Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6

Nikon Inc. 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6

A compact telephoto NIKKOR lens captures every fine detail, making it ideal for a wide range of scenes, including sports to portraits.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 10(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Review 1 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ce qu'un Leica M aurait rêvé de devenir

PostedMay 19, 2014
René Genest
Location Québec, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Qualité optique exceptionnelle qui surpasse une focale équivalente des objectifs pour gros réflex avec adaptateur.
0points
Review 2 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my use

PostedMay 15, 2014
Tomkat
Location Kentucky
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I think this is a very good match the astonishing and amazing Nikon 1 V2 camera. There is just enough zoom to reach out for most everyday pics. I wish it was a little bit faster at max zoom of action shots, but I can live with this now that I am aware of the limitation. It is a good companion for my 10-30mm and 18.5mm f/1.8 lenses. The combination of these three will cover most of my immediate needs for portraits, nature, grandchildren in action and urban scenes.
Surprisingly, low light shots are quite impressive when the camera is stable. I can already see that only one or two additional lenses will round out my camera bag.
This is going to be a good year of photography!
+7points
Review 3 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic lens to use with electronic shutter on Nikon 1 V2

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Anonymous
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens primarily to shoot birds in flight since my Nikon 1 V2 doesn't do a good job in that regard with the FT-1 adapter. It is simply outstanding for this purpose. I have been using the electronic shutter at 15, 30 and 60 frames per second and have gotten wonderful results capturing birds in flight. This lens focuses lightning fast and with the high frame rate of the V2 it is possible to capture 'the right moment' as a bird is flying past or landing. I really love the small size of this lens when coupled with the V2...the viewfinder on the V2 is worth the extra money....especially if you are used to shooting with a DSLR. My other two cameras are a D800 and a D7000. Highly recommend this lens for birding and nature.
If Nikon ever made a 100-300mm zoom for the Nikon 1 system I would buy it in a heartbeat.
+22points
Review 4 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST ZOOM EVER

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
krob
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just got this for an anniversary present, this is the best lens ever. What a great zoom and so clear and crisp pictures. Way worth it to get it. Simply amazing...
+8points
Review 5 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent results

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Soitgos
Location Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned my camera and this lens for a year. I continue to be impressed with the results. I love everything about the Nikon 1 V1.
+10points
Review 6 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is a feather-weight 70-300 mm equivalent that fits in your hand!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
JR
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Having experienced the N1 V1 with the excellent wide-angle and 10-30 zoom lenses for a couple of weeks, I decided to purchase also he 30-110 mm zoom lens. I like the 30-110 mm zoom very much, it delivers sharp results with nice colors and good contrast. Apart from this, the strongest feature of this zoom lens is its really tiny size: it is a 70-300 mm equivalent that disappears in your hand. And it weighs almost nothing. The N1 system is simply a fantastic and very capable small camera system. Highly recommended.
+70points
Review 7 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lens for the Nikon 1 cameras

PostedMay 6, 2012
Bobbyphoto 2
Location Manhattan, KS, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought this as the telephoto for the Nikon 1 camera since I also have the standard 10 to 30mm lens. This lens is fast focusing on this camera and gives excellent pictures at the 35mm equivalent of about 80mm to nearly 300mm. It has a maximum aperture of F/3.8 and focuses down to about a meter. I only wish that the color of the lens was the same as the color of my camera body, but that color does not appear to be available as a separate lens.
+51points
Review 8 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Blown away, Not Disappointed

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
quickndirty
Location Wasaga Beach, ON, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This seems to be the comparable "telephoto" lens to the nikon 55-200mm lens for the entry level dslr cameras. the 30-110mm lens is about the same comparable zoom that you would get out of a point and shoot digital zoom camera but this is all optical which is much clearer. for the price, it is not a bad lens and definitely a must have for the nikon 1 series cameras. I would recommend this lens for closer zoom situations but it is certainly not great for taking a picture of a bird at the top of a tree. overall, a great lens for the price (around 160.00 on ebay) but a bit disappointing in the zoom aspect.
+1point
Review 9 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product disconnect

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Greg the unhappy customer
When I first saw the Nikon 1 I was impressed. So, I bought one - in red. I couldn't swing the payments for the entire package, but thought I'd purchase the body and a general purpose lense first, then buy the zoom (30-110mm) later. Now when I am ready to buy, I am told that only the white or black lenses are available for purchase and the other color choices are only available when you buy the kit. Tell me, what is wrong with that picture??? I don't want to stick a black or white zoom lense on a red camera body, but if I want to take pictures as the marketing info promotes, I have only two choices - and neither of the choices are ones I would pick. What was Nikon thinking? Apparently, the marketing department got ahead of the production department or they simply were not communicating. And, that makes the customer with a very undesirable decision: either forget about getting those long shots or pay the $250 to get some remarkable pictures using mix and match product colors.
-69points
Review 10 for 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Lens- VERY Poor Service

PostedOctober 23, 2012
John Inspector
This is a very nice Lens, but cant recommend due to very poor product support- Lens worked abut had a hairline crack when I brought it. I should have sent it back right away but did not because it worked fine. After about 6 months it started to not focus right. When I sent it in for repair they claimed impact damage (which it never had.) They then want to charge $695.00 to repair a lens that cost $249.00 brand new.
John
-39points