Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. SB-900 AF Speedlight

Nikon Inc. SB-900 AF Speedlight

The SB-900 i-TTL Speedlight leads the Nikon Creative Lighting System delivering the portability, power and versatility to support any photographer’s creative lighting imagination.

Average Customer Rating:
3.604 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 53 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
10
31 out of 53(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Review 1 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy this flash.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
James
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
The many reviewers who have mentioned the overheating problem are correct. Do not buy this flash; you will be very disappointed the first time you use it if you take many shots. I cannot believe Nikon could put such a poor product on the market and not even offer to replace it to its loyal customers, of which I am one.
+8points
Review 2 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Units over heat under load

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
MTR14
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have found that my flash over heats under heavy load, which interrupts shooting. For this alone, I have given this a lower rating than I would have otherwise.
+4points
Review 3 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Flash sb900

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Claude
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Très bon flash. Depuis mon achat à plusieurs reprises il surchauffe. J'ai retourné ce flash et le centre de réparation mentionné qu'il est dans les normes.
+1point
Review 4 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

could have been great

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
az lighthouse
Location Mesa, AZ, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This flash has a lot of potental, plenty of flash power but use it to hard and it overheats fast. I aways have to keep an eye on the temprature gauge. I wish it had a small cooling fan to keep it from ovrheating. Also if you plan to use it much you will need to invest in an external power supply, it cooks the 4AA battries in minutes when you try to use it hard. I realy mean cooks them, the batteries get so hot you can't hold them. I use a quantum turbo battery pack and just keep an eye on the tempruture gauge and it does a great job. I also have a SB800 and the 5th battery makes a big diffeance I wish they had kept that on the 900. I would think a flash that is suposed to be for pro use wouldn't have these problems.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+7points
Review 5 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bonne puissance mais...

PostedJuly 19, 2012
NikonManiaque
Location Joliette, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
À répétition, ce modèle surchauffe. Je suggère donc le sb-910 si vous l'utiliser pour le mariage.
-2points
Review 6 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

nikon 900 flash

PostedJune 11, 2012
penny
Location north liberty ,in
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i did not realize nikon would make junk until i bought a SB900 flash,it over heat all the time.
+6points
Review 7 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flash bom!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Nikon Mágica.
Location Cajazeiras - PB
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Recarga silenciosa! Tem o maior painel LCD iluminado traseiro de todos flash! Recarga rápida. Tem 3 luzes para auxiliar o autofoco. Design de vários V. É o mais bonito. Potente o número guia dele é alto. Vem com manual em espanhol e um guia excelente. Emite vários disparos para calcular a luz. Estou satisfeito, o meu faz muito tempo e não apresenta problema é muito confiável. A tampa das pinhas tem uma boa trava que não se rompe com tempo. As teclas são lumiadas na cor verde par visualizar a noite! Nikon é Nikon.
-4points
Review 8 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't worth money

PostedMay 6, 2012
Poopy
Terrible Terrible Terrible, expensive and keeps overheating. I couldn't believe its from Nikon!
+13points
Review 9 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks great !!! In reality Embarrassement..

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Nikon Pro user
Location Elkridge, MD, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I own three SB 900, which I use with my D3s, D2x and D800. Having all these 3 in my bag I still had to reach to my old SB800's to complete a job , especially.. eastern weddings and events.. My real challenge is the speed-light shutting off due to overheating. I have send 2 of mine for repairs..unfortunately returned repaired but not to my satisfaction. I was so embarrassed once, when I was at the MD governor's mansion shooting a major event and my SB 900s went kaput (overheat)..I hope Nikon will have a fix for this unit soon ? Sorry..If I am mean..but It is my bread and butter....
+15points
Review 10 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Overheating

PostedMarch 5, 2012
decoff
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Well, suffice it to say, for this to be Nikon's flagship Speedlight. Im very disappointed. Basically $500.00 a pop and instead of fixing this issue that MOST owners have experienced, they choose to come out with the SB910, without offering a resolution to the 900's issues.
Nice going Nikon.
+13points
Review 11 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SB 900 flash (what a sham)

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Tina
Location Salem, OR, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I bought two of these what a fool I was, They are good for about 10 minutes, then they overheat, yep with two I can get 20 minutes of a wedding, they do shoot farther, but quit unexpectedly when you need them most. I use them and then have to switch to my 800, they also cause the batteries to corrodes from over heating fis is $250, and then it will happen each time it over heats
+7points
Review 12 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

SB-900 Flash

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Photog longing for the old Nikon F days.
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
This is not a professional Flash. If you shoot any event that requires shooting quickly and lot of people or anything, it will overheat and shut down. You're better off with the older SB-800. The first job I used my new SB-900 for was to photograph President Clinton with a lot of people who had paid a lot of money to be photographed with the President. After about 10 minutes, the 900 started beeping and then shut off. Fortunately, I have my 2 SB-800's handy ans was able to finish the job. Now Nikon want be to buy an SB-910 for $950. HOW 'BOUT FIXING MY 900 THAT I PAID 500 BUCKS FOR AND CAN'T USE.!!!
+14points
Review 13 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice!!

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Manny
Location Northridge, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
First time I used a speedlight and already gave me a creative result. Very nice for low key photography.
-3points
Review 14 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flash

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Daylight to Darkness Caver
Location New Mexico
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I use this flash along with the sb800 off camera for cave lighting. Easy set up and has worked flawlessly. When instructing others with Nikon DSLR cameras that support Creative light system I can set up the lights and have them trigger the flash with their own camera.
+2points
Review 15 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT an upgrade of the sb800

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
aphotographer
Location Arlington, Texas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I shoot weddings and seniors with this product. The SB900 is not adequate for this purpose. It works ok under less demanding shooting circumstances, but always stops working before I am finished shooting under professional real world use. I have a shooting partner that has 2 SB800's, that have no such limitations. I always end up using the SB800 after my SB900 dies or now most of the time, if the 800 is available, I don't even bother with the 900. This was a terrible replacement for a product that does NOT out perform it's predecessor.
+9points
Review 16 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Ugh !

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
wb
Not a work horse ! We have three of these and they are all giving us the same problems. not firing and excessive overheating. I was up on a mountain in the snow, 62 degrees shooting couple shots at a very leisurely pace and it overheated in the first 20 minutes of shooting. Also we started to see that old rocking in the hot-shoe not connecting/firing problem more and more as we use them. It started out great but by the end of a busy season it was to unreliable and I had to go back to my 800's for consistency. Dumping them and Shopping for new flash.
+7points
Review 17 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Would never have thought it would work

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Charles Six
Location Charleston, WV
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Iwas at my son's football game last night taking pictures. I use a D7000 and had a 80-200 2.8D mounted. The field lighting was dim and I was having trouble hand shooting becuase of slower shuuter speeds. I cranked up the ISO but was a little pixelated. I noticed the news paper photographer with a D300s and a 300mm 2.8 on a monopod. He pulled out a SB600 and put it on. I thought no way is that going to work so, I pulled out my SB900 and put it on. When I got home and loaded the shots on my laptop I was shocked. I could not believe how well the SB900 worked. I had players across the field with red eyes from my flash almost 60-yards away. Everything was was lit and my pictures popped. THANK YOU NIKON.
-5points
Review 18 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great speedlight

PostedJuly 29, 2011
RSchussel
Location North of San Francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own three SB900s. Use to have several SB600s but quickly sold them as they were very hard to program.
If you can afford it the SB900 is the way to go. The programming is very intuitive and unlike the SB600 you don't need to have the manual with you. I typically get several hundred shots with a good set of NIMH recharable batteries.
I know the big complaint about about the SB900 is thermal shutdown. For 99% of the people it is not an issue as they are NOT taking 20 pictures per minute over a 10 minute period. The solution is to get the external battery pack.
If you are never going to use the Nikon Flash system probably the SB600 or even the SB400
will prove sufficient (they put out less light but in most cases not an issue) .
But if you want a master and slave flash that is reliable and easy to program the SB900 is the way to go.
+6points
Review 19 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just wow....

PostedJuly 21, 2011
idulfingz
Location california
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Everything i could possibly hope for, 100% worth the extra $
0points
Review 20 for SB-900 AF Speedlight
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nice bells and whistles, not for heavy use.

PostedMay 2, 2011
Kevin
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Overall, like what the flash has to offer in terms of features, menu. What kills me is the thermal shutdown, its not a work horse. The last two weddings with this flash and its wound up back in the bag "to cool off", being replaced by the old reliable SB-800. Pricey piece of equipment that spends more time in the bag. I've used my SB-800 for years, its never had an issue. When it does fail, not sure what it will be replaced by. Thought the SB-900 was it, but it falls short.
+12points
1 2 3 next>>