Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit

The Nikon 1 J1 with the versatile multi-purpose 10-30mm lens is a great way to help you connect to your life. The 10-30mm will fulfill your everyday imaging needs with it’s 3x versatile zoom range.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 42 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
33 out of 42(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Review 1 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta Have It

PostedAugust 7, 2012
nikon14ever
I was looking for a more advanced camera, but not something too complicated. The Nikon 1 was just what I needed. The pictures are so clear, and I love the interchangeable lenses! If you are undecided, go for it, and I guarantee you will not regret getting this camera.
0points
Review 2 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little Camera at a great price!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Happy in Chicagoland
Location Batavia, IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love the camera and the size is so convenient for me when I travel. I don't have to lug around my larger camera's when traveling internationally. The quality is very good and I just love the camera! I will be purchasing the zoom lens in the near future.
0points
Review 3 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Fast shutter speed...great photos

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Shironfarm
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have never had a SLR camera so I cannot compare it to that. Compared to all of my point and shoot camera's however, this wins hands down. I bought both lenses and have been able to get some great shots. what I like most is the shutter speed..I set it to take multiple photos with the press of the button and am very impressed with the results.
0points
Review 4 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It takes great pictures with a snap.

PostedJuly 29, 2012
KUYA
Location TEXAS
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is the best camera that I've ever had. It's quick, easy and light. The auto focus is so fast and easy.
0points
Review 5 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving It!

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Goot
Location Fresno, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Making this choice as a mirrorless camera that can use my 15+ nikkor glass, made this decision an easy one. I can put my big glass and shoot 60 FPS, are you kidding my, love it. More creativity here I come.
0points
Review 6 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Use

PostedJuly 24, 2012
NewbyPhotographer
Location Helena, Mt, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
This is my first 'real' camera, and I love it! It is very user friendly. I can't believe how great my pictures have turned out! I am not familiar with this camera quite yet, but I have read through the booklet and looked at the information CD. This camera is well worth it. It is light weight, the screen is huge and crystal clear. The settings were easy for me to figure out, even though i am just learning.
0points
Review 7 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Camera

PostedJuly 11, 2012
FIeld Hockey Lover
I bought my Nikon 1 J1 a few weeks ago and have taken so many beautiful pictures! I love this camera and every feature it has to offer! It takes great pictures and has cool other modes that are also easy to use. The camera is also small and easy to travel with so you can take pictures everywhere without trekking around a huge camera.
0points
Review 8 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the wait

PostedJuly 8, 2012
IndyLazz
I waited a long time to purchase a camera with interchangeable lenses. I really didn't want a big, heavy camera. I chose the Nikon over the Sony based on the camera store guy's recommendation. I have not been disappointed. The size of the camera and the lenses allows me to take them along without being loaded down. It takes great pictures close up and from far away. Totally worth the wait.
0points
Review 9 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doesn't get any better than this!!!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
grandpaw
Location Sacramento, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
As good as it gets. I'll never use a digital SLR again... this is just too easy and the picture quality is unbelievable. I can't imagine and amateur photographer ever needing anything more than this camera... it is the best!!! Thanks Nikon for making my life easier and helping me memorialize this journey called life in pictures.
0points
Review 10 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exactly What I Was Looking For

PostedJune 28, 2012
suziiq2
Location Nashua, NH
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am a paranormal investigator and I have tried several different cameras for taking nightshots. After finding the correct settings on this camera this camera is perfect for taking pictures in the dark. It's exactly what I have been looking for. I needed some help from Tech Support and they were great.
0points
Review 11 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Camera

PostedJune 28, 2012
Vienna Photo
Location Vienna, Austria
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Having shot with Nikon for more than thirty years, the idea of owning another brand was not an option. The goal with this camera was two fold. First, to act as a simple point and shoot for my family. Second, to allow a smaller alternative for travel than my D700 that could shoot in RAW and offers a selection of lenses. I purchased the camera with the 10 - 30 mm lens. I have since also purchased the 30 - 110 mm lens. In both cases the camera has done exactly what I wanted. I shoot in RAW with Adobe color space and leave the camera in JPG with standard RGB color space for my wife. The camera has proven to be very easy to use and takes a great photo. The only minor issue is that of battery life. As has been written, an extra battery is highly recommended.
 
My product recommendations
 
Capture NX 2
3.1 out of 5(65)
 
 
 
ViewNX 2
2.8 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 12 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quickest Draw in the West (Point and Shoot)

PostedJune 22, 2012
Nikon 1
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I really enjoy my new camera. I purchased it due to wanting the rapid shot option and it did not disappoint.. I love the style and get many compliments about my camera. The case is perfect as I typically keep the bottom attached to the camera to protect the body.
I'm not a pro so this camera is a perfect point-and-shoot option. Worth the cost for being able to adapt the camera to other zoom options. As a beginner, I would advise that pro's not expect a truly professional grade option but to appreciate the still pictures option, the great photo capture rate, and a great looking camera.
0points
Review 13 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid like a tank

PostedJune 14, 2012
Photoperson
great camera!! great focusing in low light love it
0points
Review 14 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

new to cameras

PostedJune 13, 2012
dezir
Location Miami, FL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
so far it is excellent I look forward to lots of photos
0points
Review 15 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Camera in a small package

PostedJune 8, 2012
FebruaryK
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have not have a chance to use it much but what little I have I love it.
0points
Review 16 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional looking pictures in a very portable package!

PostedApril 26, 2012
Stogie Augie
Location Shell WY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bough this camera for my wife and she loves it! We recently bough a Nikon D7000, and we love the pictures, but is too much camera for her, now she takes great pictures of our lives in the Big Horn Mountains of Wyoming, and we combine our pictures for our family and friends. Now I find myself borrowing her camera for hikes and horseback explorations.
0points
Review 17 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smile !

PostedMarch 31, 2012
kiko
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Still getting to know my camera. It is very easy to use and the clarity is excellent. A very good buy.
0points
Review 18 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camera. Has great features in a compact camera. Everything I was looking for. I love this camera!

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
the Treecam
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera offers a diverse number of options with great range and is very user friendly. I would recommend this camera to anyone. Its simple to use and the 10-30mm lens will get the job done, but I can't wait to get the bigger lens for greater distance shots. Great product.
0points
Review 19 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
MaryLou1941
Location Washington, PA 15301, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So far so good. I have not had the Nikon Camera that long .The few pictures
I have taken are really good.
I intend to make Good use of it this comming summer. And next Fall
when i make my first trip to Europe
0points
Review 20 for Nikon 1 J1 One-Lens Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gives me the high quality I require in a compact camera.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Utahred
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've carried a pocket, or small form camera around for several years. Sometimes my DSLR has been too bulky for the day's excursion, or I forget to take it with me. But a compact digital camera is almost always at hand.
The j1 is my first compact Nikon. I've used other brands over the years and have generally liked the convenience and results.
When the Nikon was introduced I became interested because of the interchangeable lens design, and RAW format. I purchased two white 10-30mm models -- around our house it's one for me and another for the better half.
We're both quite satisfied with the camera. It lives up to Nikon standards in performance and quality. I've attached sample images taken with the J1.
0points
1 2 3 next>>