Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack

Supplied with MS-D12EN for EN-EL15 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery (sold separately) and MS-D12 for 8 AA batteries (not included); accepts 1.5V LR-6 (Alkaline), Lithium (FR6), Ni-MH (HR6) or Ni-Mn (ZR6).
Average Customer Rating:
2.9 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 out of 10(50%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Review 1 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top quality, functionally perfect

PostedNovember 13, 2014
BokehMagic
Location New England
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Some complain about the price, but the quality is twice as good, in my opinion. Some say there are rattles, but my copy does not. Perhaps they are not inserting the battery until it clicks. This is a first-rate professional piece of equipment. You get what you pay for. Got mine for $350 (open box), by the way.
0points
Review 2 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This made my camera into a dual-personality FX/DX platform the Nikon intended

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
NoVA M D
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Yes it's pricey-- retail anyway. I got mine in a distress sale for $250 (BNIB). I needed the quality of the D800 and a more manageable 15.3 MP image size to simplify sharing efforts for my kids sports teams. Pop on my 18-200 and I have 6 FPS available. Put the FX lenses back on and I can shoot FX RAW to my hearts content for more serious work. Camera stores and Industry commentators say using the FX body in DX mode is a waste, but in reality, being able to achieve great results and enhanced speed, leveraging your existing DX lens investments is a good thing. The grip quality is outstanding and when used with the Eneloop NI-MH AAs, the camera works great. Approx. 2400 images on a charge, and the grip will use the native EN EL15 battery, AAs with the carrier (mine came with it), or the expensive EN EL18a option That gives the same performance as the AAs for considerably more money, and the need to buy the battery, a charger for it, and the special carrier for it just adding to the cost.
+18points
Review 3 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First Grip... works and feels awesome

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
mshooter
Location Bangor, PA 18013, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my first time using a grip. Day 1; don't know how I lived without them. Always thought I didn't need one, because I was strong, and nimble enough to shutter release without too much stability loss. Turns out, I was very mistaken. Much greater stability with the grip in portrait, and easy to switch between portrait and landscape. Don't hear or feel a single rattle in the battery area, as was stated by another reviewer. The shutter button seems very smooth and responsive, and it seems to work exactly like the standard shutter release button. Half way is about half way for focus and reading. Shooting in both manual and program modes, everything works great. I've also discovered, that for me at least, the camera overall seems to be better balanced when I'm working with it. I do portraits, weddings, etc., and can't wait to use it in those settings. A bit pricey... yes ($399.99), but I'm going to say worth it. Maybe it's just my initial delight speaking. Oh yea, almost forgot, having a second battery to power everything is a big plus.
+9points
Review 4 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit overpriced, but feels great!

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Pole
Location Chicago
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm using it with my D800 and it may be a bit overpriced (bought when I was visiting my family in Poland for 1300 zloty (PLN), which is 380$ - and remember that in Poland the tax is 23%, not 8%), but it feels great, works great and.... what else do you expect from a vertical grip? Sometimes I forget about having it, I quite rarely put it off - but without it D800 feels... too small and too light ;-)
I've changed from D7000 with MB-D11 to D800 with MB-D12 and it feels quite the same - great camera with a great battery pack.
-6points
Review 5 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Ideal for Tripod Use - Adds Worthwhile Vertical Functionality & Battery Life

PostedDecember 14, 2012
SKahn
THe MB-D12 adds useful vertical functionality and battery life that I appreciate. The multi-selector button is "so-so" in comparison to the high-quality one built into the camera body; however, it's adequate.
My real gripe is that when attached and screwed in tightly, the fit to the body is not totally snug. So, if you're doing critical work with a tripod, the camera+grip assembly is not rock solid. It's a much more solid platform without the battery grip attached.
+10points
Review 6 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Between a rock and a hard place

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
atelier.vu
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
For starters, it's a great grip. Yes, it is completely overpriced. however, the aftermarket grips, being so cheap aren't exactly something id trust to hold $4-6k of camera+lens on a tripod. Thus, my rationale for 'investing' the extra money to buy the Nikon one.
It feels solid when mounted to a tripod, and the tactility is great. However, the d-pad button is a little small and twitchy, so it isn't hard to press the wrong direction. My biggest gripe is that the battery tray doesn't lock into the grip very securely, so it rattles when walking with the camera. This also means that the weather sealing on the door is useless. That's anything but the experience one might expect from a product with such a high price point.
Again, I personally wouldn't trust my gear tied to one of the aftermarket plastic body versions, but this just is not worth the asking price.
+27points
Review 7 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

MB-D10 at double the $$$

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Krazy_Kow
Location British Columbia, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
It looks to me that the MB-D12 was only made so as to be able to charge double what the MB-D10 goes for. The functionality is the same ;( No GPS, bluetooth or wifi - these would have been very good reasons to pay for the MB-D12. I think Nikon is taking advantage.
+52points
Review 8 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

You're Joking, Right?

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Nikonulous
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
$600+ for a battery grip?? I just bought a functionally (and aesthetically) identical knock-off for $50 on Amazon. The last "official" Nikon battery grip I bought for my D300 was $150 retail. I'd have to be either desperate or woefully uninformed to pay this much.
+1point
Review 9 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Way Overpriced!!!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Photograpgher1
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I'm a big advocate for buying genuine Nikon products--lenses and accessories--because you usually get what you pay for. But not so with this grip! The 3rd party knock-offs that have started appearing are 90% as good for around $100 now, possibly even less in the coming months. I recommend picking up the 50 f/1.4G Nikon lens (excellent lens) for the difference saved in buying a 3rd party grip. The absolute most that this grip is worth would be $200.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+64points
Review 10 for MB-D12 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Price gouging

PostedApril 29, 2012
pixyst
Location Chandler, AZ
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I understand Nikon's wish to make as much money as possible and to charge a premium price for an accessory of an premium body, but this is going too far. Some will be desperate and just buy - and I have been tempted to do same because I have big hands and have become so used to using the MB-D10 on my earlier camera - but I think I will wait this one out. The MB-D10 was the innovation, this is merely an slight change to an existing design. Besides the D800 design could have been done to retain compatibility with the MB-D10. Whichever way you cut it, this looks like extortion.
+170points