Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

These rechargeable batteries provide extended life and consistent power, even in colder conditions.
Average Customer Rating:
3.435 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
13 out of 23(57%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Review 1 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it.

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
1bitten2xshy
Location NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought my D5100 with kit lens & purchased the AF-S NIKKOR 55-300mm DX VR lens also on 16 Mar 2012 and the last 2 times I've gone to charge my battery it's still "blinking/charging" after being plugged in for over 7 hours.
Am I doing something wrong or is it time to replace it and it's NOT EVEN A YEAR OLD YET?!?!???
+58points
Review 2 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reserva necessária

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Maragogi
Location Vitória - ES, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Faço fotos noturnas de longa exposição e fotografo ao ar livre durante muito tempo, práticas que consomem bateria. Para evitar o desprazer de interromper meu lazer por conta de falta de energia, adquiri uma bateria original Nikon ( existem similares, "genéricas", que não mantém a carga e algumas com submilimétricas diferenças de tamanho, que não encaixam com a perfeição de uma original. Já passei um susto ao tentar retirar uma dessas que ficou agarrada em minha D5100). Agora tenho dobrada a minha capacidade de carga o que dobra também meu prazer e evita o desagradável encerramento das sessões por falta de bateria.
+4points
Review 3 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Battery

PostedJune 27, 2012
Sushi
Location Laramie, WY, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I bought the d5100 and so far its been great. I have recently started doing night time, time lapses of the stars with about 400-500 photos of 10-15 second exposures, i was at first concerned since there are no battery pack options. But it turns out my d5100 usually has at least half of its battery left when finished. Great battery, highly recommended!
 
My product recommendations
D5100 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
4.6 out of 5(740)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 4 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good batery

PostedOctober 11, 2011
gayasri
Location sri lanka
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
i took 410 shots with 377 in built in flash...... good battery....
+2points
Review 5 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Fine

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Vedauwoo
Location Cheyenne, Wyoming
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I think that the review by Eggroll, back in March, explains it all, and gets my applause.
When I got my D5100 and started using it, I was taken back by how quickly the battery ran down - on the first charge of the battery. I was concerned about the use of Live View, the 800 gram internal focus 28-300 lens, and video photography. So I bought a backup battery and read up on two-battery grips for the camera.
I use the camera during day long cruises (hikes) through the mountains.
But everything seems to be working fine after the second charge and as-necessary use of Live View. I shot 200 pix per day for several days with no change in the camera's battery level indicator.
+14points
Review 6 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery life..

PostedJune 1, 2011
Out of Focus
Location Merrimack, NH
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had the D3100 over a month now. Took several hundred photos in Thailand, Singapore and Phoenix AZ before returning home. Only had to charge it once. 3 week trip. I never used live view and only a few flash photos. After I returned I took about 50 shots at a B-Day party, indoor, all flash. Batter it still in it and shows about 25% left.
+10points
Review 7 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery if you use it right

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Eggroll
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The poor reviews on this battery are most likely from those who use the LiveView instead of the view finder. If you're using LiveView mode, constantly focusing, and using the pop up flash, then of course you're going to wear out the battery quickly- but that's true for any battery.
I use the view finder with the SB-600 speedlight flash and can shoot for 5+ hours before needing to change to my spare. Just remember that the LiveView and pop-up flash use the most power. Omit or limit those, and you'll find the battery lasts anywhere from 3-8 times longer.
With any new rechargeable battery, make sure you go through at least a few charge-discharge cycles to get the full potential out of it. Once it's fully charged, leave it on the charger another hour or two. Typically a fully charged status indicates the battery has 85%+ charge; leaving it on the charger a little longer brings it closer to 100%. When it get's low, use the LiveView / flash to wear it down all the way before recharging. It really does help when you go through cycles like this - and an even better reason to have a spare to condition the batteries properly.
+30points
Review 8 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These batteries are fine

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
d3100user
Location CO.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have over 200 shots on my last charge with a whole bunch of tinkering with settings mixed in and the battery still shows fully charged. I did buy a spare simply because I like knowing that I have spare juice if needed.
These batteries get better after several charge cycles.
+7points
Review 9 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera

PostedNovember 19, 2010
cotnpker
Location Deltona Fl
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I started out in the 80's with a n2000 ( still working ) finially got tired of film and bought the 3100. This camera will do it all if you let it, but is adjustable if you want to play with it. Good combo of features for the price and excellent photos. It is so new it is hard to find extra batteries, although mine has held up good, I still Like a spare
+6points
Review 10 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great battery life!

PostedOctober 12, 2010
AC
Location VA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had my D3100 for about a month now..and I have not seen my battery less than full once. I used it for about 2.5-3 hours on Sunday..a little Monday and turned it on today and it still says full. I did read that you should not disconnect the battery from charging until the light stops blinking and the battery is completely finished charging so I am very careful about that.
+14points
Review 11 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Rafael
I shot many pictures without a recharge, over than 400...
-3points
Review 12 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This battery is just fine by me...

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Old Salt
Location Oregon
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had my D3100 for about 6 months now and love it (had Olympus cameras for years). I bought an extra EN-14 shortly after purchasing the camera (only because I hate missing a photo due to a dead battery). I try not to constantly use all the features that suck the battery dry when I'm shooting... i.e. auto-flash, live view, vibration reduction... and it lasts for days of shooting! I have noticed, when I set/forget the VR setting for the lens to/is ON, that this seems to be the quickest battery drainer.
+9points
Review 13 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

En-El14 battery

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
koala
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have only had my d3100 camera for a few days love it! but know wish the battery would last a bit longer then what it does. Diffently need to have two batterys if you know your going to be taking a lot of pictures in one day. But over all it's not bad. Take pictures of just about every thing from people, animals, landscape to what every catches my eye!
+3points
Review 14 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Battery for DS3200

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Carmilanes
Location Miami, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I keep charging for 24 hours but the LED never turn off. So, I don't know if the battery is really charged 100% because the instruction say "The battery will had full charge when the LED turn off.
0points
Review 15 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs more Amperes

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Me
Recently bought the Nikon D3200 (love it btw) but with only only over 1 Ah of capacity this battery drains far too often. Nikon if your listening.... Please release a battery with a little more juice (given its size a 1800-2200 mAh should be possible).
+2points
Review 16 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not such a good Battery

PostedMay 13, 2014
KeikiJP
Location Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Only at this battery in my DSLR for a month and I'd have to tell you that my experience with the EN-EL14 Battery is not a good one. The power for the battery only last about an 1 and 10 minutes hour with continuous use without the LCD screen on but with the LCD screen on and preview your photos, it an 30-45 minute in usage. That's not good at all specially when you have cellphone with better battery technology.
Another problem is that the battery will take forever to make a full charge and will go on for hours. The LED on the charger will just blink and blink. Nikon should really work on improving the battery features for the camera. " WAIT, yes I even went out the purchase a battery/GRIP with two batteries and still the results are more usage is 2 hours or little more but not no more than 150 minutes of usages.
I do love Nikon but battery improvement is a must
0points
Review 17 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Battery not good

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Nikonuser
Location UK
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought Nikon D5100 few days back but battery life is very poor. Not sure if it is the battery or charger. I can take at max 30 photos at one go
+1point
Review 18 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as good as the camera

PostedJune 15, 2011
Nikon Lover
Location Syria
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have bought D3100. It's awesome, but its battery isn't. I use it for daylight shooting with no flash or live view and captures no more than 200 images.
+9points
Review 19 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery failed quickly

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
NotYerLawyer
An OEM EN-EL 14 battery came with my D3100 a year ago. It failed after less than ten cycles; now it will not take a charge. I think that is unacceptable and, if I could award this battery a negative-star rating, I would.
At least I have a digital "prosumer" pocket camera that takes AA batteries, so I can at least use that until I can get a replacement for the dead battery.
+1point
Review 20 for EN-EL14 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Battery EN EL-14 or charger

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
MadMax
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought the Nikon D5100 camera, but, battery or charger stopped working after using it twice within 6 months from Costco (June 2012). Now, it does not get charged. I got the second battery from Amazon, and it works, but, I have not yet charged it to find out if it is the battery problem or charger problem. In either case, I have heard several stories of bad battery. Looks like Nikon's Chinese supplier is supplying poor quality batteries. There should be an official recall if several customers are complaining about it, and they should replace it. I am annoyed since when I pay $900 for camera and lenses, I expect top notch quality. I hope it is not the charger that is faulty- otherwise I will have to order a charger also. I am going to complain to their customer support, If they marketing or customer service guys are reading this, Nikon should better address this issue.
+4points
1 2 next>>