Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7700

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7700

Nikon's COOLPIX P7700 empowers creativity with Full HD video, 19 Scene modes and PSAM controls. Rethink what's possible with a compact Nikon COOLPIX point-and-shoot camera.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 19 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
81 Questions | 94 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P7700
Review 1 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

big value in small package

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
pvc2112
Location Texas, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was looking for a compact camera to compliment my DSLR's and did not really want to go the 4/5 mirror less route. I got a refurbished item and am quite pleased with it. It has many of the same features as my D7000. I was surprised and very happy that it has a command flash function and works with all my Nikon flashes. It works well with my after market remote and intervalometer. The only thing that disappoints me is that it has no bulb function for star trails.
All in all a great value for an advance amateur or used as a travel or hiking camera.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A superb, high quality pocket camera

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Wasp
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been looking for a small, high quality compact camera to use when I do want to carry around my DSLRs/ film SLRs with a bag full of lenses. When I went to the local camera shop and picked up the Nikon Coolpix P7700 I knew I had fond it! I bought this little beauty and it has returned some brilliant photographs. The lens is very sharp and the camera is robustly made and finished to a very high standard. The pop up flash although not so powerful is useful for fill-in when the light is low. The camera has a hot shoe which is great for using a Speedlight. (I have attached the new SB300 which is perfectly balanced). The camera is really good for video shooting as well. Although, the camera is not the smallest it feels high quality and easily slips into a coat pocket, small bag, etc. The menu system can be accessed via the multi-positional screen and quite comprehensive and straight forward to use. In addition, the camera controls can be set easily using the camera's top dials for settings such as Program, Video, Manual, Aperture Priority, Manual and much, much more. This neat high quality compact has much to recommend it.
0points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Point and Shoot I have ever seen.

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Danny1949
Location North West Alabama
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a great camera for the Pro or serious armature. Perfect for those quick unexpected photo opps. Image quality is very similar to D300s. Lens is very sharp, excellent color and contrast. Easy to go from point and shoot to partial or full manual. Well built.
It is just a bit large and heavy for shirt pocket. Just what I have been looking for, a relatively small simple high quality camera.
+13points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent camera for this price, but even better if improve something

PostedMay 25, 2013
ryancat
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this product after looking through many compacts and DSLRs. I'm a student and do not have much money. The camera is very useful for those who do not have much money or wants a compact camera as a back-up for their DSLRs.
The P7700 shoots amazing photos and the videos are very good. The HS120fps video is a very good function, filming other's movement in HS is always fun. The lens of F2.0 at wide and F4.0 @200mm is just awesome. The 8fps High-speed Continuous is even faster than some DSLRs.
On the other hand, it may be better to improve something on this camera: the RAW writing speed, the sound recording bitrate(128kbps is too low for a good external microphone), the intervals of interval shooting(should have smaller intervals), the auto-focusing during video recording.
In general, this is a very good camera at this price. Strongly recommended.
+9points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Tier Nikon Quality

PostedApril 17, 2013
Lightpath48
Location Port Washington, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After reading many positive professional and consumer reviews of the P7700 I purchased one to complement my D5100. Having owned a number of premium compacts from other manufacturers I was looking for quality build, quick responsiveness and high image quality. I have found an unparalleled level in all of these, in addition to battery and flash compatibility with the D5100 and a very familiar menu system. Six ways are also provided to control camera functions through programmable buttons and dials. Functionality in the field is very high. I can easily give this camera five stars out of five and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quality compact camera experience.
+20points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Improved on the already great P7100, with one exception...

PostedMarch 16, 2013
PBCA
Location California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera has improved on the P7100, with one exception. For the way I use a camera, the swing-out LCD is far less preferable than the tilt-out of the P7100. I almost always shoot from the waist, and the swing-out makes for a larger footprint and a bit more awkward of a hold. Also, if using a small flash bracket it the tilt-out is far better. Thus, I strongly considered competing cameras that had LCD on a tilt mechanism, but the controls on the Nikons are so superior to anything I have used before… and that won out. I also considered adding a second P7100 (I needed a second camera to keep handy at work) but decided that the F2.0 was too useful to miss, and I will admit the swing-out LCD is slightly more rugged for travel. The manual lens cap is an improvement over the P7100 in my opinion; less handy, but far sturdier. In all, the engineers and Nikon did a good thing here.
+7points
Review 7 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great as a total package and the package is a brick!

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Old Man of the Shawnee National Forest
Location Shawnee National Forest, Illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Considering the size of the sensor, I was pleasantly surprised at the resolution and low light capability of the P7700. For 4x6 prints or newspaper or website use the ISO 3200 images were more than adequate. Some complain about the lack of an optical viewfinder,but I have little trouble being descrete while shooting the P7700. It's simple. Just hold the camera close to your face or torso. You can still see the LCD to compose and shoot. You do not have to hold a camera at arms length to use.
The combination of zoom range and lens speed is superlative as well. 200mm equivalent at f/4.0 is outstanding.
The flash commander mode to control external flash is feature unique among cameras in this catagory. I use it all the time and it works well.
No every one would aggree, but I much perfer the threaded lens front to an automatic lens door. A lens door is subject to damage that may make the camera inoperable, where the threaded lens front will accept a 49mm UV filter that, if damaged can be replaced for just a few dollars.
I will say the focus is not quite as fast or dependable as I'm used to, but is adequate in most situations.
My only other complaint is the fact that the camera does not have a sleep mode. If left on, instead of going to sleep as all my SLR's do, it just turns off. This requires the start button to be pushed and does take a few seconds. If it went to sleep, it would awakend quickly by simply touching the shutter release button.
Battery life is not great but adequate.
+12points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning performance few distractions

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Mitch
Location Seoul, South Korea
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Nikon has developed a compact camera worthy of its past and present. I own a D800, D600, D5100, F through F4, FA, FE and even an old 1950s Nikon rangefinder. I also own and shoot several other brands and while a teenager owned and shot a Leica MIII (sadly stolen). Picture quality is a solid 5. I do like the articulated screen but for many of us nothing replaces a viewfinder for functionality as well as battery conservation. So for this section I give it a 4.2. The P7700 also takes quite a bit of time to take consecutive pictures. Yes I know you can take a series in continuous mode yet in single it is very slow. Therefore for speed I give it a 3 The external controls are blessings from the past with huge benefits is the production of superbly refined pictures. This is the way all cameras should be made. We learned this in the past and Nikon finally remembered it for our productive future. Yeehaw with a 6 for remembering the way things were when they just worked right. The lens is outstanding. I shoot a lot of macro and this lens with its zoom is wonderful. Nikon did excellent work here a solid 5. Color rendition and exposure with or without the flash are excellent and match my DSLRs. The camera works like a dream with the SB400 and even has a commander mode! A solid 5.
So here's my review the camera would be perfect if it had a viewfinder and shot 2-3 frames per second in single mode but seeing nothing is perfect and because of the high quality pictures the wonderful lens and the functionality of the external controls this camera rates a 4.5 overall. Nikons rating scheme does not fully explain a cameras true usefulness. If I had my choice I would give star ratings in several areas like I did above then build an average. Market research is easy if done right. Therefore I must round up to 5 stars. I use this camera to shoot when I do not have my DSLRs and carry it every where at all times, just in case the once in a life time picture presents itself to me. This is a extraordinary camera!
+27points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Walk around dSLR

PostedDecember 26, 2012
NatureGirl12
Location Miami, FL, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just got this camera for Christmas and after charging up the Lithium Ion battery pack went immediately to taking pictures. I was honestly astonished by the quality of the shots, the wide variety of options that you're given, and so pleased with the PSAM mode options. It allows much more flexibility in creating the best exposure you can possibly get, especially with a compact digital. I upgraded to this camera after owning the S8100 and losing it and I believe this camera is worth every penny. It comes with a lens cap, battery, and a strap. Though it isn't as small as the S8100 it definitely isn't as large at my Nikon D3000 dSLR and it fits decently in your hand. Another great feature with this camera is the ability to change the ISO (which goes up to a range of 3200), White Balance, and picture quality. It also has three separate noise reduction features, whether normal noise reduction is decent or whether you need more or less NR. Spectacular! I have yet to try out the video features just yet, but I am excited to find out how they are. Might I add you can also control the flash and exposure through compensation features just like on your dSLR. I am still getting used to the swiveling screen, but find that it does serve a great purpose especially in keeping the screen safe from any scratches or dust. When I saw all the buttons I initially thought it was going to be very confusing to use, but that's quite the contrary, I rate this product extremely high in terms of ease of use. I think the only button that I had to use the process of elimination skill for was the shutter release, which is located on top of the zoom toggle, but if you have any hard times with that a quick look in your manual solves the problem instantly. All in all, a wonderful camera and I have no pressing negative points as of late. Thanks, Nikon, for producing another amazing quality camera.
+26points
Review 10 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a powerful lil Camera!!

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Graphyfotoz
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had several different brand Cameras over the years....Sony.....Canon and Fuji.
I won't get into a big sch-peel about the flaws in all of em but they were disappointing.
Now this 7700 has been most impressive Camera I have bought by far!
First thing that threw me off was the size....thought it was a tad bigger.
But that wasn't a bad thing cuz it's really handy to carry anywhere.
Very versatile with several shooting modes or full manual shooting if ya want.
With all the most used settings setup with dials like high end DSLR's have is VERY nice!
Got all the power and features of any DSLR I've ever seen cept changeable lens.
The fully articulating 3in view screen is a HUGE plus and very handy.
It doesn't have a eye level view finder but I never miss it.
The fast f2.0-4.0 lens is unheard of in a prosumer Camera and noticeable right off.
Takes amazingly clear photos in Night Landscape mode at ISO 1600 with very little noise!
Battery life is excellent....construction is solid and not toy like....fits in hand nicely.
This is the most impressive point and shoot/prosumer I have the pleasure of using so far.
No Camera is perfect but Beginner or Pro you will love this Camera!
I had considered the Canon G15 but review photo compare 7700 was a tad better.
Also a much better zoom with high end glass with the f2.0-f4.0 speed sold me.
I've been into digital photography since 2000 so I'm not new to all this.
I have 25yrs of actual photography experience and consider the P7700 a must have.
+18points
Review 11 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantástica!! Excelente calidad

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Beto 71
Location Mérida, YUC, México
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Excelente cámara, óptica de calidad Nikon, bastante portable y fotos excelentes para colgar en mi galería. Anteriomente use la Coolpix P7000 y abandoné la Nikon D300s que sólo uso para estudio ahora y con la Coolpix P7700 yo creo que hasta para estudio la voy a utilizar ya que trae control para flashes nikon.
Si algo extraño un poco, es el visor óptico pero puedo vivir sin él.
Excelente cámara, la uso para ir de viaje, fotografía de niños y para macros.
+18points
Review 12 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

P7700: High performance, very few compromises

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Happy Nikon user since the '70s
Location Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Bought my P7700 soon after it became available. After doing some hands-on of new cameras, had seriously considered the the Sony DSC-RX100 and the Canon PowerShot G15. Both of these were good products, but keeping it simple, the Nikon P7700 won me over with its combination of an exceptionally good f/2.0 28-200mm Nikkor zoom lens, its fully articulated 3-inch LCD hi-res 921,000 dot display, a real dedicated hot shoe and its ability to use filters, among other features.
I also own and am happy with my earlier P7100, but this new P7700 is an excellent evolutionary upgrade as the Performance-series flagship, a camera designed with the dedicated photo enthusiast in mind. It's solid and rugged, and is an excellent travel or everyday camera. It offers the right balance of features, an excellent 12.2 Megapixel CMOS-type sensor, RAW (NRW) support, uses SD, SDHC and SDXC memory cards, ability to use any 40.5 mm filters (compatible with Nikon 1 series), continuation of the EN-EL14 Li-ion battery, top-notch macro performance, and surprisingly improved ergonomics.
The new Nikkor ED glass formulation of 13 elements in 10 groups is excellent, but no description of the lens would be complete without mentioning that the built-in neutral density filter added to its 7-blade rounded-iris aperture offers beautifully natural bokeh, better than this user has encountered in a compact digital camera. Just beginning to explore this, but my results have been quite pleasing.
The P7700 is the finest advanced enthusiast compact digital camera that I've used, though that can be considered highly subjective depending on the needs of the individual. Since I've had it, my Nikon DSLRs have been hardly used, as this one fits so many needs that I've not mentioned here. It's an excellent imaging tool for street photography, and a product that really lives up to the Nikon name. Highly recommended to anyone with similar needs in a digital camera, and a bargain for all that it offers.
+51points
Review 13 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

'P' Series has evolved best compact camera on the market

PostedOctober 12, 2012
SBMcCue
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My wife bought me a Coolpix P7000 for Christmas in 2010. As many now realize, that camera - while an alternative to the Canon G series - was heavily flawed. I could see the potential in the design, however, and bought a P7100 when it debuted in late 2011.
Initially, I decided not to upgrade to the P7700 due to the lack of an optical viewfinder. Finally, I gave in and ordered the camera anyway. I'm certainly glad I did ... this is the best compact camera on the market as of October, 2012.
Sony's entry feels like a toy in comparison, and the Canon S100 and S110 have annoying glitches that, for my purposes, rendered them almost useless. The P7700 is built like a tank, has terrific IQ - the bokeh on the first shot I took blew me away! - and glass that's fast enough for almost anything.
+30points
Review 14 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best compact camera ever

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
NikonBoy
Location London, ON, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i just picked up this camera at a local camera store i can say with full honesty that its one of the best cameras ive ever owned. After a number of cameras ( sony rx100, panasonic lx7 ) and a number of hours i chose the p7700 because of the tiltable screen, improved sensor, fast and bright nikon lens with aperature 2-4 at 7x zoom, the 1080p video at 30fps, or slow motion 100fps at 480p resolution, or fast videography at 1080p 15fps and all the buttons and controls of a dslr. The picture quality is outstanding ( especially when shooting in RAW ) and i love how Nikon added on a microphone input for better sound quality. Overall this camera is outstanding and i cant wait to wake up every morning and start shooting. I can highly recommend this camera for someone whos not looking for a dslr, but wants all the manual controls of one and someone who loves to shoot video. Best camera for the price.
+25points
Review 15 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

versatile camera and fun to use

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Daniel
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It's JPG images are higher quality then RAW (NRW) so I shoot JPG with it though I would prefer RAW for editing. Overall It's a very versatile camera and a pleasure (fun) to use. I suggest for the next version Nikon add a DX sensor and tweak the RAW image format while keeping all the other features. With these improvements they would have the best all around serious compact camera on the market.
+2points
Review 16 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost perfect!

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Rebecka
Everything is good except for the lack of:
- Optical viewfinder
- Touch screen (no vari-angle needed)
- Built-in Wi-Fi
Add this to the sequel!
+3points
Review 17 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great carry around

PostedNovember 20, 2012
davejm53
After buying and then returning Sony NEX-5N, Canon SX 260, and the Canon G15, I am now the owner of this Nikon P7700, and very happy to keep it. I was wanting a lighter weight camera to carry around during the day. My Canon 50D is my main camera, but heavy on my shoulder, and, being a glasses wearer, I was looking for an LCD screen. This fits the bill. Tilt screen, wonderful quality JPEGS and RAW. I've been using it for 2 weeks now and very happy I kept it.
+11points
Review 18 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

P7700 addresses a long term need I have had in shooting large groups on stage in poor lighting situations.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
The old timer Tennessee hillbilly
Location Oak Ridge, TN, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Overall, I am quite pleased with the camera, having received it from the Nikon Store three days ago. The inclusion of more user analog controls is a real benefit to semi-pros and serious amateurs. I love having direct access to ISO, WB, Bracketing and quality at the pressing of a button on the top dial. Also the image sharpness in low light is better than any compact I have seen. +/- three stops at a touch of the exposure control dial on top is also a real pro feature.The camera body seems to be solid and provides a feel of confidence in reliability and ease of holding one handed. I was disappointed to learn that the supplied software is not compatible with Mac Mountain Lion and Adobe PS CS5 has no Plug-in compatible with Mountain Lion. My only immediate route to managing Raw NRW files (used in the P7700) was to upgrade the CS5 to CS6. One other comment; Nikon's recommended LCD viewfinder protective add-on transparent cover is pricy and will not let the viewfinder close completely flat onto the camera back. I have chosen to leave the viewing screen open to the rear so it will lay flat. It is quite sturdy and provides a reassuringly strong cover. My last compact was the Canon Powershot S5IS and the Canon S90. This camera is well above both in pro features and image quality.
+28points
Review 19 for COOLPIX P7700
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay but missing a Viewfinder....

PostedMay 15, 2013
Mar
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon P7700 does not have a viewfinder like the P7000 or 7100 I have the P7000. I wanted to replace it with the P7700 but I like the viewfinder.
But compare to my P7000 the P7700 is better but I still am not sure because of no viewfinder. Why did Nikon remove a good thing?
Nikon should replace the P7700 ASAP with one with a viewfinder and I will be interest in it. I again like the camera but the ones before where much better. Bring it back like it was and keep the LCD in one place. Yes a moveable LCD is great but more to break down.
But to say I am still thinking of buying it maybe once you get use to it all will be okay.
Mar
-10points