Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery

EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Average Customer Rating:
1.546 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 22 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
16
3 out of 22(14%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Review 1 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Triustworthy, but costly!

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Nicabod
Location Few miles west of Boston, Mass.
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
In my humble opinion, lithium-chemistry batteries are not items you should pay the lowest prices for.
Lithium chemistry is just great, but it also has to be manufactured with exceptional care. In the past, Li (chemical symbol for lithium) batteries have caught fire, and such fires are not nice. With what I'm sure has been a lot of testing, probably redesign, and extremely-careful manufacturing, Li batteries have become quite reliable enough if treated properly. Nikon surely must be very careful to select manufacturers (if they don't make their own!) who will provide the best quality. I just bought an S3100, so I can't speak of long-term experience. So far, excellent.
+1point
Review 2 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great camera .... late firmware update!

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
harrykei
Location The Netherlands
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My first coolpix suddenly stopped working. 'Loading battery (in the camera) didn't solve the problem.
Because of the price of a new battery in relation to the price of a new camera, i threw away the old camera and bought a new camera.
Again a coolpix, because i love it's simplicity in relation to the quality of the "pictures".
However, last week my second coolpix "died". Same problem!!
Looking for a solution, this link caught my eye:
https://nikoneurope-en.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/56303
I haven't tried the update yet,but if this is the solution:
- should i be glad? I probably threw away a perfect camera!!
harry.
0points
Review 3 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

POOR Battery!!!!!

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Polly
Had this GOOD camera Coolpix S4100 little over a year. Battery DEAD,will NOT recharge! BAD impression of NIKON after spending this much on a little camera!!!!
+23points
Review 4 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Battery Cost Makes Camera No Bargain

PostedApril 30, 2013
Ronko
I thought the battery did not last as long as it should. But, when I went to order one on the internet I was very suprised at the number of complaints regarding it's life span. I worked hard to earn the money to buy the camera and now I have this added cost that came much too soon. I think all the coolpix owners ought to be given a free battery and an appology.
+16points
Review 5 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

WHAT'S UP WITH THE BATTERIES NOT LASTING!!!!

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Surfer Girl
Location ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have owned this camera for only 4 months and the battery has died. I wanted something compact to take to sporting events and now I have to purchase a new battery to even get it to work.
I think if NIKON can't gurantee a battery lasting more than a year, they should re-think the use of this type of battery.
+21points
Review 6 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not a good battery

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Good camera, bad battery
Bought camera in November 2011. Love the photos, but the problem is it's battery. I had no trouble, then out of the blue, the battery is dead. It died in July 2012!! I had heard great things about how well lithium batteries lasted.....but not mine. Worst of all, $25-40.00 for a new battery? That changes the cost of the camera after such a short time. I recommend the camera, but only if they include a spare battery .
+18points
Review 7 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery does not last.

PostedMarch 3, 2014
ArelCT60
Location Connecticut
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was just given this camera with the battery six weeks ago for my birthday. I have not used it very much - but already the battery is completely dead and will not recharge. I would not recommend this type of battery to anyone.
+2points
Review 8 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

PostedJune 20, 2013
cameraless4sure
My son and I and unable to recharge the batteries in our 2 cameras that are only 3 years old! Very frustrating. Do we spend $80 to buy new batteries or do we just buy a new camera? Nikon should replace the batteries free of charge or rename their product as "not" rechargeable.
+2points
Review 9 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Incredibly Disappointed

PostedJune 2, 2013
Cassandra
Location St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I received this battery in my 2012 Christmas present - a Coolpix S4200. I love the camera but this battery is a huge loser. It started being unreliable in April 2013 and by May 2013, would not re-charge. I do not take a lot of pcitures - this battery was used at Christmas, New Years and a couple of birthday celebrations - NOT heavily used at all. A rechargeable battery should last YEARS....not under 6 months. Really a disappointment. I expect better from Nikon.
+5points
Review 10 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LA BATERIA ES EL PROBLEMA !!!

PostedMay 25, 2013
NOEROB
Location BUENOS AIRES ,ARGENTINA - Y DF, MEXICO
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
COMPRE MI CAMARA COLPIX 4300 EN JUNIO 2012, EXCELENTE PRODUCTO,MUY BUENAS FOTOS Y VIDEOS,PERO YA HE TENIDO QUE CAMBIAR TRES VECES LA BATERIA EN-EL19 ,QUE EN UN MOMENTO INESPERADO SE MUERE Y NO TOMA MAS CARGA. SI BIEN NIKON NO FABRICA LA BATERIA DEBERIA RESPONDER POR ESTE PRODUCTO QUE SE INCLUYE EN LA COMPRA DE LA CAMARA.
-1point
Review 11 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery Life about 3-4 mos.

PostedMarch 8, 2013
madatbattery
Location Parsippany New Jersey
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Camera S4100 Coolpix by Nikon was just great until the battery died and would NOT recharge, about 3 mos after purchase.
I missed so many great shots and $40.00 for a new battery? I might as well buy a New Camera--not a Nikon by the way.
+10points
Review 12 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great camera, poor battery!

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Holly
I love the camera and it takes really good pictures but I bought the camera in August and in three months the battery just died! it wouldnt even try to recharge. The batteries are to expensive to buy a new one every three months!!!
+8points
Review 13 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor battery but beautiful photos

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Cath
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
We recently bought a Coolpix S6400. Beautiful photos but you only get about 50 or so before the battery dies. Missed photos from my father's wedding and on holiday in Thailand. Very frustrating and also annoying when you need to carry a spare battery all the time.
+7points
Review 14 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of money

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Disappointed in Iowa
Location Des Moines Iowa
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Got a coolpix and was so excited. Took less than 50 pictures and battery will not hold a charge. Got 1 picture of my grandsons first birthday tonight! First and last Nikon for me. They ask you to attach sample pictures! How ironic...if I had pictures I wouldn't be writing this review
+8points
Review 15 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nikon EL-EN 19 is poor

PostedJune 25, 2012
cag
Location new jersey
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I got this camera for christmas and have hardly used it. Now the battery is completely dead and will not charge. I lost an entire weekend of photo opportunities this past weekend and I'm not happy.
So, do I spend another 30 bucks on a new battery or go and buy myself a new Canon camera??
+13points
Review 16 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible battery

PostedJune 18, 2012
Gynmom
Bought my camera 2months ago and battery states exhausted. Poor product from Nikon
+8points
Review 17 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awful batter life

PostedJune 14, 2012
penguin1
Location Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Bought Coolpix Camera in Dec 2011, battery is dead, won't charge, not happy
+9points
Review 18 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pictureless Memories

PostedJune 3, 2012
Sad Girl
Went to use camera for girls night out, had everyone posed and ready for the pic, turned on the camera for it to say "battery exhausted" even thoughit was charging over 24 hours. Tried using car charger and still would not gain a charge. Lost out on a lot of great photos. Have had the camera for less than 1 year.
+9points
Review 19 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nikon Battery Is Poor - EN EL-19

PostedMay 14, 2012
Disappointed
Bought S4100 Coolpix for my wife for Christmas 2011 gift. She used the camera very little.
On Mother's Day 5/14/12 ( 4 1/2 months later) she turned camera on and got a "Battery Exhausted"
message. I attempted to recharge it. It will not take a charge. Seems to be a widespread problem.
Its a shame I can't give this product "0 stars". Won't replace it with a "Nikon" brand battery.
+11points
Review 20 for EN-EL19 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

After less than a year the battery is toast

PostedMay 10, 2012
Kzoo Kid
Same issues others here describe with not being able to hold a charge. A far cry from the Nikon Battery in the camera that this one replaced, which never had this problem and I had the Camera for over 5 years. You will see similar reviews on other sites.
What happened to the legendary quality I had come to expect from you Mr. Nikon?
+10points
1 2 next>>