Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery

Nikon Inc. EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery

EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Average Customer Rating:
1.538 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
10
1 out of 13(8%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Review 1 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent battery

PostedMarch 11, 2011
Coolpix S220 battery
Location Seattle, WA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Excellent battery! Great life, fast recharge, many, many pictures per charge. Combine that with a great price and it is very hard to beat! Well done Nikon!
+2points
Review 2 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check firmware update

PostedDecember 5, 2011
KelBelle
Location Louisville, KY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
I have an S3000 that has gone through three batteries and after just a few uses would give me the message "Battery Exhausted." According to Nikon, when the eRechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL10 is inserted in the camera and charged, charging sometimes did not stop after the designated amount of time had passed.
Updated firmware needs to be downloaded and installed to your camera, and install a NEW battery. http://support.nikonusa.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/16873
+12points
Review 3 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't last long before it failed to hold a charge

PostedMarch 22, 2011
VT guy
Location Rutland, VT
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought the official Nikon EN-EL10 battery as a spare for my Nikon camera. It didn't last long before it began failing to hold a charge. Got progressively worse over time. Now it's slightly swollen, enough that it is a tight fit in the camera. I only get one photo then the camera shuts down with message that the battery is dead. If I were buying another digital camera, I would buy one that uses plain old, affordable AA batteries.
+14points
Review 4 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor battery

PostedMay 5, 2013
Cameraman
Location Twin Cites, MN
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My wife has owned a Nikon S4000 that uses this battery for 2 years and we are on the 3rd battery. The current battery will hold a charge for less than a week before it is dead. I've spent more on batteries than I did for the camera. Nikon made a big mistake useing this battery for a camera.
+5points
Review 5 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable

PostedMay 2, 2013
Pat
I am on my 4th battery in 3 years. They exhaust in the camera.
+6points
Review 6 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad product.

PostedNovember 26, 2012
DonnaK
Age 45-54
My story is the same as others. We are on the third battery. The first battery worked for one year, the second was only good for 6 months. I'm afraid to think how long this one will last.
+3points
Review 7 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst camera ever

PostedJuly 30, 2012
aagilbert3
Location Lebanon, TN, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera worked for a little while then it shut off. I tried to recharge the battery with the adapter and my computer, but nothing worked. I tested the charger on another camera and it worked. I am very disappointed in the camera and the battery.
+2points
Review 8 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

...Eh.

PostedJuly 2, 2012
insertnicknamehere?
I left my camera alone for a few months, because I didn't really have a need for it. I took it out again to discover that the battery wasn't working and wouldn't charge. So, I bought a new one. This battery allowed my camera to work perfectly, until it died out again. It wouldn't charge. So, the way I see it, the only way I can use my camera is to buy a $30 battery again and again and again. Um. What? I'll look into it more, maybe it's not the battery's fault, but as of right now, I'm pointing fingers at the battery.
+10points
Review 9 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing Results

PostedMay 4, 2012
DRE
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Very disappointing battery. Does not last. Lost photos because I could not even find a replacement when on a trip.
+3points
Review 10 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Camera bad battery

PostedMarch 20, 2012
jimbo
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My battery will now only hold a low charge. I am disappointed in the life of the battery. I love the picture that the camera take, but the battery is not worth it. The cost with shipping make this battery unreasonable
+6points
Review 11 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of junk

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Jay2011
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Don't ever buy this battery.You don't want to pay #45.99 [#15is the shipping] for the piece of junk.
You will be charging this junk more time than you will take pictures.After each charge I took no more than 3 shots.Camera S4000 is good,and is only 1.5 years old.Isn't use much,because of the battery.I can't pay all the time for new one.What's a shame.I wish to get my money back.I am very disappointed.
 
My product recommendations
 
+5points
Review 12 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good experience

PostedNovember 15, 2011
AA lover
Location Dallas TX
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The camera was awesome, but the battery stopped taking charges! It's very frustrating... Now I am having to buy another battery, and the camera is not even 1 year old (bought it during last thanks giving). I just can't find the receipt even to claim the warranty... ugh...
I guess I'll consider cameras that use AA batteries next time...
+6points
Review 13 for EN-EL10 Rechargeable Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The battery ruins it all

PostedMarch 26, 2011
MaryK8
Location Grand Island, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love the pics this camera takes, but the battery lasts only one or two pictures, even after a charge. So frustrating!!! I'm buying a new one, hoping that they sold me a camera with an almost expired battery......curses, it's $30+
+8points