Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.056 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
14 out of 18(78%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice easy to use

PostedAugust 20, 2012
truckadsjoe
Location Seabrook, TX, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
We bought this camera as a replacement for another waterproof one we wore out on our SUPtheUSA 50 state paddleboard quest, have taken hundreds of pictures and movies in the past 2 weeks with it. Very nice image quality and ease of use.
-1point
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WATERPROOF!

PostedAugust 7, 2012
NikonN8
Optical zoom, waterproof, HD video recording, 16mp, under $400.... Awesome!
+1point
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The perfect little camera for me!

PostedJuly 31, 2012
jisaac
I purchased this camera for a vacation. I wanted it to be high quality, but small so it could travel easily. The EASY AUTO feature is especially good. If I point/shoot at a mountain, it changes to landscape, if I point it at a group of people, it changes to portrait. I used the NIGHT PORTRAIT feature with a lot of success too. Also really enjoyed the PANORAMA with 180 and 360 degree options. The zoom quality was nice and my pictures came out awesome. I took some video too which came out great. The battery life was long for stills (far better than I expected) , but beware that it drains quickly when shooting video. I purchased from Costco, and it came in a kit with a nice neoprene & rubber case with a carabineer clip that was very useful to have.
+1point
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed...!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
sport pro
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have a large pro type camera that is to much to always carry around but I love the photo quality I get when I use it. I have been disapointed with any point and shoot that I have tried.... Until now. I love the photo quality and the size of this camera. I hate to say it but I think the big guy is going to be staying home much more. This camera is the real deal.
0points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does everything!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Kona Swimmer
Location Kona Hawaii
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The underwater feature of this camera is great! I'm impressed with the sharpness and color quality of the photos I've taken in the ocean. Great little camera for swimmers, snorkelers, hikers. The above ground features are impressive for a small camera as well. I haven't experimented with night photography such as fireworks but it does take beautiful sunset and sunrise photos. I would recomend this product.
0points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute little powerful option when the big Nikon SLR is too heavy and it's raining

PostedJune 28, 2012
LC
Location Longboat Key, FL, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Just got it. I used it to take pictures during tropical storm Debby and to document washed out turtle nests here on a barrier island in Florida. Who knew I'd need it for that? I ordered it for kayaking. So far I love it and I am a dedicated SLR person. But I can't throw my D80 into the pool. It uses the same memory cards as the D80 and is very easy to transfer pix from.
-2points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Too soon to answer

PostedApril 21, 2012
Anoymous
I don't own a Nikon S8200. I do own a Nikon Coolpix AW 100.
When I started photographing in 1951, I had first a very compact Zeiss, followed closely by a Leica, followed closely by more Leica's culminating in one of those Leica reflex cameras. I paralled all this with much money spent on Nikon reflex models, accompanied in both cases with lots and lots of lenses, fliters, flashes and so forth. It finally occurred to me that I wasn't taking pictures anymore.
When I went across the Atlantic for the fitst time under sail in 1966, I took a half-frame camera with me. I could shelter in a pocket of my foul-weather gear. It was a great success, but i returned to my foolish ways of more and more accessories.
The early Leica enthusiasts understood sutpidity. They understood at once that a camera is useless if it isn't instantly aviailable when you want to use it. Extra lenses be damned. Take a different picture without them.
So far, i'm greatly enamoured of my AW 100. It's really small. It's ability in low-light situations is very exciting. It's so unblevably compact that i actually do have it with me most of the time. I am photographing again.
I would like to ask the Nikon engineers what motivated them to recover the excitement and possibility of that first Leica F! all those years after it first appeared? It was a brilliant stroke of imagination, and the camera you've designed to embody that idea is an astonishing feat. I've spent my money wisely. I can only hope that my eye for a picture comes within a thousand miles of my Coolpix AW100's ability. After all, it IS a Nikon, and I've owned enough cameras over the years to know what that means!
0points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera.

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Wilhelm
Location Haddonfield, NJ, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My wife (not very technical) uses it and gets excellent results. Night mode is excellent.
0points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great results from small camera

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Harley Rider
Location Indianapolis IN
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
small camera and easy to take with wherever you go. Great pics for such a small camera.
+1point
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just bought it..so far, so good

PostedDecember 5, 2011
BigDaddy
Location Plant City Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I needed a "good" camera that was simple to use but took very good pictures. I'm not so much interested in the video function but my "You Tube" savvy son is. I will review the video later, but the quality of the photos is more than I expected.
0points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just what the DR ordered

PostedOctober 20, 2011
dtodj
Location Mystic,CT
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ordered the S8200 after reading the reviews about the S8100 hopefully Nikon has made the improvements especially "lens error message"
zoom was increased screen is clear and bright. menu easy to navigate, flash has a tendency to pop up in moderate low light, I just set flash to off. I use this as a back up to the Nikon L120, easy to slide into pocket. So far battery life is good only problem you have to charge battery in camera so a small separate wall charger is a help, with extra battery. So far so good. Keep up the good work Nikon, sharp pictures -easy to use-good options-good feel-good price.
-2points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good activity camera for watersports

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Difficultberth
Location Boulder, CO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I shoot Nikon DSLRs but picked up the AW100 to take to Belize for snorkeling and snapshots. The separate button to initiate video is a great feature and switched back and forth between still shots underwater and movies. And it fits easily into my pocket for snapshots when wandering around town. Menus took a little while to figure out and some buttons could have be a little bigger, but I managed around those limitations easily. I now use it on a joby tripod to evaluate my swimming stroke and carry climbing and hiking. One hand shooting is possible.
0points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good camera/bad battery charging system.

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Re-enactor
Location Red Lodge, Montana
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Nice camera for the size, price, various functions and lens capability BUT:
1) The method of recharging the battery through the camera is terrible. This is product devolution!
I had to order another battery (which is a good idea anyway) and a separate charger device. This Nikon charger is also a terrible design and a huge problem in that it does not plug directly into a wall socket. It comes with a cord. This is too much nonsense to carry around. Nikon should be above this nonsense. I purchased the camera knowing Nikon's great reputation but am upset and greatly disappointed that the battery system is so lame.
2) Also the pop-up flash is a foolish flaw. It should just flash through a built-in widow like my previous Canon Elph.
3) The case that came with it is too small, has no shoulder strap, or extra pocket for any spare battery etc.and closes with a magnet! Digital info should not be near magnets--as it states on the safety sheet warnings. I also do not trust the tight-fitting magnetic closure to stay closed. There are much better cases on the market and I must now seek out one of those and spend more.
One need only to read the many reviews on Amazon to see how upset ALL buyers of this product are with these simple design flaws.
Shame on Nikon! You should know better.
-2points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for its size

PostedOctober 29, 2011
stopper
Location Metuchen, NJ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
great for its size with a few drawbacks - certainly wish they included a manual with the camera so that one could learn about it "on the go!". Occasionlally the on/off button is stubborn - perhaps a bit too small, or perhaps it should be slightly raised. Sometimes a bit slow to fire. Color quality is great and the camera is fairly intuitive.
Mostly it's the size...great versatility while it really fits in your pocket.
0points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Wide Angle Range

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Sandman
Location AK
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The camera takes good pictures and the quick video button is nice when wanting to capture video. There are two major flaws. The pop up flash is a huge knock when you ask for someone to take your picture because the flash will be called but there finger will be in the way if you do not already have the flash popped up. The second flaw is really more of a critical assessment of the camera...I desire better low light performance, but the wide zoom range leaves the camera with a high f-stop. Besides my two critical complaints, the camera takes really nice pictures and they are sharp.
For what I paid, I would recommend the Canon S100 for it's low light capability and canon's richer color reproduction in the point and shoot camera family.
0points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Will not download, tech support no help

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Doc Z
Location upstate NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This camera will not download to my computer either with or without the included software despite trying different USB cables & ports. Tech support clearly did not read my question. The following day my password at Nikon failed & could not be reset, preventing me from any further attempts to contact Nikon. At this time I am sending the camera to repair as a last resort. So far I have a $350 paperweight. Tech problems happen, but Nikon's handling of this problem has been unacceptable. The irony is that the photos themselves appear to be good quality, but they are worthless if I can't download.
-1point
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Foggy Lens and Screen

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Coolpix AW100
Location Kauai, HI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very disappointed in this camera. When camera is submerged in the ocean (80 degrees F) the glass behind the lens becomes clouded with condensation and fogs up for at least 5-10 minutes. Random spots and streaks also appear on the LCD screen during this time. This camera is brand new and has not been damaged. I've owned underwater cameras similar to this style before and have never experienced this.
-2points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Documentation

PostedJune 11, 2012
Tek9
Location Fort Pierce, FL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First all let me say that I purchased & registered a Nikon AW100 (all weather camera) I then got an invite to rate the coolpix s8200. Also, on the documentation of for your safety & how to care for your camera, I was disappointed to see that Nikon did not take the time to update the info for the all weather camera. On the header it specifically had AW100 so I knew that it was talking about the camera that I had purchased. But when reading the instructions it said to not submerge in water & to avoid moister! To keep from vibrations & extreme shock! The Nikon AW100 is for those exact types of conditions, at least that's what they're advertising. If the people writing the docs on usage & serial #'s don't match the products they're selling , then something is wrong with the quality of service. These things shouldn't happen with a company like Nikon.
Didn't even play with the camera due to the fact that it's how to care for the camera didn't match what the camera is supposedly capable of. Didn't want to end up with a damaged product then Nikon telling me that I should have read the instructions on how to care for your camera.
-1point