Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. SB-910 AF Speedlight

Nikon Inc. SB-910 AF Speedlight

Nikon’s flagship Speedlight engineered for both FX and DX-format DSLR’s offers versatile i-TTL for on camera or wireless flash control, refined operability including illuminated buttons for use in low light and improved thermal cut out protection.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 14 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 14(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
83 Questions | 101 Answers
Customer Reviews for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Review 1 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent speedlight, nikons, best!!!!

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Owen
Location Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I"ve owned various nikon speedlights, through the years, the 910 in my opinion, incorporates all of what was missing in previous versions, such as the 900, bravo, Nikon for making such a fine speelight, as the 910
-3points
Review 2 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great update to a great accessory

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Kirk
Location Garden Grove, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon SB-910 has many improvements over my previous Nikon SB-800 Flash. Somewhat intuitive, lightweight and sturdy. I am very pleased with the performance and do not regret upgrading to the SB-910.
+5points
Review 3 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So awesome!

PostedNovember 27, 2013
suerocks
Location Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love being able to use this flash off camera for all my needs! Someday I want to buy multiple but for now just one works great!
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
Review 4 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Very Versitile Flash

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Envoy777
Location Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased the SB-910 several months ago. Yes the price tag is a bit high however the SB-910 is made in Japan accounting for some of the higher price than say the SB700. Overall it is and extremely good versatile flash, definitely pro level. The SB-910 is slightly larger in size than the SB-700 and the old SB-800. The Graphic User interface is excellent. It is very easy to switch modes and features. The dedicated function buttons (which change functions when a different mode is used), adds to the versatility of the flash. The flash has modeling flash capability via the menu options. I also like the fact that as a pro level flash one has the option to select between iTTL and TTL flash modes, not an option on the SB700. Some of the modes of the flash are: flash value lock, repeating, manual, auto aperture and advanced wireless flash, The flash in Commander Mode can control 3 other flashes. The flash comes with a flash stand, fluorescent filter and an incandescent filter. The flash also comes with a diffuser dome, not to mention the built in diffuser panel. If you use a flash in your photography often whether pro or serious amateur often the SB-910 is flash is worth serious consideration.
+16points
Review 5 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

El mejor flash hasta el momento

PostedMay 10, 2013
J.A.Aguilar
Location México DF
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Soy fotógrafo apasionado, amateur, -pero si estudiado-
Si estás pensando comprar un flash, la mejor opción hasta el momento es el SB-910. No compres el SB-900 aunque lo pongan rebajado, ya que salió con errores que cuya documentación encontrarás en todos lados.
¿que tienen de bueno?
es el mejor, tecnológicamente más avanzado y el de mayor potencia
¿que tiene de malo?
el peso.
el balance: 5 estrellas
Lo que tienes que fijarte: es importante que te fijes la compatibilidad con tu camara Nikon, tengo una D7000 y es increible.
porque el peso no le resta estrellas: sencillo: quieres la mejor iluminación ajusable a la distancia de tu enfoque y que puedas disparar sin que se queme...? ahí tienes la respuesta.
-2points
Review 6 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As you like it.

PostedJuly 18, 2012
pictureted
Location Redwood City, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
As complicated as you want - or not. If you want you can mount on your camera, turn it on and shoot with terrific results. If you want to do more, you have a whole arsenal of options, including multiple flashes. I've been happy with the small size and weight of the SB-400, but there are times when you need more light and more options.
+21points
Review 7 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my gear...

PostedApril 17, 2012
MaX in MD
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Very versatile, easy to setup and gives great results.
-13points
Review 8 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding TTl flash yet from Nikon

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
gtwhogger
Location Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Despite a previous review from BJ, I have yet had any problems with the SB910 with remote transceivers as long as you start from the top down on turning power on, start with the Flash head then the Transceiver, then turn on transmitter attached to camera then camera, then reverser order when shutting down.
I as well don't want to bore you with critiques that have already been said on other reviews except that it plows under the over heat problems that the SB900 was plagued with in fast or long duration shooting episodes.
These are gems of the flash head world for ease of operation and TTL operation, great as remotes in conjunction with the RU800 controller or teaming them up with other SB 910's 900's 800's and if line of sight obstructions are not a problem then your all set for short distance remote operation but if you need to shoot around corners then team these great flashes up with Transceivers to increase your options of placement and distance.
 
My product recommendations
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+37points
Review 9 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A MUST Have in your bag.

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
SimoPhoto
Location Boston, MA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The SB-910 is a great flash unit that anyone should have in their bag. I got it as soon as it came available to be added to my bag with 2 SB-600 and an old SB-25. I like the fact that can be used as Master and Remote and It can control my other units as well. Overall it is a great product although it doesn't come with the color filter holder like the SB-900. I don't like the soft bag it comes with, it is too big to put in the camera bag and prefer something similar to the SB-600 case. Beside this little details it is a nice product and deserves 5 stars.
+23points
Review 10 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive, powerful features to the smallest of its details.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
J. Logan
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
As a semi-professional photographer that I am, I can attest that the SB-910 speedlight will be an indispensable, almost addictive professional’s light instrument for years to come; it is big and a bit heavy, which clearly tell of it’s strength and powerful features it contains; it has a large, lit screen which is easy to read even from a few feet away, and all the data you need to know, it will be displayed right on it. the SB-910 is compatible (and the King) with Nikon’s Creative Lighting System, or CLS which enables functions which involve communications between speedlights and the camera(s); and once a photographer gets serious about getting superb pictures, using more than one flash can prove extremely useful and that’s where the extra money paid for this flagship speedlight seems easily perceived (use it as a Master Flash Unit); other features like the i-TTL mode and the Flash Compensation worked seamless from the very first shots I took using my Nikon’s D700 camera; like expected, in order to use the SB-910 to the maximum, the photographer must not only read the manual and get very familiar with the flash’s buttons and features (I’m still learning and getting used to my new SB-910, since I got mine 3 days ago), but you must practice often, and learn to criticize you own work sharply; I personally like the freedom the flash has allowing moving the flash’s head to the sides to manipulate light, which works delightfully; as well, the SB-910 comes with a built-in light bounce card and built-in wide panel and both can slide out of the flash’s head as needed; a light diffusion dome and two color filters (all included) help to play and manage the light emitted by the speedlight as desired; and a speedlight stand (AS-21) is included as well, to help keep the speedlight standing and directed the way you need it; and overall, the features this flash has will make it much easier to accomplish light manipulation to obtain the pictures you are eager to obtain. So let’s get snapping and cracking, people; good luck to you.
+51points
Review 11 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon SB 910

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Todd
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Great Improvement doesnt overheat like SB 900 Now just waiting on a D4 or Nikon 800
-20points
Review 12 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the best flash!!!

PostedNovember 30, 2011
Victor
I the best flash!!!! Buy it! I have had many flashes since I'm photographer, and this SB-910 is thest I had!
-46points
Review 13 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Meters to feet

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Rockyf
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Still trying to set the meters to feet. hours later :(
-52points
Review 14 for SB-910 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem in PC Sync Connection

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
BJ
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I am not going to write all specifications and praises like other reviews. It is without any confusion so far the best Nikon Speedlight. Appreciate Nikon for making improvements in thermal cutoff circuit, BUT there is a serious problem, if you connect any remote transmitter or extra flash with PC Sync socket, flash stays on but will not fire allowing remote transmitter or added flash to fire in sync with camera. I have used SB80dx, SB800, SB900 and the latest SB910 flashes, this is first time faced this situation. Spend one full day to prove myself wrong but problem is in this flash. Yes, I tested 2 different SB910 from two different store. Conclusion, if you are a pro and connect remote transmitter or other devices in parallel to or using built in PC Sync in this flash,please stay with SB900 and Sb800 until Nikon comes up with a fix. For amateurs it does everything as described.
+34points