Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter

Using the WU-1a optional wireless mobile adapter you can now automatically send great images to your smartphone and even use your smartphone to remotely capture images from your D3200/D5200/D7100. With an easy to use app, now when you can't wait to share that great shot you don't have to. Share it to your smartphone in a instant.
Average Customer Rating:
2.649 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 57 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
23
25 out of 57(44%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Review 1 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Little Device

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Maggy
Location Belleville, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Synced up immediately with my Galaxy SIII Andoid phone. Using the Nikon app available in the Google Play Store, I was able to instantly pull a preview of all the photos on my D5200's memory card and download the ones I want.
Thought it was way too cool when I was able to snap a photo using my Galaxy's touchscreen as a viewfinder and using it as a wireless remote to snap the photo.
As I've been in the technical industry for over 15 years, it takes a great deal to impress me, but this little gadget sure did! Two thumbs up. Well done Nikon!
+1point
Review 2 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Problem with iPad/iPhone Disconnects fixed?

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Zulu
Location Kent, Washington
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Like others I have experienced disconnects with IOS devices. If you are having this issue try putting the IOS device into "airplane mode" and enable wi-fi only. This both speeds the downloads up and makes the transfer much more reliable.
+45points
Review 3 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Slick WiFi Adapter

PostedNovember 5, 2013
NIKONSME
Location Sun Prairie, WI, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought the WU-1a wireless mobile adapter for my D7100. Easy to set-up and it worked the first time. I have used this WiFi adapter to move pictures to my cell phone with no issues; JPEG, Large Normal, files - so they are big files. Also switched to camera control mode using my Motorola Droid Razr Maxx cell. Again no issues in operating the camera and transfer of files. Love the fact that after you take a picture it automatically downloads to my cell.
This is so slick being able to use my cell to see the image and to trip the shutter. Really great and fun and I have not downloaded the online instructions.
I love this unit and don't have any concerns in recommending this accessory. One comment on price, at $55 it's a lot of money. It only cost me $3.12 after my gift card. Highly recommended.
+16points
Review 4 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nifty little gizmo

PostedJune 29, 2013
cybermaddenus
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Works like a charm on my Samsung android tablet. Glad it comes with a little tether so it does not get lost if it comes out of its case on the strap. I mainly use it for uploading photos to send people when I am on vacation, but I have tried the picture taking feature, and it also works. Well done!
+3points
Review 5 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remove old photos, Move app to sim.

PostedApril 23, 2013
Silk
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
At first I had issues with the product until I truly understood the issue. This product attaches to a very high end camera. The said camera D7100 takes huge, nice, brilliant pics. The application will not open if it can not find enough disk space to view the camera's contents, which are also stored on the phone. I did the following.
1. Moved Photos to my IMAC.
2. Deleted the photos from my phone.
3. Moved the app to the SIM.
I am running the APP on a BLU (Galaxy knockoff). If it works on this phone it will work on anything.
Good Luck.
Silk
+23points
Review 6 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This changes everything!

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Ice skating mom
Pictures used to stay stuck in my camera until I could download them into my laptop. Now, within seconds, they are transmitted effortlessly into my iphone 5. Thanks so much for a great feature.
+28points
Review 7 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

quick en fun to share

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
mighty mom
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
sooooo happy te have this. Love it. Quickly share my pictures with family and friends.
-51points
Review 8 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Accessory! Makes sharing pictures fast and easy!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Clubdoc73
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This wireless accessory works perfectly with my Samsung Galaxy S3. I take quality pictures and within second I am sharing them via MMS, Instagram, Facebook, Email, etc. Good job Nikon!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
+1point
Review 9 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Fun and Very Exciting Tool that has an edge in today's tech filled world!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
impressed Mommy photo buff!
Location Belton, MO, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this and downloaded the ap on my Samsung Galaxy SIII and am impressed it it simple and best yet you get the quality as always from Nikon!!! It is a easy way to take self portrait or a family portrait while being able to be in the picture!!! So many possibilities!!!
-17points
Review 10 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea

PostedNovember 1, 2012
average joe
Location Marysville, OH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a very useful and fun assesory I would like to see a version available for other recent Nikon cameras like the d7000. This would be appreciated by those of us who have been loyal Nikon shooters for many years to the brand
+13points
Review 11 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SERIOUS AMATURE

PostedSeptember 23, 2012
NIKON LOVER
Location Texarkana, AR, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
JUST WANTED TO SAY THAT IPHONE AND IPAD HAS A BRAND NEW APP THAT WORKS WITH THIS WIRELESS TRANSMITTER. HURRAH. NOW I WILL BUY THE D600
+22points
Review 12 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good product for the money

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Portrait Master
Location Clearwater, FL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
When I shoot portraits, my clients can have the pics right away, and start choosing even before I finish the shoot. These days, everyone wants instant gratification, well this is pretty fast!
I am glad it ends the connection right away after the file is transmitted, this way, I can choose when I want to use it, and when I don't, and won't forget to disconnect. I would like to use it with my iPad, but until the application is released, I can use my Android device.
There is an expensive wireless transfer device for those of you who shoot with other Nikon DSLRs, but it costs $800+, so for $59 I got a great bargain! I feel pretty lucky to have bought the only Nikon (D-3200) that is compatible with this great little gadget.
I am a professional photographer who uses more than one brand of gear. I got curious about Nikon recently, so decided to try the little D3200, added a better lens 17-70mm f/2.8 because the kit lens is worth nothing to me. This little set up I have now with the wireless mobile adapter has boosted my clientele already. Again, people want their pictures right away; I can oblige them with this. It is a money maker for me.
+27points
Review 13 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great if I could use it with my D90

PostedMay 20, 2012
Nikonandonandon.
This would be a great addition to my d90. Please make it compatible.
-23points
Review 14 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Took help to get it connected to my Galaxy S4

PostedApril 8, 2014
Janmv
Just bought the D3200 package deal, specifically because this adapter came included. I had to reach out to Samsung tech support to finally successfully get connected. It would see the connection in Wi-Fi but with an error that "Network disabled because internet connection is slow". Samsung sent me the following solution below which did work (happy dance) I just hope that it remains stable.
The software and features could probably be more robust but I just wanted to get pics to my phone for that instant gratification of sharing them out :)
Samsung Solution:
open Apps >> Settings >> Connectivity >> Wi-fi >> Menu >> Advanced.
Auto-network switch. Unckeck if any.
+5points
Review 15 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works pretty well!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Skkkkol
Location Reading, UK
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
When I first used the device I had problems with slow transfers / disconnections. Switching off Bluetooth on my iPhone seems to have solved this. Although it still disconnects occasionally!
Other than that it does exactly what i had hoped for. However It would be great if it could transfer video, hence only 4 stars.
0points
Review 16 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

simplify sharing pictures online !!!!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Jorgeman40
Location Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I am recently purchased my first SLR digital camera the Nikon D3200 being an inexperienced photographer one of the things that i have fun is sharing my pictures online this camera is a user friendly, and when i saw the ability to transfers picture to my phone instantly to my iPhone i was sold even when you have to purchased separately the wireless mobile adapter that i was actually surprise was so fast to download and plain and simple to use highly recommend
+2points
Review 17 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is compatible with the iphone!

PostedMay 15, 2013
Novice
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
All you have to do is download the Nikon application on your iphone and it works!!!
Don't have to wait till Fall.
Works great!
-3points
Review 18 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for picture transfer but not videos

PostedMarch 7, 2013
SgtT (novice)
Location Asheville, NC, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I'm using a verizon iphone 4 running IOS 6.1.2 and the app does what it was designed to do. It transfers my pictures to the phone and I have not had any of the disconnect issues that I've read about in the other reviews before I bought the transmitter. I have not been able to transfer any videos using the adapter though. I would like to see more functionality in the remote, i.e. the ability to change the settings on my camera if I needed to. So far this has been the best accessory that I have bought for my 3200! I think this transmitter works great for a novice like me but my photography friends (shoot for a living) are begging for this option for their high dollar rigs. It would also be nicer if the option was built into the camera instead of a dongle hanging out on the side.
+8points
Review 19 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs a full iPad compatible app

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
JamieP
Great tool, very handy - however the iPad app is not fully supported and its really only an iphone app, that you can zoom in!
the point of this is to show the image on a bigger, better screen then on the camera itself, so a phone is not that!
+2points
Review 20 for WU-1a Wireless Mobile Adapter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

works ok!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
PeKu
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i bought the D3200 and recieved the adapter free..i was abit skeptical but just tried on my IPhone and it worked well..dropped the signal a few times but overall not bad transfered 8 images in a short time and was able to post on Facebook right away..lets be serious here its really just a gimmicky toy thats fun. the remote worked and my phone got the pics so it does exactly what it suppose to
+7points
1 2 3 next>>