Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7100

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7100

The P7100 COOLPIX Compact Digital Camera gives you amazing photos and movies with intense detail thanks to a large 1/1.7” CCD sensor and Nikon’s super resolution image technology.
Average Customer Rating:
4.288 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 52 reviews
5 stars
32
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
43 out of 52(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P7100
Review 1 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best ergonometrics in a compact

PostedMarch 16, 2013
PBCA
Location California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The P7100 was purchased after several epiphanies: when travelling I never have room for my DLSR any more, or even a mirror-less system for that matter; 99% of my images are never printed on paper; and as I now need reading glasses viewfinders are of lesser value. The P7100 has become my main camera replacement, taking the place of both my compact and my DSLR for almost everything. Excellent IQ but the outstanding feature is the ergonometrics; I love features like having separate controls for Aperture and Shutter and having things like Flash Compensation at hand without going to the menu. These controls are main selling feature of the camera for me. The tilt out screen is the main feature I like; I generally shoot from the waist.
+6points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best camera I had so far!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Rookie31st
Location Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is not easy to choose a camera. So many brands and models! It took me a lot of time to make final decision. I wanted to say "Good bye" to my old 4-megapixel Olympus C-765UZ. I was using it for nearly 10 years! Great camera, but time takes its toll. I chose Coolpix P7100 as replacement. I was dreaming about decent camera, but did not want to invest into bulky dSLR or ever newer light mirrorless systems. I have read many reviews about P7100, paying extra attention to negative reviews. I noticed that many people who was not satisfied with P7100 claim to be dSLR users. Would you expect them to be fully satisfied with relatively simpler and slower camera? I would not. For me, this camera is a huge step forward from my 10-year-old Olympus. P7100 is much faster. Quality is much better. Screen is much bigger and tilting. Manual controls are much easier to access using plenty of dials. No, I don't touch them by accident like some users reported. I can control my fingers with high precision. I will have a lot of time learning how to use all the features presented in this camera, and I am looking forward to it. This camera might not be perfect for everyone, and I am sure I will find something that I would not like, but hey, is there anything perfect in the world? I don't think so. I am very happy with this camera, and I got it for just $325 dollars including shipping, Onyx bag and 4GB memory card.
+3points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera-little dslr

PostedOctober 9, 2012
mr.nikon
This is a great camera. I have a nikon d7000 which is nikons best dx camera. I use this camera when i need a light camera. The camera is great in low light. I use a sb-400 flash with this camera a great combo. I would like to have 1080p but video is good.
0points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big improvement over P7000

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Nkon Fan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Major improvement over P7000. Seems faster and I appreciate the pull-out LCD to help take photos from different angles. When shooting in manual mode it's a big help to have the front dial for quickly, easily changing Aperture.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+2points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for everyday photography

PostedAugust 15, 2012
D'may
Location Soemwhere Arizona
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am still in the process of learning how to use this camera. There are so many different features on it. I like that I can set it on automatic and roll with the flow, along with being able to use various settings, including manual, for more specialized shooting. Highly recommended as the camera to have with you for everyday use rather than carrying around a full blown digital SLR and lenses. Not that I plan to give up the SLR anytime soon. My only gripe is that I wish Nikon had included a case with the camera like the nice leather case that came bundled with the Coolpix S8100 I bought at Costco. Are you listening Nikon?
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The P7100 Delivers Photo Quality Beyond My Expections

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Kenny G.
Location Vancouiver,WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I bought my P7100 hoping that the operation and photo quality would be good enough so I could leave my much larger and heavier Nikon cameras and Len's at home once in a while. I like to go into the city of Portland, OR. and just shoot architecture and other subjects I happen onto without having to haul all my camera gear with me every time. I have used all the functions and it amazes me what it can do. I can't believe how well it does in close-up mode. Even the HDR function surprised me with how well it did. I have printed some 13x19 photos from the P7100 and they turned as well as shots from the D200. Ive' shot professonaly in the past and I know quality. The P7100 is quality shooter !
+8points
Review 7 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features for small camera!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
boliver
Location Macedon, NY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great little camera! I shoot RAW most of the time and use it as backup to my bigger DSLR...and the pics are almost as good! Can shoot brackets, which I use often. It is small enough to carry around and have it handy whenever needed. The quality of photos is awsome!! And as usual, the user interface and getting around the menus is simple.
+4points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Many features in a small package

PostedJuly 29, 2012
smile1900
Location Los Angeles, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great camera. I have already reviewed it but I bought a second one because the first one got stolen. Image quality is outstanding and very close to that of a DSLR. There are many features. I like that I can shoot raw, set the camera in manual mode if I need to. I have used this camera extensively in all light conditions and I have to say that low light is handled well by this camera provided one knows how to use it. I like that I can change settings quickly from outside buttons. I particularly like the built in ND filter because it allows me to do long exposures, which I like to do.
Of course, in order to fully appreciate the value of this small camera, one has to learn it and get a feel for all the features that are offered. It's a really serious compact.
The coolpix P7100 has been with me in many difficult environments from dusty to icy places and performed very well every time. It's the camera I take when I travel. I love the 200mm zoom lens. And even though I don't use the long zoom on a regular basis, it has come handy very often. The quality is very good at 200mm too.
+4points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome point and shoot camera

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Jason
Location Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is great. It is exactly what I want. I don't want to carry around a big SLR or a bunch of lenses and equipment. I just want something that is small enough to take everywhere, and that will take great pictures. This camera does that. It gives me all the flexibility I need with almost all of the adjustments you get in an SLR.
+1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic camera

PostedJune 18, 2012
Jan
Location Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My CoolPix 7100 does everything and more than my non -Nikon D SLR does. I love the light weight, compact design, easy to change settings. The zoom saves lugging extra lenses and the view finder is a necessity when the sun is very bright. I especially like the flash switch...so easy to use without going to a menu . The same can be said for changing Quality settings. This is my first Nikon and I am extremely pleased with my new purchase.
+2points
Review 11 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its a Nikon, say no more!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Olook
Location Mid-west , USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased the Nikon P7100 because of the larger sensor and extensive manual features. I have had the camera now for close to a month and could not be happier with the overall performance. I upgraded from a 12.2 mega pixel point and shoot and I can say the dynamic range of both contrast and colors with this Nikon P7100 camera are outstanding. I have been working with all the features and noticed the controls for these features are very easy to access with all the function buttons on this camera. My passion is macro photography and this P7100 does a very nice job, no complaints. The tilting display makes it very nice to shoot at all angles, a must for macro. The low light capabilities are also a plus, thanks to the larger sensor and wide angle lense. Oh and did I mention the lens? Well it is Nikkor glass, thats what defines a Nikon and this P7100 is truly Nikon all the way. I could go on and on about the features but it is easier to just say if you are looking to upgrade to an advanced point and shoot with extensive manual controls then do not hesitate to purchase a Nikon P7100, you will not be disappointed. .
+4points
Review 12 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features in a nice compact camera

PostedMay 24, 2012
NikonHappy
As a long time Nikon DSLR shooter, I was getting tired of hauling the big dslr & its lenses around all the time, especially on short trips, so I went looking for an advanced compact camera to provide most of what my dslr does without the weight. The other requirement was no lens changes. The P7100 meets those requirements plus brings more options than I had even thought about. Fairly steep learning curve; got David Busch's guide to help. Just one week into the new camera; the pictures are great & it is so much fun to shoot with!
+6points
Review 13 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Enfoque veloz y comodo uso

PostedMay 5, 2012
Rev45
Location méxico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Eficaz diseño, versatiles funciones profesionales.
+3points
Review 14 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gran Equipo de Fotografia

PostedMay 4, 2012
HHAMX
Location DF
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Sin duda equipo con grandes capacidades y efectos dignas de una SLR (Reflex).
Lo malo es que el view finder no es electronico y el enfoque manual no tiene capacidad para modificar exposicion. Sin embargo, definitivamente si es un equipo recomendable para cualquier amante de la fotografia en serio.
+5points
Review 15 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Product

PostedApril 19, 2012
Tinker
Location Tucson, AZ, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Improved over P7000 - Faster, better white balance and color rendition (better than primary competition). Great battery life. Good feature set. Good build quality. Reliability to be determined. Expected to be good based on previous Nikon experience.
Could benefit from UV haze filter and Polarizing filter.
Quick disconnect neck strap would improve versatility.
 
My product recommendations
 
+6points
Review 16 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

'Monster' of a camera!

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Jostian
Location Pretoria, South Africa
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Everything the P7000 should have been, unbelievable amount of manual control options, brilliant IQ, well built, only problem I have is very yellow shots in Low Light Mode no matter what I change WB to.
+1point
Review 17 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely pleased!!!

PostedMarch 2, 2012
songman1950
Location Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used both Sony and Canon products similar to this camera. I have to say that I have enjoyed this camera much more!!! All the bells and whistles are there for anyone wanting to "take it up a notch". You can put it on auto and just use it as a point and shoot. It works very well. But if you're like me, and enjoy having a little more control, you can move into a more manual operation and you call the shots. I've shot over 1,000 pics so far (I've only had it for about a week) and I have to say I'm very pleased. I have experimented with flash units on it and been very pleased with that too. I've used Pocket Wizards with flash off camera and I've used a Ray Flash on for macro shots!!! It handles them all with ease. Image quality is very good. I've increased ISO up to 3200 and found the image still usable (although I've corrected some in software for noise reduction). Out of camera images are still good at 800 to 1600 ISO. It fits extremely well in your hand. The ergonomic design is much better than other cameras I've used. It's perfect for those trips where you don't want to take along a DSLR (or for that person that just wants one camera to do it all, this one fits that bill too). I don't used video that much but have tried it out some and found it does a very good job (video is very clear). Overall I plan on using this camera for years to come. I'm very glad I purchased it (after much online searching and researching).
+12points
Review 18 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a surprise!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Kem
Location Charleston, SC photographer
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just received my Nikon P7100 and took it for a test drive. I have been an film photographer for over 40 years and am one of the last to convert to digital. I wanted a camera that would give both full automatic and full manual capabilities in a budget priced package. If this is what you are looking for then the P7100 is for you. The learning curve for the many controls is short as the camera has an excellent, intuitive layout. Nikon put a lot of thought into which controls would be most used by the advanced user. For example, one dial is dedicated to exposure compensation, a very common accessory for many photographers. Physically, this little gem is well balanced and easy to control. It feels comfy in the hand. The wide ISO range allows for shooting in a variety of lighting conditions with little loss in image quality. I was surprised! If you are the type of person who likes to do a lot of post shooting image manipulation then you won't be disappointed. This camera can record in JPEG and RAW format giving you all the latitude you could desire for computer "darkroom" play. I do wish the camera would accept additional telephoto lenses as I feel limited by the 28-200 mm configuration of the lens system. While this lens appears to be excellent, I would love to reach out with a 400 mm lens. Perhaps Nikon will consider this in a future generation. Whether you are a beginner who is looking for a camera to learn all aspects of photography or a dedicated professional looking for that "pocket back up", you won't be disappointed by the Nikon P7100.
+21points
Review 19 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressive!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Easy Street
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My wife is a professional photographer so I handed over my new Nikon P7100 for her to "check out" for me. She uses a Nikon D3s with top-of-the line Nikkor lenses for her professional work so I'm sure that she was not expecting too much from the "point & shoot" P7100. Was she surprised...especially with the "low-light" capability of this little "gem"! The photos produced were sharp, bright and the colors were outstanding. Add to that a Nikkor 7.1x wide optical zoom and HD video and she gave the P7100 two "thumbs up" with no reservations. Note: We utilized the HD video at our grandson's basketball game. Even in indoor gym lighting, the video came out sharp, bright and focused with excellent audio quality. All in all, the P7100 is a wonderful camera! I just point & shoot and it does all the work for me.
+13points
Review 20 for COOLPIX P7100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic pictures and relatively easy to use

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Dimpleschick
Location Island in the Caribbean
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My review targets the casual user who wants excellent photographs without having to use manual controls.
I have always used a point-and-shoot camera and have always been disappointed when I wanted to have my subject appear closer than what the lens was capable of. The P7100 has provided what I am looking for. I like that I can use the automatic controls and the zoom lens gives me the photos I have been wanting to take. The tilting monitor is very helpful for taking high and low shots . There are so many features in this camera that I am pleased with. The colors are true. The battery lasts longer than I expected before needing to be recharged. It takes videos which I haven't even tried yet.
I read a lot of reviews and interviewed several cameras at my local camera shop before I decided on this one. I have made the right choice. While Nikon makes many very good point and shoot cameras, I am glad that I finally made the step up to the next level in photography. I live on an island which gives me lots of photo opportunities. I am still learning to use the features of this camera. I am sure it will take me quite some time to do it well, but I am sure having fun.
The only thing that I would change is the neck strap. I don't want my camera hanging around my neck. I would prefer to have a sturdy wrist strap that could disconnect from the camera when desired. There are several available on-line, but I would like to see Nikon provide their own.
Click on my photos below to see what features I used.
+5points
1 2 3 next>>