Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MH-65 Battery Charger

Nikon Inc. MH-65 Battery Charger

Battery charger for rechargeable EN-EL 12 Lithium Ion (Li-ion) battery.
Average Customer Rating:
1.111 out of 5
1.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
8
1 out of 9(11%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for MH-65 Battery Charger
Review 1 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs to be improved

PostedJuly 9, 2011
New to Nikon
Location Richmond, Virginia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I just purchased the Nikon MH-65 charger for my new Coolpix S9100. The charger works fine but the design does not meet today's standards in my opinion.
My 4 year old Panasonic has a charger that plugs directly into a wall outlet. The Nikon MH-65 charger uses a long electrical cord to plug into power. The Coolpix S9100 is small and light weight. It seems counter intuitive to me that the charger would require the use of a separate power cord which adds to the weight and amount of extras that have to be carried around. If Nikon cannot design a charger that plugs directly into the wall outlet, at least design the AC charger to use the same power cord that is used to charge the battery while the battery is in the camera.
The instructions with the charger are for a different charger/battery combination. The literature should be updated or the correct literature should be included with the MH-65.
+50points
Review 2 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

MH-65 Battery Charger

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Traveller
I just received the Nikon AW100 as a gift. How disappointing to find that the battery charger that came with the camera does not just plug into the wall but has a long cord instead. Definitely not travel friendly. Most definitely needs to be redesigned.
+5points
Review 3 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Tragic Design

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Nikon Fan
Location Long Beach, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I just purchased the Coolpix AW100 and it came with this charger. The camera ROCKS but this charger is enough to make me question Nikon's thinking as to the "entire package. The cord is six feet long. A good charger design plugs right into the outlet with flip-out prongs. Why did Nikon pair such a well designed camera with such an outdated charger. Now, I get to go and purchase a third party charger that makes sense - NO power chord. Nikon needs to take a cue from Apple. If it is in the box, get it right! In this case, they got it all wrong. I have (and love) a Nikon D7000 - it has the right kind of charger to go along with a killer camera. At work I shoot the D3X. Sorry Nikon, I will take a closer look at your point and shoots in the future before I buy. Grrrrrrr.
+2points
Review 4 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not good for travel

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Colorado Kid
Location Colorado, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
User submitted photo
Why the humongous cord?? People who purchase this battery charger need to realize there is a big, fat, 6 foot long, heavy appliance cord that is thick as (or even thicker than) an extension cord that is needed to plug this charger into the outlet. It does NOT have prongs contained in the charger itself, like chargers I've had for other cameras. It doesn't fit into my little camera accessory bag, doesn't even fit into the inside pocket of my carry-on! Why can't Nikon build a charger with the prongs built in, or at least use the same cord as is used to charge the battery inside the camera. Not very convenient for travel. There are other options that DO have the outlet prongs built into the charger. No, it is not Nikon OEM, but works just fine. The output from the Nikon MH-65 is 4.2V, 700mA. Just get a non-Nikon charger designed for the EN-EL 12 battery with similar specs so you don't blow out your battery. I have used one made by Wasabi that has the prongs that fold into the charger itself, plus has a compact 12V car charger & European plug adapter - all for a lower price than the Nikon charger. The output is 4.2V, 500 mA so it may take a bit longer to charge the battery, but will NOT harm the Nikon battery - in spite of Nikon's claim that you need to use only the Nikon OEM charger. I use that one for travel and keep the Nikon one at home.
+12points
Review 5 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POORLY DESIGNED BATTERY CHARGER FOR AW100

PostedJuly 24, 2012
ADVENTURE ANNIE
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This battery charger for the AW100 camera is extreemly outdated and ill designed. The bulky, long power cord needed to make the charger work is just added weight and space to carry around. This charger should plug directly into the wall, like the one I use for a Fugitsu that I bought 3 years ago! Either redisign the rechargable battery charger, or better yet, just design the camera to use regular AA batteries that can be purchased easily all over the world!
+6points
Review 6 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What are Nikon thinking?

PostedMay 15, 2012
Rick
Location West Coast Canada
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I too have recently bought the Nikon Coolpix 310 even though the in-camera charging option supplied with the box is ridiculously impractical. However, my rationale was that I could buy the external MH-65 charger, which I erroneously believed would function similar to many other camera chargers, i.e. plug directly into the wall. What was Nikon thinking? Any advantage of spending a lot of money on a small advanced camera is completely nullified by having to buy a charger and separate cord package that required an extra suitcase when traveling. I exaggerate of course, but the size and weight of the thing is ludicrous. I am taking the camera back and sticking with the much superior Canon S series camera (and charger!) that I have used previously.
+7points
Review 7 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Surprise burmese python size cord!

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Sarcasm helps me live
Not pictured, there is a tremendous cord the size of a full grown python that you get to stuff in all your TINY CASES FOR YOUR LIGHT TRAVEL. Who needs convenience?? That's for the weak. No, you get to carry extra stuff around. Packing light is just dumb.
Then I did see the one with the USB port that attaches in the wall and charges the battery in the camera. Great for when you want to charge your extra battery and still go take pictures... Oh wait.... No it's not.
I love the camera, wondering why people who make waterproof cameras, can't make a more convenient travel friendly wall charger that charges the battery outside the camera? I must be expecting way too much.
+13points
Review 8 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too heavy and bulky. Charger and a ridiculous cord.

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Global traveler.
I may return this camera just because of the charger. I came from a Panasonic lumix. The charger has the plug built into it. No cord. Just what I dont want when packing light is Nikon's setup. Not shown in pics.
+4points
Review 9 for MH-65 Battery Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why two chargers? Combine them.

PostedJanuary 9, 2012
Grandkid photographer
Nikon provides two different battery chargers for the S8200, which are opposite in almost every respect. The EH-69P, which comes with the camera, charges the battery inside the camera using the USB cable. It plugs directly into the AC outlet, which means no separate power cord to pack around and/or lose. The MH-65, has a cradle to charge the battery outside the camera, but it has a separate power cord (does not plug directly into the AC outlet).
I suppose Nikon is trying to satisfy different needs, but why can’t they combine these into one universal adapter? Here are the specs, more or less in order of importance.
1. Charge a battery outside the camera, like the MH65. This is critical for those who use multiple batteries.
2. Plugs directly into the outlet, like the EH69P. This eliminates the need for a separate power cord. To make this more usable, have the plug flip out from the edge, instead of the back.
3. Charge the battery inside the camera, like the EH89P. Ideally, it could do both at the same time. This requires a cable, but if it’s the USB cable, it’s not an extra cable. If I don’t need this feature, I can leave that cable home.
4. Has a separate power cable to the AC outlet for cases where there is not enough space to plug the adapter directly into the outlet. If I don’t need this capability, I can leave the power cable home.
Oh, and if you use the search box on this site to locate these products, be sure to spell them EXACTLY. The site is not smart enough to find "mh65". You must type "mh-65".
+10points