Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack

Runs on either one EN-EL15 battery or six R6/AA-size alkaline/Ni-MH/lithium batteries to provide added stability with extended shooting potential. Magnesium alloy employed for exterior cover durability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.1 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 20 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
16 out of 20(80%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Review 1 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my Nikon MB-D11.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
EddieBTx
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought the Nikon MB-D11 Multi-Power Battery Pack to extend the life of my Nikon D7000 while on extended photo shoots or travelling. The product arrived in an original Nikon box with associated packaging, Nikon MB-D11 cover, warranty and instruction manual.
This is a must have accessory for the serious photographer using the Nikon D7000.
Firstly, the Nikon MB-D11 is well constructed and all that you would come to expect of Nikon quality. The Nikon MB-D11 Multi-Power Battery Pack arrived dry, meaning that you have to provide an additional Nikon EN EL15, or Runs on six R6/AA-size alkaline/Ni-MH/lithium batteries. There is a lot of talk about the battery release being poorly constructed or fragile. I have found that it is pretty solid and although not super industrial, it works fine and as long as you treat it right, it serves its purpose. The Nikon MB-D11 grip feels nice and solid, matches the camera and when it is connected, does not look like a two piece unit.
After installing my spare Nikon EN EL15 battery into the MB-D11, I removed the isolating strips from the base of the camera, placed the MB-D11 on the locating pin and wound the tightening screw to secure the unit to the camera. I have no problems with movement and it feels solid against the camera. A no fuss installation.
Generally, what is there to say about the MB-D11? I love that I have an extended battery life being able to carry two EN EL15 batteries on a shoot, I don't find the extra weight a burden. The extra time you have shooting far outweighs the weight issue. I love the solid Nikon construction and quality of the MB-D11. Since I have had the Nikon MB-D11, it has not come off my camera, apart from having to recharge the battery.
If you don't have an original Nikon MB-D11 for your Nikon D7000 and you want the extra power, get one, you won't be disappointed.
Lastly, a little word of advice. Buy an original Nikon MB-D11 from a reputable dealer! There are many aftermarket versions out there that just aren't the same quality.
+8points
Review 2 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grip though heavy and over priced

PostedMarch 12, 2013
astroNikon
Location SE Michigan, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Since I bought my D7000 in 2012 I really needed a vertical grip. I researched all the Nikon cheap copies out there and many (if not all) did not support a full function of all the buttons. I ended up waiting on eBay for a little bit less than normal price and I finally got one back in Nov 2012.
The grip is heavy with it's internal metal case but it is such a pleasure to use in the vertical mode. The metal case also is more security when on a tripod- I'm not sure I trust those cheap plastic copies as much). I'm glad it's easily on/off too because I use an old Nikon 500mm lens where I cannot put the lens on/off with the grip on due to the tripod collar hitting the grip. The thumb selector is a bit odd and pointy but functions fine (they could make it more like the MultiSelector on the Main Body for easier "feel" transitions).
I use the battery tray to hold 6 AA batteries, though more as storage for backup batteries for my SB-700 flash (4-AA) than actually use them for the D7000 camera.
Great grip. It adds alot of girth and weight but if you take alot of verticals you would wonder what you did without one.
+6points
Review 3 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great battery pack

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Michigan Coasty
Location Western Michigan
Age 35-44
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The MB-D11 was one accessory I was holding off on. Upon breaking down and getting it, I am more than pleased. My usual battery life had been around 1500 shots and I thought that was good enough, until I had to change batteries at the beach a day before hurricane sandy hit. Sand and salt water are two things you want out of your camera. After getting the MB-D11 I was able to fill up six 32 BG cards and still had juice. I have not noticed any looseness or play between it and the camera body in mine, and other than there is room for two batteries in the pack, I love it.
+3points
Review 4 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Grip!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
CabbageHead
Location Norwalk, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
The MB-D11 feels nice and solid in hand In comparison to after-market versions. An associate of mine let me use his after-market grip for a day just before i received my grip and I felt like it was very cheaply made also it heated up quite a bit while shooting and charging. Luckily for me when i received my MB-D11 i immediately noticed the difference in feel and function... thank you Nikon for having a great understanding of fit and feel! I appreciate the quality and design of another Nikon Product!
+18points
Review 5 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome accessory! Must have for the D7000

PostedApril 11, 2012
"SHOOTER"
Location Artois, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Easy to shot with, very versatile! Thanks for making this product. Makes vertical shooting a breeze. Easy to handle and Great construction. I also appreciate the way this grip is able to hold a extra battery for extended shots! I'd highly recommend this product.
+5points
Review 6 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Luis
Location Spain
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
PROS: Buy it!!! Don´t go to a clone, all of them are rubbish
CONS: There is enough space for another EN-EL5 battery
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+6points
Review 7 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sooo confortable!!!

PostedApril 19, 2011
CaBa
Location Boston, MA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
this is the best piece of equipment you can add to your D7000, it will make your camera feel so much better with more control and more professional look!!! i would recommend this product to everyone that buys a D7000
-7points
Review 8 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 12, 2011
lifesaver
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
works amazing, basically doubles your battery life while also giving you the power to move your camera around easier and take easier vertical images, i love it and recommend it to everyone who is really into photography.
+19points
Review 9 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fits my D7000, my hand, my shooter style.

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Dodd
Location Provo, UT
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I couldn't wait to get this battery grip. Even though I do not normally load it up with batteries for daily shooting, I enjoy the effortless flexibility of various grip-holds I need when shooting. Also, it seems to ad a Pro dimension to the camera body which I appreciate.
-12points
Review 10 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Grip!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
ADNpro
Location NY
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The grip is excellent! It adds the perfect weight and feel to the camera. It has very nice rubber on it for grip, not cheap feeling at all. Nice and sticky, you will not slip when holding it. Overall I am very pleased with it and would recommend it to everyone!
+11points
Review 11 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition

PostedDecember 6, 2010
MossPhoto
Location Denver, CO
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
The smaller size of the D7000 was a bit of a disadvantage for me, but with the addition of the MB-D11 to the body, it makes it feel much better in the hands. With the increased weight, you can steady the camera even more. Pair it with the VR lenses for an increase of a good 2-3 stops of shutter speed.
Well worth the investment. For the price, it would be nice if it came with the battery, or at least offer a package deal with a bit of a discount.
I've used MD's and MB's on all of my Nikons since the days of the FE's. The MB-D11 continues Nikon's fine history of superb camera body accessories.
+48points
Review 12 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my opinion

PostedOctober 10, 2010
nikondreamer
Location Milan,MI
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I used it with the new nikon d7000 and i recommend this product to everyone who will buy this!It is very useful and comfortable to shot in the vertical position!Thank to this product I can make more and more photos !
-116points
Review 13 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Power Sources For D7000

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
FrankJunior1
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have owned the Nikon D7000 for over 3 years now. From my experience with this camera I find that it is a well designed camera with the exception of when powering the camera with the AC adapter. Any one who has purchased the EH-5b AC adapter and the required EP-5b cord, both sold separately, should know what I am discussing here. This is an incredibly flawed design for such a great camera. Nikon followed this flawed design with the MB-D11 battery grip. Nikon could have put a power cord connector on the exterior of the battery grip. With this in mind one could have powered the camera and charged both batteries (1 in Camera, 1 in grip) at the same time. As it stands now I have to at least remove the battery in the grip to install the EP-5b. Nikon could have easily corrected this in the design of the grip. Incredibly Nikon continues with this flawed design in the newer D7100 and the D800(E). With this in mind I will reluctantly recommend the MB-D11 for the extra battery life and for better grip of the camera.
0points
Review 14 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product, could be better...

PostedOctober 18, 2011
dkwdkw
Location Ventura, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The MB-D11 is a crucial piece of equipment for the Nikon D7000 camera. It provides double the battery life of the camera without that accessory. It works well with the D7000 and has the added feature of allowing you to have easy control access while shooting in portrait format.
The one downside to the MB-D11 is that it does not hold two batteries. Instead, one battery remains inside the camera. This means that to charge that battery, the MB-D11 must be removed from the camera.
If the MB-D11 held both batteries, they could be removed for charging without requiring the removal of the MB-D11.
+19points
Review 15 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great accessory, but would have been even better

PostedJuly 25, 2011
jerre
Location Singapore
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The grip is awesome. great ergonomics, as can be expected from a nikon accessory... Although, personally i would prefer the route they used for the battery pack of the d90 (where both batteries can be inserted from the battery pack itself, rather than having to remove the MB from the camera everytime it is required to charge the battery inside the camera body. Although the minor inconvenience is not a deal breaker for me. I have owned it for a few months now and never had to remove it, unless i need to charge the battery inside the camera body itself. It adds just the right weight to make the camera feel much more stable, but not too much that it becomes a chore to carry around all day (although the weight comment might be subjective, as this is as I have experienced for myself)
+19points
Review 16 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It feels good!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
RichRAD
Location Orlando, FL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I just got it today, and love it! I have big hands and the D7000 is a little smaller then I would like it to be, but now it just right! I just wished for $250 it came with a battery which was another $60.
It Feels GOOD
+35points
Review 17 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

multi-selector pad was a dealbreaker for me,.....

PostedAugust 27, 2012
DZGROOVE
Location Virginia, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
The shutter release, front command wheel, and rear command wheel were similar in feel to their duplicated counterparts and I was cool with them (or OK enough). The AE-L AF-L button location was close to the shutter release and I REALLY liked it there!,....very easy to use. The huge problem I had was the multi-selector "joypad",..... It was nothing like its duplicated counterpart on the D7000 and was overly sensitive in an awkward way. I was all the time pressing the "ok" middle position while I was trying to hit either up,down,left, or right. It's something that I think I would have eventually gotten use to and tolerated but would always dislike and it was a deal breaker for me. I returned it for a refund. Also, once its tightened to the D7000 body, its snug but the 2 small pins on the opposite side of the tightening screw are enough smaller than the holes they plug into, which allows the grip to shift around and "wobble" just a bit and ever so slightly rattle while you are moving the camera around from portrait to landscape. This grip shifting was very minor of a shift and so slight but always noticeable. The shifting grip was NOT a dealbreaker for me but the poor multi-selector pad was. I would have been happy to pay well over the $259.99 price at Crutchfield had the joypad been like what was on the camera. Keep in mind, that for this price you do NOT get a battery of any kind with it either,.....but that joypad!!!!!! :( ugggggghhhhhhh Nikon! make a real vertical grip that fits tight and has a joypad like what's on the camera AND include a battery and I will pay you $375 for it. Heck don't include the battery,......I already have an extra one anyway!,...and I will still pay you $375 for a grip!!!!!!!!!!!!! JUST MAKE IT RIGHT! everything else I've bought from you has been top notch!
+12points
Review 18 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

useless

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
Andrew
Excited to have this flexibility. Bought the battery pack for vertical use and extended battery power for our major safari vacation.
I have taken a few photos but now it is dead, no matter what battery I put in it.
Really disappointing for a Nikon branded product.
Of course, since I bought it on line from Nikon, no store that I can go to will care.
-4points
Review 19 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Paper Wieght

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
CandidCapture
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Disconnects all the time, unusable do to high tolerance in mounting to the camera body. Conceptually great, in actuality it performs like an add on from the dollar store. There is so much flex even when used with a mild 24-70mm 2.8 lens that while shooting you can feel the separation and torque between the two pieces, it actually gets quite disconcerting.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
-9points
Review 20 for MB-D11 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unhappy solution

PostedMarch 18, 2011
filho50
Location Olinda, Brazil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is a shame for Nikon to provide this equipment that should not be called BATTERY PACK. It holds only ONE battery or six AA batteries at a time. The other battery must be placed inside the camera, and when it discharges, we must take this equipment off the camera body to recharge the battery...
-35points