Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. SB-700 AF Speedlight

Nikon Inc. SB-700 AF Speedlight

High performance versatile speedlight brings simplicity to on-camera, remote, and multiple flash photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.296 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 27 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
25 out of 27(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
120 Questions | 153 Answers
Customer Reviews for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Review 1 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Flash.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
ENMcM
Location Ontario, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this flash for a couple of weeks and I am very pleased with the performance so far. It makes a huge difference to my indoor photography. I have mainly been involved in Nature Photography but now am focusing on Indoor/outdoor portrait. I am still playing with all the settings and possibilities. It is an excellent product, which I have no problem highly recommending to any serious photographer, professional, hobbyist, or otherwise.
+21points
Review 2 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Got to love the remote feature alone!

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Craymoe
Received as a gift for Christmas 2013. Awesome. The fill light that it provides is night and day from ordinary use of the pop-up flash.
+9points
Review 3 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

straight forward and more

PostedDecember 3, 2013
SmackinJack
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Read the instructions and tested the flash around the house. It can work in a simple mode or handle any complicated task. Seems bullet proof. Exposures are great right out of the box. Will handle wedding receptions and darkly lit areas very well. Great middle weight contender.
+14points
Review 4 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, for low lighting and fast moving children. Increased the quality of my pictures.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
rockypeach
Location Lancaster, NY, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I didn't want to spend the money on the speed flash but should have done it long ago. I was thinking of buying a new camera because of poor quality in low light. I now use this flash all the time. It has increased the quality of
all my pictures. I never thought a speed flash could do so much. It was well worth the money. My pictures are beautiful in all lighting conditions. I have used this product for 4 months now and love it. Thanks for a great product.
+20points
Review 5 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really a great flash

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Sim597
Location Houston, TX, USA, Chicago IL. USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I see some of the complaints where the review's have been skewed towards the negative (i.e. 2-3 stars) and considering others have recorded their own thoughts here as to the "pro's" of this item, I will only touch on the negatives that have been reported here. The smallish button to both power the unit and put it into its certain "remote" and other modes certainly isn't very big, and if you suffer from say a debilitating disease where your hands or fingers have trouble with somewhat precise tangible adjustments, well then they are justified, otherwise if the button were any larger, or easier to accidentally maneuver to the wrong setting, this would be a detriment to most others, including myself, and I have severe carpal tunnel, and for the very direct movement to put this into say "remote" I personally want it to stay there and not be easily knocked about and changed because I quickly reached down and moved it a little.
My battery compartment door is... awesome, I dont treat my $350 flash like a toy or a piece of garbage, I am not saying it doesn't get abused a little here and there, but the door itself seals tightly, is easy enough to open and close, thus does the job very well in my case.
The "jog" dial, again this is another caveat I have with those negative reviews, there are a finite number of settings on this unit, with that said it rather small in the scheme of most programming options considering what you can adjust and NEED to very often, for the normal purchaser of this unit, where I personally feel the professional's either opt for the SB-910, or older SB-800 even.
I want to give it 4.5 stars as I feel almost everything could be improved or made better, but having to choose between a 4 and 5, Ill go with the 5 due to me not having one issue in over two years of ownership.
With all that said, you can see I actually agree with the others as far as size and operation of the buttons and minimal programming intuitive features, but its at a cost, durability, reducing accidental changes, and overall simplicity and actual needs of the users. There will always be those who are the extremest and want to have total control of even things 95% of features the vast majority wouldn't use or want, and thats OK really, I just feel in this unit decisions were made to keep it simple, elegant and completely capable, even in a novice environment, and enough power for the enthusiast/professional
+24points
Review 6 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sb700

PostedJune 9, 2013
tygr
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i can only say one word... SUPERB!!! would recommend to anybody.
-3points
Review 7 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flash

PostedMarch 16, 2013
astroNikon
Location SE Michigan, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Granted I'm not a Flash expert but I found myself at a quandry when taking more vertical photos after getting my D7000 grip and the SB-400 doesn't swivel. My main concern was eliminating shadows of which I needed to do bounce fill flash from the ceiling. The 400 does tilt unless you are taking a vertical in which case you need it to swivel too, which the SB-400 does not do.
I really wanted to buy a SB-600 but ended up getting a SB-700 at a refurbished unit. I'm glad I did. The 360degree swivel has come in handy (versus I know the 600 would get me annoyed) when working on bounce flash technique. I also love the features that are handy by the buttons versus traversing a menu on the 600. The 600 supposedly has more power but the 700 is a much better choice though $100 more in the used / refurbished market but well worth the extra.
I'm just learning more how to use the flash and I'm a "newbie" in regards to flash technique. But the flash operates really easily, iTTL seems to work really well (in basic settings) and I recommend this for anyone that starts taking more vertical shots and needs to continue bouncing the light. I also looked at the contraptions to keep the flash unit above the camera (it stays vertical) versus being sideways and needing the swivel. That may still be needed in the future if I start doing paid photo shoots of people, but for my "advanced" hobbyist means it is the perfect as is.
I should mention, I attempted to use the SB-700 as a remote with the built-in D7000 flash or the SB-400 as the master, this seems not capable. I was just hoping to see if it worked (I think the manual stated it would not). As I wouldn't mind having some back fill flash in addition to front flash. It may be able to do this, I just wasn't able to do it fiddling around. Adding a second SB-600/700 flash unit is expensive for just a hobbyist.
+13points
Review 8 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I recommend SB-700 flash

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Kasun
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
i use SB-700 AF Speed light more than 1 year.. its perfect... and its also have master slave mode... so that's very helpful for covering a occasions with ttl balance... by the way, its so cheep with its functions...
+15points
Review 9 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

so far no issues!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
bobbym14
Location Long Island, New York, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this flash the other day and right out of the box it worked and gave me amazing results. i bought this flash for a project I've been working on and i think it should be perfect. this flash is a must buy for anyone who is doing portraits in a studio
+37points
Review 10 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Speed light 700

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Fercho
Location San Antonio, TX, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an amazing speedlight...It works wireless with the D. Very happy with it.5100
+1point
Review 11 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Chuck L
Location San Antonio, TX
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
After using my Nikon 18-35 mm lens and getting a shadow I knew I had to purchase a quality external flash. I chose Nikon because I know the flash will be forward compatible with the D800 when it is introduced. The SB-700 fits my needs perfectly. It was easy to use out of the box. The bounce and swivel features give me the coverage I need. I used the flash this week on a trip. My only complaint is with the Incandescent filter. My wife has olive skin. The filter gave her an unnatural hue. I used Photoshop to give her more nature skin tonalities. The florescent filter did a good job under harsh lighting conditions. I did not have any problem with the battery compartment or navigating thru the on-board menus. This is my third Nikon upgrade in the last 12 months. It was a good purchase.
+11points
Review 12 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My 1st flash and 2nd and 3rd as well.

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Zane80
Location Singapore
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Simple to use, everything is in the menu, and full information is in the manual provided.
Works brilliantly with my D7000 with my camera as the commander. The commander built-in option at e3 could control 2 groups on flashes, and it could adjust the power settings, even use TTL for one group and Manual for the other for the SB700. That is very versatile.
Interestingly though, there are options for 3 groups on the SB700. Which means that either a SU-800 is needed if one wants to control each group individually. Or, a firmware upgrade for either the D700 or D7000 will finally allow the camera to control each of the 3 groups individually. I am keeping my fingers crossed.
As mentioned by previous commenter, the lock switch to the Remote and Master might be a bit redundant. I imagine only very careless users will turn all the way to the Remote or Master without realizing.
The control dial is nice with a gorgeous clicking sound when it is spun, but the groves are a bit painful for me if I spin it a lot. Maybe I have tender skin for a guy.
Nevertheless, I like it so much until I bought a 2nd and a 3rd one, now contemplating whether should I get a 4th one..........
-2points
Review 13 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes, this is the one.

PostedJune 21, 2011
hiwayman
Location Bay Area, California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a passionate amateur photographer. I do not suffer sub-standard equipment very long. While I can't afford the very best equipment, the equipment I buy had better be worth my hard earned money. I originally was going to buy an SB-600, but they were discontinued, so I bought the SB-700. After reviewing the specs, I found that the SB-700 actually has slightly less flash power than the SB-600, and some other minor differences, that would seem to make it a lesser flash for more money. I wasn't too happy, but I needed a flash, and didn't want to go high-end, because the more expensive flashes were quite costly, and had functions I really didn't need. I got the flash out of the box, loaded the batteries, hooked it to my D7000, and started to shoot. I was frankly amazed. The shots looked like natural light shots. I used a snap-on diffuser to soften the light, and angled the flash head at 45 degrees, and the pictures came out really, really well. My first real test of the flash was at a friend's birthday party. No matter if the subject was back-lit by a window, or in shadows, or with a dark wall, the photos were balanced and crisp. None of the usual flash pictures where the foreground is blown out and the background dark. The flash filled in when it should, and fully illuminated when it should. Nikon has figured out how to get their cameras and flashes to work together with perfection. You may need to adjust FV or EV for personal taste, and pay attention to WB (2 colored filters come with the flash to compensate for artificial light spectrums), but the flash really works very well. The only thing I would suggest is to READ THE MANUAL. There are some important settings that make the flash work much better if you pay attention. I have not tried the flash in slave mode, but I would expect it to work as well. It's very well thought out and easy to use. I only have one small gripe. The battery door is rather flimsy, and doesn't open in the way you'd expect it to open, so it could easily break if you get all macho with it. Other than that, this thing rocks!
+69points
Review 14 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AF-Assist missing Function

PostedMay 28, 2011
Kirk
Location Houston, TX
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Using the flash unit as a Auto Focus Assist is great but there are AF differences between the SB-700 and SB-900. The 700 has only 2 AF lamps while the 900 has 3 for help in very low light. Also, the 900 has an added feature .... the ability to use the AF-Lamps from the flash withOUT the flash unit firing. The 700 does NOT have this feature. Of course the 700 costs much less than the 900. Overall I love using the 700 on my D7000 with my Nikon CPU lenses. This combo is a joy to use.
+23points
Review 15 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good and easy to use

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Danyk
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It`s a good speeding, for good price, and easy to use and change setting on go.
-16points
Review 16 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Amazing for the Price

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
JordanZero11
Location (Near) Youngstown, OH
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have only been using this flash for about 2 months now, but i am already in love with it. This flash made my new pictures extraordinary! I can barely even explain it. I haven't had time to fool around with the master and slave settings on it since i have nothing to do it with, but i am looking forward to buying a studio set soon to do such. It is so easy to use, it's practically able to be used out of the box. it just takes time to learn how to position the head around so you get the best bounce.
I can still consider myself an amateur photographer, but i am going to continue my passion and this flash helped renew my love for photography even more. I highly recommend it. Thank you very much Nikon!
+26points
Review 17 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SB-700, a versatile flash

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Photog
Location Mesa, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
One of the first tests I made with the new SB-700 was to photograph a proposed electric train layout which I have temporarily set up on a bedroom floor. Using the flash in the EVEN light distribution mode gave very excellent broad-range coverage across the room, a bit better than the SB-600 model flash I had used earlier. The SB-700 has several great features including a built in bounce card and a very easy to use menu system. It also auto-sets the zoom head for different lens formats and focal lengths when switching from DX to FX format lenses. Setting the flash exposure at +1 gives me slightly 'higher' histograms than the center point 'optimum' value, but this which is where I normally shoot flash photos anyway with an SB-600 flash and my D300s/D700 cameras. The photos all look really great. I look forward to utilizing more of the SB-700's offered features.
+48points
Review 18 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LCD

PostedMay 31, 2014
defrancini
Location San Agustín, Huila, Colombia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
No funciona la pantalla LCD y si hay destello y sincronización
0points
Review 19 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad Speedlight for the price

PostedMarch 28, 2012
gtwhogger
Location Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I just picked up this unit today with another SB910 3-28-2012 and tried it out as a Hair Light and also as back fill on a backdrop, for the price this is a great flash to have in the arsenal, I also want to use it as a subtle not so over powering fill light for when I shoot outdoor night photography coupled to my PocketWizard Flex5's, I see this as a great fill light behind pillars and out of frame fill flash in conjunction with my SB 910'S and 900's on my architectural night shots.
I think this would be a perfect flash for entry level shooters to use in tandem with built in flash bodies to add more unique lighting challenges as well as a great tool for more experienced shooters as well as perfect studio uses.
The reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars is the slide switches on both sides (Mode selector) and (Illumination Pattern) I my self would rather have these in sub menus using the dial to select to eliminate 2 potential locations for contaminants from entering the flash body like moisture and dust that in time could render the switches inoperative? also from reviews from other people not necessarily here but they have complained about the battery door being flimsy and break off real easy, I have to agree that yes it could be beefed up a little more but if you miss handle the equipment or rush trying to load batteries or are just a gorilla when handling the flash that you shouldn't break the battery cover off, one other complaint I read was that it was to thin and the contacts didn't make contact with the batteries? well here again if it was within the first year take it back! Nikon will fix or replace the unit, I think that issue was a small isolated instance that things made by man can be faulty and do slip by quality control once in awhile but that is a case I think that someone just wanted to whine and complain for something I don't believe should be used to give the SB700 a bad grade.
Overall it is a pretty good flash, I haven't had enough time to run it through it's paces but the 6 hours I have used it today I think Nikon has a winner.
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
Review 20 for SB-700 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

EASY TO LEAEN

PostedApril 16, 2011
nikon nature lover
Location NEW YORK
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I RECENTLY WENT TO THE PHOTO SHOP WHERE I LIVE TO PURCHASE THE SB-600 ; ONLY TO BO TOLD IT WAS DISCONTINUED AND REPLACED BY THE SB-700 . SO HAVEING BEEN TOLD THAT I WENT AND PURCHASED IT , OWNING SEVERAL NIKON DSLR'S I WAS HAPPY TO HAVE A GOOD QUALITY FLASH THAT I COULD USE ON ALL; PLUS THE ABILTY TO DO MANY CREATIVE FLASH TECHNIQUES I WAS SATISFIED OVER-ALL.
-45points
1 2 next>>