Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. ME-1 Stereo Microphone

Nikon Inc. ME-1 Stereo Microphone

Record crystal-clear sound and significantly reduce autofocus noise on your compatible Nikon digital camera using this compact stereo microphone. The ME-1 Stereo Microphone connects to compatible DSLR, Nikon 1 and COOLPIX cameras that have a 3.5mm Mic jack and features new innovation that significantly reduces autofocus noise from being recorded.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Review 1 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for videos and just recording in general

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
teamnikon
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
very good product with to settings flat and low cut witch both are very useful. i take it everywhere an dit is nice and small it fits in my camera bag perfectly. it works great with my nikon d5100.
-2points
Review 2 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product that does what it says it will do.

PostedMay 3, 2012
John
Extremely sensitive, reduces wind buffeting to an acceptable level. Picks up conversations many yards away as well as all ambient noises. It also eliminates internal mechanical sounds caused by image stabilizing function and other unwanted camera noises. Good product that does what it says it will do.
+38points
Review 3 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mic!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Illiterati Photography
Location Los Angeles, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I used the mic while I videoed a 3.5 hour workshop. Rather than keep the mic on the hot shoe, I used three six foot coaxial audio cables (lossless) so that I could stay as far back as possible from the speaker and still get great sound.
My only complaint is that the speaker either had to hold the mic or keep it in his lap, as the screw hole diameter on the bottom of the ME-1 was larger than the one on the tripod I would otherwise have used as my stand.
+33points
Review 4 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedMay 2, 2011
Tim
Location Piscataway, NJ
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have tried the microphone on a D7000 and absolutely love it for HDR movies. I am just waiting for my own to arrive in the mail this week.
A must have.
+16points
Review 5 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cure for noisy old AF lenses

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Longtime Nikon fan
This is a welcome addition to DSLRs that have only a monophonic built-in microphone. Note that, while the ME-1 works with the Nikon 1-V1, the mounting foot won't fit the accessory shoe mount, which is too close to the eye level view finder anyway. Since the V1 has a built in stereo mic, this is not a big issue. I had found that my old 28-105 zoom lens made a lot of autofocus squeals, so moving the microphone off the camera body was very important if I want to use that old but excellent lens for video on my D800.
-3points
Review 6 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A worth while upgrade from the built in DSLR microphone!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
CJAwesome83
Location Sweden
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this microphone for about 8 months now. I originally used it on my Nikon D7000 and it is a HUGE improvement over the built in microphone. As time went on and my passion for DSLR filming grew I eventueally moved on to an external recording device (Zoom H1N, check it out!). But I sitll use this for audio in camera and as a referense track. Works very well and the design and build is solid over all. Easy to mount and remove. The moderate price point is appealing. I saw acomparison between this and a Röde microphone, and it was a close call so it delivers good audio quality. If you want better audio than the built in mic without going for a dedicated external recorder, this is a very good choice indeed!
+15points
Review 7 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Why is this mic listed as an accessory for the V1?

PostedNovember 17, 2011
BH
This mic is incorrectly showing up as an accessory for the new V1. It is a mic which mounts in a standard sized hotshoe. But since the V1 has a proprietary accessory shoe standard shoe mounted accessories will not fit.
+7points
Review 8 for ME-1 Stereo Microphone
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Still hear the camera

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Jason
This works ok for eliminating wind noise but I can still hear the camera noises like the focus the same as if I wasn't using the mic at all. I didn't think much of it because I didn't know it was supposed to eliminate the autofocus noise until I read the other reviews on here where people are saying it does that for them. Now I'm thinking I got a piece of junk dud mic and now it's too late to exchange it because I bought it so long ago. Feeling really ripped off by Nikon. I'm also wondering now if it's my camera that's the problem. Either way I got ripped off.
-5points