Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D800E

Nikon Inc. D800E

Nikon's D800E built for today’s multimedia photographer includes a groundbreaking 36.3 MP FX-format CMOS sensor, Full HD 1080p video with stereo sound, and ISO range of 100-6400 expandable to 25,600.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
6 out of 8(75%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for D800E
Review 1 for D800E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedApril 17, 2014
Anonymous
Location Youngsville, LA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have never touched or even seen a camera I like better than the D800E. Initial focus alignment problem was handled expertly by Nikon service. Images are astonishing, and I mean with any lens. My expensive lenses, and my less expensive lenses all perform better with this camera than anything else I have used them on. Some lenses require fine tuning and some don't, just like with any Nikon pro camera. For instance, my 85mm f.18G is perfect at any distance, no fine tune, my 24-70 f2.8G requires +10 on fine tune, but it requires the same fine tune on my D600. My D800E focuses incredibly fast, and I will point out that I always use Focus Priority for shutter release. Handling wise, it feels like my old D700, except for the AF controls, and I loved my D700. My D800E is better in just about every way. I cannot imagine a future upgrade for this camera because I don't know how it can get any better. Good thing it is a solid piece of work, and I expect to have it for the rest of my time on planet earth. File size is larger than anything else out there, but you have options, depending on what you are shooting. For birds in flight I like the 1.2 crop factor and 12-bit RAW. For people I like full frame and 12-bit RAW. For landscape I like full frame and 14-bit RAW. For sports I like JPEG. I might add that this camera handles white balance better than I have ever had before. ISO control is flexible and very easy to deal with. Flash photography? It's a Nikon. Nuff said. It is the finest camera I have ever had, with the only possible exception being the FM2n, an engineering marvel that might never be exceeded. However, the FM2n had a terrible AF system.
One qualification note - I do not shoot video with this camera, and I never will. So I can't help you with that.
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
Review 2 for D800E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D800E

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
critidoc
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Dynamic range, resolution and low light performance all superb. A faster frame rate would have made it a home run for me when I am doing wildlife. The current 4fps in fx is adequate but 8 or 10fps would be ideal. Like the size and weight.
+13points
Review 3 for D800E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Image Quality, Functionality and Performance

PostedDecember 27, 2013
NatureBuff
Location Northwest Florida, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been using Nikon cameras for over the past 35 years, and never have I ever experienced the dynamic range, resolution and wide Tonal Range I’ve seen with the D800E camera with any other. The image quality, functionality and performance that the D800E provides out performs all other makes and models by far, it’s the most reliable camera I've ever used. I use this camera for shooting wildlife, nature and landscapes and has performed extremely well. I also own a D2X that performs well but no compassion in quality and performance to the D800E. I’ve even borrowed a D3X from a friend and did some comparison between the two, and the D800E out performed even the D3X.
I use to carry several camera bodies with me at all times depending on what I was going to photograph, but now there’s no need to. I use the D2X as a backup now, knowing that the D800E will provide me with the performance and quality I need!
+15points
Review 4 for D800E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Orson
Location Aruba
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
This is an Amazing camera. Fast response depending on Lens.
0points
Review 5 for D800E
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Image Quality and Functionality

PostedNovember 2, 2013
PhotoGuy1
Location Colorado Rocky Mountains
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been using Nikon cameras for over 50 years, from S-series rangefinders through the F-series film bodies (still have all my film bodies) to the D-series digital. The D800e is by far the most exceptional camera I've used, both in handling and quality of results. The ability to quickly focus on any area of the image in Live View has really streamlined my outdoor work. The resolution and dynamic range is beyond any digital camera I've used, and yields prints that are as fine as medium format work that I've done in the past.
It takes a reasonable level of skill (years of experience helps) to produce the highest quality images the D800e is capable of capturing. Excellent lenses like the Micro-Nikkors and good technique like tripod use will enable recording the full resolution of this camera, but even the better zoom lenses (like the AF-S 24-120 f/4G ED VR, and the AF-S 70-200 f/2.8G ED VRII) can deliver superb images. Just be sure your computer has plenty of hard drive space available - resolution like this makes for large files!
My favorite Nikon camera so far!
+34points
Review 6 for D800E
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Astounding camera with a couple of unecessary flaws

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Stoka
Location Sydney NSW, Australia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The D800e is capable of astounding levels of detail and image quality. I love the solid feel and heft of the camera, it's viewfinder and general build quality.
What displeases me are the lack of U1 and U2 modes. I find myself using my D7000 in preference due to the simple effectiveness of being able to instantly access full recall for time lapse and other types of photography. My previous correspondence to Nikon to address this in firmware will of course, fall on deaf ears. Nikon will wait to release their next models to address the pedantic and hard to use custom settings bank issues.
Additionally, the ML3 remote I use with the D7000 can't be used on the D800e. Another serious annoyance.
+18points
Review 7 for D800E
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cracked view finder shade

PostedMay 27, 2014
MoreLes
Location Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchase a refurbished D-800E from the Nikon store. It arrived with a cracked view finder shade. I returned it for a new one but was told they no longer had any D800 E's and were not ordering anymore of them. They shipped be a second refurbished one which also had a crack in the view finder shade. I don't know if this is a reflection of Nikon's products, customer care or the Nikon store itself. Very disappointing purchase.
-2points
Review 8 for D800E
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Focusing problems. Lousy camera for the money.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Whatsthedeal
Location Billings, MT, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
My D800e has had focusing problems from the very beginning. This occurs through the viewfinder, but not through the "Live View" option. I didn't send it in right away because I couldn't figure out what it was doing wrong. Some photos were ok, but most weren't. I have now sent it in twice and struggled and struggled with Nikon to get it fixed. They have used every excuse in the book to not be able to fix it. They did manage to get the center focus point to work correctly, but the side focus points do not focus properly. This occurs on 4 of my lenses - 3 of which are new. The lens that it works worst with is the: AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D. They give the excuse that this is an older lens. #Note they still sell this older lens#. The outer focusing points work fine with "Live View", but are SEVERELY out of focus if you focus through the viewfinder.
+13points