Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery

EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Average Customer Rating:
1.783 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 23 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
15
5 out of 23(22%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Review 1 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never a moment's disappointment!

PostedJanuary 21, 2011
pkentropy
Location Loudoun County, Virginia, USA
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm surprised by the negative review from Florida. I can only assume that his particular EN-EL-12 was flawed, because I've mercilessly worked my own EN-EL-12 to what should have been its welcomed death; nevertheless, it 'keeps on tickin'. I'm buying a couple of backups for a long, hot, dry and imminent trip; I almost certainly won't need them, but I prefer to be cautious.
+9points
Review 2 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nothing but good things from this camera and battery

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Coolpix from our CoolPix AW100
Age 25-34
Experience More than a year
Having taken our Coolpiix AW100 through many countries, in and out of the water, covered in sand etc. we have nothing but good reviews. The EN-EL 12 battery has been of no concern for us, holding a charge well. Many high quality video's taken throughout the same day with no concerns. The only downfall we had was taking the camera in and out of the water in a warm climate, we found that condensation would get into the lense and caused some blurry pictures. Seal may be broken from us carrying it around and using it to it's full potential.
+6points
Review 3 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

BUY A WALL CHARGER!!

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Protophoto
I always use a compatible Wall Charger unit, and a USB card reader, two addition products that are necessary, in my opinion, accessories for ANY camera I buy.
In this case a EN-EL12 Charger, wall-unit. and a USB micro-SD memory card reader are my two best friends. I can charge batteries without the camera, and even view/transfer pictures easily without the camera turned on.
Many people waste their camera's battery lives viewing, printing, and transferring pictures while their camera is attached to the computer -- any loss there is because of the simple lack of a USB memeory card reader for their computer. The drain on your battery is very bad, but is avoidable.
Additional cost of accessories outside the relm of what comes in the box with the camera should be taken into account for each total purchase, when deciding, and 20% of the cameras cost is typical for needed accessory cost.
+16points
Review 4 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

charger

PostedMay 19, 2011
cerb1958
to Nitehike
You have options
1. You can buy a charger and a spare battery
2. You can buy a spare battery, charge it in the camera, and then take it out and you have a charged spare battery
+4points
Review 5 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the S9100 Camera....why cant i buy spare batteries here online?

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
DogMom
Location Maynard, MA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just got my new camera. Really easy to pick it up & get great results right out of the box. (i use a D300 for my larger projects). The S9100 is great to have around for those grab shots where you'd like more creative control than a camera-phone would give.
But why cant i get extra batteries for it here online? I can buy the charger here online! So....? Seems crazy that i cant get both!! Offer them in the online store please!!! Camera: 5 stars. Online store: 2 stars
-4points
Review 6 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Marginal at best

PostedMay 9, 2012
Hal
I recently bought the aw100 camera and I think that he battery like is much shorter that other cameras that I have used. I want to buy additional batteries but how come I can't purchase them from your site???
0points
Review 7 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Nikon has got it wrong with their battery strategy

PostedApril 25, 2012
Canteenboy
Location Montreal, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use the EN-EL12 in a Coolpix S8200. I have to agree, the in camera charging is a bad idea. Even if you buy an extra battery, you have to leave your camera in your room to charge the extra battery, so unless you carry 2 cameras on vacation, you are going to miss photo ops. What is even worse, it that the indicator will show full for 75 pictures and 2 pictures later it will shutdown because the battery is dead.
Another problem is that the camera doesn't recognize a usb charger other than its own. I have a Belkin usb charger and the camera ignores it and the charging light doesn't come on.
All that being said, the S8200 takes amazing pictures so I am living with the power shortcomings..
+1point
Review 8 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Short Battery Life and inconvenient recharging

PostedNovember 22, 2010
eHrothgar
Location Puget Sound WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
When using an S8000, carry several fully charged
EN EL 12 batteries for a day's shooting. It seems as tho I was replacing depleted batteries every time a good photo opportunity presented itself while on vacation in Egypt.
At night since the batteries are recharged inside the camera, and they take a long time to recharge, it was difficult to get both batteries fully charged for the next day. Needing to use the camera as a recharger, this cost me photo opportunities in the evenings while I was recharging.
I had purchased the camera shortly befor the trip, and did not understand the recharging problems until I was in Egypt and it was too late to buy extra batteries and an external recharger (or two).
+26points
Review 9 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT !!!!! Coolpix 6100

PostedApril 29, 2014
ArmyVet
Location Indio, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
I really wish that I would have read all of these reviews before I purchased this camera. I bought it for my wife for Christmas 2012. Used it a few times in 2013, June for my daughters graduation was the last time. Now its April 2013 and I leave for vacation to Mexico the day after tomorrow. I plug in the camera to get it ready, and nothing. No power, light won't come on, nothing happens. I have taken maybe 20 pics with this camera, now I have to pay $37.95 for a new battery. NIKON should refund peoples money or send a new battery! This is outrageous!!
0points
Review 10 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

En-EL-12 Battery Cool Pix S8000

PostedNovember 19, 2012
intud
Location Tampa, FL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I don't know if its the camera or the battery, but one doen't work without the other. I have taken 192 pictures, and the battery won't take a charge through the USB power cord. I think $40.00 to replace the battery after so few pictures is ridiculous. I tried the update, but since I can't get power to the camera, I can't update the firmware either. Very dissatisfied! The worst part is I am visiting Hungary where I can't even find a battery, and would really like to take pictures.
+1point
Review 11 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Batteries

PostedOctober 3, 2012
ellen
I have gone through two of these batteries in less than a year. They are not too cheap either. So i recommend a different camera that uses a different battery.
+3points
Review 12 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very bad battery

PostedJuly 17, 2012
bad battery, good camera
Location Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Just bought the camera for 3 months. battery no power suddenly and needed to recharge for hours
-1point
Review 13 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Camera horrible battery

PostedMay 16, 2012
steveb3300
Location NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I just bought a 6200 coolpix and with a new and fully charged EN-EL12 battery and took it to my nieces graduation from college after 34 shots it was dead and I missed out on half a days shooting,shots I can never get again.I can't believe Nikon can expect customers to be satisfied with that kind of performance.
I should have stayed with my old Minolta instead of "upgrading"for this event.
+3points
Review 14 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery with camera charger = regrettable problem = poor design

PostedMay 6, 2012
cjb-s6100
Location Lafayette, CO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
OK so I bought the S6100 in August prior to our son's wedding and with some level of effort (due to "touchy" LCD touch controls) got some nice pictures and video. The charging seemed a little weird out of the box, the first time seemed to provide limited capacity but the second time seemed fine. We used it intermittently after the wedding with a surge around the holidays and then didn't need it - so it sat in the house, waiting.
I picked it back up two days ago and nothing. So I read. To charge the battery, plug in the USB charger and turn the camera on to start charging. Nothing. I check the voltage on the battery and its zero.
So if you need to turn the camera on to start charging, but the battery is too low to turn the camera on, then you have lovely Lithium Ion paper weight and a camera that needs another $37.50 infusion to allow it to work.
To the Nikon engineers - you get an absolutely pathetic score for designing in a problem of this magnitude. I'm sure marketing loves the idea of designed-in obsolescence and the recurring battery sales, but you have certainly lost all of my respect for quality design.
+10points
Review 15 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Battery

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
The True Critic
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought the Nikon CoolPix S6200, and it came with this awful battery EN-EL12, that has 1050mAh and 3.7V and is a Lithium Ion Battery.
I fully recharged the battery, and wanted to use it at Christmas to video the Christmas play.
So set the camera to video, and guess what,............
the camera indicated - BATTERY DEPLETED - NOT ABLE TO VIDEO.
A brand new camera and battery.
I wish I had taken my other Kodak camera with me, then at least I would have been able
to video the Christmas play.
So I have nothing. Back home I turned the camera on again, and ...........
found out that I could have taken photo´s, it was just the video that was not possible.
So, battery is great for photo´s but useless for video´s.
I agree with the other review, that I think this battery has a factory fault.
I have found that there is another battery, that has 1400mAh, but it is not a original Nikon.
+2points
Review 16 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

battery only

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
suziquep
Location walnut creek ca
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i love the camera, but battery is really bad. camera can't be left on at all. i was shocked at christmas when battery was "expired" after NO time. is there not a more powerful battery i can buy?
+8points
Review 17 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad battery + a great camera = unusable camera: NO PICTURES

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Experienced Photoman
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My rating is ONLY for the battery. I rate the S8000 camera 5 stars.
Nikon S8000 camera purchased September 2010. Bought extra generic battery with camera and got about 5,000 pictures and short videos. Charged batteries at night and I loved the camera. After 14 months the original battery is unusable - will not power on the camera long enough to take even one picture. Generic battery also fully depleted. Bought two new generics and they are dead after one month. The EN-EL12 battery must have a design flaw. There also needs to be a battery life indicator (either percent of estimated shots) in the camera. Also, a battery health indicator utility would be great. Estimated charge cycles remaining... That way we could replace the battery before we miss pictures on Christmas Day, etc. Great camera but a problem battery. I will try one more Genuine Nikon EN-EL12 and see if the great performance I initially experienced with the camera resumes. If not, then I will buy a different brand. I have a Nikon 35 MM EM model (circa 1980) and have shot five weddings for friends with a traditional 35MM SLR. Portable digital is nice and no developing costs, but without great batteries, you are not going to get the pictures you wanted.
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
Review 18 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What good is the camera if battery doesn't last?

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Quickly drained power
Location South San Francisco, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had to charge a battery daily because it would drain after only one day and then I'd have to make sure my backup battery was also charged. So many times I've been frustrated because the Coolpix S6000 would not power on. I had to resort to buying another camera brand and have not had the same problem as with the Nikon.
+8points
Review 19 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

FIRE whoever developed the battery plan for S6000

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Paul3224
Location Seattle, WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The case for the S6000 holds the camera...what about an extra battery or the charger. Oh wait, the batter has to be charged in the camera so you cannot take pictures why charging the battery. So for another ~$100 I can get an external charger, an additional battery, a bigger case to hold all of this. Wow the price of the S6000 is not looking too good!
Everyone knows the weakest link of a digital camera is the battery...not with Nikon...with Nikon it is the battery, the charger, the case and now the price!
0points
Review 20 for EN-EL12 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery is unpredictable and short lived

PostedMay 31, 2011
liza
Location Phoenix AZ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I had my camera for 2 weeks and took it to my daughter's graduation and the battery died,
I missed a once in a lifetime opportunity. I am stunned at the short life of the battery and no prewarning that it is about to die, now I am forced to buy a charger and extra battery..
I'm so disapointed in this aspect.
+7points
1 2 next>>