Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery

EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
6
2 out of 9(22%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Review 1 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Good Battery

PostedApril 29, 2013
Location kandy, Sri Lanka
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have this battery in my Coolpix P500 , I have taken over 200 Shots in daylight with the battery, Even in night with the flasher, i have taken over 100 Photos. I need an extra battery to keep with me.
+5points
Review 2 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon EN-EL5 rechargeable battery

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Location Northern AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had excellent results from this battery- lasts as long as expected when shooting, holds charge well when not in use, no "memory" problems. I use this with my P5100 and my P100. Through the NY internet Photo stores have found OEM and aftermarket spare batteries for $20.00-$26.00. Even at MSRP it's a fair price. I like that the charger is external so I can use the cameras while recharging a spare.
+12points
Review 3 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Coolpix P520

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bateria muito ruim.
Fiz dois videos de +- 20 min cada, a câmera apagou enquanto ainda gravava o segundo...
Como já foi dito por outros usuários, o visor mostra carga completa, depois apaga.
Estou apaixonado pela minha P520, fotos e videos maravilhosos, as opções no menu poderiam ser mais intuitivas, mais não é nada q atrapalhe.
A Nikon deveria ter mais atenção com as baterias, afinal, sem elas não há clique!
+12points
Review 4 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pessima duração

PostedApril 27, 2015
como pode a nikon lançar uma bateria tão ruim assim?
0points
Review 5 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Batteries Expanded

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Location California, USA
In P510, purchased Nov. 2012, both batteries (original with camera, spare purchased same time) have expanded, bulging in the middle. Very difficult to remove them from camera. Charger indicates they still recharge, but will see how long charge lasts. Not a lot of photos taken with either battery. Battery should (1) last longer with minimal photos taken and (2) definitely not expand, indicating an internal failure.
Response from Nikon:By Nikon SupportFebruary 10, 2015
Please stop using your deformed EN-EL5 batteries immediately. Contact Nikon Support if you have any questions: https://support.NikonUSA.com.
+2points
Review 6 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Battery expanded

PostedJune 18, 2014
Location NJ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I tried to change my battery and it had expanded, bulging in the middle, and was difficult to extract from the camera. It is now useless. Luckily I have a spare, but will have to buy another spare for future use
+7points
Review 7 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor life span

PostedJune 3, 2014
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is one of the worst batteries I've ever owned. It really doesn't last long at all. Had I known this beforehand, I would not have bought the camera. I should have stuck with Canon!
+9points
Review 8 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bateria dura pouco

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Bateria dura pouco e no visor apresenta cheia mas em seguida acaba.
+6points
Review 9 for EN-EL5 Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

pouca duração

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Não dura uma manhã de fotos se o GPS estiver ligado, e na coolpix não avisa com antecedência que está acabando a carga, simplesmentes sinaliza que está no final e já desliga dois ou três cliques depois.
+5points