Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7000

Nikon Inc. COOLPIX P7000

The COOLPIX P7000 is an ideal traveling companion for advanced amateurs and pro-shooters alike. In low-light, for fast-moving subjects, dramatic landscapes or detailed close-ups, the P7000 is capable of keeping pace with your imagination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.032 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 312 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
92
3 stars
36
2 stars
22
1 star
18
256 out of 312(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for COOLPIX P7000
Review 1 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value and quality.

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Panache1964
Location Orange, CA, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have only owned Nikons for five decades. I purchased the P7000 when it was first released because of its ability to take RAW/NEF images. Within the constraints of its lens it takes excellent quality images and it has way more features and functions than I will ever use. I am still learning about its many features and it is so handy to use. I process my images in Lightroom and Photoshop and I use onOne, Topaz and NIK software on my Macs. I am always pleased and I am often astonished with the results. I suppose I will upgrade to the newest version of the P7000 series some day - 1080 HD video and Wi-Fi would be nice - but I don't know if I will ever get a 'Big Boy' body/lens again.
0points
Review 2 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good camera at night

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Skep
Location Anaheim, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this camera because it looked like it would take good pictures in low lighting situations which none of my point and shoots seem to be able to handle. It arrived the day I was headed to a party at night so I took it along, I couldn't see anything without my glasses on so I just winged it and left it on auto and got some really nice shots. Imagine what pictures it could take if I could see what I was doing and had time to read the manual.
+5points
Review 3 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Camera

PostedApril 23, 2012
Psyche
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So far I've been very impressed with this camera. I wanted a camera with full manual control and did quite a bit of research before finally settling on this one because it seemed to be just as good as its competitors, but considerably cheaper. I received it with firmware 1.1 already installed, so I don't know how slow it was before. It takes about 5 seconds to write a RAW file, which is the same as my sister's DSLR. With a class 10 memory card, the write speed was cut to 3 seconds. I don't notice a delay when I am shooting.
I've found the menus very easy to use and I love all the dials, it's a pain to go racing through menus looking for important settings just before taking a shot and the dials on this camera fix that problem. The video seems adequate and I'm glad the camera doesn't have in-camera HDR because the quality usually isn't the best. The view finder is extremely important in sunny weather, I just have to remember that the last quarter of the picture is missing. It might have been nice to have a rotating LCD screen, but they break easily. The rotating screen on my friend's Canon broke very quickly.
All I wanted was a camera that takes very good pictures and is easy to carry around. The Nikon P7000 more than fits the bill!
+7points
Review 4 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact, But powerful P7000

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Nerds need love too!
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Full featured professional grade tool. If your a beginner just use the auto mode to get great shots. For more advanced shooters this camera really gives some great high quality images. I have enlarged to 16x20 with good results at ISO100. Up to ISO 400 enlargements to 11x14 are stunning. Firmware is alittle quirky and sometimes its like trying to coax a drunk into a taxicab for a ride home.... but once you learn how to get your bracketing and macro modes to work you'll get great results. The qaulity of the images you get out of this little jewel is well worth the effort to work around its issues. I went to a Media Professionals Seminar at the Nelson last night. Greg Gorman was the speaker and presented about 100 of his images. Anyhow, setting up on the stage taking time lapses of the crowd assembling at this Canon sponsored event... was you guessed it... a Nikon P7000. Must have been sort of embarrasing for Canon. Anyhow, this is a great little camera and I see SLR photo's that are not as good as what I get from this camera. Yes for magazine or poster size work its not up to that level but for most everyday street photography this baby rocks.
-3points
Review 5 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small camera very flashy

PostedDecember 29, 2011
ions1010
Location Mt Holly, NJ, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I got this camera on Christmas and I just fell in love with it.! It is very compact and it is very simple to use. Although it has many buttons and various options just take your time with it. It take amazing sharp crisp images. I am not a photographer but my life is like a photo shoot and I have caught every single moment from breakfast to dinner on by the shore. It is fast, responsive, and unique
+2points
Review 6 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good camera

PostedDecember 12, 2011
mariotg
Location Royal Palm Beach, Fl
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I own another Nikon, D50, and I was looking for an everyday lighter camera. The P7000 has most of the features of a larger camera without the bulk or weight. I appars to be a great addition,
+1point
Review 7 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent automatic and manual camera

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Senior Citizen
Location Charlotte, NC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon P7000 is a non-SLR, with both automatic and manual controls, as well as raw output capability. Can't yet judge reliability.
Pros: reasonable size, viewfinder, bright screen, flash shoe (and included small flash), easy flash control, focus lock, multiple focus settings (spot to wide). Auto, shutter-preferred, aperature-preferred, and manual exposure capability. Multiple resolutions easily selected. Easy self-timer. The ergonomics are excellent, and the controls quickly become self-evident. There are typically multiple ways of accomplishing most tasks. Good zoom capability, including the ability to confirm focus after a shot. Lens is not a Leica, but is still quite good.
Cons: the Raw output on a Sandisk Extreme Pro card (45 MB/s) takes about 2 seconds. Stll, it's worth it to have raw output to process. Only a few accessories are available, but if I wanted many accessories, I would have gotten an SLR.
+2points
Review 8 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this camera

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Two Greyt
Location Syracuse, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have always carried a small point-and-shoot camera with me just in case I come upon that perfect picture. The camera was convenient but I would end up wishing that I had my 35mm camera with me instead. That camera takes much better pictures but who can lug around a huge camera with multiple lenses!! The P7000 is perfect! It does almost as much as my 35mm can and is so small that it's easy to toss in my bag so I can have it "just in case". As a matter of fact, on a recent trip to the zoo (I'm there alot!), there were some pictures that I was not able to get with the 35mm that I could get with the P7000!
0points
Review 9 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Buddy
Location San Antonio, Texas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Travel and creating portraits are my favorite form of photography. The Nikon coolpix 7000 turned out to be a perfect companion. Quality images, easy to use -(but you must read the manual) light wieght, and durable. Portrait, low light and landscape shooting modes are outstanding. Very happy with my Coolpix 7000.
+1point
Review 10 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remarkably versatile camera

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Nuclar
Location Red Wing, MN
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The P7000 is customizable. The special functions can be used in many user-designated ways, and everything about it--even the sound of the shutter-says "quality." I don't think I will ever need an SLR again.
0points
Review 11 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and Easy!

PostedNovember 24, 2011
CryptoKid
Location Overland Park, KS
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Professional pictures are a breeze with this camera. The best part for a novice is the scene selector! It is pre-set for almost every type of camera shot you could possibly want
+1point
Review 12 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST CAMERA EVER!

PostedNovember 5, 2011
imaperson
I have used a lot of cameras before and this one is definitely the best so far. It takes great pics and videos. It is also very easy to use. For a great quality camera like this it has a very reasonable price.
0points
Review 13 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All Around Awesomeness

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Smokediver235
Location Pigeon Forge, TN
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This camera is perfect for someone that wants the quality of a DSLR but a little more compact. All of the features go way beyond anything else for the price. If anything... the HD video camera makes it worth the price.
-3points
Review 14 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Opponent

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Resii
Location Shenandoah Valley Area, Virginia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Having been a serious amatuer photographer for nearly 40 years I'm always a little disappointed in most point & shoots. Even though I love my Nikons, I was finally going to break down and buy the Canon G12 so I could get very good shots without taking my DSLRs. Thank you Nikon for making a very worthy opponent to the G12 and, in my opinion, it beats the Canon hands down. Yes I've read of a few glitches with this camera but one can expect that with a true first generation model. The photos are awesome and I will enjoy taking it with me everywhere when a DSLR is just too big.
+2points
Review 15 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A diamond in a lump of coal. Product sparkles!

PostedOctober 6, 2011
stub63
Location San Jose, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I must have when you travel-size, flexibility, quality of the pictures and retaining most of the features of a much large Nikon full body digital single lens camera. It fits almost 100% of my requirements with the single exception of a large telephoto lens. The pictures have earned me praises from professional photographers who were only evaluating the pictures on display. One photographer purchased the P7000 after seeing the quality to add to his must have in his camera bag.
+1point
Review 16 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This camera is great choise who need more then cam

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Release button
Location NYC
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
Hello All
Before I look up to purchase a camera I thought to buy SLR but with the time I have been explore more and more details as prices and futures.Finally I stand with this small powerful camera and why?
1: After make a picture samples from all SLR cameras under 1000$ and SLR over 1000$
I am got that if I would take SLR then my first will be Nikon D7000 and upper.
2. Then let’s look to the size and weight of SLR cameras from D7000 and upper it’s a little heavy to carry whole day with two children out of house somewhere.
3. I am not a professional photograph and not make money from shooting so Why I should make my life so hard.
I started to look for some compact camera with futures of SLR camera and find Nikon CoolPix P7000.
It is a great devise that give you full ability as SLR camera to shoot very nice picture. But it is not typical shoot and point camera so read the manual.
Before you will use it be sure you full understand what are you doing otherwise you will be surprise what is a different between Nikon cool pix from 150-300$ and P7000 =500$.
Good luck
0points
Review 17 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compact Camera with DSLR features

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Jim S.
Location Tucson,AZ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am using this camera as a back up when weight and amount of gear is a factor. Just the right features, could be a bit faster with righting files to SD card, but most compact cameras are not as fast or responsive as a DSLR. Menu's could be streamlined. Love the camera .
-1point
Review 18 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a good all around camera

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
rita
Location michigan
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this camera takes excellent pictures and it fits in your pocket and is easy to operate.
+1point
Review 19 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Guido
Location Virginia
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've owned 3 point & click cameras and own 2 DSLRs. The P7000 is a great compromise. It provides the control and flexibility of a DLSR, with the ease and the convenience of a point & click. I can be as creative as I want, or just allow the camera to control the shot. I like the size, weight, and features the P7000 has to offer. It would be a great starter camera for someone who is thinking of moving up to a DSLR because it allows for creativity and control, as well as the option reverting to point & click if desired. And the photos it produces rival those taken by my D80. The only drawback is the limited telephoto. But it is a great camera for a great price!
0points
Review 20 for COOLPIX P7000
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Snoweeowl
Location Denville, NJ
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Despite some of the negative reviews I still purchased the P7000. My other camera is a Nikon D90 and I have several lenses I use so part of my decision is based on loyalty to Nikon. So far, so good. (I compared the P7000 to the Canon G12 and although they are very similar, plus and minuses for both, I stayed with Nikon).
The P7000 is packed with features that make it hard to put down. I've been testing all of them and find them fun to play with. I am especially happy with the sharp pictures I get as well as the macro capability.
I have not experienced any of the problems others have mentioned so maybe Nikon worked out the kinks - I hope that is the case.
If all remains as is I think others would be as happy as I am with the P7000.
+1point
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>