Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. Nikon 1 V1

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. Nikon 1 V1

Nikon 1 V1 for your pursuit to express every moment of life. Your photography sparks conversations—the Nikon 1 V1 helps you interpret all. Set your creative freedom free with an imaging system designed for today and tomorrow. Nikon 1 for sharing the very incredible world that is yours.
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 37 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
34 out of 37(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nikon 1 V1
Review 1 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go Nikon

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
NIKO
Location New york, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Ok so I'm first to write the review. This is the enthusiasts dream. Huge capabilities with video too. While mirrorless cameras don't replace slr's the days of having two camera platforms for still and video are over. There is no comparison between a phone camera and this. Glad to see Nikon has created this and pushed aside Olympus and Panasonic.
-17points
Review 2 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon V1

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
easyki
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an amazing little camera. Great AF, great Color rendition, very fast, light weight, very good IQ in Raw.
I think the problem is people compare to much with a DSLR.
This is a Point & Shoot camera, but hey, the best Point&Shoot on the market!
I love this little camera! My V1 and my Gorilla Pad are ALWAYS with me.
+1point
Review 3 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

interchangable lenes

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Nikon Mike
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
small ,handles well, lots of features; got some good pictures and videos ; including bunje jumping on a recent trip to New Zealand; i lost my accessary port cover; where can I get one?
0points
Review 4 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best small camera available

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Felipe
Location Seville Spain
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Overall my V1 is a gem. I am completely satisfied with it except for two minor problems which are:
1. The multi selector is too ealily moved. I have had to put electrical tape on mine so as not to move it accidentially.
2. The multi accessory port cover comes off to ealily. I have also taped it not to loose it.
0points
Review 5 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pictures by a compact sized camera

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Erwin
Location Bay Area in California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love taking this camera just anywhere I go. Light and compact but still laden with great features almost comparable to a regular DSLR camera...Nikon is still tops compared to other ILC brands....
0points
Review 6 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The very best small camera available

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
Roy L
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is a DSLR in a small body. That's the best way to describe it. It is the ultimate for birds in flight or children who haven't been medicated. I have never used any small camera that was as fast. In fact, many DSLRs I have used can't come close. The camera has some irritating characteristics to be sure, and you must adapt. But the things it does so well will make adapting enjoyable and easy.
I am absolutely 100% all in with the V1. It gives me the best photos of my grandchildren I have ever gotten with anything less than a D700.
+2points
Review 7 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bird photography camera!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Randy
Location Hazel Green, AL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought the Nikon V1 camera with the hope that with the FT-1 Adapter that it could be used on my Nikon 600mm VR and other of my Nikon lenses that I use. When first received I attached it to my Nikon 70-200mm VRII which gave me an effective 540mm and gave it my initial test. Not taking the time to use a tripod I found a few birds to photograph, hand held. My initial thoughts on the camera display was "Wow" those look great. Upon loading the photos on my computer I was amazed that these images were taken hand held at 540mm with V1. I have attached the initial images. Further testing with the 200mm VRII F2 and the 300mm VRII also showed amazing images for such a small camera. My wife is using these combinations for taking photos of birds in flight and is amazed at the fast focus of this camera. I am looking forward to using it on my 600VR as I will have an effective 1620mm.
+10points
Review 8 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic mirrorless camera

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Dewey
Location San Antonio, TX, USA
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've wanted a mirrorless camera for awhile, but haven't purchase because I like having a viewfinder. Being a Nikon "guy" for many years, when the Nikon 1 V1 became available I had to give it a try. Small mirrorless camera with viewfinder, just what I wanted. I was concerned about the small sensor at first, but after about 2k exposures I can tell the quality is very very good. I shoot mostly RAW and JPG fine. The autofocus is very fast, faster then my Nikon DSLRs. Controls are well placed and easy to use. I am more then satisfied with this camera and the more I use it the more I like. I have not used the video mode yet.
+7points
Review 9 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a professional's small format "point & shoot"

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
photonutsteve
Location Michigan, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I really appreciate the features that the V1 offers to me. Besides the fact that it takes great video, is small and portable, light on battery use, uses exchangeable lenses, and is extremely versatile, the fact that I can use it well as a professional, and so can my wife makes it a great camera. The Nikon 1 system, and our V1 has become our go to camera and a great camera for any outing, vacation, or an occasion that pops up without warning. It's ready in an instant, gives great quality images, videos, and results every time.
+3points
Review 10 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with the size and capabilities

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Smokey
Location Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
The V1 was purchased by my wife as a christmas present for me. I believe she fell in love with Ashton's commercial and thought I would like to use a smaller camera for trips that allowed the capability of changing lenes without the weight of a larger SLR and associated lenes.
I am very happy with this camera and have enjoyed taking many outdoor pictures. I am, however, not happy that I am unable to purchase the flash unit made for this camera. None seem availabe in the Baltimore area nor at the wholesale outlets in New York. All web sites and stores keep saying they are unavailable or on back order. I believe Nikon should have better anticipated the need and demand for a flash unit for the V1 camera. I will wait patiently for the flash units to appear on the market. Would also like to see a 2X converter made available to extend range of existing lenses.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
Review 11 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Rene
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
As they say great things come in small packages and this is it. Tagging along a D200 while travelling on a monthly basis is quite taxing. I looked for a travel camera but nothing comes close to my D200. With the V1 my prayers are answered light but not lightweight in features. Built quality will withstand rough or mishandling and best of all superb image quality at high ISO. Thanks Nikon.
+2points
Review 12 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Bill
Location Wichita, Kansas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I was initially put off by this camera, due to the small sensor size, but WOW! I don't know who made the pact with the divil but I thank them, the image quality is quite good. Although in no way up to my D3 or D700, It is amazing. All we need for greatness is a line of good compact fast primes.
+1point
Review 13 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon1 V1

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Bayou Bob
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I am presenting the camera to our user group. This is an outline of the features I liked.
When I travel this small camera system gives me good video & print capabilities in a smaller package. I bought it because it is the first small system that uses digital viewer to show an exact frame of your images, even in bright sunlight. The camera is between point & shoot and SLR cameras. It is the Nikon1 V1. I have the remote, two lens (35mm equivalent to 28m to 55mm & 55mm to 150mm), flash, and small Manfrotto tripod. Smaller tripods will work with this camera. The remote is a great accessory.
+1point
Review 14 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

From DSLR to V1

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Chopper
Location New England
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been a Nikon enthusiast since the "film days." I am also a fan of the more serious DSLRs from Nikon.
But I gotta say, the V1 is a big welcome to a new era of photography.
You cannot argue with its technology and amazing results.
0points
Review 15 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love EVERYTHING about the V1!

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Shoe
Classy design, quality feel, and great photos! What more could you want? SIlent operation is a definite plus. And having it with me all the time is priceless.
-1point
Review 16 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera! Love the size and beautiful pics!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Beezodog
Location Wheaton, IL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Use the camera essentially in AUTO SCENE SELECTION mode. It performs well in virtually all the outdoor situations. Even indoors with bounced flash it produces great images.
+16points
Review 17 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One Phrase: A game changer

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Jsphoto
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I've been in photography for over thirty years. My main camera is still a 4x5 Ebony film "wood box". I own full DSLR systems with lenses from 12mm to 400mm. And now a V1. All I have to say is that this camera is a game changer. Photography has been changed for the better, forever....
+6points
Review 18 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It was the right purchase on Black Friday

PostedNovember 25, 2011
JR
Location Houston, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
So, it's Black Friday and I could no longer resist. Now, it sits next to my elbow on my desktop, the N1 V1 with its 10 and 10-30 lenses. I have shot this baby for just a couple of hours. What can I say? Nikon, you did a great job. Apart from the well designed ergonomics and unobtrusive-but-large-enough-to-be-perceived-as-serious form factor of this new camera class, apart from its charming simplicity, its solid electronic viewfinder (which, hooray, can't drop off as it is built in!), and its swiftness, what I absolutely like about this camera are its delicious photographic results, and its silence. The mechanical shutter sound is already low, and with the electronic shutter activated the camera becomes nearly silent - the only thing that is scarcely audible is the gliding of the tiny shutter blades! Autofocus is silent, too, you only hear something with the ear very close to the lens body. Other compact systems with interchangeable lenses yell by comparison - especially M4/3.
And of course the image quality. When the D3s was released, it became evident that Nikon are THE cutting edge in terms of amazing image quality. This translated into the D7000, and now into the N1 series. It's fantastic what this CX sensor is able to provide. Contrast, dynamic range, colors, sharpness, brilliance, all is there, already in the excellently processed JPGs. At lower ISOs I'd say it is on par with my D300s (which is still a stellar body!), and at higher ISOs (above 800) the unavoidable noise is of the highest quality in an artistic sense. You really can work with the files generated by the N1 series. Its beautiful RAW files inspire me to work with them (which has never been the case with results from other top notch smaller sensor cameras that I owned before).
Nikon, what comes next? The "1" in the name tells me that there's space for a "Nikon 2 V1" (with DX sensor?), and a "Nikon 3 V1" (with FX sensor???)....
But for today, I'm more than happy with my Nikon 1 V1. It was a Good Friday, not a black Friday :)
+13points
Review 19 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Bill_D
Location Chicago
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a huge improvement over the P7000. Fast, light and feature packed.
-9points
Review 20 for Nikon 1 V1
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 3, 2011
girlandthegeese
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
someone said smartphones do it alll... smartphones don't take photos like this, sorry. this is revolutionary.
-14points
1 2 next>>