Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D600

Nikon Inc. D600

Nikon Digital SLR Camera with 24.3 megapixel FX-format and Full HD 1080p broadcast quality video capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
3.384 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 232 reviews
5 stars
106
4 stars
24
3 stars
17
2 stars
23
1 star
62
135 out of 232(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
130 Questions | 187 Answers
Customer Reviews for D600
Review 1 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BASTANTE VERSATIL Y CON BUENA TONALIDAD DE LUZ

PostedSeptember 25, 2014
CP NIKONISTA
Location CIUDAD DE GUATEMALA, GUATEMALA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ES UNA ESTUPENDA CAMARA CON SUS 24.3 MEGAPIXELES HACE MARAVILLAS, Y CON SU VIDEO PONEMOS HACER LAS MEJORES ESCENAS Y PONER AL MAXIMO LA TONALIDAD DE LUZ QUE NOS PERMITE TENER.
0points
Review 2 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real step up

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
JuanV
Location Bogotá, Colombia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had been using an N80 for more than 10 years, and other SLRs for many more.
When I had become fed up with the increasing difficulty to get films and processing, I got the camera that seemed to me like it could replace it, and got a D5100.
I felt like something was lacking with the small viewfinder and the extensive menus. I learned why it is called an entry-level when getting away from automatic meant a lot of menu navigating.
When I learned a FX camera could be within my price expectation, I jumped on the first opportunity.
I had foolishly forgot to check if my 28-200mm zoom would work on the D5100, and to me recovering that lens was a good bonus.
At once that feeling of missing something was alleviated. The big viewfinder looks like the cameras I was used to and the availability of many buttons and the same two command wheels that the N80 has just felt much better.
I was very much bothered by the endless discussion of the oil spots because among all the messages there was very little information to get a real feeling for the size of the problem. I tend to like taking photos in very dark places, so I pretty much never use small apertures. I have noticed spots in test shots of a white wall, but never anything on the real photos. I do not know if those were the spots that were so much talked about.
So, the combination of price, low light performance, viewfinder and user interface have been just what I had been needing. Since I have the camera I have taken some very satisfying photos.
+1point
Review 3 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Full-Frame Camera for the Price!

PostedMay 15, 2014
casmoephotography
Location Maryland, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Let me first start out by saying my D600 had the "Sensor Dust/Oil" problem and although only noticeable at a high F-Stop, it was an issue I'm glad Nikon addressed. After sending my camera in to have the component on the shutter replaced, the "dust/oil" issue has not come back.
Besides that minor issue, the camera has been outstanding in every aspect. It truly is hard to find a full-frame camera with the specs of the D600 for the price. Would definitely recommend!
+2points
Review 4 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small and Smart

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Huysuz
Location Istanbul, Turkey
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
Small, smart, ergonomically and usefull FF.
I so Like This.
Thank You Nikon.
-5points
Review 5 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D600 -

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Scott
Location Central Maine
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I got mine just before this past Christmas, purchasing the last new in-stock unit at my local Best Buy saving about $600 which I took and spent on a new 70-300 VR as well.
The combination of the 24mp senor and the VR is great. I had shot the older 70-300 AF-D on my D70s and D200. That lens was always something of a disappointment however.
For well over a year, I had been wanting to step up to FX. I had used a friend's D700 back when they first came out and secretly coveted it. So I was seriously contemplating a used D700 from ebay or wherever I could find a decent example. Prices however, were stubbornly holding just north of $1500.
Finding the D600 on clearance was a stroke of luck. Gave me twice the resolution and all of the attendant improvements five years brings with it as well as getting me into an FX body. I could now fully utilize all of my lens without the crop factor and the reduced angle-of-view. My 50mm 1.4AF no longer behaved like a 75mm. For the price of a five-year old D700 with possible unknown issues and no warranty, I walked out the door with a brand new D600.
Since then I have taken the time to learn how to fully use this camera. I bought David Busche's book and have managed to shoot some good stuff over the winter up here in Maine.
Early this month, Nikon contacted me about the service advisory on the dust issue. Registering your gear with Nikon is highly recommended. I followed the instructions and dropped my camera at the UPS store on a Friday. Nikon had it by the next Monday and about two weeks later, UPS delivered it back to my doorstep. The work consisted of a replacement shutter and associated parts and cleaning which included the sensor. The work reset the shutter count to zero and it restored the camera default settings. So I have to tweak my settings back to where I like them.
When I sent it in, it had just under 2000 frames. I was starting to see a couple of dust spots in the upper right quadrant of my images. But not like the horror stories other owners have reported. Currently the body has about 150 frames taken on the new shutter and I have not seen any contamination issues yet. I do not know what shutter was used as a replacement. Speculation is that it is from the D610.
All in all, a great camera. A lot of people may take exception with this, but I think the D600 is as close to a viable refresh of the D700 as you will find at a reasonable price point. The lighter consumer build not withstanding, it is well worth considering.
-1point
Review 6 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features lightweight package!

PostedMarch 20, 2014
bnorm
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased a refurbished Nikon d600 in October of 2013. The image quality from this camera is astounding and the high ISO capabilities are amazing. I mostly photograph weddings and events, and I have to say that this camera has exceeded my expectations in almost every category. The only problem I have is with the AF locking focus when you are in low light, which is where most cameras struggle. I highly recommend this camera to anyone looking for professional camera image quality in a lightweight, but sturdy, package.
+5points
Review 7 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding camera for a great price.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Thundersizzle
Location Norfolk, VA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I see a lot of complaints about the dust/oil sensor issue. It didn't happen to all cameras and Nikon is now replacing the shutters and offering a free clean, regardless of whether or not it's in warranty anymore.
The hassle aside, this is a magnificent camera. It hands down smashes the Canon 6d and the Sony A99. Even the issue of the focus points being crowded near the center doesn't seem to affect much in my opinion. When working with portraits or macro where fine details are the key, manual focus is my choice anyway.
So, compare this camera to the D610 and realize that for several hundred dollars less, you can essentially have the same camera. You decide.
+9points
Review 8 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional camera, very affordable for what it offers. Incredible value

PostedMarch 13, 2014
funtographer
Location Portland, ME, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a wonderful camera. Yes it has a ton of features but most important it takes absolutely stunning pictures and video and is so easy to handle and customize. As others have noted you will want to invest as much as possible on good lenses, the resolution of this sensor really shines with pro level glass. The relatively affordable 50 1.4g will quickly highlight this compared to a kit lens. I found this camera an easy choice, 20k+ clicks and no issues at all. If the budget allows just get one, you wont regret it! I've never looked back, loved the DX format but this is much much better, trifling complaints are just that, anybody giving a 1 star review is viewing life with a different perspective entirely & I'd wonder how say a D40 would be reviewed. It is a great camera, as anybody who used it knows, would that rate as -4 negative star? The Nikon D600 is fantastic, ground breaking stuff, so is the 28-300 ED VR lens, don't listen to the haters, any product can be torn apart, these products are a credit to Nikon and fabulous innovative products, simple as that!! Enjoy them if you are able.
-3points
Review 9 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good alternative to more expensive Nikons

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Scooter
Location Houston, Texas
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This is an excellent camera. I have used it professionally and get excellent results. My subject matter varies from head-and-shoulder business portraits, product shots, groups, and model portfolios. I have had no issues with dust spots, oil, or other issues reported by other reviewers. In fact, I bought another D610 to pair with the D600. I do suggest using pro-level lenses for the best quality and, of course, to take care when changing lenses in the field.
+2points
Review 10 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Camera with excellent features !!

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Ashish
Location Charlotte, NC, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This camera is at par with other best Full Frame Digital cameras in the market but in much affordable price range.
Features are top notch & handling & buttons are perfectly placed to capture stunning images.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to have a Full Frame camera but doesn't want to spend as much as professional photographers.
+4points
Review 11 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

With over 100k actuation in under a year on two D600 cameras

PostedDecember 26, 2013
PhotoGraphika1
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned 2 of these D600 camera bodies in in the past 1 year since they came out and have been extremely happy with its performance. With over 51000 shutter count on each of them and counting, travelled over 26 different cities around the world carrying them. There was never a dull moment with this fast responsive camera. I cannot think of a situation and lighting condition that I have not put this camera to test.
Paired with 35, 50 and 85mm f1.4 lenses and the pictures are bright, sharp and vivid.
I am not a pro but I can tell that this camera is like a utility knife, serves many purposes and the photos are razor sharp. Nikon D600 or D610 is a great camera for people trying to migrate from DX to FX sensor. My only suggestion to the buyers would be to please make sure buy good quality lens and not to rely much on kit lenses.
+8points
Review 12 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Full Frame Sensor

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Flyboy
Location Vadnais Heights, MN, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased a Nikon D600 was pleasantly surprised at the great resolution and ergonomic controls. Everything is right where it needs to be. I'm shooting with a 50mm prime, 24-70 and a 28-300 zoom. When using the digital zoom, you soon see how nice this sensor is. Crisp is the word. The ISO settings are right on and low light resolutions is very good. White balance for incandescent and fluorescent lighting really makes the image look like what you see with the naked eye.
I also purchased the Nikon SB 700 Speed Light flash. Easy to use, fast recycle time and realistic lighting when using bounce or direct flash.
Very happy with this camera. I was worried before I purchased due to articles on oil spots on the sensor, but have had no issues. It is a joy to use.
 
My product recommendations
 
+7points
Review 13 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go full frame!

PostedNovember 30, 2013
ChrisRib
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For those of you who are still hesitating. I wanted to upgrade from D7000 to D7100 and I had the opportunity to test both a D7100 and a D600. The pictures with the D7100 were good but the ones taken with the D600 were fantastic. If you can, go to a store where you will be able to test both cameras and it won't take long before you realize that the difference between DX and FX is like night and day. Enjoy!
+10points
Review 14 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Factory Reconditioned D600

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
York1
Location Savannah, GA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have owned several Nikon Cameras in the past, and still hang on to a much loved F4S
The D600 was an upgrade to my existing D300( I really don't care less about the video side so I never bothered to upgrade to the D300s) When the D700 came out I looked at it with interest, however it did not leave my D300 in the technology dust and seemed very bulky, so I decided to wait and see.
The D600 is a great camera the functions are easily understood and all controls are in the right place. So far I have 3 weddings under my belt with this camera and have great results I can use all my existing lenses though I traded a 18-200VR DX for a 28-300 VR FX even my veritable 500mm Reflex has produced good results.
I bought a refurbished Camera which seems like a simple decision as I purchased the 28-300 with the money I saved. So far all my shoots have been in good weather so I have yet to put the camera through wet or high humidity conditions (may have to use a baggie for the body and a condom for the lens!)
Nothing negative to say about the camera yet, my only concern is the function dial on the right needs two hands.
+4points
Review 15 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Astounding Full-Frame DSLR

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
cesiumatom
Location Beirut, Lebanon
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Before I being to describe this camera, I should first mention that I was lucky enough to have received a D600 without the oil/dust issue. This might be attributed to the fact that the purchase was made in Lebanon, and the camera is a Gray Market camera with an 803**** serial number for $2350. The purchases I made alongside it were the MB-14 Battery Pack Grip for $330 and the AF-S 24-85mm f3.5-4.5 G for $800 (yes they were expensive, more expensive than you will find them online, but that's the price you pay for full service / free sensor cleaning for 1 year).
In any case, I now have an actuation count of 600 on it, and so far, only a few dispersed oil specs have appeared. These are only visible when shooting at f16 against a white wall with close focus. Honestly, this is only to be expected with any camera. Anyone who claims that their sensor never gets dirty with their Canon or Nikon or any brand is just blowing smoke. Eventually we all have to clean our sensors. If I were you, I would not worry myself with the sensor issue, simply because once the oil level tones itself down and you get your sensor cleaned, this issue will pale in comparison to the magnificent images this camera will produce. I would recommend shooting 5000 images within a week, and getting the sensor cleaned, then forgetting all the hype that you are reading about online. I think that's worth the minimum of $1000 less you're paying for a full-frame. In this regard, I will give the camera 4.5 stars because I can see beyond the first set of actuations.
Now for the review: I have heard many pro photographers claim that mega-pixel count is just a scheme to lure in unknowing customers. Although this might be true with some types of cameras, this is certainly not the one. at 24MP, checking your image at 100% size will blow your mind. The color depth is mindblowing, the Auto-White Balance is spot on, and even the auto ISO feature for quick shooting in dim situations is excellent!
ISO at 2500 is almost negligible, and only gives a subtle feel that makes your image stand out even more. at 25600, the grain is very evident, but is so beautiful that I have used it a few times just to obtain the effect. The grain does not even affect the color, it only creates around a 1600 ISO film texture on your image. I must say that I am positively surprised that images shot at any ISO level are completely usable. I'd give the ISO functionality and performance 5 stars.
Auto White-balance always understands your surroundings, and the temperature will rarely have to be set manually unless for a desired unnatural effect. I have yet to see an unnecessarily warm indoor image. It will be amazing comparing your image shown on the LCD to what you see in front of you. The similarity between image and reality can only speak for itself. I'd give this 5 stars.
The Focus mechanism is quick and silent with both my 24-85mm and 50mm f1.8 G. The center weighted points might not be a favorite among some, but in all honesty, as a person who tends to shoot mostly with center-point focus and moving the camera after focusing, it does not bother me. That being said, I have tested the focus mechanism on full auto at 39-point, and it performs flawlessly as long as the subject is somewhere along the center or the middle horizontal axis. For those of you who like to focus around the edges, you could either use Live view (which focuses at an okay speed) or as I usually shoot, by shifting the frame after focus. I'd give this 4 stars, because live view functionality and performance could be quicker.
I can't believe the shutter's not butter. Barely audible in any mode, and Quite mode sounds something like flicking your forefinger nails against each other three times in a row. Perfect for shoot low-light at a theater. 5 stars.
The Battery Pack Grip has really been worth it. The camera itself is not so large, almost like the D7100, and the extra grip and battery are an undisputed winning combination. I have largish hands, so my right palm rests well around the grip's side while my fingers hold on to the rest. This combination gives me the perfect hold compared to the D3, D4, and Canon 5D Mark III with grip. Vertical shooting gives the same functionality you would need while shooting horizontal. I'd give this grip 5 stars.
Built-in flash performs okay, but I have never really been one to care much about it on any camera. I usually have my Sigma 610 flash with me at all times, and when I need to get some varied light on a subject, I use it, usually with some home-made reflectors. This cheap flash is a good substitute for some more expensive Nikon SBs like the 910 (which - although is superior in every way - won't be necessary unless you do extensive full-day shoots, which I don't). For the availability of a Built-in flash, and considering that this camera is a pro-starter full-frame, I would give this 5 stars.
The 24-85mm VR Kit lens is a good companion to this camera. It gives versatile functionality for situations where you don't want to take your primes out of the bag (which might only be the case if you can't afford them or are in a desert in the middle of a sandstorm). But in all honesty, this lens is great optically, has a silent autofocus mechanism, great lens coating for reduced flare, has its focus ring on the closer end, and is smooth enough for easy one-finger focusing. Distortion is noticeable about both ends, but this is easily mended in photoshop or lightroom. I won't say that this lens will give you out of the box perfection, but it most certainly won't limit you in any way. I'd give this lens 4.5 stars for its price and optical quality combined.
For people who shoot video often (I am not one of them) the focus mechanism is audible with the internal mic. You will have to connect an external mic to use sound from it if you plan to have shifting focus during your shots (this goes without saying for a DSLR). Also, another poor feature is the lack of aperture shifting during filming, a low-blow that Nikon serves to its consumers, especially considering that the D3100, at 5 times less the price, has this functionality. In my opinion it is to get serious video people to go for the D800. But I think it's an uncalled for cheap shot nonetheless. Otherwise, both technically and visually, it gives okay results. I will give this 2 stars for intentional crippling of an otherwise great device for monetary gain.
I don't know what else to say. I couldn't recommend this camera more for serious shooters. If you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask.
Happy shooting!
 
My product recommendations
MB-D14 Multi Battery Power Pack
 
 
 
 
 
 
+21points
Review 16 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera. Inspired My Switch to Nikon

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Robbobak
Location Alaska, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I used to use cameras from the other major player in the DSLR market. I have nothing against them but I gave them up as Nikon was the first to make an affordable (relative) full frame camera. I knew that I would have to get new lenses so there was nothing holding me back. I really like the ability to adjust nearly everything without having to navigate the menus.
USE:
PROS - The camera fits nicely in my hand. Feel is totally subjective. So suffice it to say that it fits well and is easily held in the hand with positive grip. I have never felt that I would drop this camera. I like the ability to manipulate tactile buttons to change nearly every setting that I use without navigating menus. Makes for easy use while held to your face or just in your hands.
CONS - Not a big fan that remote sensor is only available in the remote mode. Seems I should be able to use it in any shutter mode.
QUALITY:
PROS - Nice construction. Appears to appropriately use plastics but not in places where plastics is a stupid idea. Durable and water tight. Have used this in wet and rainy conditions and have had no sign of water internal or in lenses that came with. I have had no problem with sensor dust as reported early on with this model camera. I shoot 3000 pics before I checked the sensor and saw no reason to worry.
CONS - One of my lenses has some lint on the glass inside the body. Not what I would expect from Nikon regardless of what grade lens it is. Will have that looked at by warranty though. Card slot door is too easily opened. When grabbing the camera from my bag or placing it in the bag, the media door slides open when withdrawing my hand from the body.
IMAGE QUALITY:
Fantastic image quality. I shoot RAW+JPEG. RAW for me to use in Lightroom and JPEG for when my wife wants pics to post online. The files are large and have great detail. Obviously lens makes a difference in the quality but the images I capture are the best I've taken. Great in low light. I shoot inside ice rinks which do not have great lighting. I am able get well exposed pictures at fast enough shutter speeds.
GRIPES:
This one is minor but sometimes the little things are what rub us wrong the most. I wish the camera would recognize large volume SDHC media. With the latest firmware (C:1.01) I cannot use 64gb SDHC cards that I have. The cards can be used with the older (C:1.00) firmware. The camera requires that anything over 32GB be SDXC media. The larger SDHC cards report that formatting has completed but the top LCD reports that the card still needs to be formatted. I do computer forensics and have tried many ways to get to use the cards and simply can't Hoping to be able to downgrade my firmware (waiting to hear back from Nikon).
 
My product recommendations
 
AF-S Zoom-Nikkor 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
 
 
 
 
 
+12points
Review 17 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amor para toda a vida

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Thiago
Não tem como não se apaixonar pela sua D600, a melhor câmera que já tive na vida. Equipamento profissional de altíssima qualidade. Não tenho qualquer reclamação. Só elogios. Dia destes, conheci um dos maiores fotógrados da Agência France Press. um japonês baseado no Rio de Janeiro. Para minha surpresa, ele usa exatamente a D600 em seus trabalhos.
+4points
Review 18 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful camera! I should have bought one sooner!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Tomcat
Location Grayslake, IL, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Having used a variety of Nikon DX cameras for a number of years, I was focused on getting the 7100 - but a moment of adventure hit me and I moved up to the D600 FX camera. AMAZING! I am now able to take pictures unlike anything that I have before! The ISO for indoor sports has allowed me to markedly improve my pictures to the point that I am proud of them! This camera allows me to captures sporting events of all types and produce excellent pictures, even under less than ideal conditions. I look forward to a D800, or whatever is next around the corner. Thank you Nikon!
-3points
Review 19 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm stoked

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Chief
Location South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
it is so nice to be able to use my ultra wide angle lenses
my DX camera's d50 - d3100 - d5100 worked great
just not the same view of our World
my n90s was a great work horse its to bad there is no more film
so far the d600 feels like it will be a great work horse
easy to use, easy to understand and stunning photos
tomorrow night I am going to the concert at the beach
I am sure that I will come home with a bunch of stunning pic's
if you can afford it then you should buy a d600
-8points
Review 20 for D600
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Tom123
Location Hadley, MA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned this camera for about 8000 shots now and I love it. Images are stunning and it has all the features of a pro camera. I did have a few dust/oil spots but 5 min with a sensor swab put it back to perfect. I would recommend this camera to all
+8points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>