though I knew everything about photography yet Nikon's website
has given me so much inspiration and knowledge. My films camera connected me to the past and Nikon digital will connect me to the future.
+8points
Review 8 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing quality in a compact body!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
eViLpAnd4
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
DSLR like controls and quality in a compact package.
It feels nice in your hands and easy to carry around. With a small body it's less invasive when you shoot. I would recommend anyone who was considering this model to quickly go to your local camera shop and try it out.
28mm wide angle with a F2.8 lens makes it easy to use in many situation. High iso looks smooth and if you want to bump it up even more just shoot it in B&W.
Only downside to this camera is that it carries the Coolpix name. For what it's worth the Coolpix A should be in it's own category.
+10points
Review 9 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best compact digital camera I have ever used

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Anonymous
Location New York, NY, USA
Age 45-54
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is the best compact digital camera I have ever used, and I'm using it for both professional and personal use. I removed the neck strap because It's small and fits in my back pocket. This way it's always with me every time I leave the house. The fact that it's small means that it draws less attention, which is valuable if you wish to be a "fly on the wall" when shooting people. The camera starts up with almost no delay, just the time needed to open and extend the lens. Image quality is amazing, very sharp, excellent color rendition, and the file size is more than enough for reproduction double-page in a magazine. Auto focus is very fast and there is hardly a delay in the time between squeezing the shutter button and making the exposure. For no delay whatsoever, I often use manual focus, preset to about 3 meters, then with the lens stopped down to f8 or smaller, everything is in focus until infinity. I love the fact that the camera can capture in RAW format, or jpeg if you prefer. There's a lot of in-camera editing and color correction functions that I've played with a bit, but need to learn more about that at some point. The Coolpix A feels solid and robust because it's mostly metal, not plastic. I'm also using the optional viewfinder attached on top. I would definitely recommend this camera.
+41points
Review 10 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent images, but still falls short

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Peter719
You cannot argue with the great picture quality of the camera. It's the lens that makes all the difference. And the operation is fast. But once you get past these basics, you make a lot of trade-offs.
The camera desperately needs an optical viewfinder. A camera like this should of had one. You can get an optional viewfinder, buts it's another $450 more. Image stabilization...there isn't any. Again, when you think of the uses of this camera, low light especially, this is another missing piece.
The LCD is not very bright and hard to use in sunlight outdoors. Cannot adjust it. Indoors it works fine.
The minimum f-stop is 2.8. Again, given what it is used for, f2 would have been a lot better. And it's what Nikon's competitors offer. Even the iPhone 5 is faster.
The camera has many metal pieces, but it still feels like a regular point and shoot.
I'm trying to walk the fence here because the operation and images of the camera are quite good. It just seems like you are paying a serious premium for quality and size, and it might just be worth the wait for the Coolpix a2 to fix some of these issues.
Peter W
+37points
Review 11 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent, but only in parts.

PostedNovember 23, 2013
JCinTO
Location Long time amatuer photographer, with experience with more than a dozen Nikon DSLRs
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really liked the idea of the Coolpix A - a large DX sensor in a very tiny body with no OLPF on the sensor promises go any where ability with DSLR image quality, even in low light.
So how did it go? Well, only partially successful. The camera has stunning image quality in good light, with tons of detail; and it is very obvious that the lens is super sharp. Perfect for some serious enlargements. In these conditions, the AF is generally fast and the camera works very well. It is also obvious that the build quality is exceptional for a compact camera, like it's machined out of a solid block of metal, similar to how an an old Leica feels. Mine had taken a fall, surviving without issue, so it is obviously a very durable camera.
However things drop off significantly in low light. At ISO3200, which we use a lot for shooting indoors, image quality is not that great, and often the shots aren't usable above and beyond basic family snaps. It is better than most compacts in this regards though not that much ahead of my mother in law's Coolpix P330, and it certainly isn't better than our older D90. Compared to the D600, its way behind.
The above would be usable if the fill in flash worked well, but its an utter disaster. It always over exposes people and always looks awful, especially on any mode other than full auto. On full auto its OK, but no better than a $99 cheap digital camera. The Fuji X100 is much better here.
The other issue, which is common with many other Nikon cameras, is that the auto white balance doesn't handle incandescent light well. You need to manually set it, and even then you need to set a manual setting on the PRE function under heavy yellow light.
Overall, this camera has so much potential, but falls short in a couple key areas. This Coolpix A could have been great, but as it stands, its just reasonably good.
+16points
Review 12 for COOLPIX A
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the money!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
FredLove
Location Miami
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I am a pro photographer. Really was hoping for a decent point and shoot to carry around with out the need for a heavy pro cam. This camera has trouble catching proper focus on people. There is no dedicated video record button. You have to go through the menu process to switch it on and off which is slow and clumsy. Just overall not worth the price tag!
+4points