Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)

Enables wireless remote shutter release. Trigger the shutter remotely when using slower shutter speeds to prevent camera movement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 40 reviews
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
35 out of 40(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Review 1 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Addition To My Camera Bag

PostedMay 13, 2013
Nik
Location Everett, WA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This remote works great, especially for group photos, where you also want to be in the shot. Just set up your camera on a tripod, set the release mode to "remote", and press the button. Doesn't get any better, easier, and simpler than that. This remote also works great for doing landscapes if you are going for long exposures.
+13points
Review 2 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

But first learn how to use it........

PostedApril 22, 2013
ikon
I found that with one press of the IR remote the shutter does not operate for about 20 seconds. You can however press the remote a second time after the mirror is raised raised, at any time you choose to operate the shutter, giving you a delay of your choice up to about 20 seconds.
+11points
Review 3 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent addition to my photographic tool kit

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Nevada Image Maker
Location Henderson, NV, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this with my DSLR, D5000 and my Coolpix P7700. In a previous review there was a complicated approach to the D5000. An easier one for me is: 1) Press the "I" button on the back (bottom left), 2) toggle down to "Release mode" (normally set at "S"), press "OK" and 3) toggle down to remote image (last) and press "OK." Once you turn the camera off, it will authomatically return to the "S" release mode. I like to use the remote for most of my hand held shots, to avoid camera shake. Very nice accessory and reasonably priced.
+14points
Review 4 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 Worked Great

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Stickermetimbers
Location Ontario, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Out of the box it was ready to go after removing the plastic protective strip from the battery.
Difficult to open the battery compartment though, but due to it's size this can be expected.
Bought the item to prevent having to go into the camera settings on my D3000 to set the delay settings for picture taking.
+5points
Review 5 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedJune 15, 2012
drskmed
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
love the remote. we have a big family so its perfect. make sure to set the release-mode to remote or 2 second release.
+9points
Review 6 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 for a D5100

PostedApril 14, 2012
tws22
Works right out of the box. Easy to set up. I still plan to buy a wired remote release but for family portraits (that include me in the picture) a great buy.
-3points
Review 7 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent remote at a great price

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Photojan
Location State College, PA, USA
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Professional photographer
Super product. Works perfectly. (To those who can't make the ML-L3 function, LOOK AT YOUR CAMERA MANUAL. For most models, set the release-mode dial to "remote," then go into the shooting menu and choose between immediate release and delay.)
+46points
Review 8 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love IT

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Gnfiter
Location Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just purchased a D7000 and thought the remote would be cost prohibitive. Finding out it was a $20.00 deal made it a no brainer. Took Camera with me to the shop. Dealer selected the appropriate setting, and that was it. At this price, even if I break it, or it's lost; replacing it will be easy.The Remote for my old FE-2 was way more than this.
Hats off to Nikon for the D-7000 and the ML-L3
+13points
Review 9 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Essential for night time shoots

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Merlin
Location North Alabama
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased one of these right after getting my D90. It is a wonder tool, inexpensive, small, light and very effective. I recently lost it on a shoot, and rest assured, as soon as I discovered it was missing, I purchased a replacement.
+7points
Review 10 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So little yet, so powerful!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
ThePhotographer
Location Connecticut
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just got my remote for my D60 and this is beyond great! Can't wait until night time to give it a shot since that's why I decided to buy it. A quick word of advice, when you get yours, make sure the battery is placed correctly. I spent almost 30 minutes scratching my head on how it was suppose to work, because I pressed the button and follow all the advice and nada, zippo, nothing happened! Then I decided to reverse the battery placement and voila, problem solved.
+6points
Review 11 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this remote!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
ravster25
Location Sunnyvale, CA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Excellent Remote, totally eliminates tripod shake.
+5points
Review 12 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 Remote is amazing!

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Nikon girl
Location Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I shoot with a D40X. The remote worked brilliantly. I am very pleased with this product. I agree with some of the other users. It took a bit of fiddling around to figure out how to use it. Instructions would definitely be nice!
+16points
Review 13 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 with Nikon D7000

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Malaysia Truly Asia
At first, there was some head-scratching. The ML-L3 didn't come with an instruction manual. The instructions are in the Nikon D7000 Manual on page 80! I'll summarise it here (for Nikon D7000):
1) Press "MENU" button on camera body. Select the icon that looks like a camera (ie. "SHOOTING MENU").
2) Scroll up or down until you find "Remote Control Mode", then press "OK". The default is "2s(seconds) Delayed Remote". I chose "Quick-response remote" meaning if you use the ML-L3, the shutter will fire immediately. There is also a "Remote mirror-up" option for Mr. Fancy Photographer. Once you've decided which option you want, press "OK". I suggest you just select the "Quick-response remote" option and press "OK" coz you want to see immediate results, whether your ML-L3 works or not. Later on you can get fancy. Now, exit from the "MENU".
3) Now go to the "Release-Mode Dial", that knobby dual-dial thing on the top of the camera body that has the letters "S, CL, CH, Q, Timer icon, ML-L3 Remote icon and Mup" options. You have to press the "Release-Mode Dial lock release(!) black button just next to it to turn the "Release-Mode Dial" to the "ML-L3 Remote icon". Phew! So far so good! Stay with me now, buddy! :) Have a sip of water...
4) The Nikon D7000 has 2, yes TWO infra-red receivers! The FRONT receiver is just above the "D7000 logo" , and the REAR receiver is to the right of the "OK" button-wheel-thingamajig. What does this mean? You can be behind or infront of the camera when you use your ML-L3!
5) The ML-L3 is fantastic. I absolutely love it. Regards from Malaysia :)
+57points
Review 14 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 Remote for D5100

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Viggy
Location New York, NY
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Amazing stuff. It was just ready to go device :D
I just changed one thing in the camera. That is the release mode to Quick Response mode and you are good to go. It works great. Works for everything including the bulb mode. I strongly recommend for everyone.
+3points
Review 15 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML-L3 Remote Control and the D5000

PostedJuly 16, 2011
R284100
Location Northern California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had a hard trying to find out how to make the ML-L3 work with my D5000. I could not find my users manual and there were no instructions that came with the remote and there were no reviews I could find specifically for the 5000. So for you D5000 owners, here is how it works:
(Hint: Mount the camera on a tripod first)
1. While watching the screen in the back of the camera, press and hold the function button on the left side of the camera.
2 Note the tiny highlighted default setting in the screen. You will want to come back to it to make the shutter release work normally.
3. With your right thumb move the scroll wheel in either direction until you see the tiny icon the resembles the ML-L3. Release the function button.You are set.
4. Check the remote for function. Works best if you are standing in front of the camera.
5. To return to manual shutter release mode, press and hold the function button, move the scroll wheel back to the original setting while watching the tiny highlighted icon as it changes. Release the function button.
Once I did this after about 2 hours of trying to figure it out it works great. There is also a 2 second delay ML-L3 icon if you need it.
+23points
Review 16 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick and simple

PostedJune 11, 2011
LoweLightStudios
Location San Jose, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I just got back from the local camera store with the ML-L3 for my D7000. Pulled the tab... nothing happened. So I decided to check the menu settings to ensure it was setup for a wireless remote shutter. The default setting was a time delay of 2 seconds which I switched to immediate. Pressed the button... nothing. So like any responsible camera owner I took a quick look at the user manual for the D7000 and sure enough I had to turn the dial to accept the wireless shutter release.
Once that was done it's working like a charm. For anyone who says this remote does not have a lock or perform long exposures, check your camera. For my D7000 changing my shutter speed to - - or "bulb" mode you can easily do long exposures using this remote. In fact, press the shutter once and it opens... press it a second time and it closes (while on bulb mode). No lock required! It's a two action process, but a lot easier than having to start, then lock then release the lock and then the button (more of a 4 action process).
$20... totally worth it.
+19points
Review 17 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy

PostedApril 24, 2011
G
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this remote as a gift. I had no idea how to set it up. I went to my local camera shop and got a 30 second lesson on how to set it up with my D90. It's awesome!
+7points
Review 18 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ML Wireless Remote Control

PostedApril 1, 2011
Nikon D90 User
Location Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a D90 and I purchased this product to use specifically for low shutter speed shots with the camera set up on a tripod. It is an excellent and simple product. I agree with other posters there is no instructions, but really, non are needed. The camera manual, if you take the time to read it, comes with all the instructions for remote shutter release. You have to set the camera up accordingly and that is simple enough. Pull the plastic tab to engage the battery and you are set. I can't be any simpler. Removing the battery is a bit tricky, but again, easy to figure out just by looking at it. I believe the product is well designed for what it does. Has worked well so far and I am happy I have it. If I was to say anything negative, it is a bit over priced for what it is.
+6points
Review 19 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very pleased with this product

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Will
I recently bought this product, when it came in i opened it and saw its extreamly small size. That I am appreciate of. At first I had no idea how to use it, then I looked at the back and saw the plastic tab, pulled and went on ( thats embarrising ). I still didnt know how to use it because it came with no instructions but I finally got it. I have a D3000 so what you do is click the magnifing glass at the left, go down to realese mode and select either the second to last one or the last one. Then take your shots!!!
+17points
Review 20 for ML-L3 Wireless Remote Control (Infrared)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No complaints

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Joby T.
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Remote came without instructions BUT any simple Jack can figure this one out. Just what I needed so my unsteady hands will no longer blur my pictures.
Perfect, small and extremely functional.
-13points
1 2 next>>