Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P310

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P310

Enhance your low-light photography with a superb f/1.8 maximum aperture 24mm wide-angle 4.2x Zoom-NIKKOR glass lens and advanced 16.1MP CMOS sensor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P310
Review 1 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful things come in small packages!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Fairwayqueen
Location Monroe, New York
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I am really glad I got this camera. And I have gotten so many compliments on the pictures and even expert friends are impressed with this camera. I uploaded a video of images and videos taken with this camera on Youtube. Some of those were the best I have ever taken.
+2points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Una pequeña gigante

PostedNovember 2, 2013
pegutier
Location Caracas, Venezuela
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Como fotógrafo avanzado compre la P310 para obtener mayor facilidad en el desplazamiento urbano y de viaje. Me enamoro si lente 1:1.8, muy luminoso, las posibilidad de realizar macro y su fotos de excelente calidad. Me acompaña siempre junto a la D7000, facilitándome las tomas donde hay poca luz, No me gusta tomar con flash. Últimamente viaje a Grecia, en un crucero por las islas, la P310 me facilito, sin trípode hacer vídeo de danzan tradicionales, pues además de su bajo peso la calidad de la imagen y del sonido me permitió grabar la totalidad del baile sin problema de peso. No solamente la he recomendado sino que la he vuelto a comprar, pues regale la primera. Es un pequeña y practica cámara que hace un trabajo de un gigante
+1point
Review 3 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Camara

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Roger
Location D.F., México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Definitivamente es la mejor cámara compacta semi-profesional que he comprado hasta ahora, tiene un modo manual el cual si tu sabes de fotografía puedes tomar muy buenas fotografías sin necesidad del molesto flash y sin llevar una cámara enorme, debido al lente luminoso que trae (1:1.8 - 4.9) es perfecta para tomar fotos de noche. La he llevado mucho a conciertos y al teatro y trabaja muy muy bien. Yo odio usar flash y a los lugares que voy no puedo llevar tripie, con esta tienes esa libertad.
-2points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank You NIKON!

PostedMay 5, 2013
CJ
Location Philippines
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This little camera is great! It looks very simple but with great performance. I'm always using my smartphone in taking photos before but I'm not satisfied with the results but since I bought and used this camera, I'm very satisfied and love the photos I'm getting from it. More people are liking my photos. There was a time when we had a Summer Outing and some of my companions are using big DSLR cameras (from different brands) in taking photos- I was kinda get insecure at first but I took photos anyway, and the time all of us uploaded our taken photos in facebook more people liked and praising my photos than my DSLR user companions. My photos look sharper than them specially at night time.
This camera changed my photo taking experience. Thank you very much Nikon! and I will look forward to my next camera purchase from you.
+11points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compacta semi-profissional

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Mligor2000
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Como um fotografo amador “avançado”, acredito que o mais importante para obter ótimos resultados com a P310 é conhecer um pouco sobre as propriedades de velocidade e fator de abertura do obturador sem esquecer-se da combinação do fator de compensação de exposição.
Realmente, devido à complexidade e inúmeras possibilidades de comandos, para o fotografo popular que procura praticidade de tirar fotos sem se preocupar com as três premissas básicas importantes para uma boa foto, a P310 irá exigir um pouco da paciência e dedicação do fotografo em experimentar todas as possibilidades de recursos possíveis para extrair fotos de primeira qualidade. Digo, primeira qualidade mesmo!
Após fazer algumas comparações com minhas outras câmeras, todas compactas, como Sony HX9V, Canon SX260 HS e Panasonic ZS25, pude observar a nitidez e a distribuição de cores extremamente realistas. Uma qualidade superior em relação a estas, mas isto, após os devidos ajustes comentados acima.
O único ponto fraco que considero nesta câmera, pode ser um problema só da minha, é quanto ao VR (Redução de Vibração) não achei tão eficiente quanto aos demais.
Quanto à filmagem, obtive excelentes resultado no modo automático e programado e todos no modo normal.
Excelente câmera, nota máxima.
M.Leandro
-7points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

For the love of photography nikon why?

PostedNovember 25, 2012
stevenchadg
Location Alabama, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ok this is a 2 part review Now for the first part the P310 does perform very well as long u stay in its strength zone and use manuel controles get outside of this the photos does suffer some but u can use the shutter speed to help with it . so what are its strength the I.S.O. setting set it ether at 100 ISO in daytime then at eveing and night time go to the auto setting of 100--400 or 100---800. leave it there then go to the shutter control's and set it to what ever u r trying to shoot i do recommend getting a tripod for this do to slow shutter speeds that u might be shotting at but it performs well i love this camera it makes a great street photography camera it is small very quite once u turn off the sounds the controles are perfect as for me i would not wont no built in wi-fi or gps in this camera i dont mind shooting jpeg ether why i say this? becuse they can use the extra room inside the camera for my next part the part 2 of this review this is where im getting on a soap box and rant please nikon i am not alone in this and its not me just saying this ether. ok like my title says For the love of photography nikon why? do u still a aspen size sensor i this camera and cram 16mp on top of it knowing it going to make noise at 800 iso and above ? are u doing this for market reason ? u need to stop it becuse u r only hurting yourslef it make no sense to me that the P-series "performance series" has 3 cameras in them 2 of them has the same sensor and processor as the rest of the coolpix cameras but u r willing to charge us a premium price for them? why dont u do what every outher milllon reviews for the P-510 and P310 says but the same thing inside these cameras as u do in the P7700 the meaty big postel stamp size sensor and processer as u do in the p7700 the P510-P310 compeate in a very tuff market area not only i believe it but every person does to that it be tied for 1st and win many awards if you are willling to do this one simple thing on the p310 the controls are perfect the size to me is perfect as for me i dont need gps or wi-fi built in to it instead of trying to shoe horn that into why dont u use that space for outher goodies like beefer processor and sensor mabey tone down the f/stops love the f-1.8 since it dont have a long zoom only 4.2x why dont u stop it at 2.8 ? i see len's that are long zoom that are f-2.8 why cant this camera have that ? i think it would make this camera the go to camera in this category picture it people THE P310 WITH 1/1.7 CMOS SENSOR 12MP WITH F-1.8--2.8 LENS WITH FULL MANUAL CONTROLS 4.3MM-17.9MM LENS REACH HOW CAN U GO WROUNG WITH THAT ???? OK NOW I WILL STOP let me leave you with this i do recommend u getting a class 10 card with a high write speed of 400x or greater to get the maxium performance out of this camera dont get me wroung with my rant i love the camera for what it for what it does as long u stay in its strength zone remember it has got a 1/2.3 sensor at 16mp like i said above if they dail that back to 12mp and put a 1/1.7 sensor in it i think it will perform 10x better
-6points
Review 7 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fine camera, clumsy, hard-to-use manual on a CD

PostedApril 6, 2012
Henry
Location Washington, DC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
With my Nikon S600, I took its small, compact manual with me whenever I traveled. Even with my D5000 I can take the manual with me. Now this option does not exist. I will have to carry about lots of pages that I have printed. If a printed manual were available, even for a price, I'd buy it in a flash. I hope Nikon changes their policy of making the manual available only on a CD.
+39points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P310
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This camera is a fail in the only criteria that matters.

PostedJune 14, 2013
UnHappy2013Customer
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
The Nikon P310 is about as non-intuitive as a camera can get. You are constantly scrolling through menus and playing with various settings to take a simple shot. It's almost as if the system is designed to make you just put the dial on AUTO and let the camera do all the work.
But in the only area that counts, this camera is a massive FAIL!!!!
Nikon has been known for it's picture quality since Moses first used a Nikon point & shoot during his racing career. He would not have liked the P310.
I also have a five year old Canon A3000is that smokes the P310 in EVERY respect! The ten meg Canon images are sharper and far crisper than the sixteen meg Nikon P310. The P310 images are littered with artifacts, the autofocus is very slow and cumbersome and compared to my Canon, the P310 is a royal pain to operate!
I wish I had the camera that everyone else here has, because MY P310 is is not nearly as wonderful as the others that have been reviewed here.
-3points