Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.132 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 38 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
32 out of 38(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

design and manufacturing quality issues

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
ajay
Overall, while this is a good flash with good features, its severely let down by the quality and design flaws of the product. I consistently have issues with the battery contacts. Something about the quality or design of the battery bay, which seems to cause the flash to stop working. I am always trying to press the battery cover 10 different ways to make this work. Basically, at any given time, there is no guaranty that this flash would work, making it pretty useless for the times you want to use this flash.
+5points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great flash unit, but needs to be more durable.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Chazz
Location Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The flash is great. It's easy to use. Being able to bounce your light and change your flash settings are great options to have. The only problem is that they burn out too easily. I and my business partner shoot virtual tours and have been through several of these units. We get about a year out of them, usually less when business is heavy and then it's off to buy a new one and have the old one repaired. At this point, we have several old ones as back-ups. By comparison, my old Sony V1 is a marvel. Despite only 5mp, and being far less sophisticated, in five years of the heaviest use, I never had a problem with the flash and five years past that, it still works. I must admit that the SB600 is worth the trouble. I'll keep using the SB600 all the units I have are finally unsalvageable. Clearly these units are not meant to endure what I put them through, but for what I do they keep things simple which is the best way to go. I like to travel as light as possible.
+6points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's a piece of dung

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Carlos
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I owned it for 1 year exactly and it broke down on me. Now I need to send it to Nikon for repair! And it's out of warranty, just great!
-15points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good stuff for the price

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Cadence SF
Location San Francisco, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I does what it's supposed to. It's a basic standard flash made to work with the nuance of the newer digital cameras. I have a SB 25, but it's useless on new DSLRs. So I got this SB 600 to use on my D700, and haven't had any glitches since.
I has descent recycling time, as long as you're not firing off more than 3~5 frames at a time. I you're doing rapid action that requires capturing several frames like sports then go with a flash/speedlight that can accommodate an external battery pack.
But for the price this is an unbeatable deal.
I use mine with an aftermarket bounce/diffuser to cut down on the hot spots & harshness.
0points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nikon SB-600

PostedJuly 1, 2011
Newton
I only used the product a couple of times and it just stopped working.
Now the product warranty is not covered in my country since I bought it in UK.
I guess I will have to pay to get it fixed.
-7points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very adaptable; would have liked more power

PostedApril 23, 2011
Marmel
Location Cedarburg, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
In operation and speed of recycling, the SB-600 is an amazing performer. Teamed with the D7000, I get perfect exposures 98% of the time. Easy enough to tailor the output through the flash or camera anyway. Not a high powered flash when married up with some of my existing flash head attachments, but I knew that from the published guide number. Otherwise, this is a very good value for the cost. I'm sure you will be satisfied too.
+18points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon never fails to deliver

PostedApril 21, 2011
D2xlvr
I've been using the SB600 for almost a month now. Bought it brand new. I love it! very easy to understand and use. It works great thru TTL and TTL BL
+1point
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product but...

PostedApril 19, 2011
Grandpaparazzi
Location Raleigh, NC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A very good flash but definitely wish the battery life was better.
+3points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent flash

PostedApril 19, 2011
michaelinitaly
Location Cava de Tirreni, Italy
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my entry flash as far as a off the camera ttl flash. I have used other flashes for over 30 years and this is the first unit that made me want to learn more about flash.
I love the Nikon system that lets me use the flash wireless and gives me so many more options as far as lighting. I would guess that the 800 and 900 offer many advantages, but as a new digital shooter, it has been a great flash to get started. Out of the box, 5 min after buying it, I shot a great photo of a bird in flight at night and I loved the image so much, I thought "that's it, paid for itself already"
+8points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around flash

PostedApril 16, 2011
Nikonuser
Location South Dakota
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For the price a great value. Works great with Nikon cameras (D50 & D90). Well lit and natural looking subjects for a flash.
+2points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice flash, quality problem

PostedApril 14, 2011
NikonUser
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Pros: Very nice with a lot of options. Long battery life with 4 AA's.
Con: Had to send it in for warranty repair of the internal motor after about only 10 months' use.
+3points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lighting with eaze

PostedApril 14, 2011
Nikon fan
Location Burt,Michigan
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was really impressed with the way this flash made my photos sharper with detail. And I love using it off camera also. It is a awesome flash and it is to bad that Nikon is not making any more sb600. I definitely want another. It is easy to use.
+1point
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flash!

PostedApril 14, 2011
E
Location RSM, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I use this flash on my D3100, and I love it! I hate the way the pop up flash makes my photos look. This flash allows me to bounce the flash off the ceiling and walls, allowing for more subtle lighting. My camera doesnt' support off camera flash via the camera itself, so I can't comment on how that works. There is a way around this though, you can buy flash triggers. But in doing so you can't use ttl, you'll have to use the flash in manual mode. But it is a way to get the flash off the camera. Ok enough about that, let me talk about my experiences with it.
I love using the bounce flash to expose my target. You'll notice a much softer and less harsh light whe doing so. Depending on the angle you can get some decent shadowing and light contrast, so experiment! One thing to consider...the light will pick up the color of what you're bouncing it off of, so keep that in mind.
I'm a total beginner at lighting so this is all i can offer to you so far. I absolutely love the way this flash illuminates my targets, it's far superior to the pop up flash. So if you can find one of these flashes for a decent price, pick it up! I do believe it's been discontinued, but it's still a wonderful flash unit. Get one if you can, it's affordable and works great!
+3points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Flash

PostedApril 14, 2011
ChickenParts
Location Douglasville, GA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great affordable flash. I am new to serious photography and look for affordable but quality products. This flash works great. The swivel head gives me all the capability I need. There are plenty of flash settings for the serious hobby photographer and I have even used it to help shoot a wedding for a professional who used the same flash. If you use good batteries, the flash recycle time is very quick.
+2points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful light

PostedApril 14, 2011
Candy
Location Mooresville, NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
My flash is wonderful, the light is always spot on. Using the CLS system is a joy!
0points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, excellent features

PostedApril 8, 2011
Bobby Marks
Location San Juan, PR
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This unit is one of those produced and will never return, so sad to hear is gone. Easy to pack, to install and use. Connected to a D5000, picture results are exceptional. Powerfull and super fast for multiple shooting.
0points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
camera crazy
Location New York, NY
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
It can also be use in concerts (music instuments) it is great for any not theat well lighted area. FABOULUS.
0points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prematurely discontinued: it's great! Get one!

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
pfeitosa_curitiba
Location Curitiba, Brazil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This flash is excellent in all aspects, a great bang for the buck, and was prematurely discontinued mainly because it is the expensive SB700's toughest concurrent.
Hopefully by the time that you read this you can still find SB600s it stock if you browse around - I did, and I'm glad I got one!
Seriously, it is really powerful, fast, handles several consecutive shots at ease, and works in wireless CLS mode with TTL perfection when commanded by my D7000's internal flash. Much easier to use than the huge and expensive SB700, and a big step above the built in units: CLS will allow you to take pictures that look like studio, while using a single SB600 handheld. No large stuff to carry around.
By the way, I strongly recommend the SG-31R IR Panel to covert your camera's built-in flash unit while in CLS mode - unless you use a SU800 instead of the camera's built in flash to control the other flahes.
The Nikon SB600 flash is one of those rare occasions when you find a truly excellent product for a bargain of a price. Get it while you can!
+17points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is AMAZING

PostedDecember 2, 2010
camera crazy
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
This flash is amazing. You can bounce it off windows to get a cool look. It is great for sports like basketball (gyms are not usaly that well lighted.) any other sport on a cloudy day. This flash is Relly worth the price. I would Relly reccomend this to a freind
+7points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great speedlight

PostedDecember 30, 2010
ferrarifann
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
i used this speedlight with my nikon D40 to shoot the models at the carshows, i did use a soft filter that i bought at Samy's camera but even without it the flash worked great, it gave me just the right amount of control and light for different subjects, i mainly used it on people however, the photos came out fantastic!
-10points
1 2 next>>