Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1

Nikon Inc. BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1

The BS-N1000 is a black colored shoe cover designed to protect the contacts of the hot shoe on the Nikon 1 V1 digital camera body when no optional accessory attachments are mounted on the hot shoe.
Average Customer Rating:
1.8 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
6
4 out of 10(40%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Review 1 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I think Nikon Fixed the issue

PostedApril 6, 2012
MuchosPixels
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I recently got a Nikon V1 and have used it quite a bit and have not babied it at all and have not used a camera case with it and the hot-shoe cover has yet to come off. The Big thing is that Nikon used a proprietary hot shoe instead of a standard one. I want to use my pocket wizards and can't. Even the Panasonic LX3 has one! Its a shame because otherwise the 1V is awesome!
+1point
Review 2 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nikon V1 shoe cover not up to Nikon standards.

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
JIM
Location Vancouver, BC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been a dedicated Nikon fan since 1968. I recently purchased the V1 camera to replace my wife's Nikon D90 since she wanted a camera with less bulk and interchangeable lenses. For all intents and purposes, the V1 has proven to be a very nice alternative but we are both most disappointed with the build of the shoe cover. The cover was lost in a very brief time. Since the camera normally has the GPN-100 GPS accessory on the camera except during flash photography, it is not as big a deal now that the camera is in fairly heavy use. When the GPS is not on the camera, it is a real pain in the backsides to not have the cover in place to protect the contacts from dirt and moisture. Nikon, please... please do something about this awful cheap cover. It just doesn't fit the camera when everything else about this offering is so nice.
+3points
Review 3 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Shoe cover gone

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Enjoy Nikon
Location Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Love the camera ( have one for work & one for personal use) but I too lost the shoe cover with the second use. Sadly it fell in snow and will never be found. I am annoyed that I have purchase another cover with a month of purchase.
+3points
Review 4 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

turn-off

PostedNovember 10, 2011
george
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
I was ready to purchase the V1 until I asked where the flash is mounted. I was told: the plastic cover slides off, it did and fell on the floor.
There should be a metal exposed shoe that the flash slides into not a plastic civer on an $800.00 camera.
I was very disappointed.
George
+5points
Review 5 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Fall of several times

PostedMarch 19, 2013
M.
Location Sweden
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I had only used the camera a few months but the shoe cover has already fallen off three times. Probably stuck in clothing or camera bag when the camera was picked up. Twice I found it but the third time it disappeared.
+1point
Review 6 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Increible.

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
GAM05
Location Argentina
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Señores de Nikon. En una cámara como la V1 que he pagado 800 Euros, y con tantos ingenieros diseñando la misma, no podrían haber hecho un accesorio a la medida del precio y la calidad que debería tener Nikon??. En la primer salida se perdió el accesorio. Deberían sustituirlo gratuitamente dado que es un error de fabricacion.
0points
Review 7 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Change this on the Nikon 2

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Nikon 1 fan
Location Mooresville, NC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am very impressed with the Nikon 1 camera. But, I am headed to Italy for vacation, and I suspect you will be able to follow my path by following the lost flash covers. Please come up with a sliding cover or some other solution for the next camera. Can I get these in a bag of a dozen?
+2points
Review 8 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Falls off and gets lost

PostedApril 22, 2012
Larry
Experience 1-3 months
It was pretty disappointing that the cheap, poorly fitting plastic accessory port cover for my new V1 just fell off and was lost the first time I took the camera outdoors. For a thousand dollars Nikon could have done better than this.
+1point
Review 9 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shoe cover for Nikon 1 V1

PostedMarch 23, 2012
NirvanaDiver
Location Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love the camera but like everyone else I lost the shoe cover on my first outing. Retraced my steps to find it at the first place I stopped to take a photo, but was too late a car had run over it. I can not believe Nikon let this beautiful camera leave the factory with a cheap, ill fitting shoe cover like this. To add insult to injury there are no shoes covers available for purchase anywhere. Very bad move Nikon....you need to design a fix for this. Please don't tell me that after spending well over a $1,000 for the V1 with all the lenses that I have to buy the next generation to get a cover that fits. I would highly recommend the camera but the fact that the shoe is now exposed is a real problem.
+1point
Review 10 for BS-N1000 Shoe Cover for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Just got the v1 camera, this piece already missing...

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
elrphotog
Location Boston, MA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have used this camera TWICE. This cheap ill fitting piece of plastic disappeared the first time the camera was taken out. Nikon should send me a new one and not make me buy this "replacement." The design of this is not good.
0points