Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood

Nikon Inc. HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood

Helps to reduce stray light which can cause flare.
Average Customer Rating:
1.125 out of 5
1.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
0 out of 8(0%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Review 1 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bayonet lock tabs flimsey

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Nikonuser
Location Memphis, MI
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own a nikon D700 and Have recently purchased the 28-300 nikkor G AF S lens which came with the HB-50 hood. While in a DSLR case (which will accomadate a 70-200 VRII G f2.8 lens and hood) with the hood in the stored or backward position the hood became dislodged while extracting the camera from the case. Which caused the "bayonet locking tabs" to break. This happened so easily that I wasn't even aware of it till I couldn't attach the hood at all. I think that at the price one pays for genuine Nikon lenses we should get a superior product, which this just isn't!
+7points
Review 2 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor fit

PostedMarch 4, 2013
BW
Fit is too loose--hood continually chatters away. Out of a half dozen Nikon lenses with hoods, this is the only one that doesn't fit properly.
+1point
Review 3 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke before I could use it

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Apollo
I put my brand new lens and hood in my camera bag. My bag got compressed a little and the hood snapped in half. I own other Nikon lenses and their hoods are still going strong after years of use and sometimes abuse. This hood is too flimsy.
0points
Review 4 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

loose hood

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Nikonhobbiest
Location West Covina, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Ditto to all the above reviews! Lost my hood as well! While my camera was on my shoulder, I always kept my hand on the hood because it becoming detached so easily! Any solutions?
+2points
Review 5 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ditto

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Hood Rat
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Add me to the list of disappointed. You know how expensive it will be to replace, and the Super Glue jobs aren't sturdy. You find yourself walking backwards, or cradling your lens like a baby.
So, What do you do? Call in Red Green, and Duck Tape that baby to the lens barrel.
And how about if the lens cap that comes with a wide angle lens fits over a thin filter?
+2points
Review 6 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad hood for a $1K lens!

PostedApril 29, 2011
MarkD90
Location Orlando, FL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I also have the 28-300 lens which I bought recently for an Orlando Holiday. On the 2nd day the hood broke-off!
I also own the 18-105 and the 70-300 lenses and the hoods for those cheaper lenses are so much better. Its a pity that Nikon decided to save a few bucks on a cheap hood to go with actually a very good expensive lens.
Guys, please come up with something more sturdy.
+5points
Review 7 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just pitiful!

PostedFebruary 17, 2011
Visual shooter
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've had many Nikon products over the years and few have disappointed me as much as this hood. It's inconceivable to me that Nikon would couple this hood with a $1K lens....just doesn't make sense. Nothing to add from what's been said here and other sites: the fit is sloppy and can easily fall off.
Nikon should pony up and fix this by providing a better solution for people who have bought this lens. At this point I'll try a 3rd party hood as soon as it's offered.
Can't believe I'm saying that...... "getting a 3rd party hood for my Nikon lens"?
+5points
Review 8 for HB-50 Bayonet Lens Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Easily fall off

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
starsia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I couldn't remember how many times the hood fell off after I got the camera out of the bag, and as expected, I lost it. I didn't know how much it cost until I tried to replace it. It is way overprice for a piece of plastic. Googled it and the cheapest price was $35. Way to go Nikon.
+4points