Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood

Helps to reduce stray light which can cause flare.
Average Customer Rating:
1.389 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
15
2 out of 18(11%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Review 1 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No problems

PostedJuly 24, 2012
KHo
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Owned this lens hood for a month now with relatively intensive usage and no problems so far. Really convenient compared some other lens hoods I've used.
+5points
Review 2 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So-So Quality

PostedJuly 1, 2013
napochan
Location Rochester, NY, USA
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had this lens hood (and lens# for more than 2 years and yesterday the hood suddenly fell apart when removing it from the lens. The lens gets light-to-moderate use and always receives careful handling. While some may think this failure period is reasonable, I don't.
Fortunately, the end cap that holds the springs and release tabs in place broke away cleanly and allowed me to reassemble and super glue them back together. Taping the parts was not robust. Hopefully this fix will last, but I wanted others #and Nikon# to know this part is not made well, especially for its high price #IMO)
Despite this experience, I do prefer #and recommend) a snap-on hood as the bayonet styles I have, including the HB-61, are too loose and constantly rotate and fall off with normal handling.
+1point
Review 3 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointment

PostedAugust 23, 2012
none
I have owned this lens and hood for over a year - the hood is very cheaply constructed compared to other nikon hoods. The mechanics of the hood are not very durable. Now that the hood has broken into pieces I am finding it just plain difficult to find a replacement. Seems the HB-57 is either very popular or nikon has decide to scrap the hood and not inform owners of the lens.
+2points
Review 4 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Definitely NOT up to Nikon's Standards!

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Nuts4pi
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I was only able to use this hood once before it fell apart into pieces just like it has with over 15 other reviewers. I called Nikon and found out that this hood, which was included with the purchased lens (see below), is NOT part of the covered warranty. When I asked about the price, I was told to go to this site. Here I found all of these 1-star reviews because of the poor design & craftsmanship. I read some of these reviews to the Nikon rep I was speaking with and she is forwarding them on to someone (who?) to see if something can be done. They need to send this design back to the drawing board & come up with a better made hood for this lens. They should also offer to replace the defective ones at no charge!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 5 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Parasol fraco

PostedJune 3, 2013
Renato São Bernardo - SP
Location São Bernardo do Campo - SP
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Realmente falta um conceito mais durável e robusto a este conjunto, não condiz com a marca Nikon. Consegui por 3 vezes remontar os componentes que se desmontaram em minha mão. Quando aconteceu de novo no meio do mato só achei o copo maior, as demais peças se foram. E agora o prejuízo.
+1point
Review 6 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

THIS?? is Nikon??

PostedMay 15, 2013
DannyD
Location Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I take very good care of all of my equipment and this thing just fell apart in my hand. I can't believe that Nikon would make something this poorly.
0points
Review 7 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HB-57

PostedOctober 7, 2012
1251
Yes not made very well , mine also fell apart , but I was able to put it back together after about an hour of fooling around with it . Had to scotch tape it together . Will try to put some super glue on it soon as I can pick some up at the store ,and hope
it willl stay .
+2points
Review 8 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

55-300 Lens hood is trash

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Angry
Location Tampa, Florida
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Everyone who is complaining about the lens hood is 100% correct.....Junk just junk!
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 9 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

fell apart

PostedAugust 10, 2012
traveling artist
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a poorly made product. Two thin line of glue hold the parts together. It came apart in my hand when removing it from the lens. I managed to reassemble it and with the help of tape hold it together well enough to use it for a while. Now the lens cap resides in a plastic bag. I'm looking for a better quality lens cap.
+3points
Review 10 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Should we expect this type of quality for all Nikon products moving forward

PostedMay 7, 2012
Nikon?PoorQuality
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This lens hood came with the Nikon 55-300mm lens. It crumbled into pieces after a few uses. The flaw in the design is the small ring that is glued to the larger plastic hood. After only a few uses, I was walking along and heard plastic hitting the ground around me. When i looked down the hood was on the ground separated into two pieces with the little tabs also bouncing across the floor. Then when you go online to see if you can get a replacement, all you read is the same experience time and time again. Replacing this is expensive and it will just break quickly again. Why bother?
Seems that Nikon is shipping an inferior product. There are alternatives out there and suggest that
0points
Review 11 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap...Garbage..

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Dizkid
Location Browns Mills, Pemberton Township, NJ, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Had this 55-300 lens for about 6 months. Never had to actually use the lens hood, just took it off when I used the lens. Less than a dozen times. Took it off as usual last night, it came apart in my hands. It wasn't dropped, squeezed or mishandled. And they want 33 dollars to replace it? I think not.
+2points
Review 12 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Nikon product ever made

PostedDecember 12, 2011
bgeneto
Location Brasília - Brazilian Federal District, Brazil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Take care when handling this cheap lens hood, you can break it into pieces only by removing this product. To make things worse Nikon does not provide (wake up guys!) a compatible/similar hood of better quality (maybe a screw on hood) to replace this fragile peace of... hood.
+2points
Review 13 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Nikon User
Age 55-65
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I have had two of these lens hoods. Both fell apart after one or two uses. They are complete garbage.
Worse, if you contact Nikon, they will do nothing.
+5points
Review 14 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I'm disappointed!

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Kushina
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Like the summary, I am not happy with this hood.
Actually, the only thing I like about it is it's a snap-on hood. But it's really disappointing that it's fragile and it was in my hand for only 4 months. Now, I'm thinking I should buy new one or not. Because it will still break apart like the first one if the quality goes on like that.
+3points
Review 15 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedJuly 25, 2011
CIGAR MAN
Location Freeport, N.Y.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens hood is garbage. It fell apart after 4 uses. I cannot understand how Nikon can put such a poor hood on such a nice lens. Unlike others, I wouldn't give Nikon another dime, I will find an after market hood that fits. "Customer Service" is useless.
+3points
Review 16 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flimsy

PostedJune 16, 2011
Aleks The Great
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Lens hood broke into 6 pieces. Flimsiest hood I've ever used. Nikon, please make a better hood for this lens.
+8points
Review 17 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

the most fragile lens shade I ever used

PostedApril 16, 2011
Frankomanno
Location Ohio, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Nice concept, but lens shade can't stand any abuse at all - I've had two and both fell apart after mild bumping around, then can't be reassembled with any success. PLEASE Nikon or some third party make an alternative lens shade for the 55-300. The lens itself is fine, the lens shade, not. After the 2nd one fell apart I reported it to Nikon, who offered to replace the lens shade with a new one - I declined the offer, and will do without until there's an alternative. Nikon owes me $70 for two bad lens shades, or one good alternative for free - If they were really concerned about standing behind their product.
+10points
Review 18 for HB-57 Snap-On Type Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Snap-On Lens Hood

PostedApril 4, 2011
Sorcerer
Location Orlando, Fl.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Watch out hood will come apart when you don't expect it great idea but just doesn't work.
+9points